reviews for: listing #67586 - Hood Canal, Washington House rental

History in Paradise: Romantic Waterfront,Wildlife,Shellfish
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Brinnon
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $245 - $495 /nt

sort by:

Magical winter getaway

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

We spent two wonderful nights here and can't wait to come back. Awakening in the master suite to the winter sunrise across the canal was splendid. The home is well appointed and I felt like an invited guest. Everything was top quality and we never felt like we were getting the "rental equipment" while the good stuff was packed away. Sharp kitchen knives, a whole array of spices for cooking, comfy linens and abundant cookware, dishes and glassware. We were able to collect fresh oysters at low tide and enjoyed the many books and games on site. It was a very peaceful setting for us (2 parents and 3 teenagers and our dog). I especially appreciated the check-ins from Tori (by email) during our stay and the free wifi was a plus. Highly recommend this magical spot.

Owners response: It's nice to see guests noticing the quality touches that can be hard to find with every day vacation rentals, such as a yesteryear feather stuffed sofa, original leaded glass windows, hardware, and fixtures, plus many other quality and historic touches that add charm and ambiance. We definitely want those that stay to feel like a guest using a friends vacation home. Thanks for sharing! Sincerely, Tori and Wade

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A gorgeous getaway on Hood Canal!

Review submitted: November 29, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

This house is beautiful, comfortable and perfect for a group getaway. It's right on the water, with a balcony and deck that are ideal for sipping coffee in the sun and listening to the sea birds. The entire place was immaculate, and the kitchen had everything we needed to make a delicious dinner. The dining table was also great for after-dinner games! We stayed in the master suite, and the bed was really comfy. Waking up to the sun rising over the Hood Canal was amazing - we'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Always a definite pleasure to see our guests discover the many wonders of The Historic Balch Retreat in nature's paradise, as we have. Morning tea/coffee while basking in the sun on the covered balcony, and taking in the wonder of the wildlife is certainly our version of heaven. Very sweet of you to let others know the treasured memories you have experienced, and the care taken to achieve this. Most Warmly, Tori

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dreams realized

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

Having been in the hospitality business, it can be a curse or a blessing when putting on the 'tourist' cap. As with any experience, we look (without meaning to) for the finer things to be wrong (dust missed, toilets not totally cleaned, etc). I can tell you without hesitation that this was a stellar wkend from start to finish. All that is described in the houses description was spot on. The house was wonderful, and fully appointed to the extent where much of what I packed was unnecessary. The house was pristine, and our wkend was one that will remain in my memory as the gold standard. Tori (the owner) was a dream to work with-it was obvious that her highest priority was fulfilling our every needs. The best compliment I can make (and I was hard put to narrow it to one highlight), is that we didn't want to leave, and are already looking at our calendars for a return visit. So please, do yourselves a favor and visit this lovely home. You won't be disappointed. We loved not only the house, but the kindness and caring that Tori put into assuring that ours was an unforgettable experience."

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for pointing out aspects that travelers hold dear to their hearts, such as the low allergen environment/cleanliness factor, and providing the little extra's that you don't normally find in most vacation rentals. When guests are so terrific, one can't help but want to do everything possible to ensure a treasured experience. Your review was too kind. We hope to see you again soon! Tori and Wade Cole

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Beautiful and Relaxing Stay

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

A Beautiful and Relaxing Stay
This wonderful historic home is beautiful. Everything about our stay was phenomenal . The house was wonderfully decorated and comfortable. It was immaculate and had everything you needed.
The views were amazing and kept us sitting out on the deck watching the wildlife for hours. We picked oysters at the beach each day. We went canoeing and hiking. We had an amazing time. The owner was very helpful on what to do and see and cared that everything was just right when we arrived. I am planning my visit again for next summer and for a much longer period of time.

Owners response: So nice to see that guests notice that we genuinely care about their experience, and that your stay was thoroughly enjoyed. A well appointed historic home with breathtaking views, amazing wildlife, and sweet, succulent seafood all on site, tends to be a popular combination. Do remember to book early for the Peak Summer Season when planning your return, as dates tend to fill quickly during popular time frames. We look forward to your return, and will always receive a warm, inviting welcome. All the best, Tori and Wade

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magical

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

This incredible historic home had all the elegance if another time and all the comforts you could want. The property has beautiful and interesting plants, the owner couldn't have been more helpful on what to do and see and cared that we had a wonderful stay. It is quite possibly the most magical place I've been to around the Northwest yet. Sitting in comfort on the deck just watching a non-stop show the Sea Lions and Seals put on. We watched a Sea Lion right out in front bring up his catch of a very large salmon and saw him play with it before eating it. There is so much very close to do. We chose to stay and completely unwind.
This beautiful home was immaculate and had everything you could need. We are already planning our trip for next summer here and for a longer time.

Owners response: I've said it before and will say it again, we have some of the most gracious and thoughtful guests! The Historic Balch Retreat on Hood Canal is our pride and joy, and it truly warms my heart when guests marvel at the magic of the many aspects. So pleased you could experience our little corner (or expanse) of nature's paradise. Be sure to book early to have your pick of the best summer dates, and thanks so much for taking the time to share. Most warmly, Tori and Wade

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Family Getaway (VacationRentals411.com)

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2011

My husband found this wonderful historic home on the internet and we knew immediately we had to give it a try. It was wonderful! Terrific views from every room, cozy beds, well stocked kitchen, phenomenal panoramic spa tub in the master, and lots of hot cocoa. My husband, mother-in-law, children and I enjoyed drinking hot cocoa watching amazing, WARM sunrises in Feb! Wonderful memories were made and will never be forgotten!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Girls Getaway Weekend (frm VacationRentals411.com)

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

From the moment we arrived Friday night until we departed Sunday morning our stay was just what we needed: relaxing, fun and memorable. We were met by sweet scent of the hanging baskets and beautiful flower gardens. Blessed with a low tide we gathered oysters from the beach and enjoyed them from the grill on the lower deck. At the fire pit we enjoyed not only the fire but yummy smores. The views from all three levels were truly incredible! It was almost as though the sea otters, seals and bald eagles were hired to give us a show. The interior was clean, comfortable and had old world charm with modern amenities andd the beds gave a great night's sleep, also. We would whole heartly recommend The Historic Balch Retreat on Hood Canal for any occasion.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 star relaxation - great house in fab location

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

My family of 5 travelled from Edinburgh, Scotland (3 children aged 10, 7 & 6) on a 3 week holiday to the Pacific Northwest. After a week in an RV along the Oregon coast, we were looking forward to a more comfortable and relaxing home from home after being on the road.

The house was everything we hoped it would be and we were not disappointed and had a fabulous time at the Historic Balch Retreat in Brinnon.

I was slightly worried before we got there as I had been told by so-called "experts" on trip advisor that there was not much to do around Brinnon and was advised to stay along the north coast of the Olympic Park. I am glad we did not. It is a great location to enjoy what is on offer in the Olympic National Park.

The house itself was excellent - very clean and comfortable and well-equipped - but what sets this apart is the location - as you can arrive at the house down a steep and short narrow lane, you can see right through the house onto the Hood Canal. This place is all about the views. If you are after rest and relaxation - this is the place for you.

The deck at the back of the house sits above the (tidal) Hood Canal and there are steep steps which take you onto the water. You are virtually floating on the Hood Canal! If wildlife is your thing, you are in for a treat, as In the space of a week we were blessed with seeing bald eagles, kayaked with seals and even got up close and personal to a family of sea otters who were swimming along the shore.

The kayak belonging to the house was a big hit and we had several paddles along the still shores with the kids squealing with delight as the seals popped their heads up as they swam around the boat. It was truly magical. If oysters are your thing - you cannot help but find them - there are bucket-loads of the things!

Evenings were spent toasting marshmallows and eating ice cream on the fire pit while enjoying a bottle of wine - it was certainly relaxing.

As for activities other than kayaking - there is plenty to see and do within a shortish drive. Port Townsend for whale watching (yes - we did see orca!) was about an hour away - and we went to Hurricane Ridge which is well worth a trip. Other excursions to Lake Crescent, Lake Cushman and the Mount Walker viewpoint are all within easy reach and to be recommended. We also went for some walks to some waterfalls - all within 10-15 minutes away.

Would I recommend this place to stay? Most definitely. We would love to go back!

Owners response: So pleased to see your long distance excursion from Scotland was a big hit!! Our centralized location approximately 1.5 hours from Seattle or Tacoma with 2 different interesting routes to explore on the way is definitely the perfect base to enjoy Olympic National Park and nature's paradise. Hours closer to Seattle and SeaTac Airport than the other portions of Olympic National Park, and with even more to offer. So glad you made a treasured vacation memory discovering our convenient, historic, and magical Pacific NW location. Warmly, Tori

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful house, great views and lots to enjoy

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Historic Balch Retreat. It is a beautiful house with great views. The house is so well furnished and the kitchen has all the appliances and spices I need for cooking. The lovely bottle of wine that greeted us on our arrival was such a thoughtful gesture.

We spent some time on the beach picking oysters and clams, and met some seals basking in the sun. There was so much to see and to do. The house is so comfortable that often we just sat at the balcony, watching the many types of birds and taking in the beauty of the place.

Thank you very much for providing us the opportunity to stay at the nicest holiday house we have been to.

Owners response: It is so nice to hear that your family of international travelers from Thailand found The Historic Balch Retreat on Hood Canal to be the nicest vacation rental encounterd thus far. We take great pride in offering an experience that will be considered special, and treasured for a lifetime. Many of our guests are international travelers, and unable to bring much with them. Most seem to truly appreciate the luxury, and cruelty free shampoos, soaps, detergents, paper products, spices, wood for fires, specialty zoom lens binoculars, and other numerous items for guest use that are complimentary, and ensure comfort. Guest care is always the priority, so your step back in time is all it can be. We certainly hope to see you back on your next Pacific NW getaway. So glad you enjoyed!! Warmest Regards, Tori Cole - owner

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

We love coming here

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

This was our second stay at the Balch house, and we'll certainly be back for a third. The property is fantastic - everything from the two decks to the firepit to the house itself. It's incredibly peaceful for relaxing and reading a book or playing a game with friends (both of which we did), and it's also close to activities if you'd like to explore nature for awhile. You can rent kayaks just up the road or go up Mt. Walker for exceptional views. We also were able to bring our dog, and it's an easy 5 minute walk up the road to Dosewallips park where we were able to get her exercise.

At night, you can't not make smores and sit back and listen to the seals in the distance. Bring some binoculars during the day - you'll be able to catch their heads popping up out of the water.

My tips:
1. On your way to the house, I recommend stopping and stocking up on groceries for your trip. There are small stores close by you can go to in a pinch, but you're going to get the best selection and prices by stopping before you get to Brinnon. If you're coming from Seattle and taking the Bainbridge ferry, I'd recommend stopping by the Central Market in Poulsbo, which is where we usually end up.

2. Bring sunscreen and bug repellent. Both the sun and mosquitos will get you. It's nothing severe, but always better not to be burnt or bitten if you can help it!

3. Try not to bring any work with you, but if you're like me and need to check in, the free wi-fi is incredibly useful.

All in all, we can't say enough good things about this house. It's now become our go to place to spend our "local" vacations. You won't be disappointed.

Owners response: Thank you for letting us and others know how much you've enjoyed both stays at The Historic Balch
Retreat on Hood Canal. We look forward to the return of one of our favorite guests.

Since our goal is to provide the perfect historic waterfront getaway experience, we have located a high
powered set of sturdy binoculars with zoom lens, for guest use and enjoyment. Additionally, this is the
first time a guest has ever reported mosquitoes...but not to worry, citronella candles are now in place
on the deck, on the off chance mosquitoes should ever reappear. We also provide information in advance
as to what guests may want to bring, spectacular area sights, and helpful tips, so you can easily have
your plans and groceries in place before arrival. Thanks so much for taking the time to write!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Fabulous 40th Getaway

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

What a remarkable home! Our family needed a place for 7 for my husband's 40th birthday celebration. We stayed for 5 days and were sad to leave! The owner, Tori, is gracious and superior in customer service. The home is immaculately clean and cozy. The master bedroom is a dream with an unbelievable view from the jetted tub. We especially enjoyed the fire pit for making s'mores. We grilled hand picked oysters and made gourmet meals in the well appointed kitchen. My kids kept a log of all the wildlife they found; eagles, otters, seals, shellfish and sea stars! We took advantage of some of Tori's sightseeing suggestions and made to the nearby waterfall. All in all a lovely week and perfect way to celebrate! Thank you, Tori for your gracious home.

Owners response: Always a TRUE pleasure assisting guests in making a warm, treasured memory. Thanks so much for
sharing your experience. Warmly, Tori

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful Family Retreat

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

We stayed at this wonderfully appointed home with our children and grandchildren. 4 different couples in all, and plenty of room for everyone! Numerous amenities, and the details of this home add to the historic charm.

Our granddaughters enjoyed combing the beach for shells (there are thousands!) and splashing in the water.

On our last day, we made a fire in the fire pit (the wood burned well and was very easy to light, even in damp conditions) and we all sat around roasting hot dogs and making smores-a wonderful memory!

We brought our 2 dogs, and really did not encounter any challenges with this (except our retriever loved to run out into the water every chance he got!)

In the evenings we sat around the table and played games, enjoying some quality family time. Would do this again in a heartbeat!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Getaway for Family!

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay with our children and grandchildren. The home was beautiful, same appearance as the pictures, with numerous amenities. Our granddaughters just loved walking the waterfront, picking out shells (there are thousands!)and splashing in the water. Lots of room for the 4 couples in the group, and enjoyed the beautiful view while enjoying quality time with family.

The stairs are very steep and because it is a historical house with older doors that do not lock, you need to be very careful watching any little ones.

We brought both of our dogs without any real challenges.

We spent the last day around the fire pit, enjoying roasted marshmallows and hot dogs. The wood that was provided burned great and it was easy to get a fire started.

A wonderful trip, would do it again in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Family Getaway!

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

(I am writing this for my MIL, who was the primary renter of this property)

We stayed at this well-appointed home with our 3 sons, their wives, and 2 young grandchildren. The home is beautifully cared for, with plenty of amenities. Our granddaughters LOVED the water and collecting seashells, which were innumerable! The doors do not lock (Historic home, door knobs are original), and stairways are steep, so you need to be careful with toddlers. We enjoyed playing games all weekend long, and just enjoying QT with family at this uniquely charming home.

Owners response: It is so rewarding to be able to provide a unique place that brings joy into others lives. Thank you for
taking the time to let us, and others know of your endearing experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Don't Hesitate!

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 10, 2013

This wonderful retreat will surpass your expectations. It is clean, well equipped, in a tremendous spot on the waterfront of Hood Canal, and, most of all it exudes an ambiance of comfort and relaxation. Gathering oysters is a breeze, even in cold weather! I recently spent a week here for a personal "getaway". Though there are not a lot of restaurants around, the ones that are, serve the purpose well. The clam strips at the Geoduck Restauant were great. The steak I had, I wouldn't reorder. The pizza at the nearby Pleasant Harbor Marina was very good, though you might consider it for a take-out meal if you are looking for anything more than a table to eat on and a TV to watch within the restaurant. For me, this was a spot to really unwind and take pause from routine. I enjoyed it tremendously and will look forward to returning. Cheri, Sequim WA

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are very kind to inform travelers that even the coldest time of the year is highly desirable, and by far the most affordable. We TRULY are pleased when guests discover the paradise that is The Historic Balch Retreat as we have. We hope to hear from you again as well!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful!! (from TripAdvisor)

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

Left on 06/12/2012 for a stay in May 2012

Beautiful place inside and out. Master bedroom has incredible view with a jetted tub! Cozy and comfortable place to relax and enjoy. Great views of Hood Canal, with access to clamming and picking up oysters. Fire pit outside for roasting smore's, or just having a fire. My family and I had a wonderful time and you will too. Also pet friendly! Thanks again for letting us stay in your BEAUTIFUL home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Stay!! (from TripAdvisor)

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

Left on 07/01/2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed at the retreat for five nights in June. It's great, great views of Hood Canal, easy to get oysters and clams right out of the water and close to great hiking and the Olympic national park! Property is very well kept -- would highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tranquil and Unexpected! (from TripAdvisor)

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Tranquil and Unexpected
Left on 07/06/2012 for a stay in July 2012

We were looking forward to some deck time getting caught up on reading and getting away from work. What we didn't expect to find was the hourly changes to the landscape below the deck. Tide going out reveals multiple mini islands and a playground for oysters and kayakers. Tide coming in is a playground for seals and boaters laying out their crab pots.
It was surprising quiet the entire week we were there. We enjoying many local hikes/walks in the forest and to see some amazing waterfalls. The evening tub overlooking the water and the night sky was topped only by sitting around the bonfire watching the moon rise.
To top it off, their are 4 eagles who soar in front of the house - so close and always unexpected we missed them with our video camera each time.
The house is well kept and has plenty of room and everything you could need.

Kim P - Lynnwood, Wa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing views and very comfortable! (TripAdvisor)

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Left on 08/08/2012 for a stay in July 2012

To sum up how we felt about our stay...We didn't want to leave! The house was amazing. The views were beautiful. The flowerbeds were lovely. The home was beautifully designed. The fire pit was a nice touch, but we didn't use it. You had everything we needed to be comfortable, even a hairdryer.

My fifteen-year old son took the lower level room. I swear it was a chore to get him to leave the house, actually the water. He didn't even want to come inside to eat! He spent most of his time down at the water messing around. My father-in-law and mother-in-law took the main floor bedroom and told me they were quite comfortable. My father-in-law spent a lot of time on the back deck. He had hip replacement surgery a few years back and two surgeries in the middle of June so he didn't venture down to the water but once to hang out with my son. He loved the house also. My husband and I stayed in the master suite. My husband and I were impressed by the beautiful views from the top floor. The skylights were neat. We didn't use the whirlpool tub, but my father-in-law did. Needless to say he loved it. The house was extremely comfortable. We each had a separate area, but yet we were very close, if that makes sense.

Thank you for sharing your home with us.

The Wittig family
Holly, Brad and Tyler
Leonard and Lil

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Treat yourself to the ideal vacation (TripAdvisor)

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

Treat yourself and your family to the ideal vacation (TripAdvisor)
Left on 11/28/2012 for a stay in August 2012

We loved this house from top to bottom. The views were amazing and the house was beautiful and beautifully maintained. The location is magical at the edge of a wild life preserve. Our first morning we sat out on the deck and watched the eagles doing aerial acrobatics overhead. One zoomed in so close I thought it would hit us while it chased another in hot pursuit. It was breathtaking.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing views, comfortable for the entire family

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

Hi Tori,

To sum up how we felt about our stay...We didn't want to leave! The house was amazing. The views were beautiful. The flowerbeds were lovely. The home was beautifully designed. The fire pit was a nice touch, but we didn't use it. You had everything we needed to be comfortable, even a hairdryer.

My fifteen-year old son took the lower level room. I swear it was a chore to get him to leave the house, actually the water. He didn't even want to come inside to eat! He spent the most of his time down at the water messing around. My father-in-law and mother-in-law took the main floor bedroom and told me they were quite comfortable. My father-in-law spent a lot of time on the back deck. He had hip replacement surgery a few years back and two surgeries in the middle of June so he didn't venture down to the water but once to hang out with my son. He loved the house also. My husband and I stayed in the master suite. My husband and I were impressed by the beautiful views from the top floor. The skylights were neat. We didn't use the whirlpool tub but my father-in-law did. He only had trouble with tripping the breaker once after we spoke. Otherwise he loved it. The house was extremely comfortable. We each had a separate area but yet we were very close, if that makes sense.

On our first night a town across the canal was shooting off fireworks. It was quite a large display. It was a nice way to start out the stay. The second day we just hung out at the house. We eventually decided to venture out for ice cream. I found out sorbet doesn't have dairy in it so I also got a nice treat. On Sunday we checked out Port Townsend, the Dungeness Spit area and drove up to Hurricane Ridge. All were beautiful. We wanted to see so much more but we simply ran out of time. I think we were all tired of driving, riding. When we left we decided to take the ferry from Kingston to Edmonds to see if we could save some time. It was a good call. We were back in Seattle by lunch.

If we do come back to Washington State we will definitely see if you have any availability. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

The Wittig family of South Texas
Holly, Brad and Tyler
Leonard and Lil

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Stay!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Balch Retreat is even better than advertised! If you are looking for the ideal water and mountain retreat on the Olympic Penninsula, none better. From seals (and their pups), herons, bald eagles, hummingbirds, the wildlife abounds on your doorstep. The garden is immaculate, foxgloves were still in full bloom. Inside, very comfortably accomodates > 6 people. A wonderfulplace and loo forward to returning. Hope you enjoy as much as we did!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is very sweet of you to tell others of how much you enjoyed our unique combination and almost magical environment, found ONLY at The Historic Balch Retreat on Hood Canal. On a side note, The Retreat sleeps at least 8 comfortably. Thank you for being such a thoughtful guest!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely majestic!

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Every five years or so, my family (my parents, sisters, brother-in-law, daughters and husband) chooses a retreat away from Seattle, to stay in for the Thanksgiving holiday. This year we chose the beautiful Hood Canal as our location and couldn't have been happier with the house we stayed in. Not only are the views amazing, but the house is in impeccable condition...it truly was a treat to stay there! We all created such amazing memories, from sitting on the front porch late into the night, to walking on the beach that was just steps away, to dishing up an amazing meal from the crab pot. We loved every minute and thank the owners for their hospitality!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We do our utmost to help you create cherished memories in an idyllic setting. So glad you enjoyed.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely stay

Review submitted: December 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

This lovely restored home is beautifully kept and maintained and has a wonderful view of the canal, with steps that lead directly down to the beach. The beach is rocky of course, like all Washington beaches, but beautiful. We harvested oysters at low time one night and had them for dinner. The house itself is 3 bedrooms. The master is in a converted attic, which has a large soaker tub (jacuzzi, however we couldn't get it to work) set in a bay window that looks over the canal. It has a seperate area with the shower, sink, etc. There's a bedroom on the main floor and then a bit more of a rustic bedroom on the lower floor which has direct access to the deck. There's a large livingroom with a stove heater, a den, fairly large dining room adjectent to the large kitchen. It is walking distance to the Geoduck Tavern - be sure to try their onion rings and fries. All and all a beautiful location and house.

Owners response: Thank you for your thoughtful review. We truly do strive to provide a cherished vacation experience for guests. We immediately checked the jetted spa and found the circuit breaker had tripped. We are always a phone call or email away, should anything not be perfection. It's always so nice to hear when guests enjoy their experience. Tori Cole - owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Truly the BEST of Hood Canal and Olympic Peninsula

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

What I wouldn't give to be able to live in this historic environment filled
with the sounds and sights of impressive wildlife, and some of the most alluring views we've ever seen. The combination of fun architecture, superb use of color, and a deck with stairs that connect to the beach was perfection, along with fresh seafood right from the tidelands. We will never forget the baby seals right on the beach (yes, we kept our distance. otters, and elk. The attractive brick area with fire pit by the water was the icing on the cake. Our grandkids adored this part. The bottle of sparkling wine that Tori left for us was also a thoughtful touch. We really wanted to make special memories with our grandchildren. The Historic Balch Retreat was the perfect place for this and we hope to return in the near future, as it was truly a family favorite. The owners have quaint down to an art. It's a definite must for anyone's bucket list if vacationing in the Pacific Northwest.

Diane and Jim Harris

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your thoughtful words. It really does give us a warm fuzzy when guests make endearing memories. We're very pleased that you enjoyed.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Not for small children, list of rules ridiculous

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

The Balch Retreat is exactly as described. It is a beautiful, old property, nicely appointed with a gorgeous view. The very long and steep steps descending to the beach make this an entirely inappropriate rental for any children under atleast 10. Once you get down the steps, the beach is not sand, but rocky and covered with sharp barnacles and shells. Walking was extremely difficult for an adult, and impossible for children. There is no where for any "playing." The wildlife we spotted were seals and eagles, but nothing within the range for young eyes. In addition to this drawback, an even bigger drawback was the long list of rules we received for the house after we committed, and paid in full, for our stay. The list includes things like returning all the dishes to their exact spots or a $25 charge. No furniture to be moved out of place (like porch chairs?) or a $25 charge. The list is extensive, over 50 items, each incurring a charge if broken. There are also video cameras monitoring your comings and goings (to make sure their aren't any guests that haven't paid.) For the record, our entire deposit was refunded, but we went to extensive lengths (which made our entire vacation very uptight) to make sure of that. We photographed everything before and after our visit to make sure we weren't charged. Bottom line: lovely home, beautiful view, bad choice for a rental.

Owners response: We would like to thank this young reviewer for pointing out The Historic Balch Retreat is a beautiful historic waterfront property, exactly as described, and that we strive to fully refund damage deposits.

This third party reviewer is not the guest that reserved, and had no involvement with the reservation process. She was not provided with the standard industry, vacation rental rules and policies by the reserving party until arrival, then made to adhere. We hope future guests will provide all guests in their party with this information BEFORE finalizing their reservation. Please be aware there is embellished and exaggerated or false information in the review. Please note the following; less than 10 common charges (lost keys, pet waste, etc) is not 50. These guidelines assist guests in receiving their full deposit back, which again, we strive for. The security monitoring of exterior entrances and parking areas is necessary due to guests severely exceeding the maximum allowed and for security when vacant. This is very common in most vacation rentals, hotels, and time shares. There is no such charge for moving deck furniture and never has been. The beach is a combination of sand in some areas, rock in others, which is the norm on Hood Canal. Due to the minerals produced by the Dosewallips River this section of beach produces world renowned shellfish and seafood in front of The Retreat, and is a prime wildlife draw, with the added perk of lovely shell formations for fun beachcombing.

We are wondering why we were never asked at any time about what appears to be important to this young reviewer, thus avoiding this situation. We welcome questions!

It appears this is the first time this young reviewer has stayed in either type of property, and is unfamiliar with standard protocols. Additionally, past guests have expressed both they and their children/grand children age 3 and over loved the wildlife (it is not a petting zoo), thoroughly enjoyed themselves, and have been returning on a consistent basis.

We certainly do our utmost to provide a premium experience, and hope you read the reviews of mature guests whose expectations were genuinely exceeded, and loved The Retreat as we do.

Tori and Wade Cole - Owners

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Wonderfull house, excellent location.

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 31, 2011

We had a wonderfull stay in this very charming, up-to-date and comfortable house. Even the beds (master suite) were extremely comfortable, and that is a rarety in any rental. The views from the porch are amazing and we had many lazy moments just hanging out and enjoying the view. The house is well stocked and you feel immediately at home.

Another plus is its vicinity to a lot of wonderfull trailheads. Many of them well below 30 minutes drive. Even Hurricane ridge is not too far from this location. Less than 90 minutes drive all the way to the Ranger Station itself.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad to see you experienced the world renowned Olympic National Park and Forest. We have many guests that come from Europe to stay at The Historic Balch Retreat for this reason, as they say the views from our trails actually rival or are better than those in the Swiss Alps. Thanks very much for your kind words and we are pleased your stay was both memorable and enjoyable. Tori Cole - owner.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place to gather and relax with family

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

Based upon several internet sites for different waterfront properties in Washington, everyone in my family chose this property. We had high expectations based upon the website, and we were all thoroughly satisfied with our choice.

My sons are active outdoors people and they enjoyed hiking the many trails which are nearby. We all enjoyed walking on the estuary at low tide and seeing the wildlife. The only thing we didn't get to do was go kayaking.

The kitchen is also well equipped, and allowed us to cook our own fresh seafood dinners every night. We also has "s'mores" around the campfire on one night.

Truly a wonderful place to relax and get reacquainted with nature.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What an amazing gift!

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

I had the wonderful experience of staying at the Balch Retreat House on Hood Canal the week of June 19, 2011. I was so impressed by the attention to detail with every aspect of this absolutely beautiful vacation home. I was first struck by the beauty of the landscaping with the gardens, grounds, the hanging flowers and an abundance of beautiful flowers & plants. The brick walkways and the wonderful fire pit area, all done with such care. The home itself is truly a step back into history with just the right amount of updating to make staying there a huge treat. The decor, the furnishings, the color choices for every room, was thoughtfully and beautifully well done! The place was wonderfully well stocked with everything we could possibly need, and was absolutely clean and spotless as well which I appreciated so much. Then there is the wildlife!!! ...you just can't fully describe with words the amazing display that is different and unique each day. With tide out and tide in this beautiful fjord and estuary take on a different look each time. We were greeted every single morning by countless seals peeking at us and performing their swimming shows. The otters would be there as well enjoying the oysters and playing in the water. The birds for me were just a huge blessing. There was a non-stop show of bald eagles, hawks, blue heron, hummingbirds, robins, wren, swallows, and both red & yellow finches. I really was amazed at the number of hummingbirds, and swallows. One evening we were on the deck enjoying dinner and watching "the show" when a beautiful double rainbow appeared over the water, I thought my heart would explode. The combination of the beauty of the Balch House, the grounds, and the breathtaking display of magnificent nature at it's best was exactly what I needed. I'm so thankful for the gift that is The Balch Retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is so gratifying to know our home provided an experience that has genuinely improved someone's well being. We truly strive for this, and are appreciative that you and others took the time to write some very eloquent reviews. Please
accept our thanks.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful historic home with incredible views

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

My family chose this property for a quick getaway from Seattle in late September and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The house is impeccable, charming and very comfortable. The kitchen is sunny and well-stocked. The master suite upstairs is right out of a home-makeover show... bright, clean, very spacious and with interesting architecture. We brought all kinds of distractions with us from the city but spent most of our time sitting on the decks watching the water and whatever animals happened to swim or fly by. I would come back just to have another cup of coffee at sunrise on the upstairs covered porch! We all loved the house and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

A side note on good food: we picked up some delicious sockeye fillets at the IGA in Kingston on the way to the house and made a great dinner our first night. There are lots of spots nearby to get fresh oysters, and we bought a few bottles of very nice local wine from the Hoodsport Winery south of the house. And I'm still dreaming about the pie at the Halfway House in Brinnon! All of the pies there are good but the white chocolate toffee cream pie is to die for. Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Historic Balch Waterfront Retreat

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

Our stay was magnificent at the Balch Waterfront Retreat. The Retreat has excellent location and the view was breathless. We spent a lot of time on the back porch, with the propane heater keeping us warm as we had morning coffee and late afternoon happy hour, listening and watching the otters, seals, bald eagles, and countless ducks play in Hood Canal. The owners were always a call away, if needed. The Retreat was spotless and well appointed. The grounds were amazing, beautiful flowers still in bloom in November.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: As owners, it is so very rewarding to see those that appreciate the thought and care that has gone into The Historic Balch Retreat, ensuring a true sanctuary. Our thanks to all that are so very thoughtful, letting others know of this.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Balch Waterfront Retreat Five Star Stay!!

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

"What a great surprise. Not only were we blown away by the beauty and magic of the Hood Canal and the Wildlife Wonders that were giving us a non-stop show...that house, that beautiful house. My mother-in-law has trouble getting around - so we knew - she's be spending most of her time house bound. So...we needed a space that was a vacation in and of itself. Thanks Tori. You delivered. We loved the place and all the touches. Michelle & Miguel"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Balch Waterfront Retreat Five Star Stay!

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

What a great surprise. Not only were we blown away by the beauty and magic of the Hood Canal and the Wildlife Wonders that were giving us a non-stop show...that house, that beautiful house.
My mother-in-law has trouble getting around - so we knew - she's be spending most of her time house bound. So...we needed a space that was a vacation in and of itself. Thanks Tori. You delivered. We loved the place and all the touches.
Michelle & Miguel

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Place Out of Time

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

Greeted by mini-motorboating hummingbirds buzzing their way among bushes in the picture-postcard front garden, we didn’t even unload our car before stepping out onto the upper deck of this mini-mansion to drink in the “ahhhh”some views of the Hood Canal that glorify the back yard of this historic home. During the reservation process, Tori’s impressive organizational skills were apparent in her expedient & gracious handling of my many phone calls & emails. Pride of ownership is evident throughout: period touches in the interior design and accoutrements, sumptuously comfortable beds, lavish linens, tons of storage spaces, comfy deck chairs, outdoor heater, huge BBQ, well-appointed modern kitchen appliances, lots of room to roam, read & relax.

Nearby Whitney Gardens & Dosewallips State Park reluctantly lured us away from the house during our 5 days there. With internet & food, what more was needed? I found my inner Zen during a bubbling Jacuzzi interlude in the Master Suite while gazing at distant Mt. Rainier glowing in the summer sunset while two eagles played tag past my window. Didn’t even crack open the many games available, we were so busy not being busy. Kayaking & flyfishing plans were scrapped in favor of just chillin’ ...

Even an unexpected power failure in the area was met with immediate offers from the owners to make the 1-1/2 hour trip to help us resolve it, but the county efficiently restored full power in 2 hours. Low tide beckoned us onto the flats almost a third of the way out from the shore below; just be sure to bring sturdy boots for galumphing over the sharp shells & rocks. Twilight marshmallow-roasting is highly recommended while curious seals watch you watch them as kayakers glide by and night fishermen delved deep.

Nirvana? Perhaps not for some who might put shopping malls or casinos or nightclubbing at the top of their lists. As for us, we returned to Real Life happy and rested, wishing we could’ve booked a longer stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nearly Spiritual Experience

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

Let me start out by saying we have the most wonderful memories of this home. It is the perfect setting to make genuinely fond memories. Even though it was winter and raining part of the time, the views were still gorgeous and the jacuzzi and wood stove were so great. We were actually able to sit outside on a covered balcony, in recliners with a deck heater, and be perfectly comfortable while watching all the wildlife (really something!). We really enjoyed watching the navy sub's practice along the Dosewallips shelf. Not something you see everyday! The owners were warm and have the art of hosting down to a science. We tend not to return to places we've visited, always looking for new horizons, but this is one of those very rare places that I truly look forward to returning to soon. The entire experience was beyond outstanding.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay, Hope to Come Back Soon!

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

For our 2nd anniversary, I scoured vacation rentals for hours before settling on this house. I was definitely not disappointed! The photos do not completely do the property justice, probably because there is no way to capture how great this home is. I was even amazed to 'discover' an extra floor/room (the basement).

The upstairs jacuzzi was phenomenal w/ sweeping views of the Canal. Incredible views were enjoyed throughout the house, but the top floor was one of my favorite areas. It was a large finished attic with a few sky view windows on the ceilings you could pop your head out of for unique, breathtaking views.

Another favorite area was the kitchen - it was a great size, adorable and I loved cooking in it! The large main deck was fabulous and we lucked out with 70-80 degree weather and completely sunny skies. We really enjoyed BBQing and there was firewood provided, so we had a nice fire in the fire pit. We were able to harvest oysters on the beach (which were HUGE & tasty), but could only dig up the foreign purple varnish clams. We found a place with fresh clams about 15mi south.

Tori was extremely helpful and prompt in answering my many questions about the property. They left a bottle of champagne in the fridge for us, which was a nice touch. It is very close to Dosewallips State Park, so the dog had plenty of options for exercise. It was so wonderful that we were able to bring our dog for a small extra deposit.

We had no issues receiving our deposit back in full, as we made sure to follow their simple rules for clean up and did not bring any unaccounted for guests on our visit. We are young adults and this was the first time we've rented a property on our own, but had no difficulties honoring their conditions. Please note that there are houses on both sides of the property, so I am guessing they notify the managers if an unreported party is thrown.

If you don't have an iPod, make sure to bring an RCA to 1/8" adapter to further enjoy the stereos, but we still had great radio reception.

We are already contemplating bringing a larger group up later this summer to help fill the house - it was a pretty extravagant size for 2 people, but I did not mind. :) We are sad to hear the property is for sale as we hoped to revisit for years to come. It is a steal if you get the 3rd night free (or are splitting the cost more than 2 ways), especially with no cleaning fees! Emphatically recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Can't wait to return!!

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

This is the ultimate vacation home! There is so much to see and do, or do nothing at all and enjoy the historical charm of the home and especially all the wildlife.
We couldn't believe the amount of wildlife that comes to the estuary. It's really something. The navy subs were really a treat to watch. The owners were very gracious and adept at outstanding customer care. There is so much more to tell, I could go on and on. I can't wait to go back later this summer. It's not to miss!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Class Fantastic Getaway

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 25, 2010

We had an incredible visit. The wildlife was incredible as were the views and amenities. So close to local dining and great hikes. All we can say is WOW and hope to visit again. Thank you for a wonderful birthday and anniversary memory.

Denise and Randy Colerick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in Every Way

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

Beautiful, super clean, and well appointed home... Gracious and accommodating host/owner... We have already recommended this property to others. AR

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

To start, the property is beautiful. We all had a very relaxing time and a nice stay. The problem was after we returned. The person in our party that gave her credit card for the deposit was contacted by the owner a week later. The owner was rude to her and told her that we had parties, excessive people over and she had an extremely long laundry list of "issues and damage" with the property.

The owner specifically asked about our group size and our ages prior to booking as she said the previous party had trashed the place. We advised her that we just wanted to kick back and relax for the weekend.

We have yet to see any so called proof of the alleged issues and damage. Yet, they did keep our deposit without showing us this evidence. We did not have any additional people over. We did not have any parties. No one in our group smokes. We did not dye our hair. We left the home in the condition as we found it. We feel like we have been scammed.

We will never visit this property again, nor would we recommend it to anyone else.

Owners response: We hope that responsible adults will note the rave reviews from guests, and on other vacation rental websites. In addition to damages incurred, actual amount of on site guests (and pets) must be accurate to prevent this scenario. Since the amount of guests on this young ladies reservation for Memorial weekend was a bit inaccurate (50 is not 5), and considering the damage she incurred as well, she is fortunate she was not required to vacate, as it allows in her contract. It is apparent this guest is upset that they were caught, so much of what is stated in this review is embellished. Numerous pictures of the damages were supplied to her before this review was written. The damages we incurred actually exceeded the deposit retained; but rest assured, we have again restored the property to it's previous charm. A SECURITY SYSTEM IS NOW IN PLACE TO PREVENT UNREPORTED GUESTS AND PETS. We can only hope that responsible homeowners and prospective guests will empathize with what was encountered.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

wonderful Brinnon retreat!

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

We shared a memorable three-day visit with another family in this marvelous home right on the water. The house retains it's 1920's charm, was well appointed, and very clean. There are great views of Hood Canal from 2 of the bedrooms, kitchen, dining area, sitting room and the master tub. We loved eating on the deck overlooking the water, watching the tide change over the Dosewallips delta and spotting the wildlife - bald eagles, king fishers, herons, many ducks, seals and otters. There are oysters and mahogany clams available to harvest right in front of the house; we found manilla clams in the Dosewallips state park nearby. Tori, the owner, was very responsive and accommodating. We highly recommend this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Find!

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2010

We found this place by total accident, but the pictures and the description just seemed too good to pass up. As a couple, we rented the house for three nights, and couldn't have been happier with our stay. The house was clean, well-stocked with kitchen appliances for cooking and baking needs, as well as just being generally comfortable and cozy. The views from each room were spectacular, and the location was quiet, calm, and relaxing. The master suite is fantastic- the jacuzzi tub alone (with it's amazing view day or night) is worth the stay. Wood floors and othr old charms (moldings, paneling, windows, etc.) make the house a true gem. The house is easy to find, and close to hiking, beaches, and other fun outdoor activities. We enjoyed the sunrise and coffee from the main-level desk with it's comfortable chairs and great view. A variety of animals (we saw eagles, seals, and other wildlife) easily seen, and the recereation areas nearby were wasy to access and enjoyable as well. We were incredibly happy with the no-cleaning fees, and the efficient and prompt communication from the property managers. They made us feel like we made the right choice for our local vacation. We hope to go back again and bring other friends since we enjoyed our experience that much. Definitely worth it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a find!

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: March 11, 2010

We loved how close the water was, the thoughtful gift left for us, and the feeling of walking into 1920. Can't wait to return. It really is serenity.

Diane and Glen Harris

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What A Find!!

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2010

We found this place on total accident, but the pictures and description just seemed too good to pass up. As a couple, we rented the house for three nights, and couldn't have been happier with our stay. The house was clean, well-stocked with kitchen appliances for cooking and baking needs, as well as just being generally comfortable and cozy. The views from each room were spectacular, and the location was quiet, calm, and relaxing. The master suite is fantastic- the jacuzzi tub alone (with it's amazing view) is worth the stay. Hardwood floors and other old character charm (moldings, paneling, windows, etc.) make the house a true historical gem. The house is easy to find, and close to hiking, beaches, and other fun outdoor activities. We enjoyed the sunrise and coffee from the main-level deck with its comfy chairs, outdoor heater, and great view. A variety of animals (such as seals, eagles, and other wildlife) were easy to see, and the recreation areas nearby were easy to access and enjoyable as well. We were incredibly happy with the no-cleaning fees, and the efficient and prompt communication of the property managers made us feel like we made the right choice for our local vacation. We hope to go back again and bring other friends since we enjoyed our experience that much. Definitely worth renting!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyable Get-Away

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

We spent this last weekend in Brinnon, and had a wonderful time. The house is very well decorated, and has all the amenities needed for an out of town trip. We made meals in the kitchen, played board games, watched videos, sat on the deck and watched the eagles, elk and birds. An extremely relaxing and enjoyable time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoying a Forgotten Era

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed the historical aspect of this house. It was nice, and I think more relaxing, to get away from modern concrete style condo vacation rentals. It brought back the feeling of a slower paced time from the past. We probably enjoyed the wildlife more than anything. Because a fresh water river flows into the salt water of Hood Canal directly in front of the house, wildlife is more abundant in this area, the principle ones being sea otters and bald eagles.
We used this property as a home base for sightseeing in the area. Main attractions were the town of Port Townsend with its Victorian homes and the small villages up and down Hood Canal with all of their tourist shops and seafood outlets.
Sitting on the outdoor decks was especially enjoyable while watching the the boats cruise in and out of the nearby marina. Even though we didn't, the lower deck is large enough to entertain a fairly good sized group of people. The neighbors' homes are not right on your "doorstep", which is nice for privacy.
The house was very clean and comfortable. The furniture is of the style that fits the era that the house was built in and the beds have heavy quilts, just like the "old days". Even though the kitchen is still the style originally used in the house, it has been updated with all of the modern appliances we are accustomed to.
All in all, this rental home was a nice change of pace bringing back the feeling of a forgotten era. Unless a person wants to vacation at a totally modern day residence, I would recommend the "Balch" house for a unique vacationing experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review