reviews for: listing #6761 - Huntington Beach, California House rental

Beach Cottage "#1" steps from sand, shops & nightlife
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $180 - $300 /nt
    $1,260 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

This is our second time in the cute beach house!

Review submitted: August 22, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2014

We appreciated the upgrades since our last visit, the outdoor shower, full size beach towels, gas grill, new bedding and a/c!
We discovered the delicious cupcakes from Sprinkles in Long Beach. We loved the Bosla Chica nature area and found cool rays, birds, fish, and cute little red crabs!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 16, 2014

This summer vacation was amazing . What a wonderful family memory and staying in this amazing and maculate kept cottage was a huge part of it . The location was amazing walking distance from the beach and great amenities . Anything you can think of that you may need was there for us that cottage was comfortable clean TVs were great love the little kitchen .I can't say enough about this place it was amazing will definitely be back next summer . So glad we found it thank you for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location and great rental for traveling with a dog

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

We are a 55-plus couple and stayed in Cottage 1 in mid-March for 8 nights with our dog. This was our first time staying in this cottage and certainly will be the first of many future visits. The enclosed back yard with grass made it a perfect fit for traveling with a dog. The location was fantastic, with a walk to the water's edge less than 5 minutes. We took daily walks on the strand. Also, the pier was right there and Main Street only two blocks away with numerous choices of restaurants and a CVS another block away. Despite it being so close to the main hub of activity, most of the time it was pretty quiet. When we arrived the house was immaculately clean. The TVs in every room were great and we appreciated having a DVR and being able to record our shows to watch later. A heater/cooling system with a remote worked very well to keep the temperature comfortable at all times. The garage and garage door opener in the back was a real plus, making it convenient to keep our car parked safely out of sight. Although we didn't make use of them during this trip, there is a washer and dryer inside, an outdoor shower in the backyard and several bikes and beach chairs in the garage. We also found a nice park to take our dog to, just six blocks down on 3rd St. We have already booked our next trip to stay in the cottage again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect location and great rental for traveling wi

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

We are a 55-plus couple and stayed in Cottage 1 in mid-March for 8 nights with our dog. This was our first time staying in this cottage and certainly will be the first of many future visits. The enclosed back yard with grass made it a perfect fit for traveling with a dog. The location was fantastic, with a walk to the water's edge less than 5 minutes. We took daily walks on the strand. Also, the pier was right there and Main Street only two blocks away with numerous choices of restaurants and a CVS another block away. Despite it being so close to the main hub of activity, most of the time it was pretty quiet. When we arrived the house was immaculately clean. The TVs in every room were great and we appreciated having a DVR and being able to record our shows to watch later. A heater/cooling system with a remote worked very well to keep the temperature comfortable at all times. The garage and garage door opener in the back was a real plus, making it convenient to keep our car parked safely out of sight. Although we didn't make use of them during this trip, there is a washer and dryer inside, an outdoor shower in the backyard and several bikes and beach chairs in the garage. We also found a nice park to take our dog to, just six blocks down on 3rd St. We have already booked our next trip to stay in the cottage again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house - amazing location

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

This house was perfect for our family of four. The location is fantastic. Just blocks from a huge beach with great waves. One block from cute shops and great restaurants. The beds were very comfortable - we slept great. It was so close to everything, yet was quiet at night. Very safe for walking around. Really easy drive to grocery stores. Really enjoy our stay and would highly recommend this house to everyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The best little rental home in Huntington Beach

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

This cottage is a gem with all the amenities you could possibly desire. I especially appreciated the secure backyard where I felt comfortable leaving my dog on occasion. We felt very safe in the cottage, leaving all the windows open and the doors when home. You can tell at once a home that is well cared for by the condition you receive it in and this home was clean, welcoming, and I have all ready recommended this property to many of my friends. We love the downtown life (which is a 2 minute walk from the cottage) with all of the activities; volleyball tournaments, farmers markets, restaurants, shopping, etc. We love the beach and there is no better doggie beach than the one in HB. So thank you for sharing your awesome home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

PERFECT

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

This is the perfect little get away. It has everything you need and you can walk to everything. Street fair on Tuesday night was an added bonus! Very sad to have to leave!! We will be back next year for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect vacation

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

My husband and I needed a much deserved vacation so we decided on Huntington Beach. This beach cottage was perfect close to the beach and the Main Street. We used everything provided surf board, boogie boards, beach cruisers we wanted for nothing. Our little yorkie enjoyed the yard and the fact the Huntington is such a dog friendly town. Our car never left the garage there was no need everything is walking or bike distance.
I cannot wait to return.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

OMG! Fantastic in every way!

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, coming "home" to celebrate a bday. Not only is the location awesome, 1 block from Main St, 1 block from Starbucks, 2 blocks to the beach & pier, but the entire cottage was so clean, comfortable, cozy, well stocked with everything you would need, Beach towels, hair dryer, plenty of plates, pot & pans, glasses, etc.
My favorite area of the cottage was the back yard! So much room for entertaining (there were even more chairs in the garage to add to the outside table!) The grill was great! All the grilling utensils were there.
My second favorite part of the cottage was the beach cruisers that are provided in the garage. We rode to Mothers almost every morning for breakfast, we rode the bike trail to The Wedge. What a great time!
I wish we lived in the cottage that's how nice the location and the cottage is!
When we go back to HB we will definitely rent the cottage again. Unless we move to the OC!
Thank you so much for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sandy & Karen's Fabulous Trip to visit their Boys

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

We rented this cottage in order to visit our sons that live now in California. This little cottage, was nothing short of amazing! It was exceptionally clean, in such a perfect location, and had all the amenities that made our stay so enjoyable . We loved the bikes and coolers available to us, and the laundry room was just an added bonus! We really enjoyed the very private backyard with the grill and the outdoor shower was a hit with our boys when the mornings were busy with the ladies getting ready for the day in the inside bathroom. When we had a crisis on the trip (lost dog), Shirley, the owner, was immediate in her response and was as helpful as she could be, given the circumstances! I would never hesitate to recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a reasonable and comfortable place to stay in Huntington Beach! We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome House

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We love this house. Perfect location. We moved from California 8 yrs ago, and now return to stay over New Year's to see family and friends, and to enjoy Huntington Beach. Our kids are all teenagers and they love it too.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We didn't stay long enough

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

This was our first time at a vacation rental and it was a great experience. Be aware when you read the reviews here that the owners have to verify your stay and so unscrupulous owners could weed out bad reviews. That being said, there was nothing bad to say about this property. Everything from start to finish was handled very well, the pictures depict the property well, and if anything make it look a little smaller than it is.

The cottage was very clean and the kitchen very well equipped, the appliances were older but worked fine and there is no dishwasher (not a big deal for us). Having a washer and dryer in the unit was great and there was even a small safe. The beds were comfortable and there were lots of towels and beach towels. There were nice beach cruiser bikes, Joe Bahama chairs and a selection of boogie boards. The surf board was not in the best shape and not suitable for a beginner surfer. Having a garage was great however it was very tight to get our full size rental car in. There is an off street parking space as well. The property is also a very short walk to the beach and shopping and dining.

While this cottage was perfect for us, there are a few things to consider. It is pet friendly so if you have allergies this wouldn’t be the place for you even though it was impeccably clean. Also it is across the street from the main downtown parking garage so when the bar crowd goes home it gets noisy, one weekend night there was a fair bit of yelling coming from the garage.

If we return to Huntington Beach we will certainly stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Ken,
Thank you for spending time to leave us a review, really appreciated. Right after you check out, we upgraded our appliances with GE refrigerator and Maytag stove. We are the new property owner since July and we were booked solid this past summer, wish we could upgrade it sooner. I hope next time you will consider to stay with our other cottages. We are constantly striving to improve our services and cottages and looking forward to see you next time.

Sincerely, Shirley

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

thanksgiving at the beach

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We just spent Thanksgiving weekend at the beach cottage and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We celebrated the arrival of our first grand daughter, born on Nov. 13...it was a beautiful weekend. We loved the location, the house, the backyard for our dog, the bikes, everything! We will definitely be returning in the future..the cottage is cute, very clean and comfortable. We would highly recommend this rental property !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect vacation accomodations!

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

Our family and dogs just finished a week at this lovely cottage number 1 with other family in cottage 2. It had everything we needed for a wonderful week of beach and theme parks. The outdoor space was great and we ate outside every night. Our dogs who stay inside at home (hot Phoenix) spent most of the week outside and loved hanging outside in the grass. The cottage is nicely laid out allowing all of us plenty of room. The restaurants, shops, and beach are all within walking distance and Disneyland and California Adventure were only 30 minutes away. The service was great and the place was perfect! We didn't want to leave and will definetely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow, this place and the owners are amazing!!

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We stayed in Cottage #1 for our son's 17th birthday this past weekend and were pleased with the cottage, it fit our teenagers, our little dog and us with comfort! They had everything we needed; shampoo/conditioner, soap, hair dryer, paper products, towels, sheets, wireless internet, you name it they had it! Why stay at a hotel, when you have this place! The proximity to town and the beach was amazing...literally 1 block! We will be back and thank you for being such an awesome host!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect in every way!

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

Everything I needed and more! I so am bringing friends and family back to this amazing little place. So easy with reservation, check-in and check-out (e-mail). Privacy, privacy, privacy. Even a great little gren area in the back with patio table and chairs. Directions to local attractions and things you might need are waiting for you. Charming cottage décor. Back garage angle/entrance a bit tight but if I can do it anyone can! :) This was even BETTER than a hotel on the beach with restaurants and shops just 1/2 a block away yet off the business and in residential. No elevators. No halls. Just amazing! :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute cozy cottage

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

The 5 of us stayed there 2 years ago in Feb. We loved being able to walk to the beach and downtown. I am sad that it is booked this coming Feb when we are coming back. Snooze you lose!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stayed for a 4 day getaway with our 2 teenagers.

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

Our stay was great. Small but charming. Had everything we needed. Excellent location! Close to Main street, so we had taxi traffic after the clubs let out...but not a huge deal considering everything else was great. Very easy to book...very easy to find...very easy get in on arrival. Will definitely come back, and would absolutely recommend. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great combination of fun and quiet. PERFECT location.

Review submitted: October 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

Thanks for being such excellent hosts. Your cottage was perfect for us. Spacious yet quaint. Modern amenities but still charming.
The garage was great. Surfboards, chairs, bikes, and plenty of other helpful beach items. Thanks for all the towels too!!
Two blocks from all the action downtown made it very convenient, but we never felt like we were in the middle of a loud party.
I am sure we will be back, since it may not even have been as expensive as a hotel would have been. To have all the room and privacy and amenities for the cost was an exceptional value.
Thanks again!!
P.S. The surfing was super! We all got up on the boards as rookies. Woo Hoo!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Looking for cooler weather?

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

WOW - we had such a WONDERFUL time!!!! The location is absolutely the BEST, the home if very CLEAN, and we slept six comfortably. It is really nice having a garage, parking for three, back patio with a yard, as well as a front patio - we just absolutely LOVED it.

Moss/Meyer Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Jan. 31 -Feb. 4

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

we really enjoyed our stay in your cottage. The weather was just perfect, and the cottage was like having my home away from home. And did I mention the location!!! In the heart of everything shopping beach the market.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Have returned 3 times

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

"Thank You so much for sharing your cottage with us. We thoroughly enjoyed the week and wish we had another week here. Your bikes got a real workout this week. Again, thanks for everything. It's going to be difficult to vacation in a motel after this experience."-

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Have returned 5 times

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2010

We really enjoyed our two weeks in Huntington Beach. The weather was great (60's & 70's) and our home away from home served us well. We enjoyed the close access to the beach and to the restaurants and shops on Main St. Thanks for the warm welcome. From Ontario, Canada

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Splendid Week

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2008

"What a splendid week to stay with our family and my folks from Arizona! Your place is very cozy yet very accomodating with the amenities for family dining, gaming, beach hopping and disneyland. The sunshine was so nice to enjoy on every day that we stayed. Our girls had a truly memorable experience as they ran along the shoreline of the Pacific for their first time.We tasted some of the local eats with the yummy pizza place one block away and the mexican bienvinidos with remarkable fast service. The Chocolate shop was our favorite with the mint fudge and the rocky road caramel fudge apple a must taste!All in all, we grant you a high recommendation for family and friends. Thanks so much for making this California trip unforgettable!!!"-Blessings, Zionsville, Indiana

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2008

"What a splendid week to stay with our family and my folks from Arizona! Your place is very cozy yet very accomodating with the amenities for family dining, gaming, beach hopping and disneyland. The sunshine was so nice to enjoy on every day that we stayed. Our girls had a truly memorable experience as they ran along the shoreline of the Pacific for their first time.We tasted some of the local eats with the yummy pizza place one block away and the mexican bienvinidos with remarkable fast service. The Chocolate shop was our favorite with the mint fudge and the rocky road caramel fudge apple a must taste!All in all, we grant you a high recommendation for family and friends. Thanks so much for making this California trip unforgettable!!!"-Blessings, Zionsville, Indiana

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2010

"We really enjoyed our two weeks in Huntington Beach. The weather was great (60's & 70's) and our home away from home served us well. We enjoyed the close access to the beach and to the restaurants and shops on Main St. It was a pleasure meeting you. Thanks for the warm welcome. From Ontario, Canada
Note: This family has stayed at our cottage 5 times and has another booking.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

"Thank You so much for sharing your cottage with us. We thoroughly enjoyed the week and wish we had another week here. Your bikes got a real workout this week. Again, thanks for everything. It's going to be difficult to vacation in a motel after this experience."-

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming Cottage - Ideal Location

Review submitted: July 15, 2008   Date of arrival: June 27, 2008

Thank you Carol and Ramiro!
Our recent stay at Cottage #1 was relaxing and fun.

The cottage itself was perfect. It was decorated nicely with a feeling of a real beach cottage. The living space was charming..somewhat small, but not at all cramped. The cottage has flat screen TVs, plenty of seating for all of us, and all the comforts of home.

The cottage is very clean and comfortable. Everything we needed was right there! A full kitchen, beds for everyone, bikes, beach chairs, boogie boards....

..All just steps from the beach and ther pier and downtown Main St.

A perfect getaway in Huntington Beach!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Perfect loction

Review submitted: May 27, 2008   Date of arrival: May 15, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage. It was clean and furnished comfortably. The location is perfect to walk to shops, restaurants and the beach. The owners made arrangements for our late arrival and everything was as they said it would be when we arrived. The garage with the property was a great bonus as all the street parking was metered. We would highly recommend the cottage to anyone and expect to make a trip again soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review