reviews for: listing #67641 - Boston, Massachusetts Houseboat rental

Unique Houseboat Rental in Downtown Boston!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Houseboat
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $350 /nt
    $1,375 - $1,850 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location to Get to World Trade Center

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

The houseboat was fantastic! I really enjoyed being in that area of town and was able to walk to my conference at the World Trade Center in 25 minutes! Fanuiel Hall Marketplace was where I went for yummy food and shopping EVERY night! Such fun! Thanks for rocking me to sleep every night!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This was an amazing way to stay in Boston!

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

Boat was clean and actually bigger than it looked in the pictures. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Perfect location to hit everything you want to do in Boston. I would recommend this to everyone!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay in Boston!

Review submitted: May 3, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

What a wonderful experience we had staying on the Taurus. The boat was as clean and modern as any hotel and twice as fun. The gentle motion creates a great nights sleep. We went in early spring when it was only about 50 degrees out. The boat has a great heater and we stayed cozy, however it did get a bit chilly in the bottom bunks at night. The location can't be beat. The north end is amazing, no shortage of great dining that's for sure. Can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Fun. Perfect Location

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

Taurus sits at the end of the pier, which is important so that you can see out into the ocean. It also happens to be right next to a Starbucks and a very short walk to the Long Pier from which we took the ferry every day out to the islands. We loved it, and we'll definitely go back when the weather warms up!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

I just finished renting the Taurus houseboat from Sleep Afloat for four nights. This is probably the coolest place I have ever stayed, and I am widely traveled. I almost don't want to write this review, since I'd like to keep this treasure a secret, but I also want the company to continue! So here goes:

The boat is now docked at the Lewis Wharf marina in downtown Boston, and the location couldn't be better! It's across the street from the North End, and only a couple blocks from Faneuil Hall. There is a grocery store across the street and parking is easy. In fact, everything about staying here was easy, from check-in to check-out. JJ, the boat's caretaker, is very friendly and made everything work seamlessly. There are lots of helpful details, including useful maps and information about the surrounding area. One of the best things about this boat is that it's located at the end of the pier, with a nice view of the water.

I made this boat my home base in Boston and each day had different family members and friends stay with me. Everyone was thrilled, even the teenagers. We enjoyed watching the sun come up over the harbor, sitting on the front deck watching the tide come in and out every day, and seeing the water birds and all the different kinds of boats sailing in and out of the harbor. We also enjoyed picnic dinners on the upper deck. In the mornings, I did yoga stretches on the dock. The boat's rocking is gentle and soothing, and the marina is secure and quiet. No problems whatsoever.

The boat is like a hotel suite or a small cottage (with full kitchen and ample bathroom), and the price is lower than any other hotel room in downtown Boston. When I left, I took a $10 and 10 min. water taxi to the airport, which picked me up right at the boat. Easy!

I can't say enough good things about our time on Taurus. It was relaxing and so much fun for everyone. I can't wait to stay there again. A couple of small suggestions for the owners: it would be useful to have a sharper knife for cutting fruit or bread, and a blender would be great! Also might be helpful to have an extra blanket or two; we didn't need it, but we had pretty warm weather. Thanks for setting up this wonderful alternative to a hotel in downtown Boston. We just loved it and will definitely be back.
Liz

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Boston Weekend...

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

Booked the Boat about two months ago. Easy to do and Ryan and his team are responsive with questions. The boat is "nice" upgrades in the kitchen and bathroom. There were five of us and the space was good. Not alot of storage space though...keep in mind if when you pack. The place and marina are easy to find. Make sure you research transportation when you go into the city or leave Charlestown. Nights got alittle chilly but plenty of space heaters to keep warm. One thing: the toilet system smelled awful by day two. Called Ryan and he sent someone out right away. The smell still somewhat lingered the next few days but really nothing else could be done. I would rent from them again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great spot!

Review submitted: July 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on this houseboat in Charlestown Harbor. My teenage son proclaimed it the coolest place we've ever stayed. Great view of Boston and walking distance to the North End. We'd love to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Experience!

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

*** Review Information *************************************
Property/Unit : 292745 - "Houseboat in Boston, Just Renovated with Luxury Upgrades!"

Property Location: usa, massachusetts, greater-boston, boston

Reviewer NickName: Cynny3

Reviewer Location: New York

Date of Arrival : Apr 16, 2010

Name on Contract : Cynthia Hsiung

Review Rating : 5/5

Review Title : 748400 - "Great experience!"

"The houseboat was great fun. Ryan was amazing. Any time there was any little thing, he was there in a flash, called back immediately even late at night. We enjoyed ourselves and would do it again! My actors and I were all there for the Boston International Film Festival. We got dressed there comfortably and made it to the theater to see our film on the big screen. Thanks again for EVERYTHING!!!

Cynthia and Cast of "Are You For Great Sex"? the movie. "

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great experience!

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

The houseboat was great fun. Ryan was amazing. Any time there was any little thing, he was there in a flash, called back immediately even late at night. We enjoyed ourselves and would do it again! My actors and I were all there for the Boston International Film Festival. We got dressed there comfortably and made it to the theater to see our film on the big screen. Thanks again for EVERYTHING!!!

Cynthia and Cast of "Are You For Great Sex"? the movie.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

We have just finished renovating this boat, and are awaiting our first guests' arrival. As we just listed this boat, we haven't gathered any guest reviews for this boat. We do however have a TON of other reviews on our other listings in this same marina. Please check them out to see that we run a tight ship! Many of our guests tell us the best part of their day is when the return home to the boat. When was the last time you thought that about a hotel?

I would love to answer any questions you may have about the houseboat experience, so please do not hesitate to send me an email, or give me a call 413-652-1400. I can't wait to welcome you aboard our newest addition to the fleet, Taurus!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review