reviews for: listing #6773 - Nags Head, North Carolina Cottage rental

Sandbar Beach House, Pet Friendly, Heated Pool, Ocean View
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $450 /nt
    $1,000 - $3,300 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

Enjoyed the great house. This is a beautiful area - great place to unwind and re-connect with loved ones. Hope to return someday!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely house

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Thank you for opening your lovely beach house to our extended family, especially over the holiday weekend. The home is spacious, beautifully decorated, and offered a perfect get-away for 3 families! we will be back for sure...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely stunning place

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We had a great, relaxing vacation in the Outer Banks. Thank you very much for providing such a great house so close to the beach.
There was tons of room for two families and one grand parent and we had a very memorable time! Absolutely stunning place, beaches, pool, weather...Mike ou are a great host. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The perfect find

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

The perfect find for a family reunion.
Hot tub much needed!Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the home

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We had a wonderful week with our family. The weather was perfect.
We loved your home and all of the extras you provided.
We hope to return next year!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful home!

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

What a great way to spend our 1st Wedding Anniversary! We love the OBX & can't wait to come back!! Thank you for your wonderful house. Our family really enjoyed themselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely home

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

We loved our stay-the first of many(we hope) to OBX!!!
Your home is lovely and made us all feel very much at home during our time away!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing and Quiet

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2010

This was our 4th visit to the Sandbar and we absolutely love it.. The location is perfect and the house is so clean and refreshing. Cara is fantastic, she is accomodating, helpful and adapts the the style of the guests. This is a perfect spot for a low stress getaway and works great if you are in the area for sports events.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Outstanding

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

The service was very good and the house is in a great location. Very close to the beach and shopping and lots of great resturant. The inn keepers gave suggestions on amazing resturants and were very friendly. The room was amazing with large beds and lots of room to make you feel at home. I would highly recommend staying at the Sandbar Inn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Waste of Money

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

The reviews on TripAdvisor for this house were great, and as a result, so was my disappointment. Here are the things I pointed out to the property manager in my email: I've rented homes before, and I don't expect them to be perfect, but I do expect them to be clean and have everything working in a safe manner. While the house wasn't filthy, it needed a professional cleaning service. Simple things like cleaning the under the toilet seat, and cleaning the refrigerator better. The freezer in the downstairs was disgusting and unusable, and the freezer upstairs was rusted. The stove top was also rusted, which was concerning, and we did not use it for this reason. The coffee maker was also dirty and unusable. There is also an ant problem in the house. The pool table is warped, and not usable, and the air hockey table underneath doesn't blow air properly, and is also not usable. The pool didn't look very clean, but considering it was raining, and the hurricane that came through recently, I wasn't as concerned with that. The door downstairs leaks water, and the floor inside upstairs by the hot tub is warped and the door won't open. Many of the door knobs are questionable, and don't lock properly. I spent five minutes trying to get the downstairs back door to lock, the door on the second floor master suite is locked, but you can't open it and go onto the balcony. This brings me to the issue of the dirty underwear that were found in my grandparent’s bed. There are two only options of how they got there, someone came into the house while we were gone and left them, or they were there before we arrived. Either way, this is just gross, because the house was definitely not cleaned properly, and I'm concerned that the linens were not properly changed before our arrival. All of these things contributed to us leaving early. In spite of the rain, had the amenities we paid for actually worked, we could have stayed and spent the day together having fun. Additionally, the beds were horrible. They are old and extremely hard. One of my family members ended up with a pinched nerve in his neck because of the bed. He is now seeing a chiropractor three times a week to fix it. This house may have been a great rental in the past, but unless the owner is willing to invest in it and fix the things that are old and broken, you would be wasting your money to stay in such an expensive rental home that doesn't actually provide the amenities it advertises.

Owners response: This is the first review our beach house has ever received (more reviews available on another sites) that is less than 4 stars and we take the constructive criticism seriously and appreciate the honesty and time of our guests.

However, we want to address some discrepancies in the above claim:
On change over days we have only 5 hours to clean the house, pool and inspect the whole property to make sure that everything is in working condition before the next guests check-in. If there were some spots in the house not cleaned properly or some of the equipment not working correctly - according to above guest- it would have been rectified immediately, if we had been given the opportunity to do so during their stay. Our contract says "... notify the property manager immediately concerning faulty equipment so repair can be made". At check-out the guests did not mention a word about any of the above conditions except of - "the house could have been cleaner". They have mentioned about "someone breaking in to the house and sleeeping in one of the beds and steeling some liquor". They have mentioned that they forgot to lock the house before they have left to attend the wedding...- this was not mentioned in the review.

Our mission is to make Nags Head your favorite vacation spot. We want all our guests to have the most memorable vacation while staying in our beach house". We will take nessesary steps to make sure that all equipment is in working condition and that the beach house is clean properly on change over days.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review