reviews for: listing #67306 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Spacious and Lovely Ocean View Home 15 miles from Hilo
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hawaii Paradise Park
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $125 /nt
    $700 - $700 /wk
    $2,200 - $2,200 /mth

sort by:

Mid-Winter Stay

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

My wife and I spent two weeks at Michael and Terry's lovely Puna home in late January and early February. I must say I was a little hesitant when we first looked at a vacation location 15 plus miles south of Hilo. However, the rental was so reasonably priced and the views of the ocean so inviting on the website photos that we could not say no to the opportunity. Once we arrived all doubts were erased as the house itself actually surpassed the pictures we reviewed. It was spotlessly clean, spacious, light, and airy. The house was cooled by the sea breezes that were seemed ever present and aided by several ceiling fans during the occasional quiescent spells. Another pleasant surprise was the relative lack of mosquitoes which made the evenings on the lanai our favorite time of day. The owners also provided excellent driving instructions to their house; how to operate their TV, Internet and various kitchen appliances; and personalized sightseeing tips for the local area. The running and hiking choices were superb and I easily covered 6 to 7 miles each day on trails and sparsely traveled streets with spectacular views of the lava covered beaches and Pacific Ocean.
Our fears about the distance from shopping were unfounded as the towns of Pahoa and Kea'au were close by with several small grocery stores. There were numerous farmers markets within an easy drive from the house; our favorites being the Hilo markets on Wednesdays and Saturdays and Uncle Robert's Awa Bar and Farmer's Market on Wednesday night. Overall, we would heartily recommend this vacation rental to anyone seeking to explore the sites of East Hawaii. We would like to return to Michael and Terry's home again next year, however, stay for an entire month instead of a mere two weeks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We saw many whale spouts, backs, and tails.

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

My wife and I returned to our property for a mid-winter visit. While at the house we made a few improvements by buying a new set of pots and pans, adding a DVD player, and about 10 DVDs. We had a wonderful time and were lucky enough to see whales from the lanai on multiple days. We saw many spouts, backs, and tails. Once while sitting across the street we saw a breach where we both believe the whale came completely out of the water. A neighbor showed us a picture she took with her iPad of a dolphin cruising by close to the cliffs. Can't wait until we return again in May. (January 17 days)
Terry and Michael Zimmerman (Owners) – San Francisco, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your property was very bright and spacious.

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

Your property was very bright and spacious and the area was very quiet and peaceful. The home makes for a very comfortable and relaxing stay. The amenities were plentiful and we had everything we needed in our little home away from home. (December - 5 days)
Chris, Sandra, and Maya – London, Ontario, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house has everything you need for a great stay

Review submitted: December 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2013

Very friendly and informative owners, who will make sure you will have a great vacation! Truly a home away from home! (December – 5 days)
Peter and Suzanne – Fredericksburg, VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

In essence, loved every minute!

Review submitted: December 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2013

I am sitting in an airport dreaming of the fabulous vacation we had and wishing I wasn't heading home to a foot of snow. All four of us loved your place! It had everything!!!! My favourite was your lanai and the sounds of the critters and waves---so so relaxing!! We did a lot. Mauna Kea was absolutely mind blowing. Walking over the lava crater and seeing the glow of the lava at Mauna Loa also brought one to silence. A day journeying about the lava hot pools and snorkeling in the tidal pools was pretty cool!!! Man I could go on and on....one final fond, fond memory was sitting on the lava cliffs seeking the breaching whales. We didn't see them until Maui but we did have a blast watching out for the rogue waves!!!!! In essence, loved every minute! (December 2013 – 4 days)
Diane, Gordon, Ryan, and Dayna - Porters Lake, Nova Scotia, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wished we had stayed for a longer duration

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Mike's place felt like a home from the moment we stepped into it. It exudes a warm vibe that makes you feel right at home - a fully functional base for your activities in Hawaii. We felt sad leaving it and wished we had stayed for a longer duration. (November – 5 days)
Gurbinder, Maninder, and Sumita – Highlands Ranch, CO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your house was beautiful and perfect

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

We had such a wonderful time in Hawaii and are already planning our next trip. Your house was beautiful and perfect for our vacation. (November 2013 – 6 days)
Jessica and Sean – Brunswick, GA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed staying at your place

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at your place. It was well apportioned and thought out. The master shower was wonderful. The full size washer and dryer were great too. Thanks again for the helpful directions too. (November 2013 – 3 days)
Eric, Cindy, Jerry and Barbara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We certainly did enjoy your place

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

We certainly did enjoy your place, it was very relaxing, even enjoyed the evening serenade by the frogs, and really comfortable with lots of space, also enjoyed the books and material on Hawaii that you had in the house. The house was spotlessly clean, functional and really did feel like a home. (October – November 2013 – 7 days)
Allen and Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House is roomy, beautiful and with all we needed

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at your home. As owners, you care enough to not only make your home, but also the visit to the Big Island, wonderful. The directions to the home are clearly explained and easy to follow from the airport in Hilo. The house is roomy, beautiful and with all we needed to make our stay pleasant. Details like books and magazines about the island and items such as fins, mats, carry boxes and beach shoes to protect against the volcanic rocks that are really sharp, were available in the house. The lanai is as described with a view and a fun place for taking meals and, of course, wine time. A walk up the lava beach to the end and back by the road in the morning is a worthwhile wakeup with lots to see. Sprint phone coverage is “roaming” but having an iPad and the provided WIFI made communication as good as it is at home in locating what to do and see. In communicating with the owners while there, we were provided with many unknown facts about the birds, frogs and creatures in the area. Visitors should be advised that Hwy 130 Keaau-Pahoa Rd has been under re-development. Between 4-6 pm and 7-9:30 am the road is 10 mph and may take 30-45 minutes to drive. The recommendations we read that other folks had posted were quite accurate. The Ponds was our favorite eating-place. Shopping in Old Hilo is the greatest. Do visit the turtles at Richardson’s beach, and drive to the black sand beach at Waipio View point. It does require 4 wheel drive to get to beach but can be visited by walking down the canyon. (October 2013 – 7 days)
Bob, Judi, Milt and Karen (seniors) La Mesa, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent Place to Stay

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

This is one of the best vacation rentals we have ever visited. The owners clearly put a great deal of time and effort into making visitors feel welcome. They include many amenities which are not often included. We particularly appreciated the many small details which make a stay pleasant: tatami mats for the beach, umbrellas, good books on local flora and fauna, binoculars, good sheets, and much more. The home is perfectly shown in the photos. It is a ways outside of Hilo, in an area that is quite convenient to many of the sights on the eastern side of the Big Island. The information provided was comprehensive and accurate, and helped in knowing what to do and see. You should know that cell phone service (AT&T) is unreliable at the home, though Verizon cell coverage is fine. There is a landline with free calls to continental US, and wireless internet access, so this was not at all missed. Highly recommended. (October 2013 - 5 days)
John, Shelley, Rosemary, and Jim - San Francisco, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the clear view of the ocean across the road

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

Comments on our stay:
1. Your home is beautiful and very comfortable with the large rooms.
2. The master bed was very comfortable.
3. We really liked sitting on the lanai having our coffee in the morning.
4. Loved the clear view of the ocean across the road and watching the waves hit the lava cliff only 100 yards away.
5. Your guest book is excellent in telling guests about the local flavor and things to do.
6. We were there 5 weeks and drank your water with no problems.

Suggestions for other renters:
1. Recommend visitors go to the RIM restaurant for dinner to watch the glow of Kilauea. Expensive but worth it.
2. Highly recommend taking the Crater Road at least as far as the Pali to see the vast lava overflow on the cliffs.
3. Uncle Roberts at Kalapana on Wednesday nights was a hoot. Advise going to the end of the road and parking on the lava at Uncle Roberts ($2)....bring a flash light.
4. Advise a trip over the Mango Road from Kalapana to the end of the road and then back up to Pahoa. Beautiful.
5. Don't miss the Makuu Market on Sunday...go at least once.
6. For the golfers...can't beat the fee at the Hilo Muny course which is closer than the Volcano course...and much less expensive.
7. Take beach chairs to the grove of trees across the road to sit in the shade and listen to and watch the waves on the cliffs and cool off. And go to the park at the south end of Ala Heiau. (September – October 2013 - 33days)
Tom and Mary – Homosassa, Florida

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Zimmerman home provided everything we needed

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2013

We had a great week on the Big Island. We would love to stay there again and highly recommend the Zimmerman property. The house was a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of life. We enjoyed the spacious, well maintained home and the cool sea breezes of the evening. The Zimmerman home provided everything we needed. The pre-stay information provided was appreciated and very helpful. We hope to return in another year or two with friends or family to explore the island sites we were unable to see. We enjoyed Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls, Hamakua Coast and the Hilo Farmers Market. (August 2013 - 5 days)
Steve & Rhonda - Alexandria, Virginia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I thank you for allowing dad and I to stay

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

Here are comments taken from several email exchanges with Dione: Your home is beautiful and I thank you for allowing dad and I to stay. Thank you for making my summer dream with dad a very hospitable and comfy trip. Our favorite restaurants: Ponds is really good! Excellent service and dad really enjoyed the prime rib. I enjoyed the fettuccini Alfredo and the large tempura mushrooms were delicious! Definitely our favorite dining experience. Also really liked Hilo Burger Joint and the Cali burger with French cut fries. Cronies in Downtown Hilo near the Farmer's Market area has good onion rings and a tasty turkey club sandwich. Burgers are good but not as good as the Hilo Burger Joint. Feel free to list me as a reference for potential renters. (July – August 2013 – 9 days)
Dione and Kenneth – Culver City, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It always feels good to return

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

My wife and I spent 11 days at our home in August fixing a few boards on the lanai and continuing work on the eastern edge of the property. Our goal is to add some banana trees to compliment the strawberry guava trees which were full of fruit. We were lucky and had a couple pineapples to pick too. We spent every afternoon gazing at the ocean. Can’t wait until we return for a longer period of time in January. (August 2013 - 11 days)
Terry and Michael Zimmerman (Owners) – San Francisco, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great and spacious place

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our week in this very clean, spacious and well-maintained house! You find everything you need - from board games and guide books, to beach towels and a washing machine ...
Thanks to the good directions it was easy to find the house which is loctated in a rather remote and calm neighborhood. Since Michael and Terry were very helpful and gave great advice, we could make most of our stay on this side of "Big Island". Like many others before us we went to Volcano National Park, to the black sand beaches (with turtles!)to the Hilo farmers' market etc. We even went to see the "Hawaiiana Live Show" at Hilo's Palace Theater which was fun!
We would definitley recommend this place to everybody!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So glad that we chose this home

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at your beautiful home and so glad that we chose this home. All the details you provided were very helpful and made us feel very much at home. Enjoyed our morning coffee on the lanai everyday and walking on the lava rocks! Evenings filled with the coqui frogs croaking were amazing:). Thank you for making our stay a very memorable one! (July 2013 - 4 days)
Dhanya , Mohan, &kids - Phoenix , AZ

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really enjoyed the afternoons on the deck

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We really enjoyed your house. It was immaculate and charming. We are looking forward to maybe next year. My dad really enjoyed his afternoons with us on the deck. He had built several homes in the area. (July 2013 – 3 days)
Tiffany and Doug – Palm Desert, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great first visit to Hawaii

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

Thank you very much for all you did to make our stay in your place as nice as possible. We were very happy with the place and had a great first visit to Hawaii. I think the thing that set your place apart from the other options was all the information that you gave us about your place and about things to do during our stay. We really appreciated all the details in the notes you sent such as where to find the light switch at the bottom of the stairs, or how to find the transfer station, or how to deal with the shower in the master bath and countless other things. It was great to have access to the guidebooks, the cooler, and the washer and dryer. Details like that made the experience pleasant.

While staying at your place we spent a day in Hilo, a day at the Volcano National Park, and a day at Waipio Valley. All three were very memorable experiences and on all of those days we were able to have breakfast at our leisure in the kitchen nook overlooking the ocean. We prepared three dinners there too and packed picnics for our days out. The restaurants we ate at were both fabulous Thai places - New Chang Mai in Hilo, and another place in the town of Volcano. Thanks again for doing the little things that help make your place stand out above others. (July 2013 – 4 days)
Brian and Lydia – San Jose, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your house and on Hawai'i. We hope to return someday! (June 2013 – 7 days)
Andrew and Brooke – Algona, IA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was perfect for our small family.

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The house was perfect for our small family. The house was clean and well-equipped. We found everything we needed to cook and entertain ourselves (board games, TV & interweb!) when we wanted a night in. We very much enjoyed using the Lanai, and looking out over the ocean, or even at night after dark when it was still warm and the little frogs were croaking. We stayed for 10 nights, and this gave us enough time to see many of the highlights of the Big Island, but by no means could we exhaust all the possibilities. There was a great selection of guidebooks in the property, though "Hawaii, The Big Island Revealed" turned out to be the ultimate authority, and the only one we really needed. Some of our favorite activities were: snorkeling at Waiopae Tide pools, swimming in the Ahalanui hot pond (where the fish will clean the dead skin off your feet, if you sit quietly!), exploring the coastline, dining in Pahoa, visiting Volcanoes National Park. Just to name a few!

In particular I would recommend the horseback riding at the Pa'ani Ranch, off the Highway 11 past Keaau. I called ahead and they took us out for the full hour and half, even though it was only two of us riding and we were the only ones there. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the place had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. They also do Zip-lining & ATV Adventures, but we didn't try those. We drove to the Western side of the island, and spent one night in Kona. That side of the island does have the nice white sandy beaches, but we didn't find the weather much different on the days we were there, and overall we decide that we much preferred the Eastern side of the island. Truly "Another Hawaii". Thanks for an excellent vacation! (June 2013 – 10 days)
Charlie, Tina and Sam – San Francisco, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The lanai made for a perfect place to sit

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

Thank you for making your amazing house available to us. We greatly enjoyed our stay, got a lot of writing done, and found so many things we liked about Hawai'i island. The lanai made for a perfect place to sit both day and night. I found the changing colors of the ocean quite inspiring, as was the sound of the waves and the birds. (May 2013 – 4 nights)
Elizabeth and Christine – Honolulu, HI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had all the comforts of home

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time on the Big Island and loved renting your home. It was the perfect place to sit and enjoy the ocean when starting and ending our days! It also served as a great base camp for exploring the island and had all the comforts of home. I've told a friend about your house, as she'll be vacationing on the island in October. Thanks again for allowing us to rent your home for our vacation! We had an amazing time! (May 2013 – 6 days)
Amanda and Patti Jo – Little Canada, MN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect base for exploring Volcanoes Park

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

We stayed in the house for three days in May 2013 when visiting Big Island with our five year old daughter. The house is beautiful with a view of the ocean from the lanai (and the living room) and is carefully equipped with everything one might need. It is located in a quiet neighborhood and the perfect base for exploring Volcanoes Park and the east side of the island. Thank you very much to the owners for a wonderful stay! (May 2013 – 3 days)
Martin, Ann, and Maju – Albany, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hawaii was one of the best vacations of my life.

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

The week and a half in Hawaii was one of the best vacations of my life. I cannot imagine having spent all that time in a hotel room. Although a bit of a drive off the main road, the home has everything one would need for a week or more stay and then some. The kitchen is well equipped and we fixed a number of meals there. The many windows offered plenty of ocean breezes and we were never uncomfortable. We visited the farmer’s market & bought fresh produce, etc., and had breakfast at the house every day. It was such a lovely view of the ocean from the lanai and much time was spent doing so. I snapped a photo from the lanai upon arrival & sent my son & he said it looked like a “post card”. We didn’t make it to the other end of the road until the end of our stay but that’s a nice short walk with yet another access to sit and enjoy the ocean. I would certainly recommend this home to others visiting the big island! (April - May 2013 - 10 days)
Stephanie and Donna - Catawba, VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful week!

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

Your house was very comfortable and we spent much of time that we were there on the lanai. We left 2 rain ponchos in the master closet. They came in handy on our favorite activity - a lava boat tour (with Ocean Lava). Lava was flowing into the ocean in five places. The boat gets you fairly close so you can really feel the heat. It was an awesome experience. Our second favorite was Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens at Onomea Bay. The house was so convenient for all our traveling, from going east to Volcanoes National Park, south to Lava Tree State Park and numerous beaches on the way to Kalapana, and north to attractions from Hilo to the Waipio Valley. (April 2013 - 6 days)
Nancy and David - Waukesha, WI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We cannot wait until we return again in August.

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

Terry and I were so happy to return to our home in Hawaii. As usual the house was spotlessly clean thanks to Aloha All Natural Cleaning. The previous renters left us some delicious leftovers in the fridge which made the first night's meal very easy. This trip we spent time doing the usual house repairs - painted the garage door and catchment tank, and did a bit of yard clean up. We had excellent meals at Cafe Pesto and the Hilo Burger Joint but mostly just cooked at the house and ate meals on the lanai. One evening around sunset we were sitting on the ocean front lava across the street when we saw a whale and her calf perform multiple breaches together over the course of 15 minutes. We cannot wait until we return again in August. (March - April 2013 – 14 days)
Terry and Michael Zimmerman - the owners - San Francisco, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation Home in a Beautiful Place

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

My wife and I truly enjoyed this house with its very open living/dining space and lots of glass and balconies to appreciate the outdoors. It was very comfortable and well-equipped. The lava cliffs at the beach are impressive and art-like in places. This location has been pretty extensively and favorably reviewed so I'd read other reviews for more details. I must also commend the owners for putting together an excellent package of advice/tips and instructions on how to make the most of your time in the area. Yes, we'd return again and spend longer next time. (March 2013 – 4 days)
Joe & Nang - Sacramento, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Such a fascinating piece of paradise

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

We loved listening to the coqui frogs and crashing waves at night. What a wonderful sound to fall asleep to. Your home had everything that we needed for an immediate restful stay. Close to many interesting sites, our days were filled. We loved the lanai and watched for whales always. Such a fascinating bit of paradise. (March 2013 – 3 days)
Heather, Tom, and Kelsey – Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your house proved to be the perfect spot to relax

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

Great, thanks again for letting us rent your lovely home during our weeks stay. Your house proved to be the perfect spot to relax and get ready for my marathon on Sunday in downtown Hilo. Your tips on sightseeing and local attractions were spot on, and we especially enjoyed going to Pahoa Town to eat and explore. The accommodations were both clean and functional, and the unit itself was situated perfectly for our needs, far enough aways from the city to fall asleep to the sound of the Coqui frogs, yet proximate enough to Hilo that everything was an easy drive. (March 2013 – 7 days)
Tim and Jennifer - Ephrata, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It’s so hard to leave paradise!

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

After amazing days and nights of visiting waterfalls, beautiful botanical gardens, the lively Hilo Farmers Market, soaking in hot ponds and hiking on molten lava it was wonderful to return to this beautiful home with a view of the ocean and the sounds of the rain forest to lull us to sleep. We felt very at home here. Thanks for a wonderful stay. (March 2013 – 3 days)
Laurie and Joe – Sunnyvale and Santa Cruz, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved being lulled to sleep by the ocean waves.

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

We had a wonderful time in your home. We met lots of the dog walkers that traipsed by each day. I think we learned the names of at least 10 dogs! Loved being lulled to sleep by the ocean waves, coquis and the soft rain. We enjoyed your spacious home and very comfortable beds. Your location is just perfect. You're close enough to Hilo to take advantage of "city" activities but also able to really enjoy the quiet of the country. Pahoa provided many evenings of local musical talent. After 11 winters in Hawaii, we finally saw a total whale breach at Richardson's Beach! Can't wait to come back. (Jan–Mar 2013 - 42 days)
Deb and John – Otsego, MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Whale Tales

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2013

As the owners we were excited to visit our home again. The whale watching and listening was quite interesting this time. On our first night I was woken by a sporadic thumping noise. It was after midnight so I went out onto the lanai to see what was happening. After a bit I realized the sound was moving. The sporadic thumping continued until it had moved past my house and finally faded out up the coast only to return going back about half an hour later. I knew it had to be a whale and had it confirmed by locals that it was a whale performing many breaches as it went up and down the coast. It's too bad it was a moonless night otherwise I would have taken my chair out to the cliffs to try and watch. The next day I was sitting on the lanai spotting spouts when both Tom, a buddy of mine who lives here and I heard a loud thump. But we missed seeing the breach. I've seen breaches before but never been able to hear them. A few nights later it was very quiet and I heard some whales singing (really more like a deep moaning sound). Tom told me that houses right on ocean front sitting on lava will at times vibrate from the whales singing at night. Luckily what I heard was much less audible. During the days we were able to spot some spouts and even saw one very nice breach. (January 2013 – 8 days)
Michael and Terry Zimmerman (owners) - San Francisco, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

This is a lovely home situated in a quiet neighborhood. A real plus is a view of the ocean cliffs across the street, which can be viewed from the wide lanai at the front of the house. The photos really don't do justice to the house--it is absolutely lovely. The owner is very responsive and made sure all of our needs were taken care of. We were primarily there for birding, and this residence is in a perfect location for that--about midway between Mauna Loa and Mauna Kea. I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a private retreat on the Big Island. (January 2013 – 5 days)
Alice, Doug, Bill, and Sue – Aiken, SC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We’ll always remember your beautiful home

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with visitors from far away. You’ve totally thought of everything visitors might need during their visit to the Big Island. We had sunshine for our visit to Volcano Park which was amazing. We enjoyed walks in your peaceful neighborhood, marveled at the power of the ocean waves, and even had the chance to do some star gazing from the chaises on the lanai. We’ll always remember your beautiful home and the lush greenery of the Hilo coast – especially when we get back to the cold Canadian weather. (January 2013 – 3 days)
Linda and Paul, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the local farmer’s market

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

We enjoyed the stay in the house. Thanks for letting folks leave items they are finished with in the kitchen. We did stop at the house first as didn’t know what would be available and were bringing some items from the Kona Condo. We left two small Styrofoam coolers for anyone else to use. So we used some contents and left some other items. We packed lunch each day and took off exploring. Your information was great, the directions to the house were terrific. We were glad not attempting to find it in the dark. We loved the local farmer’s market much better than the one in Hilo. The chicken was delicious. We logged over 1200 miles on the rental so you know we covered most of the island. My husband’s favorite was the drive to the top to see the telescopes. I think he liked the challenge of getting the regular rental up the road. Being an over the road trucker, we decided he would know if it could be done. BRRR it was cold up there, but the sun was shining. (December 4 days)
Kris, Dale, Tracy and Lincoln - Lansdale, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved sitting on the lanai with our coffee

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

It was a perfect house for our group of four. The house was very clean and fresh, with up to date appliances, etc., with beautiful hardwood floors. We loved sitting on the lanai with our cups of coffee most mornings and watching the ocean. Having a kitchen with all the bells and whistles helped in saving on food expenses. We usually ate breakfast at the house and packed our lunch (having coolers to use was very helpful) for all of our day trips. We did laundry a couple times which helped in our packing (we brought carry-on luggage only, knowing we had a place to do our laundry). The house was located nearer to the "must see" attractions on the island (such as the Volcano National Park, Mauna Kea (Observatory), Tidal pools, Hilo, Akaka Falls, Botanical Garden/Falls, and Waipio Valley.) We also took two longer day trips to Hapuna Beach (north of Kona) and the "City of Refuge" (south of Kona, which also had great snorkeling). My favorite adventure was snorkeling at the tidal pools (around 30 miles from the house) where Michael gives a tip as where to park and enter the pools. (December 7 days)
Nancy, Sue, Tammy and Debra – Ypsilanti, MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We never missed a farmer's market at Hilo or Makuu

Review submitted: December 23, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

We were privileged to stay in your beautiful Puna home for a month. After a "rocky" trip getting there (due to a computer glitch w/United Airlines causing an overnight stay in Los Angeles and a long delay in Honolulu) we arrived at the house very late in the evening, in the dark, in the rain, and found the Zimmerman's directions to the house, and entry to the house, perfect. What a relief from our two days travel to find the house exactly as depicted. We so enjoyed the quiet, the privacy, the space and the crashing waves on the volcanic bluffs. We never missed a farmer's market at Hilo or Maku'u. Met a wonderful local t-shirt artist named Jeremiah White and enjoyed the Hilo coffee. Made repeat visits to the Hilo Coffee Mill. Enjoyed the Christmas concert at the U. of Hawaii performed by the symphony and miles, and miles, of exploring the entire island.

The Zimmerman's helpful hints about where to shop and sights to see were carefully adhered to except for one. A surprise visit from our adult son for a few days ended w/him not taking the advice about turning your back to the waves seriously enough. While he was videoing sunrise at the "cove' down the street from the house a crashing wave engulfed him - soaking him through and through and wrecking his camera. No fatal harm, however, his memory card survived and we got a good laugh watching him come up the stairs and onto the decked fully drenched. We can't imagine anyone not enjoying a stay at this comfortable and spacious home. (Nov – Dec 2012 – 30 days)
Marilyn and Lincoln – Branson, MO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The serenity was like a week at the spa.

Review submitted: November 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

Coming from a big city, the serenity was like a week at the spa. I loved the sound of the waves slapping against the shore. (November 2012 - 7 days)
Jane and Steve – Calgary, AB, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We can't wait until we return.

Review submitted: November 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

We spent some much need vacation time at our home in October. While here we upgraded a few things in the kitchen, most noticeably by adding a quality Martha Stewart frying pan, but the house in general didn't need much. We did add a new sliding screen door to the master bedroom so that opens and shuts easier now. Terry thought she spotted a whale and our neighbors say they have arrived early this year. Per usual we saw some sea turtles and a flock of colorful Java Sparrows seem to have moved into the neighborhood. Mostly though, we spent time enjoying the sunrises, gazing at the ocean in the afternoon, and taking walks. Though we ate in most of the time we did have a couple excellent meals. I had the Hilo Bay Burger at the Hilo Burger Joint and as it was my birthday the burger was free. What a delicious burger. We also had a wonderful lunch at Kaleo’s in Pahoa where I ordered a special off the board. Both restaurants are discussed further on the restaurant’s page on my website. We can’t wait until we return in January for some whale watching and then again in April for the 50th Annual Merrie Monarch Festival. (October 2012 - 11 days)
Michael and Terry Zimmerman (owners) - San Francisco, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your house is beautiful and so serene.

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

Your house is beautiful and so serene. The view from the lanai was wonderful. We loved every minute of it. We would have preferred that it be air conditioned, but the nights were fairly cool especially in the master bedroom. The fans did help some. The accommodations were excellent and the appliances new and working well. The floors are lovely and the furniture up to date and comfortable. (October 2012 – 7 days)
Sharon and Brent – Opelousas, LA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, lush, misty-rainy, quiet, easy.

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 25, 2012

Beautiful, lush, misty-rainy, quiet, easy. The area is uncrowded but close to downtown Hilo, farmer's markets, Volcanoes National Park, Kalapana, parks, waterfalls, etc. Although just sitting on the lanai with a view of the ocean, listening to the waves, doves and myna birds in the daytime or coqui frogs at night was wonderful, too... as was walking to the beautiful black lava forest parks and beaches. On our last day, we even saw honu (sea turtles) from the lava across the street, which was amazing. Everything in the house was very nice and worked well, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The hosts did such a great job preparing us. The directions and instructions were very clear and simple, and they gave us ideas to make our stay easy, like the suggestion to pick up the book "Hawaii: The Big Island Revealed," which was super helpful. They also recommended (on their website) a real estate agent, which, after this visit, is pretty tempting! (Sept – Oct 8 days)
Chadd, Suzannah, and Colleen – Los Angeles, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We especially enjoyed the lanai in the morning...

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

Thank you for the use of your house. You have a beautiful home. We especially enjoyed the lanai in the morning, having our breakfast and watching the ocean. (Sept 2012 – 5 days)
Gregory and Mary, Mountain Top, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The days are filled with pleasures.

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

First of all, we must say that we enjoy your house very much. We have thought of writing to say so since we came here, but the days are filled with pleasures. This is exactly the kind of house we could envision ourselves to have one day in the future. Nicely and tastefully decorated. A clean look that suits a house that is rental, still cozy enough to make it feel home for a couple of days. Thank you for renting it to us! By the way, our 5 year old loved it when he found the teddy bear and the cow-sheep in the living room boxes. (Sept 2012 – 7 days)
Pal and family – Oslo, Norway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful home in the Puna District

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

Fantastic home with everything needed for a wonderful week spent on the Eastern side of the Big Island. Owners are a wealth of information, providing extra info about places to visit, restaurant recommendations and even some information about local fauna. While not directly in Hilo town, we found the location to be wonderful with an ocean view and accompanying ocean breezes. The house is nicely appointed with beautiful wood floors, and lots of windows and ceiling fans in each room. The kitchen is stocked with basic utensils and cooking equipment, and even some baking pans. I especially appreciated having a small selection of basic spices in the kitchen pantry left from previous renters. If we go back, we'll definitely be keeping this home on the list of places to stay. (September 2012 – 7 days)
Stephanie and Todd – Phoenix, AZ

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay at this home was by far the best.

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

We came to Hawaii for three months to get away from the Arizona summer heat. We stayed at three places. One was in Hilo in July, the second one was at the Zimmerman's in August, and last month was spent in the Kapoho area in September. Our stay at the Zimmerman's home was by far the best. Their home was very comfortable, the lanai offered wonderful views of the ocean as it crashed against the lava cliffs, and the park at the south end of the road had spectacular places to sit on the lava cliffs and watch the waves come in. We enjoy running, and we found a wonderful route from the house down Government Beach Rd. and along Ala Kai. We really did not want to leave when it was time to move on to the Vacation Land rental. We would highly recommend the Zimmerman's home to anyone who enjoys a relaxed vacation with time to enjoy the beauty of the lava cliffs and the lush tropical forest. (August 2012 – 31 days)
Tom and Jan – Gilbert, AZ

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for a beautiful vacation

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

We arrived with perfect directions from the owner. The photos online were as advertised. The master bedroom was large as was the master bathroom. The living room/dining room had plenty of room and kitchen had plenty room and plenty of dishes to cook. This place is off the beaten path. VERY quiet with the exception of hearing the ocean while laying in bed at night. It is close enough to the Hilo airport and Volcano National Park and a little drive to the Kona side of the island. The drive was beautiful and plenty of places to stop and visit along the route. I would definitely rent from these owners again. Thank you for a beautiful vacation in such a beautiful home. (July 2012 – 6 days)
Bern and Dwayne – on assignment, US Military

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We regret staying only for 4 days!

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at your house very much. It was pleasant and perfectly set up. We had a stressful arrival from Germany, which took 2 days longer than normal, but we immediately felt like home. That was really, really fine. Additionally we'd like to mention the many valuable information, your helpful and fast replies and the correct running of the booking. Furthermore we can only confirm the other guest's positive comments!!!! It was funny to hear the croaking of the frogs, which sounds so different from our European frogs (first, we were wondering why the birds are singing all night long). We regret staying only for 4 days. There is so much more to see! When we're going to return to Big Island, we will for sure choose your home again. (July 2012 – 4 days)
Joerg, Fernanda, and Anna-jo – Germany

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was just perfect

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

We certainly enjoyed your home!!! We LOVED the pear wood floors! What a wonderful grain. My husband likes to shape wood and has quite a collection of chunks he wants to make into something. We even lugged a piece of mango wood home from a Hilo wood supplier—that’s typical for us. Everything was just perfect and the setting was lovely across the street from the black rock cliffs. We loved the view from the deck. I can’t tell you how many pictures we took from the deck trying to get the wave splash! But the darn camera had a delay that made it a game. We did get a couple of good ones though from there and did of course walk out on the cliffs for more pictures. A very pleasant stay indeed and we hung out in Hilo for the Fourth of July fireworks. We used several of your suggestions, went into the little town nearby and had a great lunch and wandered about, took a helicopter ride over the volcano (a little disappointing as far as fire, but still interesting), but mostly just relaxed.Thanks for the comfy bed too. Again, many thanks for a great stay. We will definitely recommend your place for anyone we know who wants to visit the Big Island. (July 2012 – 5 days)
Gail and Rich – Rocklin, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A perfect secluded, quiet, location...

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful week at your home in Hilo. After we had spent a golf week in Maui we met up with friends from Chicago after they had spent a tourist week in Honolulu. A perfect secluded, quiet, location for us to visit. The house is spacious with plenty of room for 2 couples. Great access to Volcano Park. Hilo is a fun town to live like the Hawaiians live. It rained every day but that never hampered our plans. We had the true rain forest experience: the frogs and waves lulled us to sleep at night and the sunrise and birds woke us up in the morning. (June-July 2012 - 7 days)
Jan & John – Parker, CO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your house is very beautiful, clean, and roomy.

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

We had a great time! Your house is very beautiful, clean, and roomy. After touring the island, we think we had the most beautiful place to come home to every day. We have already recommended it to others, and hope to come back someday ourselves. And we LOVED KTA grocery (thanks for the tip) and also Walmart and Ross were close. We even enjoyed going to a few garage sales on Saturday. (June 2012 – 7 days)
Terry, Jody and friends – Chuuk, Federated States of Micronesia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Secluded, quiet and surrounded by beauty.

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

We absolutely loved our time on the Big Island. The location was just what we were looking for, secluded, quiet and surrounded by beauty. It was a convenient location for exploring Volcanoes National Park, the coast north of Hilo, and Hilo itself. When we made a trip across the Saddle Road to check out Kona, our decision to stay Hilo side was reassured. It is so much more lush and green on the east side. Our accommodations were perfect. The house was comfortable, and we loved falling asleep to the ocean waves and singing coqui frogs. The lanai could not be beat. We spent every meal out there. Terry and Michael went out of their way to answer our questions and help facilitate a memorable trip. We are looking forward to a return visit as soon as we can! (June 2012 – 7 days)
Meghan and Brandon – Kirkwood, MO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I don't think the birds ever stopped singing

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

We spent 17 wonderful days and nights at our home in Puna. As the owners we spent some time making improvements but also spent time touring around. We did two new hikes this time. The first one was out past Kaloli point here in Hawaiian Paradise Park where the lava cliffs are quite tall and dramatic. The second was the Pu'u Loa Petroglyph trail in Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park. Both of these were about 1.5 miles round trip and easy to moderate in difficulty. I will post more information on my website once we get back. We recommend both of these hikes. For the first four days the trade winds were light and the ocean unusually calm. I don't think the birds ever stopped singing during the day and at one point I counted five different species singing at the same time. At night they competed with the frogs for dominance. For most of the trip the trade winds were consistent and air conditioned the house quite naturally. We ate most meals on the lanai. (May-June 2012 - 17 days)  
Michael and Terry Zimmerman (owners)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had an awesome time

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

We had an awesome time. Saw a pod of dolphins (just across the street) swim by as we were watching the sunrise. They were not too far from shore – it was spectacular to see. We went and saw a lot and we layed around and did nothing a lot, it was perfect. Love the house and the Maku’u Farmer’s Market was huge. I think there was more produce at the one in Hilo but it was still very nice. I urge everyone to try the honey here on the Island, it was to die for – also berry bananas, the best ever. (May 2012 - 8 days)
Karen and Jeff - Bandon, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

There is so much space and comfort.

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this house! The house had everything we needed. We came for the Merrie Monarch Festival and it was an easy drive to and from Hilo. The big lanai and the view of the ocean was priceless. The pictures on the site did not do the house justice. There is so much space and comfort. This house exceeded my expectations!! Terry and Michael answered all my questions thoroughly and made sure my stay was wonderful. I even received my security refund quickly. I hope to rent from them again! Thanks for everything. 5 stars! (April 2012 - 4 days)
Jonnell, Ariel, and Jason

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...away from all of the tourist traps.

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

After 4 days in Waikiki, we were looking for a quiet place on the Big Island, away from all of the tourist traps. Michael and Terry's home offers all of that. The area is quiet, the views of the ocean are beautiful and their home provides a good base for exploring the Hilo area and several attractions on the Big Island. Their home is exceptionally clean, spacious and well appointed. Michael's notes regarding the home and the surrounding area were accurate and very helpful during our stay. While we did not see any whales the week we visited, we spent many hours gazing at the ocean from the large deck. We did see sea turtles swimming by and the sounds of the ocean waves on the lava cliffs were enjoyed every day. Mahalo Michael and Terry for sharing your lovely home. (Mar - Apr 2012 - 7 days)
Rick and Linda, Sarnia, Ontario, Canada.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your Hilo house was honestly represented on line.

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We have had a wonderful time here in your home. Your Hilo house was honestly represented on line and shows pride of ownership. We found the house was clean, well maintained, and comfortable. The house is well equipped, and the owners are accessible for communication. We slept to the rhythm of the waves, the whistles of the frogs, the night time rains and woke to the birds…. We circled the island, but the Puna coast has interesting with beautiful roads to explore. The whales were cooperative, and we viewed some almost every day. Thank you again for a wonderful vacation. Hawaiian time is strange. It goes both fast and slow.(Feb-Mar 2012 31 days)
Dave and Marilyn – Chelsea, MI

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The home was immaculate and very lovely.

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

The home was immaculate and very lovely. The description was extremely accurate. And the surprise was, it was far better than we expected! The owner was quickly responsive to any and all questions we had for him and was extremely helpful. We (my wife and I) would gladly recommend this rental to family and friends. It was a very quiet neighborhood and the ocean lulled us to sleep every night. Almost every meal was spent on the deck, looking out at the ocean. (February 2012 – 7 days)
Robert and Elenita – Cheshire, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved everything!!!

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

We cannot say enough good things about your Hilo house!! We loved everything!!! The quiet atmosphere was disturbed only by the sound of crashing ocean waves and the crowing of roosters!! Both of which we love. The rotating "showers, rainbows, and sunshine" were so relaxing and fresh. Everything was very homey and comfortable. The books you had about the island were very helpful, especially the one by "Wizard"...so helpful and funny. We laughed so many times reading the descriptions. Wish we could have stayed a month!!! (February 2012 - 7 days)
Linda, Doug, Dave, and Doreen – Avon, IN

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our stay at this pleasant home near Hilo

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 8, 2012

My husband and I and our friends enjoyed our stay at this pleasant home near Hilo. The resources/books at the house provided great information that was very helpful for exploring this area of the Big Island. We had spent prior visits on the Kona side and found this area very interesting. The house had everything you needed for a comfortable and enjoyable stay and we will definitely look to rent here again if back in the area. (February 2012 – 4 days)
Barb, David, Linda and Dana – St. Petersburg, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Staying at your house spoiled us!

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

Loved the location, a short drive to everything we wanted. We could drive to warm pool every morning to start the day off. Neighborhood is nice and friendly too. We took pictures of the house and posted on our Facebook page if you don't mind. Recommended it to our friends and family, and plan on returning for sure! Definitely feel the ALOHA.
Peter, Katie, Jessica, and Forrestt – Fairbanks, Alaska

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the sound and smell of the ocean.

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

We felt so at home in your rental. We loved the sound and smell of the ocean. Every morning I was up at daybreak, looking out at the beautiful Pacific. Three weeks went by way too soon. You and Terry have a great retirement home to look forward to. (January 2012 – 20 days)
Ruth, Larry, Rodney, Patricia – Cedar City, Utah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Hilo side is much nicer than the Kona side

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

We liked your house very much especially the open floor plan. The beds were great. Your kitchen was excellent and we did cook and make lunches. We really enjoyed listening to the waves and sitting on the lanai after our busy days. After visiting both sides of the island, my opinion is that the Hilo side is much nicer than the Kona side--much greener, not as hot. We thought your house was excellent value. Your instructions were very clear even though the Maku'u sign is hard to read coming from Hilo--especially at night. Thanks for having a coffee grinder so Cindy and Merle could sample all the coffee beans to decide which to take home. I left a couple of things that I bought just for the Lava at Night trip---a fleece pull over and a windbreaker. I did not want to carry them home. Anyone is welcome to them.
Rhoda, Merle, and Cindy – Jacksonville, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House was excellent in beautiful location.

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 10, 2011

Wonderful week. House was excellent in beautiful location. Being familiar with Hawaii vacation rentals was pleasantly surprised by the roominess of the house. Owners information and guide to the area was superb. Very reasonable rates, great escape. Mahalo nui loa. (December 2011 - 7 days)
Jim, Sheri, and friends - Kennewick, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was the Hawaii we were wishing to visit.

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

Our days in a windy west-side condo had us sipping Mai Tai's and jumping from one tourist attraction to the next, so we walked into wonderful Hale O' Aloha Nui with the delight of children on Christmas morning. This was the Hawaii we were wishing to visit. As soon as we dropped our bags we walked into the pines towards the ocean looking for Maku'u Man, and found ourselves with the locals the following morning at the street fair and theater that is the neighborhood open market. For the next week we explored the diversity of Hilo, Volcanoes, Puna, and the Hamakua Coast at our own lazy pace, enjoying every turn in the road.

From our star gazing at top of the world to hiking recent coast-side lava flows, we found your location and its amenities perfect for our all to short holiday. Thank you again for your courtesy, your professionalism, and for sharing your lovely home which we quickly made our own. Huli pau! (December - 7 days)
Nanette and Ron – Santa Rosa, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breakfast on the lanai with rainbows

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

My wife and I were lucky enough to return once again to our Hawaii Home. We were greeted by large crashing waves against the cliffs across the street which continued for a couple days. Our many breakfasts on the lanai were often accompanied with rainbows. Very nice! We did not see any whales but our neighbors saw a couple putting on quite a show. We added a couple pieces of artwork to the walls but Aloha All Natural keeps the house so clean there was little for us to do to the interior. We cannot wait until we get to return again in May. (November 11 days)
Michael And Terry Zimmerman (owners)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The ocean view was my favorite part of the week

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

The ocean view across the street was my favorite part of the week. We all enjoyed the Botanical Garden and the four mile scenic drive. Saw the tide pools and drove to Mauna Kea visitor info station. Nice gift shop up there. It was too icy for 2 wheel drive vehicle cars so couldn’t drive any further. We ate our meals in so we did the Farmer’s Market shopping – that was nice (old Hilo). Your home is spacious and the kitchen is nice. We are glad to have experienced your home. November 7 days)
Connie, Mark, and Friends

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Surrounded by "Aloha Spirit"

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2011

Thank you for sharing your lovely home surrounded by “Aloha Spirit”. We’ve enjoyed and gained respect of the Big Island’s wonders of nature. We appreciated how neat, comfortable and spacious the house was. We were also impressed with the amenities you provided such as the coffee grinder, beach cooler and towels, and CD of Hawaiian music. The labeled switches were very helpful as well. (November 7 days)
Masako, Eiko, and Jeff - Connecticut

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We are very happy to stay at your great place

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

We are very happy to stay at your great place. Everything about your home was really great beginning from views of the ocean and ending with your selection of books and music. Despite our short stay we managed to do 10 mile hike in Volcano Park. Thanks again once more. We hope to come back soon. (October 3 days)
Ilya and Elena - Great Neck, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay in your home was a wonderful experience

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

Michael and Terry the new washer is great! We were appreciative of having it in the house. Our stay in your home was a wonderful experience. We loved being able to get away from it all! The lanai was well used by us, the view and sound of the ocean was unbelievable. Couldn't have asked for a better 1st experience renting a vacation rental! We hit the jackpot with your home and all the extra touches to make our stay memorable. Like the beach towels, ice chest, information books, and the homey touches in your home. If you haven't moved in by the time we come back to the beautiful island of Hawaii we will definitely be renting from you again! Mahalo. (October 8 days)
Bob and Judi - Kennewick, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for sharing your gorgeous home

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

Jack and I had the most beautiful time on the Big Island, truly magical, a highlight of our trip was staying in your beautiful home. It felt like home, and yet like a dream come true. The pear wood floors were heavenly on our bare feet. The Master bedroom with view of the ocean was gorgeous and comforting, the walk in closet great and the beautiful shower made our stay nothing but wonderful. The convenient kitchen, dishwasher, blender, coffee maker made it feel like home, but the views from all windows in the kitchen, and living room, said Hawaii, tropical! The CD's by the CD player, Hawaiian and African story telling and music were played often and enjoyed. We ate all our meals on the deck to enjoy your beautiful neighborhood and see the ocean and pines and trees, and birds! Birds of so many colors and markings and sizes, loved the sound of frogs, birds, and rain at night. The weather was fantastic! Absolutely perfect. It would rain a warm rain, the sun would come out, we would find a new beach or go to the Farmers Markets, take walks, drive to Pahoa or Kona, black sand beach, saw the sea turtles both there and at Carlsbad, they were huge and very active and friendly, amazing! Yes, we saw the Man of Maku'u, Petroglyph, right across the street from your home! The beauty of Hilo and Hawaiian Paradise Park, flowers abundant in tall trees, fruit growing along the roads, black lava fields, horses, farms, friendly people, absolute rain forest, tropical experience, wonderful Kona coffee and local coffee, the smells of vanilla and coffee growing and plumeria were intoxicating. Fun Mexican lunch and dinner in Pahoa, good Thai dinner in Hilo, Bubba Gump's on Kona. We loved the Hilo side and would like to go back as soon as we can. The old Hawaiian Culture, colors, clothes, wonderful and plentiful, The Botanical gardens outside of Hilo is a gorgeous place I would like to explore. Thank you for sharing your gorgeous home with us, we highly recommend your home as the perfect place to stay awhile and unwind. (September 8 days)
Mary Ann and Jack - Citrus Heights, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I loved it there and it was very quiet.

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

We stayed in your home 9/11-9/16. We had a wonderful time on the “wet” side of the island. The house was beautiful, and the outdoor deck was great for relaxing. During the day there were so many birds, it sounded as if we were in an aviary. At night the frogs and crickets were very vocal also. The house is very central to many things on the east side. We visited the volcano during the only rainstorm we had during our stay. It always seemed the rain was “over there” from where we were. The tide pools just south, were a great place to snorkel and get very close to fish. So close that you could see more colors than you thought they had. The road in to the tide pools was one of the most beautiful scenes I’d seen. It was like driving through a tunnel of trees. Huge trees that hung over from both sides of the road. The house is also very close to Hilo town where they have the farmers market for fresh fruits and vegetables. There were many artists and crafters at which we bought several Hawaii inspired original prints. All in all, we enjoyed our stay immensely. (September 2011 - 5 days)
Dave and Marilyn - Troutdale, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We hit the jackpot with your home.

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

Michael and Terry the new washer is great! We were appreciative of having it in the house. Our stay in your home was a wonderful experience. We loved being able to get away from it all! The lanai was well used by us, the view and sound of the ocean was unbelievable. Couldn't have asked for a better 1st experience renting a vacation rental! We hit the jackpot with your home and all the extra touches to make our stay memorable. Like the beach towels, ice chest, information books, and the homey touches in your home. If you haven't moved in by the time we come back to the beautiful island of Hawaii we will definitely be renting from you again! Mahalo (October 8 days)
Bob and Judi - Kennewick, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It felt like home, and yet like a dream come true.

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

Jack and I had the most beautiful time on the Big Island, truly magical, a highlight of our trip was staying in your beautiful home. It felt like home, and yet like a dream come true. The pear wood floors were heavenly on our bare feet. The Master bedroom with view of the ocean was gorgeous and comforting, the walk in closet great and the beautiful shower made our stay nothing but wonderful. The convenient kitchen, dishwasher, blender, coffee maker made it feel like home, but the views from all windows in the kitchen, and living room, said Hawaii, tropical!
The CD's by the CD player, Hawaiian and African story telling and music were played often and enjoyed. We ate all our meals on the deck to enjoy your beautiful neighborhood and see the ocean and pines and trees, and birds! Birds of so many colors and markings and sizes, loved the sound of frogs, birds, and rain at night. The weather was fantastic! Absolutely perfect. It would rain a warm rain, the sun would come out, we would find a new beach or go to the Farmers Markets, take walks, drive to Pahoa or Kona, black sand beach, saw the sea turtles both there and at Carlsbad, they were huge and very active and friendly, amazing! Yes, we saw the Man of Maku'u, Petroglyph, right across the street from your home!
The beauty of Hilo and Hawaiian Paradise Park, flowers abundant in tall trees, fruit growing along the roads, black lava fields, horses, farms, friendly people, absolute rain forest, tropical experience, wonderful Kona coffee and local coffee, the smells of vanilla and coffee growing and plumeria were intoxicating. Fun Mexican lunch and dinner in Pahoa, good Thai dinner in Hilo, Bubba Gump's on Kona. We loved the Hilo side and would like to go back as soon as we can. The old Hawaiian Culture, colors, clothes, wonderful and plentiful, The Botanical gardens outside of Hilo is a gorgeous place I would like to explore. Thank you for sharing your gorgeous home with us, we highly recommend your home as the perfect place to stay awhile and unwind. (September 8 days)
Mary Ann and Jack - Citrus Heights, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was beautiful and very clean.

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

Thank you for the prompt return of my security deposit. That was very much appreciated. I would highly recommend your house to anyone going to the Hilo side of the big island. The setting is wonderful and the house was beautiful and very clean. I felt comfortable and at home there. (September 5 days)
Evelyn - Watsonville, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a beautiful house! We enjoyed it very much.

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

What a beautiful house! We enjoyed it very much. It is very well equipped and comfortable. We appreciated the ice chests. I left a pair of flip flops there for whoever would like them. The badminton tournament was fun, as usual, and we got in a lot of swimming/snorkeling also. (September 5 days)
Karen and Jeff – Los Gatos, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our son did not want to leave.

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Thank you so much for letting us check out later on Thursday. We were able to enjoy a full day before catching a redeye flight out. Your house was so nice and comfortable - so much better than staying at a hotel. The website photos don't do it justice. Our son, Tyler, especially loved the trip and did NOT want to leave :-). Depending on when you retire, maybe we will stay again. We visited many of the places you recommended, and the most memorable was Carlsmith Beach - where a gigantic sea turtle swam up to Tyler and scared him half to death - although he just seemed excited to me. (August 5 days)
Loretta, Eric, and Tyler – Castro Valley, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We've arrived and everything is FABULOUS.

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

We've arrived and everything is FABULOUS. Looking forward to a great week. Love the floors.......we are being very careful and removing shoes. ......We had a great time. (August 7 days)
Jan, Marty, Tori and Brennan – Omaha, Nebraska

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great experience in your home.

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

I have two more teachers who might be contacting you later on down the line. Sooooo, the word is out about our great experience in your home. (August 7 days)
Brenda and Steve – West Sacramento, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Every time we return it feels so comfortable.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

Every time we return to our vacation home it feels so comfortable. Aloha All Natural keeps the place spotless and shiny. We performed a few minor upgrades. We added a new small boom box with CD player and left behind 3 Hawaiian CDs for visitors to enjoy plus another which tells stories for children. We put out a new quilt for the master bed, bought a new toaster oven, and added a pedestal mounted floor fan. Because of the new moon there were big tidal changes which at times meant the lava cliffs across the street were being splashed by some rather large waves. No going near the edge on those days. We also found the 2nd petroglyph that a previous renter told us about. You can read about it on the Maku'u Man page of our website. (July 2011 - 7 days)
Michael and Terry Zimmerman (owners) - San Francisco

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your home was just perfect!

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

What a beautiful place to enjoy our vacation, your home was just perfect! We saw a lot of this Island for sure all the sights were great, my favorite was the Botanical Gardens it sure was worth the $15.00. Met a man named Manny tending to his post and watched him make fishing nets. What an art-- he also played a song and sang for us. He was sweet. The sunrises and the ocean view were awesome. Totally enjoyed the Lanai, spent a lot of time there. Also star gazing at night was great and we saw a lot of shooting stars. Volcano was breathtaking. We stopped along a lot of lookouts and walked the Lava Tubes and did the hike to the petroglyphs. I really wonder how life was then. I had a great LomiLomi massage by Susanne. The pamphlet is here if you are interested. Went to the Valley of the Kings and 4 wheeled down the mountain and all around through the water and went to the beach there so captivating. Enjoyed the Farmers Market. Went to a few. We went to Reggae night that was different by a black sand beach, an “experience”. Kona was great too, Saddle Road was interesting with all the wild life, plenty of pictures were taken. Thank you so much for sharing your piece of paradise. (July 2011, 14 days)
Laurie – Angola, NY and Ken – Ocala, FL

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would be so fortunate to stay here again.

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

Thank you for sharing your beautiful house with us. Although the focus of our trip was our grandmother’s funeral, we were able to enjoy running/walking up and down the coast, visiting Maku’u man, soaking in the sounds of the coqui frogs a t night, and enjoying the breathtaking view of the ocean during the day. We look forward to our next trip to Hawaii and we would be so fortunate to stay here again.
Erin – Chicago, Ruth – San Francisco, Nathan and Melissa – Walled Lake, MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Puna District was our favorite on Hawaii

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

We really enjoyed your house. We loved the location and the Puna District was our favorite on the whole island. We loved sitting on the cliffs. Your home was quite beautiful and very comfortable. Overall we loved staying in your home and would love to be back in the near future. (June 2011 – 4 days)
Julia and Family – Eugene, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We ate in every night so we could enjoy the lanai

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

We had a wonderful visit to Hawaii and especially enjoyed your home. It was so nice to have a real home to stay in while we were there. Your home was very comfortable and beautiful. I felt ‘at home’ there. We enjoyed it so much, we ate in every night so we could enjoy the peaceful place and sit on the lanai in the evening. The people walking past were very friendly and made us feel part of the community. It was very convenient to all the sites we want to see while allowing us to escape the city. (June 2011 – 4 days)
Rusty, Kathy, and Julia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderfully modern ocean view home near Hilo,HI.

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

My partner and I feel blessed to have found such a wonderful home in Paradise. The property owners were very kind and honest during all our arrangements. The directions provided to us from Hilo Airport to the home were accurate and easy to follow. In addition, the home was not to far from grocery stores, resturants and shopping malls. Upon our arrival to this beautiful home, we were pleasantly surprised with its warm and inviting decor not to mention its open and spacious floor plan. Also, most every amenity one could possibly need to feel comfortable in a home was provided. The ocean was directly across the street from the home. We enjoyed early morning walks down the street to the right wich led to a vibrant sunrise while sitting on the shoreline with a cup of Kona Coffee. We would highly recommend this property to our closest friends and considered it a privledge to stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great place to stay...

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

What a great place to stay...the house was wonderful and very spacious.... We enjoyed the Cool Ocean breezes on the large deck and walking along the water .. very convenient to Pahoa, Volcano and all the Puna attractions.. Also very nice neighborhood with friendly people.. Would recommend this home to anyone who is looking to explore the Big Island, or just relax by the Beautiful Pacific Ocean. (May-June 2011, 4 days)
The Macks - Tacoma, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your home.

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your home. Our son did stay one night--so thank you for that hospitality. We will plan on coming to Hilo at least once a year as long as my son lives there! By that time, however, you will probably be living there yourself. Thanks again--it was a lovely time for our first visit to Hawaii and your home enhanced it all. (May 2011 – 5 days)
Jennifer and Richard – Venedocia, OH

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was wonderful!

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

We had an excellent time on the Big Island. We also enjoyed the proximity of your house to a lot of things we wanted to see. We snorkeled at the Kapoho Tide Pools and Richardson Park, visited the volcano and Greensand Beach and spent some time just wandering around Hilo and Pahoa, and enjoy your Lanai. It was wonderful! (May 6 days)
Lizzi and Geoff – Portland, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was a time I will always remember.

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 3, 2011

Aloha Michael, The stay in your home was a time I will always remember. I loved the energy in the home, the nights sounds, such as frogs, bugs their serenade, enhanced my rest and sleep. The windows offered such a beautiful view. I have stayed in many vacation rentals, but your home was the best, soooo! serene. We stayed on the Kona side for 3 nights just to see what it was like; we regretted not just staying at the house the whole time. I felt like I just wanted to run back. (May 4 days)
Gloria and Raymond - Everett, WA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hale O' Aloha Nui was a perfect location

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 27, 2011

Hale O' Aloha Nui was a perfect location for our first visit to the Merrie Monarch Hula Festival (April 27 - 30). There were four of us (two sisters and their husbands) so we would have breakfast in the house, go to town for other Merrie Monarch 'events', eat lunch in town (Hilo Bay Café is a favorite), then go back to the house for a nap - which is needed because the evening events begin at 6 pm (get in line at 4:30 if you have general admission) and finishes at midnight. The house is lovely, spacious and possesses a warm aloha feeling.  We walked down to watch the surf in the morning and we discovered a Papa Mu Konane (Hawaii's first 'board' game carved in the lava - right at the edge of the lava straight in from the petroglyph).
We really enjoyed our visit to your home and would not hesitate to return. (April 4 days)
Paul and Joyce - Bellevue, WA
Jack and Carol - Fountain Hills, AZ

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house, great location, great holiday!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

Great house, great location, great holiday! We’ve had an absolutely fantastic time. It was our first trip to the Big Island and we think that staying on the East side was a great choice. The house was like a home away from home and gave us the perfect base from which to explore. Everything that we could possible need was there for us. Staying on this side of the island gave us a better chance to integrate with Hawaiians instead of other tourists and a friendlier bunch of people you’d struggle to find.

The ocean view is still etched into my mind and I think will remain for a long time. Every day we would scan the horizon for whales. On the penultimate day of our trip (which just happened to be our wedding anniversary) they arrived and gave us a show we’ll never forget. A mother and baby came so close to the lava cliffs that we could hear them spouting water from their blow holes. A truly spine tingling experience.

Our daughter Mali (aged 7) insists that I also mention some of the wonderful new experiences she had - swim with dolphins, snorkelling with turtles (Kapoho Tide Pools), viewing the rings of Saturn (Mauna Kea Visitors Centre) and a horse ride down to Captain Cook Bay!

Thanks for sharing your wonderful home. We are already trying to figure out how quickly we can save for a return trip! (April 13 days)

Jason, Helena and Mali (Berkshire, England)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful home!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

What a wonderful home! It more than exceeded our expectations. The bed was comfortable, the full kitchen was much used, and there was always a view. I think the lanai may be the most relaxing location on the Big Island. It's a home base perfectly suited for exploring the whole island. (March 6 days)
Barbara and Chris (Boston, MA)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

House near Hilo

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

This property was about what we expected based on the description. Very nice. We dealt with the owners through email and PayPal and they could not have been more accommodating, flexible, and prompt. They provide detailed info on the house as well as things to see in the area. When first driving to the house, it seemed a bit remote and perhaps inconvenient to basic amenities. You quickly learn, however, to just obtain groceries before making your way to the house for the evening. The general location is excellent for all sights on the Hilo side and a drive to the Kona side is only 2 1/2 hours. The property is across the street from the lots that are right on the ocean, but this house looks right at the ocean through a vacant lot. One can walk through this lot toward the ocean. There is no beach, however. It is strictly volcanic rock with a drop off to the water. It is quite beautiful. The neighborhood is very quiet. The house is very clean and well maintained. If you are looking for something a little different than a hotel or resort, I would recommend this house. The value is incredible and we saved big on food not having to eat out all the time. Have fun!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We recommend this rental to anybody.

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

We are now in Maui in a rental which is OK, but which cannot compare with your lovely house in Kea'au. We spent 13 very happy days there and we enjoyed every one of them. We found the location very beautiful and enjoyed the sight of the ocean every morning. The way you manage your rental is vey professional and shows a very good organization. Everything performs as expected. We recommend this rental to anybody without reserve. Thank you very much for refunding so promptly the security deposit. (March 12 days)
Francois and Christa (Forch, Switzerland)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the views from the many windows

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your beautiful home.  It was very comfortable and spacious and well stocked.  We loved the views from the many windows overlooking the ocean and often found ourselves wandering out to stand on the rocks and watch the waves crashing on the shore.  We spotted 1 humpback on our first day and 1 sea turtle near the end  of our stay.  Your neighbor, Patty, told us the whales visit the bay daily between 4 and 6 pm.  We always seemed to be somewhere else at that time of day.  We explored the many areas around the house and especially enjoyed the volcano, and its many sights, the Kapoho tide pools, Ahalanui beach park, Mauna Kea, as well as the sights around Hilo. The whole Puna area is our favorite.  We loved our stay in "real" Hawaii and would love to return.  We can certainly see why this area is called Hawaiian Paradise Park.  You have a wonderful home in a beautiful area.  We also bought our own copy of Hawaii: The Big Island Revealed and found it very helpful while exploring the island.  We went on a whale watch trip on our last day on the Kona side as a fitting end to  our wonderful holiday.  Mahalo for all your hospitality and helpful advice. (Feb 6 days)
Susan, Trevor, and Dawson (Saskatchewan, Canada)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Numerous spouts were spotted every day.

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

We had good luck with whale watching on this trip. We did almost all of our watching from the lanai and the lava cliffs across the street. On one day we were drawn to the cliffs by a beautiful full sky rainbow. We saw a whale begin breaching in the bay to the right. It just kept spouting and breaching as it made it's way out in front of us. A giant sea turtle swam by that day too. On another day two very large whales came quite close to shore and gave us an amazing display of their tails as they made a deep dive. On yet another day a whale nearly leapt clear out of the water creating a gigantic splash. Numerous spouts were spotted every day. (February 11 days)
Michael and Terry Zimmerman (owners)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your home is in a perfect location.

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 25, 2011

Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us. This was our 2nd trip to the Big Island, but unlike last time we spent the whole 10 days on this side. Your home is in a perfect location to visit the different sites. The view is great - saw whales a couple different times from the lanai. This whole neighborhood is quiet and peaceful. We took the guided walk out to the lava flow, well worth the money and the 5 mile round trip walk. Kaleo's in Pahoa has great food, tried Poke for the first time. Thanks so much for your hospitality, your beautiful, well kept home. We would love to return next year for maybe a 2 week stay. (Jan-Feb 9 days)
Dave and Kathy (Calfiornia)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will remember forever our trip.

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

Well we've been here for 5 days and love the quiet and peacefulness of the area. Saw two water spouts the first day but no whales since. Plenty of things to do. Love the house. It was very comfortable and homey. Can see why you want to retire here. Will remember forever our trip. (January 5 days)
Tom and Shirley
Tom and Janice

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't say thank you enough.

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

Had a great time on our visit to the Big Island. Your neighbors were so friendly and helpful. We were trying to find the petroglyph and were not having much success. One of the men grading the road saw us and came to see what we were looking for. He spent quite some time trying to help us. We went home and that man is probably still there looking for the petroglyphs! Your home is beautiful and, if we come again, we will certainly contact you to see if your house is again available.
Can't say thank you enough. (January 8 days)
Lorne & Marion & Denis (Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

If you are in need of an exciting vacation .....

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

My wife and son were immediately impressed with the homes spacious and inviting floor plan. The lanai was a great place to sit and drink our morning Kona coffee while watching the surf wash up over the cliffs in front.  As this was our first trip to the big island the house was a great launching point for day trips to investigate the island.  We visited Volcano National Park where we hiked through lava fields to view petroglyphs, through a rain forest to view a large lava tube and, after listening to a presentation on native Hawaiian birds, viewed the red glow coming from Kilauea Caldera at night.  Another day we visited the Mauna Kea observatory visitor center where we watched the sun set and then were treated to a tour of the night sky by an astronomer while viewing constellations, planets, the asteroid belt, and even a distant galaxy (Andromeda) through numerous telescopes set up on the large viewing deck.  Not far from the house is Lava Tree State Park and, our favorite, Kapoho tide pools where we snorkeled amongst colorful coral and fish.  We made good use of the igloo container located in the kitchen as we packed a picnic lunch every day as we explored 450 ft waterfalls along the Hamakua Coast and beaches south of Kona.  It seemed like there were numerous beautiful picnic parks everywhere we went. - No wonder Hawaii was known as the Sandwich Islands !!  When we left my, 21 yr old son said that it was one of the best vacations he had ever experienced (as a family we have traveled extensively across North America and Europe).  If you are in need of an exciting vacation destination you need to contact Michael and Terry and book'em Danno !!
Ted and family (La Porte, Texas) December 7 days

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review