reviews for: listing #67608 - Mal Pais, Costa Rica Villa rental

The Best Villa of Mal Pais - Amazing Views!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $571 - $1,200 /nt
    $3,500 - $78,400 /wk

sort by:

A Beautiful Stylish Paradise

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

Arriving at Villablanca after a long journey from California, we were tired and stressed. One step into this beautiful house and all of that was gone. We were greeted by the caretaker, who showed us room by room all of the features and special things about this spectacular place. And it truly is spectacular. The owner has thought of everything to make a stay here as relaxing and luxurious as possible. One of the locals referred to it as the 'James Bond' house and we certainly felt like we were on a movie set. The furnishings and architecture make you just want to wander around taking in the beauty of it. Set on a steep hill with a fantastic view of the ocean, we awoke each morning to a cacophony of birds and animals. With all of its glass windows, Villablanca is perfect for sitting back, enjoying the view and taking in all of the best that Costa Rica has to offer. The kitchen is completely stocked with top quality equipment. Every corner of every area of the property has a little something special - from the beautiful decor of the bathrooms, outdoor showers, to the relaxing wooden deck with its hammock where you can watch the sunset, do yoga or just sit and be. The owners provided all sorts of recommendations for fishing trips, secret beaches, and nearby grocery stores and restaurants. This is truly a special place and we can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure! Can't wait to have you and Dan back..... xxx Mike and JC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2nd Time Even Better!

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

Well, this was my second trip to the villa, fourth trip overall to the Mal Pais area. I honestly can't say enough good things about the house, the owners, and the caretakers.

The house is absolutely beautiful. Even though I'd stayed before, walking in the door this last time still took my breath away. The pool, the ocean--everything. The house follows a modern design aesthetic, but at the same time is welcoming and comfortable. I've already decided that if I ever build a custom home, the floor plan will be identical (sorry, Michael :) If you think the pictures are beautiful, the effect in real life is even more stunning. I will continue to visit as long as they let me :)

As far as the Mal Pais area--there's a reason this is my fourth year visiting the town. Great character, great people, great beaches/surfing, fabulous restaurants (Koji's, Caracoles, Colour Café, The Bakery, and so on....). You don't feel like you're in a resort town (it helps that there's only one dirt road in and out of town :)

I'd love to keep the villa and town as my secret, but I hope everyone has as special a time as I always have.

Owners response: Thanks Joanie :) We will always keep our door open to you and help you with any of your plans to come back. We continue to maintain the highest level of comfort and care for our clients... and it's been a joy to have you back again and again.... and hopefully again. Mx

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Look no further...

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

We booked Casa Blanca for my 40th on recommendations from a friend who lives locally and they could not have made a better suggestion. Honestly, the minute we walked in the door everyone's jaw just about hit the floor. I believe the comments started something like this; "You have got to be kidding. We're staying here? For two weeks? Oh, it's on!" All kidding aside, this has got to be one of the best properties in the area. Mike, you have pulled together an absolutely amazing home. Originally we questioned whether or not we wanted to be that far out of town (1.5KM), but after a day or two, we were so happy we made that decision. All details were very well thought out, from the overall design of the home, to the surround sound, movie room, rooftop patio, pool, etc. Top that off with unbelievable views and no neighbors, what else could you ask for? We simply can't say enough.

Our next couple of weeks were blessed with uncrowded overhead surf each morning, followed by some sort of afternoon adventure; horseback riding, quads, ziplining, hiking, beach days, etc. For those who plan on coming down, here are a few suggestions for your trip:

- Go for a surf with Jobbie. Just go into town. You'll find his shop near the crossroads. One of the best humans on the planet.

- Zip line in Mal pais, rather than Montezuma. The lines are longer and the guys were more fun. Less touristy.

- Go hike to the waterfall in Montezuma.

- Go horseback riding with Veronica or Pabro from Sapoa Adventures. Actually, do anything with these two for that matter. They are amazing people. Our girls (ages 8 & 12) couldn't stop talking about them.

- Buy fresh fish (from the local fishman's village down the road) for the bbq or ceviche.

- Eat, at least once, at the following places - Koji's (sushi), The Bakery (Breakfast), Brisas del Mar (Breakfast or Dinner), Las Piedras (Dinner), Ritmo Tropical (Dinner), Mary's (Dinner), Playa de los artistas (evening drinks), Ylang Ylang (evening drinks). Finally, Habaneros sucks!!! (For what it's worth) Don't go there. They get the spotlight for the worst service, worst drinks and most overpriced meal of our trip.

On a final note... Mike, thank you for being so easy to work with. We will absoluetly be back down to join you again. This has been one of the best family trips which we've taken and we have built memories which will last a lifetime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

WOW, just WOW!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

Casa Blanca provided a beautiful setting for the vacation of a lifetime. Exactly as described and pictured, the home was spectacular in every way. The views of the hills and ocean were breathtaking, especially during the sunset hour, while the sounds of local wildlife lulled us to a restful sleep each evening. My favorite spot was the hammock with its gentle breeze which afforded some much needed rest and time for personal reflection. The owner provided assistance for months prior to our arrival through the day we had to return to the "real world." He answered every question I asked (there were many) and helped arrange last minute transportation when we needed to return our rental car a day early. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all, while still enjoying luxurious accommodations, this is it!

Owners response: We are so happy to have had you and your family with us and to deliver to you what you expected :) Thanks so much. Mike and JC

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Next level Experience

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

Go to vimeo dot com and search for Jeff Dowling. We have posted a video called Costa Rica pura Vida. check it out

Really can't describe how incredible this setting is. Perched perfectly in the hills, spectacular views of the ocean. Nature fills this house with beautiful sounds to compliment the picturesque setting.

We had a group of 8 that slept comfortably for the week. Lucked out with amazing weather and had all we needed. Found ourselves missing the house when we were in town which made it all that much better coming home in the evenings.

Great indoor kitchen for cooking, outside kitchen for grilling. Whenever we had a question/concerns, we were promptly helped.

Check out the video at the bottom. It will give you a little taste of everything. Great shots of the house in action and everything it has to offer. My suggestion for transportation is that everyone rents ATV's. Makes it so easy to get into town from the house, cruise around, and get back up. It would be a pretty long walk. Cars also work fine but everyone in our group thought the ATV's were the best choice ( we didn't rent until the end of the week)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

A place you don't want to leave any more!

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 6, 2013

The pictures and descriptions don't promise to much. Reality is even better! Unfortunately we had only 4 days for our stay and everybody had loved to stay much longer. The atmosphere is undescribable. Stunning views down to the ocean from all over the house. Glass-walls can be removed and inside and outside fuse. You turn around from dinnertable, one step and if you want, you jump into the pool. The rooms are precious with a clear modern design. The kitchen ist fun for everybody who wants to cook on a high level. You find a professional oven, pots and pans and everything else you need. Special thanks to the owner who always had an open ear for questions, always cared in an instant - unbelievable! Thanks also to Eduardo and the housekeeper who kept in the background, being always nice and helpful. If my english would be better, there would be more to say. We hope, we are able to come back in the future! Ingeborg

Owners response: Thanks Ingeborg for your response. We enjoyed having you and the team with us and we hope to have you again soon. All the best to everyone from all of us at Casa Blanca :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely WONDERFUL

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

All I can really say is "WOW." I've been to Mal Pais three times now and this is by far the best house I've had. The owners were ALWAYS willing to answer questions and addressed any concerns immediately. The onsite caretakers were wonderful as well, helping out with anything we needed. The location is perfect, assuming you aren't scared of doing a tiny bit of four wheeling on the dirt road to the house (nothing the local 4x4 rentals can't handle). All part of the charm of Mal Pais!

If you're trying to decide where to vacation in CR, choose Mal Pais if:

1) you either surf or want to learn (I fall in the latter category)
2) you like yoga
3) you don't mind frizzy hair due to humidity
4) you want a place that feels off the beaten path, but with AMAZING restaurants (I argue that Koji's for sushi is one of the best places on the planet (have the snapper carpaccio)!

I will most certainly be looking to book the house again, the sooner the better!

Thanks to all for making the stay in Mal Pais wonderful!

Owners response: Joanie: We loved having you with us. And we thank you for your response. We hope to have you back again :) Mx

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We wanted an unusual location for a birthday celebration and family reunion, somewhere where we could all enjoy a stress-free time in a luxury setting. Villa CasaBlanca delivered all this and much more...it is a dream home in a perfect setting, with all mod cons and views to die for. From my first contact with Mike, he was responsive and unfailingly helpful in making sure we got all our travel arragements coordinated. We were a bit surprised that it was literally off the beaten track, a 10 minute drive up a very steep rough road above the coast road, but we did eventually get used to it. The roads generally in Costa Rica are pretty hair raising and at the moment very dry and dusty so travelling anywhere is not that pleasant. But the villa's slight inaccesibility means that when you get up there, it literally is away from the crowds. With 8 of us, it was anyway more enjoyable to cook at home in the wonderful open plan, well-equipped kitchen and eat outside in the informal dining area by the BBQ. Having said that, one of the highlights was having a personal chef come in to cook my birthday dinner, one of the most amazing meals I've ever eaten. Another highlight was the early morning fishing trip with a local fisherman which gave us a great catch to put on the BBQ, and relaxing massage sessions on the cobana.The staff were unobtrusive but always there when you needed them. It would be an advantage to have some command of Spanish though to communicate with everyone in a more friendly way! Mal Pais is a laid-back surfer dude spot with rough and ready places to eat, but obviously great for keen surfers! I would definitely recommend this place as the perfect holiday location for those who really do want to get away from it all.

Owners response: We wanted to thank you and your family for this response. We enjoyed having you with us at Casa Blanca and we hope it made your birthday just that bit more wonderful. We look forward to having you back again. All the best from all of us :)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

“Great place to unwind!”

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

This was our second trip to Costa Rica and the Mal Pais area, and by far, Casa Blanca left us speechless. The pictures do not do justice for the house or the awesome views. The owner Mike, personally, worked with us in making our stay at Casa Blanca one that we will never forget. Eduardo, Lourdes, and his family were wonderful. Even though my Spanish is very limited, Eduardo explained how to work everything in the house and TV/Media Room. We were looking just for rest and relaxation and found it and more at Casa Blanca.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spectacular

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

This is a fantastic property with a wonderful view. The drive up the hill is intimidating at first but then becomes part of the joy of the rental. Inside everything is in great shape and the design of villa accentuates the beauty of the location and the jungle and ocean. Been lucky to have rented lots of nice places over the years but Casa Blanca is truly special.

Owners response: Thanks Chris... we hope to have you back again soon :) All the best from all of us at Casa Blanca

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Truly awesome!

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

This house is absolutely magnificent! It far exceeded our expectations. From the fantastic views to the exquisite amenities and the remarkable landscaping, there is nothing better we could have hoped for. This is truly paradise tucked away in private little setting where you can forget the rest of the world even exists. The caretakers of the property were outstanding. They made everything easy and comfortable, such a pleasure to meet them. The details of our of our stay were handled flawlessly due to the much appreciated help of the owner. The chef he recommended for our in house dinner was spot on perfect. We will indeed recommend this rental to others and hope to visit Casa Blanca again. A truly awesome vacation experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Karla :) It was a pleasure to have you with us. Eduardo and Lourdes were happy to help with your trip. We hoe to see you again soon. All the best from Team Casa Blanca

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

PURA VIDA in CASA BLANCA

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

Truly a magical and beautiful place! The drive alone to the house on top of Mal Pais was such an adventure. Steep, rocky and with sharp turns but well worth the trip to be in paradise. Perfect place to go and bring a few close friends to celebrate your bday ;) or just relax and enjoy the beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean by the infinity pool or even from the room or roof top. The cabanita tucked on the side of the house has a hammock and provides a intimate spot to read a book or enjoy the view. The caretakers of the house were very accommodating and kept the place very clean. This was really such an experience and a great one to share with friends. I look forward to returning to this place and highly recommend it!! Pura Vida!

Owners response: It was a pleasure to have you and your friends with us to the Villa. And again we hope your Birthday was the best. Warm wishes from all of us.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Fantastic place to relax in paradise

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

From morning hops off my balcony into the pool to midday siestas in the massage and relaxation cabina to nights falling asleep listening to the waves of the ocean, my experience at Casa Blanca was a fantastic opportunity to simply rest and enjoy the beauty all around me. The house's clean modern design always feels cozy and comfortable, and yet can be completely opened up to invite in the cool breeze and the quiet sounds of the environment. The view is extraordinary, with unobstructed view of the ocean on one side and lush forest on the other. The area around Mal Pais offers many beautiful beaches and trails to explore, although if you are like me you might prefer to relax around the house occasionally enjoying a mango or bite of ceviche made from the freshest catch you can buy from the local fishermen.
The house provides all the amenities one would hope for, always feels clean, and is well-maintained by the helpful staff. My family and I had a fabulous holiday at Casa Blanca, and would absolutely recommend the house for anyone wanting a memorable vacation in paradise. We hope to return soon!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Most fabulous place ever!!!

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

This amazing home is complete with incredible views of coastline as well as the tropical forest. The outdoors comes in with a large part of the home opening up to the vistas via glass sliding doors which open to the pool and coastline view. It is well maintained with the most up to date appliances. The kitchen is inviting to cook in as one can see the marvelous vistas as one prepares meals. Children and adults alike can enjoy the easy and comfortable layout of the rooms, which includes a large screen movie viewing room that also serves as an additional living room and and extra sleeping area. The lap pool offers a cool place to take a dip anytime of day or night, and the Cabina offers a place to relax under the shade and take in the spectacular view and ocean breezes. The caretakers are supremely friendly, welcoming and helpful.

This house is inspired, and will make your stay in Malpais, Costa Rica a dream vacation to remember for the rest of your life!!!

Owners response: We are so glad that you had the chance to experience Mal Pais and Casa Blanca. Having you there was wonderful. All the best, Team Casa Blanca

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We had a wonderful time!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

We had a wonderful time. Casa Blanca is a beautiful house, very comfortble with a great view on the ocean and large volumes which make you feel really good. We did visit the area and went to the beaches etc,.. but staying at the house to cook, enjoy the swiming pool and hang out doing nothing was also enjoyable. The owner and his local contacts Eduardo and Lucia are always avaialble to help and support for any questions. Very enjoyable. I would recommend a stay at Casa Blanco to anybody.

Owners response: We are so happy that you had a wonderful time and we wish you back again and again as always.

All the best from all of us at Casa Blanca

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

INCREDIBLE and PERFECT

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 9, 2012

I cannot express how absolutely magical this property is! I am recommending it to everyone I know visiting Costa Rica and I will absolutely be returning. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else! Luxurious, stylish and perfect!
Leanne

Owners response: Thanks so much Leanne staying with us. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to having you with us again. All the best from all of us at Casa Blanca.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Surreal

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 17, 2012

This place is set in a world of its own; unhurried, elegant and in perfect harmony with nature. The combination of jungle, polished concrete, minimalist design and functionality (complete with endless house accessories incl. surboards) offer a sense of comfort and tranquility that’s hard to find. The result is pretty, um, stellar.

I’m lounging by the pool with a book in hand, overlooking the Pacific and listening to Thievery Corp on the surround sound system. The walls of fold-back glass doors are open to the jungle and I can feel the ocean breeze and hear the monkeys. Perched on a hill, the house is away from the crowds and yet just a quick ride away from the coffee and sushi boutiques alive with a vibrant Tico culture. I came here to study for my exams and was a bit apprehensive about the remoteness of the house but Mike arranged for bulletproof security: house alarm system, Eduardo on-call, Coloches, the poodle and Rente, the mini pinscher. I’m not sure who protected who but we’re all relaxed-out and feeling high (on life, not on ganja). Mike was just a phone call away in case I needed anything and he followed-up with me closely to make sure I felt comfortable. Despite my worthless Spanish, Eduardo, Google translate and I made things happen. He also came to rescued me after I drove my ATV into a ditch. Yoga and Sushi at Pranamar were kickass, massage at the spa and surfing filled in most of my hours when I wasn’t studying. Check out the starts at night, hot sauce at Zula, dinner at Milarepa and hit up the digital library of 200+ movies. There’s a mystery about this place you can’t capture in words so you’ll just have to come and see for yourself - you will not be disappointed. Thanks for everything Mike, Eduardo and Lucia! Till next time…

Martina, Toronto, Canada

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Paradise Found!!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 10, 2011

Where to begin?!
Absolute dream experience from the first email to waving "adios" to Eduardo, Lourdes and their beautiful family!!
I wanted a unmatched experience for my husband's 40th birthday with our family and friends. Casa Blanca in Mal Pais was an answer to all my wishes. Michael was great with my barrage of questions and was so helpful with all the info.
Lucia was a huge part of our trip being such a success! Her help was invaluable and was there for our every request!
The house is indescribably beautiful! The pictures on the site are wonderful but nothing can capture the feeling of peace and beauty that surrounds you as you are sipping a beverage from the infinity pool, as the sun sets while the fresh lobster and sushi grade tuna bought off the boat hours before, is being cooked in a chef's dream kitchen!! AMAZING!!
Can't say enough great things about our time at Casa Blanca! Thanks to all of you who made this so great....
Michael, Lucia, Eduardo, and Lourdes made this the trip of a lifetime! Willy (quad rental), Mary's restaurant for a great birthday dinner, Super Ronny for staples, Jobbie's surf school, Montezuma Zip Line, Ylang Ylang amazing dining experience, the monkey troop that joined us for breakfast, the wild Lorakeets flocks waking us in the morning, and the list goes on and on....
Thanks to everyone! And if your reading this trying to decide if you should make part of your vacation, do yourself and favor and book immediately, you can thank me later!!!

Thanks Again!
Pura Vida!

-Pippin Mebane, Tampa FL

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Every Detail of this Place Makes it a Unique Jewel

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

The house is just marvelous. We spent an amazing vacation at Casa Blanca, enjoyed every minute of its amazing views and its luxurious and comfortable interiors. Every little detail of this place makes it a unique jewel. We didn't want to leave at all!

We had the chance to meet Eduardo and Maria who definitely gave us a very special treat and made us fell like home.

Hope we can visit Casa Blanca in some future soon, we felt in love with this paradise!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kinds words. We enjoyed having you and hope that you will come back again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Incredible villa in paradise

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at villa Casa Blanca for about 1 week in late June. We fell in love with this villa and Mal Pais. Words and pictures don't do this house justice, you just have to see it for yourself. You get luxury in paradise and will come back feeling completely rejuvenated and energized. The house is fully equipped but below are the aspects that we liked the most during our stay:

- The views surrounding the villa are breathtaking in all directions. Beautiful lush forests on one side and the vast pacific ocean on the other.
- The private 20 meter long infinity edge lap pool was a work of art. You will spend alot of time here taking in the views and relaxing.
- The floor to ceiling windows in the entire house.
- The beautiful, smart and sustainable design approach gives you luxury that is responsible.
- The garden has fruits and vegetables that you can help yourself to. The hot peppers are really hot!
- The villa is very private so it is perfect for a romantic escape. Be sure to try the outdoor shower at night under the bright stars.
- Fully equipped kitchen and entertainment system wired across the house. (projection theatre, full house audio system).

I can keep writing but I think you get the point. I dont know that I will ever stay at a hotel again. Can't wait to come back and stay at Casa Blanca again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Peace and Relaxation!!

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

Thank you so much for such a wonderful experience! The afternoons spent watching the sunset with a mojito in hand and the relaxing morning swims in the lap pool were definitely the best way to spend our vacation. The housekeepers, Eduardo and Lourdes, were helpful, friendly, and made our stay extra special. The house had all the amenities to make us feel at home, we enjoyed delicious BBQs, saw many movies in the lounge, and enjoyed the sound system set up. All in all it was a most memorable stay, and one we will no doubt enjoy again, as soon as we can return to Casablanca!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was our pleasure to cater to your holiday to make it the perfect experience. We are so happy you enjoyed the house and the staff who maintain this to a very high degree of cleanliness and privacy.

Please come back :)

All the best from us.

Mike
Casa Blanca

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Costa Rica in Style

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

We had a brilliant time at this villa and would highly recommend it. The villa was beautiful and had stunning views across the sea and jungle. The layout, decoration and furniture have all been very well chosen and create a very relaxed stylish atomsphere. The kitchen was well equipped for making 3 courses dinners and the occassional cocktail! The pool and deck area were stunning and when we finally managed to drag ourselves away from the villa (which is very difficult) and explore the nearby towns there was so many activiites on offer we didnt know where to start! Tuna fishing and then eating the fresh fish at Mary's restaurant was defintely a highlight. Eduardo (brother of the owner) was very friendly and attentive, coming to meet us in town when we arrived and show us around the villa as well as coming to clean the pool everyday. We also received plenty of useful information and directions from the owners before we arrived and also recommendations throughout our stay. Overall I would say this villa was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica and would be very tough to find somewhere this special again! The villa certainly made our trip to Costa Rica a memorable experience!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello:

Again, we were so happy to help you and your friends celebrate your time in Costa Rica and particularly in this bit of paradise the best possible.

Again, if you ever need anything in the future, we are here to cater to make your experience fulfilled.

All the best from Casa Blanca

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Best Property in Costa Rica to Vacation At

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

This was the most BEAUTIFUL self accommendating Private House in the Area.The House itself gives a vacationer all ammenities required to have a Fabulious Vacation Stay in Costa Rica.The View from all sides of the House are breath taking and the Sunrises and Sunsets while basking on the deck or in the pool are unbeatable.Stayed for 2 weeks and can't wait to return.The Housekeepers Edwardo and Lourdes are the BEST!!!!!! Lourdes cooking if wanted is second to NONE and Edwardo makes the BEST Mojoto's in the Cuntry.If your going to Costa Rica anytime I personally couldn't recommend better accomodations ANYWHERE!!!!!! Will be returning again soon!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 26, 2011

My 2 friends and I had the pleasure of staying at this stunning villa for a few days in March, and the experience was jaw-dropping. It was seclusive, peaceful, beautiful views, and Eduardo was very helpful cleaning our pool every morning, walking us through how to use the extensive sound system that runs through the entire villa as well as how to use the grill and the massive monitor on which we watched the royal wedding. My two favorite parts where lounging around the infinity pool in the morning, reading and swimming, having a delicious breakfast and heading out fishing with the local fisherman that the owners put us in touch with - such an exhilirating experience!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellence In The Midst Of The Jungle!!!

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

We had the wonderful opportunity to stay at Casa Blanca in Mal Pais, Costa Rica this last week. It was my wife, brother in law and our 2 children ages 1 1/2, 6 and myself. This home is spectacular! It had everything we needed and more. We enjoyed watching movies at night in the theatre/lounge area and also enjoyed our days swimming in the beautiful pool. The bedrooms are to die for, every room has air conditioning, flat screen tv's, surround sound system and views that are beautiful and endless. If you need to stay connected as I do you will be pleased to know that there is a MAC computer in the office area right off the master bedroom plus there is wifi in every room. We really don't go to Mal Pais to always be on the internet and watching TV but what a relief it is to have it when you have small children and need to get online every once in a while. The Kitchen is a joy to cook in as it is fully equipped and has amazing views of the ocean and the gas grill right off the kitchen is amazing. There is even a light switch that has "Relax" written on it, as soon as you hit that switch all of the lights in the home dim and it creates this wonderful sense of relaxation and peace. I have to thank Eduardo and Lourdes who are the caretakers of this property who made our stay even more enjoyable. They are the sweetest family and are there to serve you. After every great conversation we had they always said "We are here to please you and we are at your service" what a nice touch. They have the house so well put together and super clean, all the way to the towels in the bathroom are neatly folded and aligned perfectly. The home is very private and you are in the midst of this beautiful jungle, you feel almost that you are a part of something bigger and it makes you completely relaxed. You are also close enough to town to get everything you need. It is the attention to detail that makes this home perfect in every way. There are so many more great things to write about this property but I will keep it short.

If you are looking for a true escape and want to experience beauty, design, jungle, ocean and paradise then this is the home for you and your family. I highly recommend this home to families, couples, and friends.

Thank you Mike and Juan for creating such a wonderful place and allowing us to enjoy it!

The Clark family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Pura Vida!

Having you and your family with us was a pleasure. We are so glad you had a chance to experience paradise at it's best. It was a pleasure to make your holiday the best possible and if you ever come back, we'll make it always the best possible.

Thanks from Casa Blanca

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Simply FANTASTIC!!!!

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Please enter the date of your stay as June 1st for one week.

We contacted the owners about our holiday.  They were amazing as they walked us through all of Costa Rica and Mal Pais/Santa Teresa.   We saw the house on the website but when we arrived it was more then we could have ever imagined.   An amazing modern home overlooking the entire Pacific Ocean in total tranquility.   It was just us - my wife and two kids - and we felt like we arrived it a paradise of seclusion.

Then, we walked in the house and it was like nothing we would have imagined.  A kitchen with everything we wanted, a living environment with folding glass doors that opened the entire ground floor to the infinity pool and onto the sunset when we arrived.   It was like arriving in Nirvana.

The upstairs bedrooms were a dream: air-conditioned, wood floors with a natural touch and the rooms were spacious with balconies that looked over the Pacific Ocean.   Paradise.

As we explored, the bathrooms were like another surprise with rain-shower bathrooms and views to die for and an outside shower overlooking the valley.   Who would want to leave!

The following week we enjoyed the kitchen with everything you would want, the outside BBQ, the terrace overlooking the ocean... imagine having a BBQ overlooking the pool and the Pacific.  Ahhhhh........

The person overlooking the house and his wife took care of everything.  Whatever we needed, they attended to from food, fishing, BBQ, local attractions, the fisherman's market, yoga and surfing.   Everything we wanted was answered easily.   This is a house that you just sit back and relax as they've thought of it all - electronic lighting throughout, media room with digital projector and 300 DVDs, kitchen with all modern appliances!   We felt we never had to leave until we discovered the surfboards and had to head to the beach to give a go!

And then, you think it's all and then you discover the roof terrace with mini-bar overlooking the entire expanse of the Pacific.   We spend several nights on this terrace plucking the stars from the sky.

Eduardo and Lourdes really made our stay the most amazing ever.

Our trip to Paradise was complete and the kids never left the pool!!!  As a matter of fact we didn't want to leave the house!  We had total privacy with our family in a tranquil part of the world.

We're coming back!!!!

Julian and Jo and Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us.

And we are so happy that the Villa lived up to everything you imagined it to be. It gives us and our staff true satisfaction to know that your experience was positive and peaceful.

Pura Vida!

Thanks from Casa Blanca

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Casa Blanca is AMAZING !!

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

My stay at Casa Blanca - May 23, 2011 - was outstanding in every way possible. The sunsets are beyond description. Watching them daily as the sun goes down while floating on the pool is magical. The sounds of the birds and wildlife were fantastic. Eduardo and Lourdes attended to every detail to perfection. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Clean and well maintained Casa Blanca has everything one could want and more. There is so much to do see and experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: You and you family are welcome anytime. I know that Lourdes and Eduardo enjoyed making your stay private and peaceful.

We welcome you back in the future with open arms.

All the best from us to you :)

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

not what we expected/NO privacy

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

I booked this villa requesting total privacy which we did not receive b/c the owner's brother in law, his wife & 2 kids were constantly at the villa which made my family feel very uncomfortable and as if we were intruding in their home. Yes, they will all be there first thing in the morning waiting for you to leave & when you do, they are swimming in the pool & whatever else it is they do. They'll pop up at all hours, my son called them ninjas. Ridiculous. But most importantly, after informing the owner we had a toddler & asking if the house was safe we were not told about lights on the stairway that heat up as we unfortunately found out they are not safety lights.
The owner was very friendly before I finalized the booking and before I paid, Answering emails right away etc. I'm not even getting into a major "mess" up by the property "manager" that led to a rude phone call to us by the owner while we were on vacation in the villa when the "incident" was not even our fault. BUT, most disappointing is the fact that after we returned home and informed the owner about our 2 year old's 2nd degree burn caused by the lights & sent photos of her injury, he did not respond at all. Not even an apology. Guess the only concern was getting his money.
I would not recommend this villa for anyone expecting privacy, anyone with small children or people that have a hard time getting around. Oh, and driving up to the villa from town and down again will get really old after a couple days. Its a nightmare!
Too bad we have no formal contract since we only exchanged email and we paid cash upon arrival. But we do have emails.... considering our next step with this.

Owners response: We are so sorry that you feel this way about the house. We had no idea as we never heard from you about any complaints. If we had known, we would of course had taken every measure to amend thing to suit your needs.

Our goal is to make your holiday the best experience and it saddens us that after receiving a glowing email from you about how wonderful the house and your stay was that we find this out on the last day.

All of our other clients have not had this experience at all and on the contrary they have loved the privacy and the support of our Caretaker/Housekeeper.

All the best from us.

Mike
Casa Blanca

Helpful votes: 5 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the House

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

What a great experience thanks to Eduardo and his family. Too easy to live the real Pura Vida. Hard to go back! What else to say?
Big thanks Phil and Fred
March 30 -31, 2011

What a great experience. Guillaume and Kellie

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace and Quiet

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2011

How could we over thank you enough for sharing your beautiful home with us. This is our second visit to Casa Blanca and we are in love with this piece of paradise that you have created. Eduardo and Lourdes really went out of their way to make our visit extra special! This would have to be our all time favourite trip to Mal Pais. We hope to return in the Winter. Thanks a Million.
Beth and Arthur

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tanquility

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

Words cannot describe this beautiful perch. We had the most wonderful time together in this perfect setting. They layout is smart and comfortable. The hospitality was welcoming and joyful. (Junior and Marvin helps us awaken our inner children).
We hope this sacred spot on earth is preserved, worshipped and loved for many years to come.
With bottomless gratitude,
The Oceanicle

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

Casa Blanca is beautiful!
What a great surf trip. We had fun in the pool too. This entry is brief because we are hurrying out the door back to the freezing New York City (sigh). This trip has been action packed, non-stop go-go action from hiking in Cabo Blanco, exploring the beaches near Montezuma, to surfing the waves at Playa Carmen and a fun boat ride to Tortuga Island. Seems like we didn’t stop moving ‘til sunset every day and then time stopped.
Cheers!
All of us from NY

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

Thank you so much! We had an amazing time at Casa Blanca. Everything has been perfect. What a great way to celebrate my 40th birthday. I really want to come back soon. Eduardo and Lourdes have been so cool. I promised them better Spanish next time and a tattoo from Marz for Eduardo.
Thanks again.
Genny and Marz

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

What a great experience thanks to Eduardo and his family. Too easy to live the real Pura Vida. Hard to go back! What else to say?
Big thanks Phil and Fred
March 30 -31, 2011

What a great experience. Guillaume and Kellie

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2011

How could we over thank you enough for sharing your beautiful home with us. This is our second visit to Casa Blanca and we are in love with this piece of paradise that you have created. Eduardo and Lourdes really went out of their way to make our visit extra special! This would have to be our all time favourite trip to Mal Pais. We hope to return in the Winter. Thanks a Million.
Beth and Arthur

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

Words cannot describe this beautiful perch. We had the most wonderful time together in this perfect setting. They layout is smart and comfortable. The hospitality was welcoming and joyful. (Junior and Marvin helps us awaken our inner children).
We hope this sacred spot on earth is preserved, worshipped and loved for many years to come.
With bottomless gratitude,
The Oceanicle

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

Casa Blanca is beautiful!
What a great surf trip. We had fun in the pool too. This entry is brief because we are hurrying out the door back to the freezing New York City (sigh). This trip has been action packed, non-stop go-go action from hiking in Cabo Blanco, exploring the beaches near Montezuma, to surfing the waves at Playa Carmen and a fun boat ride to Tortuga Island. Seems like we didn’t stop moving ‘til sunset every day and then time stopped.
Cheers!
All of us from NY

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2011

It is so hard to put into words all that we have felt during this marvelous vacation.
Casa Blanca is truly a haven Extraordinaire!!
The sunsets are breath-taking. Something to look forward to every day. Watching the sun go down with its reflection in the pool is amazing.
The sounds of the different birds and the chirping of the Geckos were music to my ears.
Eduardo and Lourdes were fantastic, thoughtful and attentive.
Thank you for every BIG and little thing you have done to make this visit so grand.

Love,
Helen

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

PARADISE

Review submitted: March 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Thank you so much! We had am amazing time at Casa Blanca. Everything has been perfect. What a great way to celebrate my birthday. I really want to come back soon. The staff have been so cool. I promise them better spanish next time and a tatto from Marz for E. Thanks again, Genny and Marz

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that you and your gang had such a fantastic birthday celebration with us at Casa Blanca. We are always here to make any celebration complete in this little bit of paradise by the Pacific.

All the best from all of us at Casa Blanca

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

TOTAL BEYOND OUR DREAMS

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

We knew it looked like something special but when we arrived it TOTALLY surpassed all our expectations. When we arrived our jaws dropped. It was so much more than we could have imagined. The rooms are palatial and the house is so modern and inviting. The kitchen had everything - even more than our own house! And with the BBQ in the back garden with the herb garden, it was too much to believe. Each room in the house has the most AMAZING views!!! And then there's the ROOF TERRACE where you can see from the National Park to Samara!

We arrived and frankly we never left. When you have Paradise in your house why else would you leave.

Thanks so much for your excellent design - and even more so to the wonderful staff Eduardo and Lourdes who made our stay feel like a family retreat.

WOW!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that the house lived up to your expectations and more. If you ever want to return, we would love to have you stay again.

Wishing you all the best,

Casa Blanca

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casa Blana is Total Paradise

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Thanks you for a wonderful stay at Casablanca! We enjoyed every part of your beautiful home - swimming in the infinity pool, watching movies in the theatre room, cooking in your fantastic kitchen, relaxing with view of the jungle and ocean, and grilling our Thanksgiving lunch. An extra thank you to Juan Carlos and Eduardo for making our vacation extra comfortable. We hope to return to Casablanca soon! The Patel Family - Prakash, Priti, Pratik and Ami from Saint Joseph, Missouri

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Villa!!! So Happy

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

It is so hard to put into words all that we have felt during
this marvelous vacation.

Casa Blanco is truly a haven Extraodinaire!!

The sunsets are breathtaking. Something to look
forward to every day. Watching the sun go down
with its reflection in the pool is amazing.

The sounds of the different birds and the chirping of
the Geckos were music to my ears.

Eduardo and Lourdes were fantastic.
Thoughtful and attentive.

Thank you for every BIG and little thing you
have done to make this visit so grand.

Love you both lots,
Mom

PS Do hope I wore out the word WONDERFUL,
not my welcome!!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise at Casa Blanca

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Thanks you soooo much for letting our family stay in your "slice of paradise". We had planned on going to the beach but after the 2n day, even the kids prefered staying here... who wouldn't?? Your villa is absolutely gorgeous, the view, to die for, the pool splendid! We will cherish our memories of this past week for a very long time! We needed the peace and tranquility we found here. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of coming back soon!

Merci beaucoup!

Vincent, Roxanne, Pierre, Valerie, Natthalie
The Vian/Lussier Family! Canada

PS: I almost forgot...the star gazing on the upper terrasse is a must!! Just so beautiful!! And no need to write about the sunsets... you'll see for yourselves!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

PARADISE

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Thanks you soooo much for letting our family stay in your "slice of paradise". We had planned on going to the beach but after the 2n day, even the kids prefered staying here... who wouldn't?? Your villa is absolutely gorgeous, the view, to die for, the pool splendid! We will cherish our memories of this past week for a very long time! We needed the peace and tranquility we found here. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of coming back soon!

Merci beaucoup!

Vincent, Roxanne, Pierre, Valerie, Natthalie
The Vian/Lussier Family! Canada

PS: I almost forgot...the star gazing on the upper terrasse is a must!! Just so beautiful!! And no need to write about the sunsets... you'll see for yourselves!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

An amazing and relaxing getaway...

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 28, 2010

Wow. All I can is wow. The pictures don't lie, but they also don't do the house, or its stunning location, justice. You will walk in, drop your bags, and then drop your jaw. The view is stunning - north, up the coast through the lush green and overlooking a seeming endless string of beaches - the entire house opens up to it. Four glass walls retract fully so that you can dine and lounge indoors/outdoors beside the 60 foot infinity pool. The house is high up above the beaches of Playa Carmen and Hermosa but yet still only about a eight minute drive from "town" at the Mal Pais/Santa Teresa intersection. It is also totally private - no one around, no other houses really in view (other than some famous hollywood people nearby - you'll have to guess who). The kitchen is fully set up and it is easy to cook meals - there is even a sweet new gas grill outside. A sample day - get up late, make costa rican coffee in the french press, swim some morning laps, then head to the secret Swedish beach at the end of the road during the day, buy some freshly caught fish at the market on your way home, and finally cook it up on the grill with some Ron Centenario and Cokes while you watch the sunset. The owners and local caretakers were very helpful in getting us set up and on deciding what sights to see and things to do. In short, I can't recommend this unique spot highly enough. (In fact, I sort of don't want to write this recommendation - keep this place secret, but that wouldn't be fair to the owners.) We had a lovely time and we want to bring people back with us next time. Ah. Next time. - Douglas

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

CASABLANCA

Review submitted: December 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Thank you for a wonderful stay at Casablanca! We enjoyed every part of your beautiful home - swimming in the infinity pool, watching movies in the theatre room, cooking in your fantastic kitchen, relaxing with views of the jungle and ocean, and grilling our Thanksgiving lunch. An extra thank you for Juan Carlos and Eduardo for making our vacation extra comfortable. We hope to return to Casablanca soon! The Patel Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

TOTAL PARADISE

Review submitted: December 19, 2010   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

Thank you do much for letting us stay at your amazzziiinnnggg Casa. It is paradise here. Net time we want you both here with us! It's been groundhog day almost everyday: sun, pool, mojito, sun, pool, mojito.... it really has been almost unbearable! Honestly though our stay has been amazing. It's so tranquil here, the closes we have ever come to paradise. Next time if you wouldn't mind arranging a few extra hours in the day and possibly an extra day in the week might just be perfect! Jonny and Beth

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Casablanca

Review submitted: December 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Thanks you for a wonderful stay at Casablanca! We enjoyed every part of your beautiful home - swimming in the infinity pool, watching movies in the theatre room, cooking in your fantastic kitchen, relaxing with view of the jungle and ocean, and grilling our Thanksgiving lunch. An extra thank you to Juan Carlos and Eduardo for making our vacation extra comfortable. We hope to return to Casablanca soon! The Patel Family - Prakash, Priti, Pratik and Ami from Saint Joseph, Missouri

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Paradise Forever

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

We were looking for something peaceful and removed from the typical hotel/resort experience. What a great find this was!
On the short flight from San Jose the scenery was beautiful. Water, mountains, islands; flying to paradise. Upon arrival in Tambor, with one runway and a metal roofed shelter, we knew the everyday world was behind us: time to relax and enjoy.
The rental car company was there to pick us up and soon we were on our way. The roads are an experience in themselves. You will know what I mean when you get there…..it really adds to the adventure. On the last part of the drive, up the hill to the house, be sure to use 4-wheel drive.
When you enter the house you will be amazed by the walls of glass and INCREDIBLE views! The home’s cement and glass construction with doors and furniture made of local hardwoods has the feel of a luxury resort. As you look over the infinity pool, to the ocean beyond you will feel your worries melt away.
A master suite that includes a private deck and bath with outdoor shower (awesome!) as well as two additional bedrooms and bath are on the second floor. It was just two of us, but the house would be great for family or friends on vacation as well.
Casablanca, with its great location near Mal Pais, Santa Teresa and Playa Carmen, is truly a vacation paradise. We look forward to our next visit!
John and Michael

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

We were looking for something peaceful and removed from the typical hotel/resort experience. What a great find this was!
On the short flight from San Jose the scenery was beautiful. Water, mountains, islands; flying to paradise. Upon arrival in Tambor, with one runway and a metal roofed shelter, we knew the everyday world was behind us: time to relax and enjoy.
The rental car company was there to pick us up and soon we were on our way. The roads are an experience in themselves. You will know what I mean when you get there…..it really adds to the adventure. On the last part of the drive, up the hill to the house, be sure to use 4-wheel drive.
When you enter the house you will be amazed by the walls of glass and INCREDIBLE views! The home’s cement and glass construction with doors and furniture made of local hardwoods has the feel of a luxury resort. As you look over the infinity pool, to the ocean beyond you will feel your worries melt away.
A master suite that includes a private deck and bath with outdoor shower (awesome!) as well as two additional bedrooms and bath are on the second floor. It was just two of us, but the house would be great for family or friends on vacation as well.
Casablanca, with its great location near Mal Pais, Santa Teresa and Playa Carmen, is truly a vacation paradise. We look forward to our next visit!
John and Michael

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Pool Paradise

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

The setting overlooking the Pacific beyond the infinity pool just...took my breath away at first sight. An oasis this private, even in paradise, is hard to find. I simply cannot wait until I have the time to revisit this gem at the edge of the world; I'd recommend it in a heartbeat to friends who want to see nature, unspoiled, up close and personal. It will be hard to beat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

There's No Place Like Hom

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

Given I work in the film business in Los Angeles, I can only say to those of you who have not been here ... Play it again, Samuel ... as you will want to come back year and year again (as I do). Forget Morocco (it's too hot and dry)...the only Casablanca you want to see is in Mal Pais, Costa Rica." Romance, privacy, adventure, and a bit of intrigue in an incredibly beautiful jungle setting overlooking the magnificent pacific cannot be missed. So run, don't walk, to reserve your seats at a place you will never forget...Casablanca!

This is the start of a beautiful friendship ....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Juan

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

I reserved a holiday in Santa Teresa/Mal Pais not knowing what to expect. When I arrived at Casablanca it was more than I expected. The architecture of the house was amazing and original - spacious, open with attention to having privacy for everyone in our party. After walking through the garden, into the front entrance, I was greeted with the most stunning view of the Pacific Ocean that stole us away. From that moment, we enjoyed everything....and the pool... what can we say. It is amazing. The staff were excellent and our trip was so peaceful. Thanks :) We will return again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Yvonee

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2010

Seven friends and I headed to Mal Pais/Santa Teresa, Costa Rica in May of this year. We had fantasized over the pictures of Casablanca from the moment we booked ourselves in, trying to convince ourselves that it was real and that it wasn’t a dream.

We rented cars in Tambor and drove to Santa Teresa. Casablanca is situated on a large beautiful hill over looking the Costa Rican coast. The drive up the hill to the house the first time was the beginning of our great adventure. You don’t know what’s coming next and you just hope that you’re going the right way. Needless to say we were, and we soon realized that Casablanca was real, and much more beautiful than we could ever have imagined.

Our arrival was like a scene out of “America’s Next Top Model”, when they see where they’re going to be living for the duration of the show. There was screaming, hugging, and plenty of high fives flying around! The house was/is magnificent. Beautiful design inside and out with large glass sliding doors and windows bringing the radiant surrounding in and visa versa.

The caretaker, whom I’m sad to say I’ve misplaced his name, came by daily to ensure everything was they way we wanted it. He was very kind and accommodating. The house had full amenities so we really felt right at home.

The kitchen was complete with the best appliances so we made many delicious feasts during the week and with the fish market just down the road we took full advantage of using it as much as possible.

The living room has a six foot projection screen where we enjoyed curling up in front of and watching a movie on lazy evenings.

When we weren’t down on the beach surfing, or trying to surf I should say, the infinity pool was where we spent most of our time, and where our most memorable moments were made. The view from the back of the house is breath taking and waking up every morning to it, was really rejuvenating. You have to be there and experience it, to understand the overwhelming feeling of freedom you get. The whole time I was there, I was trying to figure out when and how I was going to get back there again soon.

If you’re planning on heading to Costa Rica and you want to really recharge your batteries, I highly recommend Casablanca. While you’re still very close to the buzz of Santa Teresa, you still get complete calm and serenity when you’re up in Casablanca heaven.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2010

Seven friends and I headed to Mal Pais/Santa Teresa, Costa Rica in May of this year. We had fantasized over the pictures of Casablanca from the moment we booked ourselves in, trying to convince ourselves that it was real and that it wasn’t a dream. Needless to say we were, and we soon realized that Casablanca was real, and much more beautiful than we could ever have imagined.

Our arrival was like a scene out of “America’s Next Top Model”, when they see where they’re going to be living for the duration of the show. There was screaming, hugging, and plenty of high fives flying around! The house was/is magnificent. Beautiful design inside and out with large glass sliding doors and windows bringing the radiant surrounding in and visa versa. The house had full amenities so we really felt right at home.

The kitchen was complete with the best appliances so we made many delicious feasts during the week and with the fish market just down the road we took full advantage of using it as much as possible. The living room has a six foot projection screen where we enjoyed curling up in front of and watching a movie on lazy evenings.

When we weren’t down on the beach surfing, or trying to surf I should say, the infinity pool was where we spent most of our time, and where our most memorable moments were made. The view from the back of the house is breath taking and waking up every morning to it, was really rejuvenating. You have to be there and experience it, to understand the overwhelming feeling of freedom you get. The whole time I was there, I was trying to figure out when and how I was going to get back there again soon.

If you’re planning on heading to Costa Rica and you want to really recharge your batteries, I highly recommend Casablanca. While you’re still very close to the buzz of Santa Teresa, you still get complete cal

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Paradise

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

I reserved a holiday in Santa Teresa/Mal Pais not knowing what to expect. When I arrived at Casablanca it was more than I expected. The architecture of the house was amazing and original - spacious, open with attention to having privacy for everyone in our party. After walking through the garden, into the front entrance, I was greeted with the most stunning view of the Pacific Ocean that stole us away. From that moment, we enjoyed everything....and the pool... what can we say. It is amazing. The staff were excellent and our trip was so peaceful. Thanks :) We will return again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review