reviews for: listing #67524 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

Spacious Family Pool Home on 1 acre--Close to Downtown
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Downtown Upper East
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $650 - $900 /nt
    $2,800 - $4,500 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Getaway

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

"Beautiful Getaway!"
3 couples recently rented "Poolside" to celebrate our 50th Birthdays...and we are so happy we did. We enjoyed the beautiful gardens, private yard, swimming in the pool, and cooking with the fresh herbs, lemons, limes, and oranges we found on the property. We are from Canada, and spent our days exploring and golfing around Santa Barbara - but we enjoyed coming "home" to cook and eat our meals in the quiet and privacy of the home.

Wendy was very helpful in providing suggestions for golf, limousine service for wine tours, and any other info we wanted to know about Santa Barbara. We especially appreciated her professionalism from start to finish in the process - following through in a timely manner with e-mails and phone calls, and leaving us feeling that all is being taken care of.

The home was perfect for 3 couples who wanted to be together, but still have our own "space".

Thank you!

Sandra B., Alberta, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Shall Return Again!

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This place and home will live long in our memory. We have had a wonderfully relaxing, energizing and revitalizing week in your generous slice of paradise. We became thoroughly immersed in the property's balming charms from the first day until our final early morning last swim just minutes ago.
The symmetry, architecture and spatial embrace was unique and delightful to us all. What a place, for which our only regret is having to leave! We shall return again, and that thought shall stay with us until the next drive up Mission Canyon road.
Emmet B., Dublin, Ireland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home & Wonderful Garden

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Where did the week go? We had such a relaxing time here and loved both your beautiful house and wonderful garden. Thank you for making our stay so effortlessly easy.
Neil B., Glasgow, Scotland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded Our Expectations!

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

This was our first stay at a vacation home and the visit exceeded our expectations. The house is beautiful, spacious and comfortable to live in. We had 3 generations and all loved it. As stated in the description of the property, it is private with a beautiful garden and pool. Our kids were thrilled to pick oranges, pomegranates, lemons, tomatoes which we ate. The kitchen is well stocked with all things including a spice drawer! As a result we ended up eating almost all of our meals in the house. The bedrooms are well separated from the living room, kitchen allowing us to be up while the kids slept. The owner has left nice "personal" touches - toys for the kids, toiletries stocked in the bathroom, pens/scissors in the kitchen that made us feel like home. There was even a piano that I could practice for an upcoming concert on.
The location was good - accessible to all the places in the Santa Barbara area we visited over the week stay. We would like to stay here when we return to the area!
David D., Ontario, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Totally Relaxing, Enjoyable..."

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

"Totally Relaxing and Enjoyable; What a Vacation Should Be"

This is the second year that we have spent our vacation at 'Poolside' in Santa Barbara. As before, the only thing we needed to do was show up and bring some good books to read and our food and drink. This vacation rental home comes with everything else you might possibly need for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation.
The location is perfect. You fell that you are miles away from everything but in actuality you are only minutes away from downtown, the beaches, restaurants, etc.
We hope to be back again next year!
Art & Sherry W., Los Angeles, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A Great House for a Family Vacation!"

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

We had a lovely week in this house during our recent family reunion. The home is large enough that everyone has privacy. It is casual enough for families with small children to feel comfortable. The best part of this house is definitely the outdoor pool area - beautiful fruit trees, a huge deck area, and a fabulous pool. The location is lovely, a short drive to town but removed in the hills. Walking distance to a great park, the Natural History Museum, and the Santa Barbara Mission. The secret perk that makes it feel luxurious is the white towels - there are tons of them in each bathroom!
The G Family, Montclair, NJ

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely, Restful Stay

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

Dear Wendy & Chuck,
We had a lovely, restful stay in your beautiful home--thank you for sharing it & for your warm welcome. We enjoyed the spa, the piano, lunches on the patio, & our daughter at UCSB enjoyed discovering this other aspect of Santa Barbara life.
We saw hump-backed whales & dolphins yesterday, lunched at Hendry's Beach today, loved touring the Mission & shopping on State St.!
Many Thanks,
The Wren Family, Ireland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Location in a Wonderful Destination

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

All of our party enjoyed our 5 day stay. While the guys went sport fishing(with Tony from Santa Barbara Sportfishing, a real pro),the ladies went to Lotusland(a beautiful gardenspot). We brought enough fish(18) home for two meals and took advantage of a well stocked kitchen and grill. We went hiking in the Santa Ynez mountains just above the rental and enjoyed a view from 2700 feet or so. A limo picked us up and brought us to 4 vineyards. We enjoyed several fantastic meals, local Mexican fare,El Sitio(taqueria),Los agaves(with fabulous sauces) and Brophy's, a local seafood place with clam chowder that was as good as I've had anywhere. We went to the "Choir Mass"(0900, Sunday) at the Mission of Santa Barbara and the music was inspiring. I recommend this to any visitor to SB.
We made good use of the pool, spa and poolside furniture. A bonus was the fruit(oranges, lemons and limes) on the tiered orchard that surrounds the pool area. I can't imagine a better place to spend time while visiting Santa Barbara. We will be contacting Wendy to make arrangements to stay when our daughter gets married in SB next fall.
Mick M., North Dakota

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

We had a wonderful family vacation visiting the various sights of Santa Barbara, then coming home and enjoying the pool & spa. We grilled almost every night. The backyard was a delightful setting for our dinners. Thanks for sharing your home with our family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

"The most comfortable and relaxing vacation that I can remember"

This house and property were fantastic. The house was large and spacious and had just about anything that you would need for a comfortable stay. The back yard and pool area were the best and we spent most of the time outside enjoying the great weather. The location felt like a retreat miles from anything buts was only minutes from everything in Santa Barbara. We definitely will want to come back for future vacations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away from Home!

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

We had a fabulous fiesta week! Our families enjoyed all the perks of this home & amazing area. We all traveled from various areas: NH, Georgia, & Florida and met up with our lovely Ashley & Jonathon from 29 Palms, CA. It was great to be able to eat & swim together & feel like we were home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Special Reunion Place

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

This weekend was spent with my best friends...How did we all manage to break away from reality to actually be together?!? Thank you for this warm, friendly, beautiful house & grounds for us to reunite our friendship. This morning was spent eating orange slices (from garden), dipping our feet in the hot tub & making tea. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

"The house is a wonderful example of architectural excellence using modest materials. Wherever there is a view of the gardens, pool, mountains, trees, distant ocean or sky there seems to be a strategically placed window.
Inside is a wonderful collection of very functional rooms with space for adults and kids. Outside there's the pool and large patio surrounded by gardens and trees. There is an abundant amount of quality pool furniture and tables and chairs for dining or reading. We also appreciated the high quality bbq.
The large gardens continue around the home, including wonderful wild gardens with fruit trees, flowers and vegetables. The preparation of the home for our visit was great.
The result is a wonderful place for a restful vacation, an inside or outside dinner for 10 or just several families sharing a wonderful time. It would also make a great working retreat, close to the Mission and the (Botanic) gardens." Steve D., Santa Ynez Valley, CA "

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

"Wendy, Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your beautiful home! It was the perfect location and size for our group! The "Live Like a Champion" team made sure to take good care of everything and enjoyed laying poolside, eating fresh tomatoes, and making 'family' dinners in the kitchen! Thanks again! LLAC Crew"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Location

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

"Hi Wendy, We loved our visit! It was a great place for my sister, brother, and me to connect. Location is perfect and the outdoor area so beautiful. We'll be back. Thank you!" Susan A., Stamford, CT

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Will Be Back!

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

"We loved, loved, loved this house. We had so much fun! Your house provides so much--we felt we were on a luxurious vacation.
We will definitely be back.
Thank you so much for accommodating us last minute." Phylis & Brian D. & Family, San Jose, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved The Place!

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We loved the place!!! Loved to walk to the Mission and to downtown. Close drive to wineries. Love the backyard with pool and beautiful garden, comfortable, quiet...We will be back!!!! Pierette T., St. Helena, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Garden

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

Hi Wendy,
Thank you very much for your wonderful house. We loved it. The garden with all the birds (specially hummingbirds) and all the flowers.
Take care, Sabine & Carlo S., Berlin, Germany

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review