reviews for: listing #67352 - Indian Lake, Ohio Cottage rental

Virgil's Lakefront Cottage - Book now for Aug and Sept!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Seminole Island
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $500 - $1,650 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Reunion Fun

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 18, 2014

We had a great time. Family reunion from Columbus, Sylvania, Delphos, Springfield, Westerville, and Galloway. Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The whole family enjoyed it so much!

Review submitted: July 18, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time and the whole family enjoyed it so much!

Thanks again,

The Mapes Family

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We look forward to coming again!

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 7, 2014

We had a wonderful time! The house was perfect for our needs. We had a nice, relaxing week fishing, exploring the lake, and being together with family. We look forward to coming again!

The Truesdale & Johnson Family

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Memorable Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

Thank you for letting us create memories at Indian Lake. This is our 3rd year at Indian Lake for a family reunion and each time gets better. Your cottage was perfect for our family.

Thank you for helping make our family reunion memorable!

The Zerby Nichols Family

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was perfect!

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

Thank you for letting us stay at Virgil's. We had a wonderful time. We will recommend friends and family to stay. Everything was perfect!

The Bride and the Bridal Party!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

30th Birthday Surprise!

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

My husband swept me and the kids away here for a 30th birthday surprise! I had no idea where we were going and when we pulled into your sweet cottage, I couldn't have been happier. It was better than any place I could've imagined!

Thank you for making my 30th birthday one I will NEVER forget!

Kevin, Lauren, Susannah (3), and Lucy (10mos)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

For us, the view was priceless.

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

We walked into a delightful cottage, spacious, open living room with an inviting view of the lake. It was so relaxing on the comfy couch, watching TV, and being able to enjoy lakeside living with a view of the water. Our goal on this short getaway was to relax, and that is just what we did.

We made breakfast each morning in the well-designed kitchen, and ate our breakfast at the bistro table while enjoying our view of the lake. The owners were so gracious by providing the little necessary items: bed linens, towels, toilet paper, paper towels, etc.

For us, the view was priceless. What a treat to be able to walk out the door to do your fishing whenever the whim strikes you.

-Connie

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the view of the lake!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

Thank you for allowing us into your beautiful cabin by the lake. It was a special time for us as friends to get together and have a good time. We loved the view of the lake from the living room. We had everything we needed here, including toiletries and kitchen supplies. We would definitely recommend to a friend.

Thanks again!

Samyam and friends

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved to play cards and look at the water!

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

Thanks so much for allowing us to use your wonderful cottage. We loved to play cards and look at the water! This place is perfect for that. We all feel very blessed to have spent the weekend here.

God bless and keep you!

Carol, Sue, Polly, Ronda, and Jean
"Sarasota Saints"

(We are all from Logan County, so it was nice to meet while everyone had time off)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just the place for five ladies to get away.

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

Thank you for the use of your wonderful cottage! It was very cozy and clean. Just the place for five ladies to get away.

God bless you and thanks again!

Jean

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for two, beautiful weeks!

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

Thank you for two, beautiful weeks! We enjoyed it so much and we want to come back next year. Let us know about your twin babies!

God Bless,

Henry and Dixie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great way to end the summer!

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We had a great weekend and the weather was beautiful. The home was very clean and we loved the open floor plan. It was the perfect amount of space for our family. The neighbor next to us was very friendly. It was a great way to end the summer.

Thanks,

Jenny

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will be back again!

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Thank you all again for a wonderful time! We are grateful for you letting us do the weekend for our Grandma. We will be back again!

Natalie & Robbin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for making us feel at home and welcomed!

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

Thanks for making us feel at home and welcomed. We had a great time and enjoyed it so much. The location here is awesome. We certainly will be back next year!

Thanks again for everything!

The Mapes Family

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The kids loved fishing and swimming off the dock!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

Had a wonderful time! The cottage was very nice and clean. It was big enough for the whole family. The kids loved fishing and swimming off the dock. We went to the beach and took the boat around the lake. They loved going to McDonalds for ice cream by boat. We had a wonderful time between the thunderstorms!

Thanks so much!

Marilyn and Jim Buerschen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Having a place to dock the boat was our favorite!

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

Thank you for such a nice visit. The cottage had ample space for our whole family! We enjoyed the firepit by the lake with s'mores, of course. Having a place to dock the boat was our favorite thing! We could come and go on the lake at any time. The cottage was clean and better than I expected. We will definitely remember you for next time!

Thanks!

Pearl and Rick Drake & Family

P.S. Fireworks all around the lake were great!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Warm & Friendly Cottage

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

We found Virgil's Cottage to be warm and friendly, not to mention very clean. Our families enjoyed the fishing and boating very much and everyone was very friendly.

The Murlin/Cuichner Familes

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The hospitality was amazing!

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

Lovely time for our last minute change of plans due to crazy east coast weather. The anticipated crazy weather here never came to fruition and it made for a wonderful time. The hospitality was amazing and we will most certainly be back to this lovely cottage by the lake!

Thanks again,

Mary Kate, Mike, Finn, and Sully

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memorial Day Weekend (Girls Weekend)

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

The group grows every year and the weather this year made us seek other activities than water activities. Good thing we were prepared: Badminton, crafts, and decorating with party lights. Sunsets by the fire with herons flying by was wonderful!

Thanks again,

The Island Girls... Lori, Robin, Cheryl, Cassie & Melissa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

Thanks for a wonderful Thanksgiving! Everything was better than promised and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

Mike, pat & Joe

Wooster, Ohio

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the sunsets and campfires by the water.

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

We had a great time for our first visit to Indian Lake! Our kids had a blast at the beach and on the boat ride. Mom and Dad enjoyed the sunsets and campfires by the water. Thanks for sharing your cottage with us!

The Guilbert Family, Dublin, OH

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will recommend it to all my friends

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We all really enjoyed the weekend. Could not have asked for a better place. I will recommend it to all my friends.

Thanks again.

The Klimaski Family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The greatest vacation!

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

This trip was maybe the greatest vacation we've had. This was one of the vacations in which we mainly fished. We caught catfish and had so much fun. We also tubed, kneeboarded and, even though it was a little cool, we managed to go swimming. We are really looking forward to our next vacation here at the lake.

Thanks for everything.

The Millers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great family vacation, thanks for everything.

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

We spent a great family vacation here.

Thanks for everything!

The Brothags from Painesville, Ohio and Salem, Ohio.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location for the grandkids, we will be back!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Thanks to Kevin & Tracy Marshall!

This is the 1st all family vacation together. We had a really good time. Great location for the grandkids. Weather was really great. We will be back.

Thanks,

Kevin, Tracy, Lori, Lacy, Kay, Don, Kim, Missy, Brandon, Cat and Kristen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love the location of the cottage on the water!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

The Marshalls really like this place. Kirk was so nice to come over and meet us, and helped give us info on places to eat, and where to go shop, bike ride, and ski. Love the location of the cottage on the water!

Minerva, Ohio

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Virgil's Lakefront Cottage

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

We were looking for a place on the lake to celebrate Mom's 75th birthday. This house was just what we were looking for! It was well stocked with things that we needed and the layout was perfect. It says that it sleeps 8 but we were able to put down some air mattresses to accomadate the family. The kids enjoyed fishing and we were able to tube right in the area near the house so this worked out great as well. The house was clean upon our arrival and met pretty much all of our needs. We didn't leave the house to explore what was out there but have been to the lake before and pretty much what they say is around, is around. I would definitely recommend this house to those who enjoy a lake view with awesome sunsets! We made some new memories and hope to make more in the future at Virgil's Cottage! Thanks for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: It was wonderful meeting you and the family for your Fourth of July week stay! I hope the fireworks around the lake added to the birthday celebration for your Mom. Fishing, tubing, boating, grilling... you did it all! We look forward to seeing you next time, where we can continue as we left off, sharing drinks, fun times, and good conversation as neighbors... lakeside!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of the most perfect spots on the lake!

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

You have a wonderful getaway home here. It has everything that is needed and it is situated on one of the most perfect spots on the lake. Thanks for offering such a nice, clean place at Indian Lake!

Roxanne, Randy & Audrey

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hope to be back again sooner than later!

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Kudos to the Febus family!

The Kehres family thanks you all for sharing Virgil's Cottage with us! Everything was wonderful and we greatly appreciate it. Hope to be back again sooner than later!

Thanks again!

The Kehreses

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time, all the way from Singapore!

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

What a great place to have a family reunion and celebration! Father's Day and Al's 84th birthday all at the same time, together with fishing and boating, campfire and s'mores. We all had a great time.

Al & Pat, and Ted, Eileen and Megan coming all the way from Singapore!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Virgil's Cottage at Indian Lake

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Our family had a wonderful vacation at Virgil's Cottage at Indian Lake! This was our second time renting Virgil's Cottage! The location is perfect and the sunsets are amazing! The cottage is impeccably clean and well stocked with every kitchen item you could ever need. Unlike most cottages, Virgil's provides bed linens and towels. All you have to do is show up and start having fun! The cottage is very roomy and sleeps eight very comfortably. There is a large patio with table & chairs & umbrella, a grill, a fire pit ... we ended every night with smores by the fire!! Virgil's is the perfect place to create family memories ... we look forward to vacationing at Virgil's again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sandi,

We were happy to have you and your family back this year, and glad you had such a great time! Creating memories is one of the most wonderful aspects that Indian Lake provides us, and we are so fortunate to have the opportunity to allow others to do the same while staying at Virgil's Cottage. We truly cherish the friendships we build with our guests week after week. Our late, dear neighbor Virgil (Norma) Wilson wouldn't have it any other way.

Until next time!

The Febus Family

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kayak, Boat, & Bikes - We rarely stopped moving!

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

What great weather! Kayak, Boat, & Bikes - we rarely stopped moving.

The Island girls were most happy!

Lori, Robin, Cheryl, and Susan

p.s. loved the big bank of windows... what a view!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was so clean and beautiful!

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Our family had an amazing weekend at the cottage! Everything was so clean and beautiful, and the weather was perfect! Thank you so much for allowing us to visit. We hope to return to create more wonderful memories!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our 1st Annual Brothers Weekend back in Ohio!

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

We had a great weekend and enjoyed the house! Our 1st Annual Brothers Weekend back in Ohio!

Thanks again,

The Jeffrey Brothers

Scott, Chris, Kevin & Keith

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had an excellent time

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

Thank you so much for allowing us to spend the weekend in your home. We had an excellent time and look forward to doing it again.

Joe Baker, Robby Davis, Josh Dunklefren

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Comfortable and Welcoming

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

We had a lovely time at the cottage. Very comfortable and welcoming. We look forward to our next visit.

The Browns

Eric, Kim and Jacob

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for making us feel at home!

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

Thanks for a great vacation! We certainly enjoyed our time spent here. Thanks for making us feel at HOME!

The Altstaetters

Maumee, OH
Wauseen, OH
Columbus, OH
Botkins, OH

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for another great stay!

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

Thanks for another great stay at the cottage. The kids loved swimming in the lake. The fishing for catfish was a big hit. Record highs in the 90's all week! Could not have asked for better weather!

See you next year!

The Kohlers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The kids had a wonderful time

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

Thank you so much for letting us stay at Virgil's Cottage. The kids had a wonderful time. The cottage is very nice.

Thanks again!

Finkbeiner & Carter Family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our family will remember this place forever

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

Virgil's Cottage has been the best! Easy access to everything, beautiful sunsets, and comfy beds. Our whole family will remember this place forever.

See you next summer!

The Millers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We caught several catfish!

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

We had a lovely week at Virgil's Cottage. We would like to thank the owners for your thoughtfulness and attention to detail. Our family caught several 6-8 lbs. channel catfish -- great fun! We'll see you in the future, hopefully.

Gary & Tammie Funkhouser and Family

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the "lake" feeling!

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

We loved the "lake" feeling at Virgil's Cottage. It was great! We hope to return in the future.

-The Stainbrooks & Fraziers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An unforgettable weekend

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

Thank you so much for letting us stay here! The house is beautiful and the water was great! We had an unforgettable weekend. This was the perfect place to kick off summer!

Thanks again!

David Painter & Crew

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place, great food, great fun!

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

Great place, great food, great fun! Thanks for sharing your home with us! We hope to return.

The Snyders

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Convenient Location to Mad River Mountain

Review submitted: May 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

We found the house extremely clean and a beautiful view of the lake. This was a very convenient location for our trip to Mad River Mountain Ski Resort. The two tables helped for adult cards and kids games. A wonderful experience.

Thanks for opening up your home!

-The Rumfields & Greers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A very well planned rental

Review submitted: November 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

Kirk, Ann & Mark,

A very well planned rental, very clean and well equipped. We loved our vacation relaxing in this lovely cottage.

Thanks for thinking of everything!

Kathy Bow - California
Sandra Volz - Dayton, OH

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You were right, the sunsets were beautiful!

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

Kirk, Ann, & Mark,

Thanks so much for sharing your lovely home. You were right, the sunsets were beautiful. I have never caught and lost so many catfish. I will be back and next time with heavier line.

Best wishes for a wonderrful rest of the year.

Kathy, Dan, Aurora & Tom

The Leguards
Salem, Ohio

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great space for family!

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

Thanks for sharing this nice home with us. I am sure lots of updates and work have gone into the home and it is certainly comfortable and roomy.

Great space for family.

Have a great rest of the summer!

The Bodens
Grove City, Ohio

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

Kirk, Ann and Mark,

The cottage is great! We all had a wonderful vacation! Too short, but sweet.

A lot of 1st times: Molly caught her first catfish, first carp & she learned to use an open bail reel. It was also her first tubing and she loved it all! Jack's first fishing "poo" and his first blue gill. He also enjoyed his very first boat ride!

Until next time!

See ya,

Grant & Cecilia Snead

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks a million.. you saved the weekend!

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

Mark & Kirk,

I would like to thank you for renting us your place last weekend. Kirk, thanks a millon on making the call to get our boat fixed in record time. You saved the weekend. Everyone in our group had a great time boating, drinking, eating and just hanging out and playing cornhole. It was nice meeting you and your family and talking to your (grand) dad.. he had some great stories!

Jim

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The kids had so much fun!

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

Thank you for letting us stay at your cottage. The cottage was perfect and so was the weather.

The kids had so much fun this week. Can't wait to come back next year..

The Kohlers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Surprise Birthday Celebration

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

Ann, Kirk, and Mark-

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful lakeside home with us. It was the perfect place for our family to gather and celebrate a surprise 60th birthday for Allen.

Until we return, take care of Rudy!

Beth and Allen Veach
SC

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic View!

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at Virgil’s Cottage. I especially enjoyed relaxing around the firepit at night and gazing at the stars. The view of the lake is fantastic. We will definitely be back to do it again. Thanks for everything!

Sue, Doug and family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You thought of everything!

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

Kirk and Mark,

We had a wonderful time at your beautiful cottage! Perfect location! You did a great job remodeling the place. The floor to ceiling windows in the family room gave us an awesome view of the lake! You thought of everything while stocking the home. We were so comfortable here. We look forward to visiting again! Please thank your wife for her hospitality!

The Franz Family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memorial Day Weekend

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

Your cottage was wonderful and the location is just perfect. We really enjoyed our stay and used the one rainy day to go into town so my sister and brother-in-law could buy a boat at Spend-A-Day. Thanks for your hospitality. I can't think of anything that could have made it any better. My parents really enjoyed seeing their old place and all the growth and improvements that have taken place. By the way, the barbeque chicken they sell over by the donut shop is awesome!

-Jerry

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review