reviews for: listing #6744 - Gulf Shores, Alabama House rental

Beautiful, Toucan Play
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $90 - $150 /nt
    $500 - $950 /wk

sort by:

Great Place for Family Reunions

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

This was my fourth visit to Toucan Play. Property was well maintained, with new furniture. The unit has everything. We only rented Toucan one, Which is my favorite, but with 2 different units, it is perfect for family Reunions. The weather was cold, but we enjoyed the location and view. Just a one min walk to the beach. On one side of the unit you can see the bay, and on the other side the Gulf. Just a joy to get away from highrise condos and have the privacy of a home.
We can't wait till our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beach Vacation

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

This house was nice and clean. We had 5 people and it accommodated us comfortably. This place is a very short distance from the beach (about a couple blocks). It is a very quiet area. The beach area was not crowded at all. The in town fireworks display got cancelled after only a few minutes because of high winds, but there were fireworks all around this area. During our visit there were dangerous rip currents being reported and rain the last couple of days. Thanks to Eric and Linda having Direct TV, the kids were OK with staying inside for a day. The only thing I wish they had were the warning flags like they have at the public beach area, they did however have a lighted sign near the roadway as you came from town which warned of the rip currents. Overall we did have a great vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great!

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This was our first time to the ocean and we LOVED it!! This house is out of the touristy hustle & bustle but just a short drive away. Loved that we could sit out on the deck & listen to the waves of the ocean! From the deck there is the Gulf, from the porch there is the Bay. LOVED the beach! We LOVED this place so much that my husband (one who RARELY strays from his whole in the woods) wanted me to call Eric & ask if he would sell us this house. Cant wait to go back!!!! THANKS Eric & Linda for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for the kind comments! I'm glad your first trip to the ocean was a pleasant experience! Come back and see us next time!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great!

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This was our first time to the ocean and we LOVED it!! This house is out of the touristy hustle & bustle but just a short drive away. Loved that we could sit out on the deck & listen to the waves of the ocean! From the deck there is the Gulf, from the porch there is the Bay. LOVED the beach! We LOVED this place so much that my husband (one who RARELY strays from his whole in the woods) wanted me to call Eric & ask if he would sell us this house. Cant wait to go back!!!! THANKS Eric & Linda for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

We loved our stay at Toucan Play, very clean kitchen was fully equipped, all we had to do was buy food, we had everything we need it. beach was closed by, we had come to vacation AL before and now that we found this place we will make this our future destination. Very easy to speak with the owners they were always there when we need it them. Thanks Linda and Eric for allowing us to stay there.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank You! We try to make your stay as pleasant as we can.I'm glad ya'll had a good time!Look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

This was a great vacation, the place was great, very clean, closed to the beach, comfortable, we had a kitchen fully equipped we had several supermarkets near fort Morgan including WalMart. it was very easy to speak with Eric the owner, we had stayed in Alabama before and now that we found Toucan Play will make this our future destination. We also got our refund very quick. Thanks Eric and Linda for allowing us to stay here. We will see you in our next vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank You! We try to treat people as we'd like to be treated.I'm glad ya'll had a good time!Look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great time with family and friends

Review submitted: May 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

we had a blast here! we already booked are dates for next year i love that you can hear the ocean from the deck we also got to see the blue angels from the house and the beach it was great! counting down the days till next year!!!!!!!!!! eric and linda r great to work with also!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for your nice comments! We do try to make your stay at the beach as nice as we can.Looking forward to having you back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place to stay

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

We were here for four mo had a great time. Owner are great to deal with.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Gulf.Hope to see you next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

This is the second time I stayed at the Toucan Play. It was fun and relaxing a great place to spend time with friends or family. I will be going back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome home!

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

My husband, daughter, mother-in-law, and I rented both Toucan Play I and Toucan Play II (both sides of the duplex), and even though this was the first time we'd rented both sides, we have rented one side before, and as before, found the home to be immaculately clean, well furnished with everything we needed except food, and very user-friendly. The owners, Eric and Linda, are awesome people to work with, very personable, and have a wonderful vacation spot for weary travelers to feel at home in.

We have been here before, we will come here again! It was just a short (one block) walk to the beach, which meant fewer noisy neighbors (NONE), less traffic, and no one walking back and forth in front of our house. The great thing about this part of the peninsula is that on this beach, if you leave your beach chair or umbrella on the beach at night, it's still there in the morning.

We drove down from Nashville, Tennessee, and it took us about eight hours. Once we got there, we immediately felt at home, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The lighted covered parking and under-the-house "patio" with picnic table, chairs, grill, and a hose to spray off the sand was a very welcome addition.

In conclusion, as a place far from the "madding crowd", it was the ideal vacation stay. Thank you, Eric and Linda!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Just like home...

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

First time renting instead on vacation instead of staying in hotels & motels. With 3 children, (ages 8, 10, 12) after a 10 hour drive there, it was nice to walk in & feel like you were at home. Everyone loved being within walking diastance to the beach, & it wasn't crowded at all. When we make it back to Gulf Shores again we will be staying here again. Would highly recommend this place to everyone!!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful and worth it!

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

My family and I arrived, very late in the evening to find the lights were on inside, so we didnt walk into a dark home! It was beautiful, we could hear the ocean. Everything we needed was already there and more. Could not have asked for a more comfortable and well located place to stay. My girls, 7 and 11, enjoyed every minute of our stay, as well. Our little dog enjoyed being able to join us on the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Super vacation

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

We loved it!! Quiet and peaceful, beautiful unobscured vues, great beach!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect vacation place

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

I arrived after a 5 and 1/2 hour ride with two teenagers and a 2 1/2 year old. When I walked into the Condo it was a giant happy sigh. It was exactly as described. Beautiful, close to the beach and incredibly clean. One of the little touches that made it so nice was the air conditioning was set to cool and comfortable. After that long drive it was so nice to walk into a cool, comfortable place. It had a homey feel, not stuffy like a hotel. The view was wonderful. It is so close you can hear the ocean at night. It was truly a great vacation. We will be going back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a nice stay at Toucan Play!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

My wife, dog, and I needed a retreat from Nola for a few days. This house was perfect for our needs and budget. It's close enough to the beach (only a short distance, maybe 600 feet at most). It is in a good, safe area close to grocery stores. Getting in and out of the property is easy; the door uses a keypad, so there's no key to lose! Additionally, it boasts a fully-stocked kitchen. My wife appreciate the array of cooking utensils available. We will consider this property again in the future.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our trip to the beach.

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We were very happy with the property, it was clean and the furnishings were nice. We have already recommended this property. The only down side was the yellow house at the end of Beacon Lane. The property owner apparently ownes the beach down to the water. We were told on our first day, that we needed to move our beach chairs off their property. Then, on another day, my husband and our 9 year old son were playing catch with a football, and was told by no uncertain terms that it was private property and we could not be on the beach. From that day on, we drove down the beach and didn't have a problem, except the fact that we had to drive. I just wish they had a sign posted private property. The owners are very accodomating and we will probable return in the fall.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Three Can Play at Toucan Play!

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Toucan Play is the perfect vacay rental. A duplex about a block and a half from the beach, it has all the amenities you could want! It was spotlessly clean and well stocked with everything we needed when we got there, and we truly enjoyed this place. Eric & Linda were very helpful about providing us with information before our visit, and we can recommend them and Toucan Play to anyone looking for a vacay rental in Gulf Shores, Alabama.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

My family stayed here in April and had the greatest time. The house is clean and comfy and everything we had anticipated and the price was right. There isn't a bad thing I can say. Four of us stayed and one of my main objectives was to be able to take my dog, plus he could go on the beach. He loved it too! Dogs aren't allowed on most of the beaches in Gulf Shores. The house was close to the beach and the area was quiet and relaxing. It was a bit of a drive to go into Gulf Shores every evening, but that wasn't what we went for. We went for the sand and the sea and it was nice going back after an evening in town and to get away from all the traffic and noise. The owner was so easy to work with, friendly and accommodating. That means a lot to me. Before finding this house, I talked with several "services" and they just weren't friendly. I felt like they didn't want to bother with me unless I wanted to rent something for a couple thousand $$.

We plan to return and this is where I want to stay.

Thanks for a great time!

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

we have stayed here 1-2 times per year for 7 years

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

The description of this duplex is very accurate. Very comfy and we instantly feel at home. All we bring with us is bathing suits, umbrella, chairs and food and our golden retriever. Excellent service by the owners every time. The walk to the beach is easy on paved road. We have taken school aged children up to college students and every one relaxes and has a wonderful time. Summer 2010 we did not go after the oil spill, but we returned in October for fall break. The water was clean and clear, the birds, manta rays, dolphins and fish were in abundance and healthy. The sand is as clean as we have ever seen it. The ferry across Mobile Bay is a fun trip. We eat at Lulu's. We drive to Pensacola and watch the Blue Angels practice. We have and will continue to recommend this location to several friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review