reviews for: listing #67533 - St George Island, Florida House rental

The Paradise of Shelling
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $1,200 /wk
    $3,750 - $3,750 /mth

sort by:

Fantastic Family Getaway

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

This was the best family vacation for our family. The house had an ocean view from both bedrooms, kitchen, and livingroom. Doyle and Pat gave us everything we needed to prepare for the trip. Terri and Randy were great hosts and offered to bring us back a few items that we needed when they ran to town. Our teenagers snorkeled, found shells, starfish, a stingray, and enjoyed the many pods of dolphins. Is was unseasonably warm, so we did burn by day to 2 even with sunscreen! We even managed to make a sand castle. If you think you have packed enough snacks, you may want to pack a few more. You don't realize how hungry you get after spending so much time in the sun and water. This is an electronics free vacation. Our family needed this!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing beach home

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

My girlfriend and I had the distinct pleasure of renting this home in the last week of April 2011. And the simplest review would just say: 'idyllic and peaceful'.
But let me provide further details. The house is on an island, thus unless you have a boat, you have to bring everything related to food and water yourself. The house itself has all the amenities that your own home will most likely have. You do not need to worry about needing or missing certain household appliances.
Furthermore the home has the luxuries we all tend to use with a breathtaking view of the ocean.
For those that love the ocean, having breakfast, lunch, or dinner facing the ocean will be a distinct treat. For the rest of us, like me, the actual beach will be an amazing experience in which you will enjoy miles of peaceful beach and the chance to collect a wide range of sea shells (maybe you might get lucky as us and find some that are as large as your head.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

Very Relaxing Getaway!, May 20, 2010
By Amy Rogers (Birmingham, AL)
This was our third trip to Dog Island and by far our favorite! This cute "bungalow" is right off the most lovely private beach you could ever find in Florida! You can walk a mile down the shell covered beach and never see another person. The house provided everything we needed and more! We truly felt like we were on cloud nine and hated to leave. We will definitely be back! Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

Heaven on Earth, June 2, 2010
By The Grehan Family (Hernando, MS)
Dog Island, FL is Heaven on Earth and the beach home, Cloud Nine, is wonderful as well. We are very thankful to the owners for sharing their little piece of Heaven with our family. We hope to be able to rent this home again it was a great experience.

From my iPhone on the screened patio., May 28, 2010
By Kevin/Marlo Grehan (Hernando, ms)
I am sitting on the rear patio right now watching my kids play in the sand. This is the most beautyful place I have ever been. I will update on the ocean as soon as we get settled.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great beachhouse

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

By David Woodburn (Dublin, GA USA)
Just wanted to say we really enjoyed the visit. This was our second trip to the island, and our first staying at a house. Dog Island is all about a remote natural experience, not luxury. Do not come looking for Hilton Head. This beach house was great. Loved the huge porch overlooking dunes and beach with oversized hammock. Spacious and comfortable. Well equipped. There is more sense of the owner's personality than most rentals we have visited. There are lots of steps up to the main floor. On-location support was very helpful. Caught lots of blue crabs and are having crab cakes tonight with the last of them. We were offered use of a kayak, which the kids loved. Met neighbors who are regular, which made it much more fun, especially for our kids. Water was beautiful, as clear as about anywhere we've been in the SE US. Sailing around the E. end, we saw a school of probably a thousand Cownose Rays. Sailing home saw our first Man o' War. If you want to come in your own boat as we did, you will need to make arrangements ahead of time. The harbor is a yacht club with limited transient slips. (not floating docks) I was told to call a couple days ahead to make sure space was available. Though it is not far from the mainland, you should be armed with good charts, tide tables, forecast and respect for the sea and weather. All in all, very memorable.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Various of our visitors

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2010

.

Best Kept Secret in Florida!, April 13, 2010
By Linda and Rick Keenan (Jacksonville, Florida)
We stayed for three days and were delighted with the spacious rooms, water views from every room and all the comforts of home including a well equipped kitchen. Travel was easy, although it's a good idea to make your list and check it twice. The neighbors are friendly and we had the beaches on both sides of the island to ourselves. At night the star gazing is spectacular and the cross breezes lulled us to sleep. Beauty, peace and privacy - we'll be back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review