reviews for: listing #67739 - Cape San Blas, Florida House rental

Three Palms Beach 5 bedroom beach Home steps to beach w/Pool
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $485 /nt
    $1,600 - $3,500 /wk
    $2,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Better than being at home!

Review submitted: August 16, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

All the comforts of home in a pristine natural setting. 3 Palms is well appointed, complete with all amenities on could desire for an enjoyable holiday for a large group. The property is located in a very quiet area about a 5 minute walk down a sandy path to the beach. It is also close to the beautiful beaches and bays of Cape San Blas, and the towns of Port Saint Joe and Apalachicola. All you need to do when staying at 3 Palms is to bring your food and clothing, the property has everything else (kitchen, linens, pool, beach, fish cleaning supplies, wifi/cable TV , games (horseshoe, shuffleboard) and more). There are 2 refrigerators and a washer/dryer, so you can bring plenty of food and do laundry when needed. There is plenty of space and sitting areas in the home, porches and around the pool deck to enjoy time with the group or to have time alone.
The properly was very clean and nicely maintained. When we arrived, we immediately felt at home. The owners and property managers were helpful, responsive, caring, kind and eager to please.
Beautiful place and location for our family reunion, our family ranged in age from 2-76, we all were super delighted with our stay.
Staying at 3 Palms was truly better than being at home!

Owners response: We are so happy that you had such a great Family Reunion at Three Palms. It is the PERFECT place for a large family gathering.
I need to clarify your statement about the beach being “5 Minutes away”………
Everyone that comes to Three Palms wants to know where the house is in relation to the Beach, understandably so!
We have a whole section on our website dedicated to sharing Videos and Photos of the Beach Path under the Three Palms menu bar……….It is called: “WHERE’S THE BEACH?”
The website section shows almost every possible angle to the Beach and its location to the house. We also have more Photos and Videos on all our Social Media Platforms (FB, G+, Twit).
The problem is semantics. I define the Beach as where you leave the street or sidewalk and START WALKING ON SAND. According to my definition the Beach Path, and therefore the Beach, STARTS ABOUT 30 PACES or LESS THAN ONE MINUTE FROM DRIVEWAY AT THREE PALMS.ABOUT 25 YARDS.
Now, the beach itself is HUGE and VERY WIDE. The Beach Path is very wide and clear of vegetation. Golf Carts and Trucks use this PATH/ROAD for access to the Beach. To get to the Gulf of Mexico and its shoreline/water it may take 3-5 MINUTES, depending on how fast you walk! So the guest is NOT WRONG, but the statement can be misleading, depending on your definition of BEACH.
TO ME AND MY DEFINITION OF THE BEACH, THE BEACH IS LESS THAN 1 MINUTE AWAY!!!!!!!!
Thank You For Staying With Us!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT in every way!

Review submitted: August 2, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

This was the perfect place for our family vacation! We had 4 kids (6, 18 & two 12 year olds) They all had a great time. The beach was amazing and only a short walk away. Everyone we met in the neighborhood was super friendly.

The area around Three Palms is absolutely breathtaking and we enjoyed the abundance of wildlife we saw. We enjoyed surf fishing and even caught a hammerhead which was delicious! We also caught some beautiful blue crabs which were yummy too.

The house was very spacious and well equipped. We spent a lot of time out on the decks enjoying the view. We had everything we needed for cooking and the fish cleaning station downstairs was great. Having the pool was fabulous and the fact that we could share our vacation with our dogs was so much fun. I had a blast watching my pooches enjoying the beach.

Peter and the property manager, Donna were great to work with and the ease of booking & arrival was seamless. They went . Out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed and answered any questions we had quickly and efficiently.

I highly recommend this vacation rental and hope to book for next summer too! 5 stars in every aspect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay at Three Palmms

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

Everything was great. The house was all it was represented to be and lacked nothing. We slept 14 comfortably.
Donna, the property manager was excellent. She went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed.
I would definitely recommend Three Palms to anyone looking for a get away for a larger group.
Everything was perfect. Thanks again............

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Life IS better at Three Palms

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

The place is huge! Very clean and well stocked. Enough room for several families to spread out. Enjoyed morning coffee on balcony listening to ocean waves. Watched sunrises and sunsets. Saw dolphins almost daily. Built sand castles and memories with grandchildren! Fished, built bonfires on beach, explored the island, found tons of shells! Needless to say we didn't want to leave! All the local folks were very friendly and helpful. Donna and Andy are great! The owners Peter and Lydia are awesome! They do all they can to make your stay perfect! The great room was perfect for my grandsons! They now want a room like it at home! If you go you have to experience the atmosphere at the Raw Oyster Bar.
The food is good but the live music, dancing and fun is the best! The outdoor shower even has warm water! The fish cleaning screened room was perfect for preparing our fish and using our fryer! The pool was a bonus. The kids enjoyed it at night but wanted the beach and ocean during the day! It was like we had our own private beach! Thank you Peter and Lydia, Donna and Andy! Thanks for all the great memories!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best house ever!

Review submitted: May 31, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

This is by far the best rental we have ever stayed in. Fully stocked kitchen, lovely living areas, decks access from all rooms. Not to mention the private pool, quick access to the beach, shuffle board and horseshoe pit. The owner and Donna are a phone call away and called us to make sure our stay was comfortable!!! Talk about personal service. The only thing I would like to do is keep it a secret, so no one else knows about Three Palms!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Escape!

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

We wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our week at Three Palms. From the moment we arrived we loved everything we saw on the property. From the beautiful pool (spotless) to the well maintained fenced in backyard (our dog Digger loved it) we simply can't say enough great things about Three Palms. Comfotable,spacious house with fantastic gulf views. The first several days of our stay the weather was great. We spent lots of time at the beautiful white sand beach, a short 2 minute walk away. There were lots of shells and our little Welsh Terrier loved splashing in the waves. Then a cold front roled in and we had lots of rain the remainder of our stay. This did not ruin our trip of course because of the beauty and peacefulness of the house. We spent lots of time on the wrap around porches - both open air and screened in. We were able to sit by the sparkling blue pool some and I must say the owners have thought of everything. I believe there was seating for at least a dozen or more people by the pool. Even though it was just my husband and I the house would easily accomodate 2-3 families with lots of privacy to go around. At night when the sky was clear we would sit on the porch and look at the brightest stars I have ever seen and listen to the waves crashing on the beach. We had several questions during our stay and Donna, the local manager was always quick to respond to our phone calls. This was our first visit to the Cape San Blas area. We loved it so much and enjoyed working with the owners so much that we have already booked a 2 week stay later this year at their Two Palms property. We are already looking forward to our stay knowing that Two Palms will be just as great a vacation home as was Three Palms.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A relaxed vacation

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

It was a wonderful vacation! The house was spacious enough we were able to spread out and have our own space when needed. We enjoyed the decks to sit on to read books, take naps, or enjoy the sound of the ocean. It is a short walk to the beach and we walked there quite often. The daily walks on the beach became our routine. The shell collecting was an adventure every day for the kids. No one in our group really wanted to leave and return to our daily lives. The owners were great to work with and answered all of our questions in a timely manner. They suggested things for us to do and see if we wanted to. We had a problem with one of the toilets when we were there and it was handled quickly. We will be coming back for another vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazingness Surpasses Words

Review submitted: January 18, 2014   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

First of all, I'd like to personally apologize for taking so long on this review. By no means is it because of anything bad. My boyfriend and I took our first vacation back in September, and after searching and sending many messages to owners of vacation homes, Three Palms fell into our lap - making us the luckiest couple of the year. Let me begin with the owners: I was so surprised at how accommodating and welcoming they were! They truly went out of their way to make sure we were not only comfortable, but maximized our time in paradise. Second, let me compliment the location. Close enough to sit, listen, and watch the waves on either of the balconies, or walk to the beach (in literally 2 minutes or less). We didn't want to fight a crowd (well, I didn't want to suck in my belly all day in front of a crowd) so it was absolutely amazing to sit on a beach where there was no one, other than a few people taking a morning walk. One of them even gave me a sand dollar! Saving the best for last, now let me brag on their house! We were a bit hesitant. It was only my boyfriend and I and our two dogs, but the size of this house was humongous! We decided to book it anyway, and as big as the house was, there was no room to complain. The kitchen was awesome enough to actually make me WANT to clean it every morning and night. The living room and dining area spoiled us. The bed that we slept in made us regret coming home to our own bed. Everything was so clean when we got there. The private pool was absolutely amazing. I was obsessed with the outdoor shower where the water actually got hot. Both of the balconies were wonderful. I would sit out on the balcony and read my book after laying on the beach for an hour or two. Andy, our concierge, was one of the sweetest men I've ever met in my life, and he was such a huge help and so accommodating. I'd go back just to hang out with him! Thanks to him, we got to visit the state park where we learned so much about Florida and had a blast. I could say so much more about our stay, the small town feel, the beautiful house, the wonderful beach, the accommodating and welcoming people...but unfortunately, we have a limited number of characters for these reviews and I am running low. Book this house. You'll be doing yourself a favor.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

We had a wonderful trip and enjoyed the house so much. It was so refreshing to be that close to the water and have our own private pool. The fishing was awesome, we went out with a local guide. But we still did good right from the beach. It's close enough to town in two directions for the supplies and excursions. The house is HUGE, the beds are comfortable. The kitchen was big enough for our group and then some. The decks and porches were a delight in the evenings and early mornings. The beach is only a little ways from the end of the driveway. You'll enjoy this place every bit as much as we do. I absolutely recommend this awesome property to and your family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind words! Three Palms Compound is a great house and it is a tremendous value in the off-season. Take advantage of our HUGE discount during Nov, Dec , Jan and Feb. There is not a lot of demand for Vacation Rentals that sleep 14 in the "off" months. Folks shy away from renting such a large and wonderful home; "We don't need that much room" or "That is way too much of a house for us" . But the fact is that we are extremely competitive with much smaller 2 Bedroom rentals. This November 2013 while down at 3 Palms working I saw a car pause and look at our rental sign. I approached the car and asked if they were looking at 3 Palms. They said it was "too much" of a house for them, they were just a couple;2 people. I asked if they wanted to take a tour of the house because it was unoccupied. They were blown away by ALL the house had to offer, the views, the decks, the many different sitting areas, the shuffle board court, the horse shoe pit and the well appointed interior of the home. I asked where they were staying and they said a small , musty and rather dated house by Money Bayou (less than 5 minutes away). But it is very reasonable and all we need. I asked how much they paid for it and they said $1,200. I explained to them that we would gladly rent a week at that price for an off season week, especially if they were just 2-4 people renting. They were blown away and said they just figured when they saw how big the house was and that it slept 14 that it would be way out of their price range. They were from Kansas City and huge Chief fans and will be coming back to Three Palms in the winter!!!
Remember that you can live like ROYALTY at 3 Palms on a pauper's price. It is like being upgraded to the Penthouse Suite for the price of studio. DON'T BE SCARED OFF BY THE HOUSE SIZE AND OCCUPANCY......CALL US AT LEAST. NOTHING TO LOSE BY CHECKING....YOU COULD MISS OUT ON A UNBELIEVABLE DEAL!!!
Don't forget we are Pet Friendly and have a private concierge that lives minutes away who will assist you with all your vacation needs.

Come on down!
Peter B.- Owner- Burns Management

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We loved this house, it was so relaxing and perfect for our needs. We brought our dogs and they loved the beach which was steps away and practically deserted. The pool was small but all we needed. We would love to come again for a family reunion. Only potential downside is that you have to climb steps to get to the living area which might be a problem for some. The raw bar nearby was great and so different than most restaurants, quite the experience. The house itself was well furnished and very comfortable. We loved all the decks where we could sit outside.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you folks had a great time.Magnificent Three Palms Compound is a special place. The two surround decks are awesome!There are over 50 seating areas in the compound, just on the outside, between the Pool area, the shade area outside the pool where the HUGE Bcue grill is, the shuffle board court area and two HUGE decks, some of which are screened and others open.
The beach is just a couple of minutes walk, as you know.The Beach is empty!You have it to yourself even in the summer. In the off months you may not encounter anybody!

I am afraid I know what you mean about having a big Family Reunion and the steps. I wish we would have put an elevator in when we built it in 2004! Sometimes when I am up at the top Deck, and I realize I forgot my beverage, I get mad. They can be tough . We have had a lot of elderly people come and deal effectively with the stairs, however.
My mom came, before she passed away,she was 80.From Chicago she came down, with wheel chairs at the stopover’s, and her oxygen. She was suffering with COPD and emphysema, had portable oxygen tanks.We took our time, with lots of rest on the stairs.Once she was on main floor, shehad bedroom, bathroom, Kitchen, Family room and access to the Deck.The Deck has screens in the outdoor eating area and the other area of the deck is open so she could have gorgeous views of the Gulf of Mexico and watch the AWESOME stars at night.It worked out perfectly!We just wheeled her around in the wheel chair and she was part of everything for our 20 person family reunion.A couple of times we even took her outside, downstairs,to hang out at the pool and watch her great-grandchildren and catch the unbelievable Gulf breezes in the shade area underneath the house. She never forgot that trip and the photos we have still bring a tear to my eyes when I view them!
We also got my mom on a golf cart (we can help you rent one) one day. It was heaven to her, she loves the Ocean, and while she could see and experience the Gorgeous Vistas of Gulf of Mexico from the Decks, it was so special to drive with her along the shoreline as she saw Dolphins frolicking in the water and all the birds flying around.We even saw Eagles and Loggerhead Turtles and their eggs!

It was a family reunion none of us will ever forget!Believe me she was in bad shape.So don’t rule out how special 3 Palms can be for a family reunion, no matter the age or health status. It can be done and I sure hope I get a chance when I am 80!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

3 Palms is Heavenly!!!

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

My family and I stayed at 3 Palms for a week and I have to say it was possibly the best vacation we ever had! The set up of the house is awesome! Every room has its own exit onto the deck. We had 15 people there a couple of days and there was plenty of room. The entire house is well stocked with towels, cleaning tools and products and kitchen utensils and appliances. The beds and furniture are very comfortable. The shuffle board was a big hit with my crew! The kids enjoyed the pool and made use of the outdoor shower as well. The great room on the 2nd floor was ideal for the grandkids! It is decorated adorably and perfect for children.The beach is less than a 2 minute walk. My husband and son in law went floundering one night and came back with flounder and crabs in about an hour and a half! Another day they walked down and threw the "cast net" and returned with a big mess of mullet. We walked down to the beach with flashlights at night and let the kids count fiddler crabs. We are locals and know all the areas treasures! Star gazing from the second floor deck was breath taking.
I normally don't like to stay in pet friendly rentals. But I did not see a single dog hair my entire stay! The owners, property management, pool guy, cleaners and neighbors were extremely nice and helpful. I would recommend
3 Palms to everyone. The location, floor plan and amenities has something to offer everyone, any age!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind remarks! We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Three Palms. What impressed me the most about your review was that you live and work just minutes away from Three Palms and yet you chose to vacation there. It certainly says a lot about how fantastic and special the area must be to ya’ll and since your repair business brings you into almost every vacation rental in the Cape San Blas area, how special Three Palms is. It certainly sounds like you really, really appreciated and enjoyed not only the compound but all that the area has to offer. It appears like you also feel the way we do, about that “Old Florida” feel to Indian Pass and why you would chose to vacation in your back yard. It is simply magnificent there!!!!!
While Three Palms Compound is a large , well appointed and laid out “Fun House” that can hold very large groups (14) , it does book up quickly in the summer. Now that fall and winter are coming why not take advantage of the dramatically reduced rates and the phenomenal weather to come on down and enjoy a piece of paradise! Stay for a couple of weeks invite family and friends and lounge around the huge compound and explore the “Forgotten Coast” and “Old Florida” while you still can. It is a wonderful little residential neighborhood full of “peace and quiet”. Don’t be scared about the size of the house or that it sleeps 14. Take advantage of a great opportunity to live like a “king” or “queen”. Bring your dog to one of the Best Pet Friendly beaches in the U.S.!!!!
The bottom line is that if you can rent a Gorgeous Spacious Compound with a pool for about the same price as a 2BDR condo or House why not jump at the chance to experience decadence. Treat a neighbor, co-worker or long lost family member to a once in a lifetime experience. Give us a call , we will try to work with your budget and work out a great deal. We want to pay the mortgage, we want to rent the compound out and the there is just not that many groups of 14 looking for a week or two week vacation in the fall and winter.
We take very, very good care of our guests. We pamper them and this is another great reason why to stay at Three Palms. Our Red Neck Concierge/Manager knows everything about the area and all the activities that abound. She will be at your beckon call and most importantly she has your back in the event of any kind of problem, or even emergency.Have a bonfire on the beach. Horseback ride on the beach. Relax and Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Vacation House for Multiple Families

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This house was a great house for multiple families. Kids room was absolutely perfect! Bedrooms were nice sizes with nice big beds. Pool was perfect size. The walk to the beach was super short. Nice and relaxing. Great stay!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks for your kind remarks about Three Palms and your stay! What you left out was that when you arrived you had trouble with the wireless internet. We attempted to help you over the phone. When that failed we sent over our Burns Management internet/TV repair guy that Saturday night you arrived. I also phoned you and let you know that you could hard wire your laptop directly to the router so you could at least have computer /internet service for 1 computer. I then laid out our attack/plan to remedy the situation. When we discovered that 1st night you arrived that the folks staying at 3 Palms before you had actually changed the internet and set up a private password, there was nothing more we could do that night. I was worried because we couldn’t get Media Com Cable out to the house on Sunday. As a result we found and hired a special computer expert to come out on Sunday, his day off and fix the problem. I had tried to call the former guests several times to get the password and was unsuccessful. Rather than wait until Monday, we chose to provide a solution, a rather expensive one, to ensure our guests had internet, wireless internet, service.Mission accomplished.There were seven people that were involved in solving this problem that could have gone on for days.
At 3 Palms we can’t promise that there might not be problems, issues or even emergencies,BUT we do promise to address these situations promptly and provide solutions. These folks didn’t even remember that there was a problem with the internet.I was able to give them helpful and valuable info about the activities they were planning and add significant value to their vacation. I felt good helping them and they were able to accomplish those things they wanted to on their vacation.
This is the advantage we have with only operating 2 vacation rentals. We provide outstanding,personalized service that allows us to do things the big management companies can’t.Folks take a week vacation, and you can imagine how that week could be ruined with a problem or emergency that doesn’t get addressed or fixed. We have helped people unlock their cars with the keys in them, taken folks to the Hospital, brought over Toilet Paper at 10PM and provided appliances, tools, and even food to guests. We are professionals that “take care”, special care of our guests! We our problem solvers so that you won’t have to have your vacation spoiled, or even ruined. Our attention and service is second to none. We got your Back!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

a wonderful vacation

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We stayed at three-palms with our extended family . The beach was nice, the locals friendly, and Peter was a great host. We had a wide range of ages in our party but the house catered to everyone's needs. It was one of the best vacations we have had. Peter and the property manager Donna were extremely responsive to our requests and made us feel completely welcome.

Marcella

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Favorite Activities In and Around Two and Three Palms:
1.) Relaxing.
2.) Relaxing.
3.) Relaxing.
4.) Walking the Beach.
5.) Fishing.
6.) Swimming
7.) Looking for Sea Shells
8.) Watching Sunset and Sunrise
9.) Seeing Dolphins in A.M. and P.M.
10.) Loggerhead Sea Turtle’s and Their Nest/Eggs
11.) Hunting for Scallops in St. Joe Bay
12.) Trip to Cape San Blas State Park
13.) Catching Blue Crabs
14.) Snorkeling in St, Joe Bay
15.) Bon Fires on the Beach
16.) Bicycling on Beach
17.) Kayaking on St. Joe Bay and Rivers
18.) Horse Back Riding on the Beach
19.) Renting Golf Cart for Riding on Beach
20.) Getting a Sack of Oysters From 13 Mile Seafood
21.) Renting a Pontoon Boat in the St. Joe, Bay
22.) Riding the 12 Mile Bike Trail to The State Park
23.) Taking Indian Pass Boat Shuttle to St.Vincent Island Nature Preserve and Biking or Hiking it.
24.) Golfing at PSJ Country Club-10 Minutes Away or St. James Bay Championship Golf Course- Franklin County-30-40 minutes
25.) Taking Eco-Tour up Thru Apalachicola and its Estuaries.
26.) Taking Air Boat Trip up Thru Apalachicola and its Estuaries.
27.) Do the Moonlight Climb up The Cape San Blas Lighthouse
28.) Scuba Dive in Shipwrecks and 200 Artificial Reefs.
29.) Surf out by the “Stump Hole” on the Cape.
30.) Go North and Visit Dead Lakes and Stop and Pick up Some Tupelo Honey
31.) Visit Windmark Beach to picnic, swim, walk and/or bike their excellent trails.
32.) Go to Indian Pass Raw Bar for Oysters and hang outside in parking lot listening to live music.
33.) Go Night Shark Fishing with Joey at Indian Pass Charters.
34.) Red Neck Water Skiing…..Tow with Truck or Golf Cart person on Skim Board.
35.) Alligator Hunting at Night at Lake Wimico.
36.) Go Gigging for Flounder at Night.
37.) Drive Highway 98 from Mexico Beach thru Carrabelle to St. Marks Wildlife Refuge.
38.) Drive to St. George Island and State Park there.
39.) Go to Wakulla Springs in Franklin County where they filmed Tarzan Movies Crystal Clear Springs. Largest and Deepest Fresh Water Springs in the World.
40.) Paddle Board on St. Joe Bay.
41.) Hang out at Raw Bar in Indian Pass, Oysters and Music at Night.
42.) Bird and Butterfly Watching.
43.) Para sailing in Mexico Beach.
44.) Body Surfing in Gulf of Mexico.
45.) Gigging for Flounder at Night.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect slice of paradise!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Three Palms was everything we were told it was and more! We actually had 15 total (one baby) for a family reunion week and were very comfortable. Six of the children bunked in the great room upstairs and really enjoyed the space. All the bedrooms were great, the kitchen well stocked , and the whole house was spic and span! The pool area was a favorite with everyone. The uncrowded beach was delightful. If anyone craved more than the relaxation of 'home', day trips to Panama City, Appalachicola , or into Port St. Joe were easily accomplished. The majority of our group discovered (or rediscovered) scalloping and we had a blast! Definitely one of the best vacations destinations ever, and will certainly be some place we will visit again! The owners were very nice and easy to work with and were caring enough to call to make sure our week went well. Thanks for a great experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We recently had a guest who lives in Destin, Fl.,a very lovely beach town.He likes to Vacation in Indian Pass, Fl. ,where Three Palms is located. His love of Indian Pass comes from the belief he has that this is truly “Old Florida “and one of only a few places left where you can experience Florida the way it used to be. He deeply dislikes the traffic, congestion and commercialization of what most people consider a simply beautiful,if not gorgeous area, in Destin.
He loves the laid back, natural beauty and serenity of this area in Gulf County, Fl., known as the “Forgotten Coast”. He Fished, Hiked, Kayaked, Cycled, Boated and watched stars at night. He saw Eagles, Hawks, Pelicans, an assortment of other birds, Dolphins, Sea Turtles and their nesting eggs, Alligators, a Bear, and even what he thought was a small Panther.All this and more right on this tiny Peninsula, known as Indian Pass.
In a 48 hour period he waded out in The St. Joe Bay and picked his own scallops, cleaned them and ate them that night.After scalloping he placed Crab Traps on the left side of the Boat Ramp at Indian Pass Campground, and left. He then grabbed his bait Throw Net and down at The Indian Pass Beach in front of Three Palms, he netted some shrimp to be used for bait.The shrimp bait worked well and he caught some Speckled Trout from the shore at Indian Pass, in front of Three Palms.He then went back and collected his crab traps with a couple of dozen blue crabs waiting for him.On his way back to Three Palms, he entered the Indian Pass Lagoon, waded out and found some Oyster Beds and promptly harvested some fresh Indian Pass Oysters.He tried a few casts on his fly rod trying to catch a nice “Red” fish in the Lagoon that is known to be a hang out area for Red’s.While he was unsuccessful catching a Red,he had better luck that night when he went“Gigging”forFlounder and with his Gigging stick and light caught a bunch of Flounder that night.All this while his wife and family hung out by the pool and beach at Three Palms.
He then had a huge,delicious Seafood Feast with his family, with Fish that was cleaned in the Three Palms Screened in Fish Room and cooked on the Huge Charcoal Grill that could cook 24 hamburgers at once.Scallops,Oysters,Crab, Trout and Flounder,except for the scallops,all the bait and fish were caught within a mile or two of Three PalmsThe scallops were less than a 5 minute drive away.This is truly AWESOME and I am so jealous of his man’s “Old Florida"experience!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Three Palms

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We have rented many times and many places but hands down this rental was over the top. We got exactly what we were told and the pictures did not do it justice. It was so neat and clean, There were 9 adults and three children in our group. There were plenty of large bedrooms, each with its own bath. Large game room with more beds and big tv. Great family room and kitchen area with plenty of seating at a large table and also at the counter top/bar. Each bedroom also had its own door to a screened in porch which was so nice.
We also had an extra frig. downstairs. Outside there was a nice area under the house with a cool breeze blowing. A shuffle board court and a fish cleaning area also under there. In the back was a nice pool and plenty of seats.
There is a short walk across to the almost private beach. We were also able to have a bonfire and roast marshmallows. You cant do that on most beaches in the panhandle. What we really loved was the seclusion of the property and the beach.

There was a drive to the nearest grocery store but we did not mind that at all. There are many nice places to eat and also things to do. The owners sent us plenty of info on fishing, scalloping and other info on things to check out.
The Raw Bar is a must and you have to check out Outriggers.
The property has an awesome property mtgr Donna, that you can call for information or help at anytime. I called her several times for various things.

All in all this was a wonderful trip and a wonderful place to stay. The owners really care about their renters and see to it that all your needs are met. Our family highly recommends this property and the Burns!!!!

We will be renting for many summers to come!!!!!
Only bad thing was we had to leave.

The Frank Family
Alabama/Georgia
July 2013

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Things Guests Like About Three Palms:
1.) The size of the House
2.) The 2 Surround Decks and Views
3.) The 4 Main BDR’s All have Full Bath’s Closets
4.) The Location to the Beach and the Huge Size of the Beach, as Well as it Being a pet Friendly Beach Where Your Dogs Can Run and Run.
5.) The Great Room That Sleeps 6.
6.) The Pool
7.) The Ground Floor. It is Like a Whole Separate Living Area/3Rd Floor.
8.) The Balance of Screened in Porches and Open Porches on Decks.
9.) The Quiet Residential Neighborhood.
10.) The Feel of “Old Florida” that permeates the Area.
11.) The Vacant Lot Adjacent to Three Palms.
12.) The 50 Outdoor Seating Areas Located Around Pool, Shuffle Board Court, Grill and Outside Decks.
13.) The Gorgeous Views of The Gulf and Beach.
14.) Watching the Stars From 2nd Balcony.
15.) The Balance of Privacy and Group Settings With Each Bedroom Having a Door to the Decks.
16.) There are a Lot of “Nooks and Crannies” to hang out in.
17.) The Shuffle Board Court and Screened in Fish Cleaning Room.
18.) The Outdoor Shower.
19.) The Huge Barbecue Grill That Can Cook 25 Hamburgers at Once.
20.) The T.V.s in all the BDR’s.
21.) The Beautiful and Totally Well Stocked Kitchen with Everything You Could Need or Want.
22.) The Doggie Gates That Allow Dogs to Travel Both Decks Without Getting Out.
23.) The New Mesh on Fence Around Pool to Prevent Small Dogs from Slipping Thru.
24.) The fact That you Can See The Gulf of Mexico and Beach From the Majority oh Windows.
25.) The Outside Dining Table in Screened in Porch and Coffee Table on Deck. Perfect for Morning Coffee.
26.) The Fact That you Can get Lost in The Compound.
27.) The 2nd Refrigerator on the Ground Floor For Storage and Convenient Beverages.
28.) The Huge Carport Area and Large Driveway, Perfect for a Boat.
29.) The Way the Gentle Gulf Breezes Sweep in and Cool the Adjacent Pool Sitting Area and Car Port Area. The Fences around Pool Break The Wind and Make the Sun Warmer in the Cooler Months.
30.) Donna, the “Redneck Concierge” manager, Who is so Helpful, Knowledgeable and Friendly.
31.) The Well Appointed and Decorated House that Makes You Feel so Comfortable. A Very Warm and Spacious Family Vacation Home That Will Create Special Memories for Years To Come.
32.) All the Friendly Neighbors and People in the Neighborhood That Are So Nice.
Peter B.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Our family stayed a week at 3 Palms in July 2013. We ranged in age from 15 months to 70 years. We had a great time and couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. The house was clean and well stocked. It was roomy and yet cozy all at the same time. The kids (4 total) loved playing in the bunk room and each room having its own entrance to the porches was wonderful. My sister in law was able to jog on the beach early each morning without going through the house and waking anyone. The kitchen was fully stocked and we cooked daily! My knees complained about the steps as the week wore on but that is a signal that I need to climb more steps! The beds were comfortable and the area was secluded without being too far from civilization. We fished and swam in the ocean and generally had a blast. I would recommend 3 Palms to anyone who wants a peaceful stay on the beach. We even saw some wildlife and collected lots of shells. I would also recommend trout fishing with Captain Hal Tarpley, he is a great guide and we caught lots of fish. Donna the property manager was helpful in fixing the only issue we had which was a battery that needed replacing in one of the smoke detectors. She also answered lots of questions we had about fishing in the area. There is great food in Port St Joe. We missed our scalloping trip because my grandson got sick (virus) with a high fever but other than that our trip was a blast. We did drive to panama city one day to go to the water park which the kids loved. I would recommend Johnnie B's restaurant in Port St Joe and St Joe Shrimp Co (we brought shrimp home and the fish we caught)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Three Palms! There is so much to do in this area and the home is extremely comfortable and spacious. We pride ourselves on having a well stocked kitchen and a plenty of chairs and sitting areas around the pool, the grill/eating area, the shuffle board court in the car port area and the huge surround decks on both floors. (over 50 seating places)
We are sorry about your aching knees. That is the down side of having all this luxurious space with all five bedrooms having doors that access the decks. In hind sight we often wish we had put in an elevator when the house was built.
There are so many activities available at Three Palms. Bring your boat, the Indian Pass Boat launch is less than 1 mile away and boat access to the beautiful St. Joe Bay is 10 minutes away. The fishing is simply outstanding and we have plenty of highly recommended fishing guides. There are also group fishing boats for a less expensive fishing experience. The beaches are “Pet Friendly”, steps away from Three Palms, huge and basically deserted. Other activities include golfing, shelling, crabbing, scalloping, horseback riding on the beach, renting a golf cart and riding on the beach, eco-tours, snorkeling, scuba diving, bike and kayak rentals, boat rentals, and even alligator hunting.
Donna, our “Red Neck Concierge” manager,will be delighted to help you with all these activities and much more. She knows where the best restaurants are, the freshest shrimp, scallops, crab, grouper, snapper and even where to get a sack of fresh oysters.
If you folks thought Three Palms was peaceful, you should try visiting us in the Fall,Winter and Spring.These are my favorite seasons to really enjoy the serenity of this gorgeous area.It is not brutally hot, the bugs aren’t as abundant and it is completely empty around here.There is so much to do at Three Palms that you don’t have to leave the compound.Also we deeply discount Three Palms in the off-seasons and you can the whole compound to yourself.
Just because Three Palms sleeps 14 doesn't mean you can't visit with much smaller groups.Believe me it is a real treat to have Three Palms all to yourself with your spouse.Have a 2nd honeymoon.The privacy allows for skinny dipping at night and the star gazing at night is to die for. Try a different bed or bedroom every night. You owe it yourself to come on down to Three Palms during the off-season and discover PARADISE!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great vacation even in the rain ...

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We cannot say enough great things about Three Palms - We arrived Saturday and met Donna who was very sweet and helpful, Peter was also great about promptly answering any and all questions about the property and area - EXCELLENT customer service.
The house was clean, well supplied and kept up. The furnishings were quite nice and comfortable without being too stuffy for a family beach vacation with kids. It has stairs both inside and out which is great for when you come in wet from the pool or beach or if you want to stay dry because it's raining. The kitchen was well equipped - which was important for us since we are a family that LOVES to cook - the large outdoor charcoal grill was also great when cooking for 14. Also appreciated the two refrigerators - especially the one downstairs that we stocked with drinks and snacks for by the pool. The beach is a very short walk past one house to the beach pathway - and the beach is wonderful. Dolphins, shells, beautiful white sand and very few people. Our dog LOVED getting to play and walk on the beach each day. Really a great dog friendly house and vacation. The pool is also great to have.
The neighborhood is a mix of locals, regulars and vacationers but everyone was friendly and accommodating.Our favorite restaurant was the Indian Pass Raw Bar less than 5 minutes away - great oysters and shrimp and such a fun place to hang out and listen to music while you wait for a table.
The house is located 20 minutes from Port St Joe where you can get most anything you need - unfortunately the weather did not cooperate with us for a snorkeling trip we had planned but we still had a great time anyway.
Two things we learned was that on July 4th the neighborhood has a big moving parade/water fight from the Raw Bar through the neighborhood to the campground - be sure to bring water guns and such because it's a blast and the locals would love for you to join in. Also though NOT needed (the walk is easy and short) renting a golf cart before you arrive (they book quickly) could also be fun to ride through the neighborhood and for sure to explore the beach.
We without a doubt would recommend Three Palms and plan to go back soon - the fact that 8 adults and 6 kids survived 3 days of nonstop rain is a testament to how great the layout of the house is with the great room upstairs for the kids and multiple porches and living areas.
Thank you so much Peter, Lydia and Donna!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind comments regarding Three Palms! 4th of July is a blast in the neighborhood and folks really get into the festivities. I am so sorry about the rainout of your snorkeling trip. But, like you stated, Three Palms would be a great place to hang during inclement weather. Lots of different places/area to hang out in. The shuffle board and other games are protected by the carport area and even with 14 people you can still find privacy on the HUGE decks for reading or a nap.
We pride ourselves on our attention to service we provide for our guests. Our goal is for you to feel that you are the only guests we have and feel “special”. Between my wife, Lydia and I, and Donna and Andy we make sure that we take care of all your vacation needs and promptly provide solutions for any problems or emergencies. We definitely “got your back” at Burns Management.
With the end of summer rapidly approaching, I wanted to share some of the features and benefits of renting 3 Palms in the off season. We don’t get many groups of 14 booking. Most folks see that it sleeps 14 and shy away thinking that it is too big for them, too much of house. “What would we do with all that room?” folks respond. Enjoy it, your not the one who has to clean everything, we do. Get lost in the spaciousness and feel like a King or Queen. Your dog has access to one the few true “Pet Friendly Beaches” in the U.S. Your Pet can roam around the two gigantic outside decks with our doggie gate to keep him safe. The Pool area is fenced in and we just installed special mesh on the fence so that even your lap dogs can be secure. This area is a bird watchers mecca. We have actually had folks stay with us whose main focus was the birds. It is extremely peaceful to have a huge compound all to yourself with the biggest decision being which area to hang out in today.There are so many different options about where to hang out next. When I have stayed there by myself I get torn between watching the stars from the 2nd Floor Deck and laying on the couch in the screened porch and just listening to the sounds of Gulf Waves and feeling the Gulf Breezes.I find myself just roaming around the compound and feeling so relaxed and peaceful.
We dramatically reduce our weekly rate in the fall, winter and spring. Read all our reviews and come on down!Invite friends and family!!
DON'T PASS UP A VERY SPECIAL OPPORTUNITY TO HAVE A ONE OF A KIND VACATION EXPERIENCE WHERE YOU CAN FEEL LIKE ROYALTY.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful house for vacation and special occation

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Three Palms is a lovely house. It is clean, well maintained and nicely furnished. the kitchen is well supplied and has 2 refrigerators. The porches have great views of the gulf and nice furniture as well. The pool is great with lots of comfortable chairs around it as well. We have a house nearby and rented Three Palms to hold our 25th anniversary celebration and for our guests to stay and it was perfect for our event. The owners are very helpful and did everything they could to make our event go well. Our friends enjoyed the house very much and there was plenty of space for our party. The beach is amazing and why we love Indian Pass so much. Highly recommend Three Palms for a vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kathy:
Thank You,it was a pleasure to host you, your family and friends. We are so glad you selected Three Palms for your happy celebration!It is a perfect place to host such an event.The reviews that we have had show what a great place Three Palms is especially for large groups. What I wanted to spend some time discussing is how great and cheap Three Palms is in the non-summer time, prime time area. In the summer we are always booked 100% with some folks renting one year in advance. It is very hard to discount because of the HUGE DEMAND.But it the fall, winter and spring Three Palms is often wide open. Some folks shy away from renting because it is such a large compound that sleeps 14. There are aren't a lot of people that need a house that sleeps 14 in February with work and school vacations. We dramatically discount Three Palms in the off season and the folks that have come whether it is a couple, 4 or 6 people absolutely loved it, Some folks rent it and invite family members to come and visit for a for a few days. My point is just because it is a huge house, doesn't mean you can't splurge and come stay with us even if you are a couple. Yes, it is more of a house than you need, but why not treat yourself to a special experience. Sleep in a different room each night, rotate, spread out and live like a king, for the price of a pauper. Walk around the huge expansive surround decks with this whole compound to yourself. Let your dog have the time of his/her life roaming the decks and enjoying one of the few "Pet Friendly" beaches in the whole country! If you are from Canada or"Snow Bird " area why stay in a tiny condo or 2BDR house when you can "live" it up in a mansion for close to the same price with a pool as well! The rent for summer next year is $3500 per week, we will rent Three Palms for $2,000, $1,800 even $1,500 for a week in the OFF season depending on when and how many people. Live a little, spoil yourself and come enjoy all that area has to offer for a very reasonable price! WE ARE VERY FLEXIBLE! Finally , we have a upgraded/value added feature that includes your very own PRIVATE CONCIERGE who lives 2 miles away. Donna can help with anything.She knows where the best and freshest shrimp are, the restaurants, the fishing guides,golf courses and can even help with bonfires on the beach! We got your back especially if there is an emergency. Check out the reviews and you will see the kind of "special" care and treatment we provide to our guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect house for vacation and special occasion

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We have a house near Three Palms and rented Three Palms to have our 25th anniversary vow renewal event. The house is furnished very nicely and was very clean. It is spacious and has 2 refrigerators and a well supplied kitchen. There was plenty of space under the house for us to have a lovely BBQ. The owners are great and did everything they could to make our event special. The house has several porches with great views of the gulf and as a neighbor I can say the beach is fabulous. I would highly recommend Three Palms.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach Bondfires Allowed!

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

We arrived late on Saturday and found three Palms without any trouble. We quickly realized this house has one of the biggest floor plans on the beach.
It would easily accommodate three families.. The porches are wide and loaded with comfortable furniture. The pool was wonderful.
Lots of chairs and a nice grass area inside its fence for our dog. The bedrooms had the most comfortable mattresses!!
All the linens and pillows are of good quality. Everything was very clean. The kitchen was fully stocked with quality pots, pans and utensils.
We have rented in the panhandle/ cape san blas area for over twenty years now and found the Three Palms decorations and furnishings in the upscale category.
They even had pre-bagged ice for our coolers in one of the two refrigerators.
The beach is a short walk from Three Palms down a nearby path. One thing we noticed about this rental is the
fragrant smell of flowers and sweet grass all around it. It’s a constant smell that was wonderful. This in my opinion was the best memory. Indian Pass smells terrific! We photographed more birds and wildlife around this house than we have on any of our other Florida vacations.
It gives you the feeling you are really in a tropical place. If we wanted to Kayak and explore, the nature preserve is within eyesight from the balconies
of Three Palms. We watched as fisherman would Kayak out with their bate, drop it off in the ocean and by the time they came back ashore their reels would be hit and spinning.
This area has some huge fish! We rented a pontoon boat in Port St Joe for a really good price and had it for the day to explore and snorkel.
St Joseph Peninsula state park is straight across from the marina. It wasn’t hard to find your our way
along its white beach coast line and then back across to the marina. Schools of wild dolphins followed us next to the boat off and on all day long.
The locals at Indian Pass are very helpful and friendly. And they all encouraged us to come back!

Just a beautiful and relaxing getaway! Pictures do not do this property justice, as it is much more beautiful in person. The home and landscape is very well maintained. We enjoyed time on the almost private beach with our dog who had an absolutely wonderful time! This is a place that does not feel like a tourist spot but instead an unspoiled and peaceful piece of heaven on earth. We could not have imagined a more wonderful place to unwind from a stressful year. Thank you Lydia and Peter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind and thoughtful review of Three Palms!!!
I thought your writing was exceptional and that you captured the "special" ambiance of Three Palms and the neighborhood. The smell of flowers permeates everywhere, the vast amount of birds chirping and there is a very warm/accepting feeling by the residents in this area. In particular, the outside, ground level area really serves as an additional "outdoor" floor or living place. There are 3 sitting areas here: The Pool Area, the protected eating/sitting area outside the pool area by the huge charcoal grill and the sitting area by the shuffle board area and screened in fish cleaning/storage area. With the large vacant lot adjacent to Three Palms, it does have a "jungle" like feeling and deep sense of privacy.
We pride ourselves on providing an upscale Vacation Rental experience that separates us from a traditional run down beach house where everything is about making concessions because you are on the beach. We think you can have both!! Beach and upscale comfort.Our cleaning and concierge service is second to none, as we go the extra distance to make sure our guests needs are taken care of. And if there is ever an emergency or immediate problem that needs a solution, our staff has your back and will act quickly to provide a resolution.
Three Palms Compound is a huge, multi-level relaxation center. Each of the 5 BDR have a separate/private door to a balcony that allows for "space" and "privacy" with in a large group. You can literally get lost in the compound with all the floors, decks and chairs. Folks could be relaxing sipping on a beverage and looking at the gorgeous vistas of the Gulf of Mexico and never even hear the 6 people in the pool. There are 50 places to sit between the pool, ground floor seating area, the ground floor shuffle board and the two HUGE decks. The screened in deck that opens to the kitchen has a large dining room table area for additional room for your large group. Sometimes folks get apprehensive if they are just a couple or small family because they think that they don't need such a large compound. However, especially in the off season (non-summer) we will discount the house rental fee. Go ahead and spoil yourself and enjoy a very special home with tons of room in a a absolutely beautiful area.
The beach path that is just steps away from the driveway and is a rather wide and easy to navigate. Dog friendly beach.
Thanks again!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

2012 Review and Excellent Owner Understaning and Cooperation

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

We did not actually get to enjoy the excellent amenities and relaxation Three Palms offers this year (2013) due to a family medical emergency. I will explain the excellent cooperation and understanding of the owners in this matter later but first I will review our 2012 stay at Three Palms.

For my wife's birthday in March we decided to spend three weeks at the beach and during the three weeks invite several friends and relatives to rotate in and out to celebrate her birthday. For this event we could not have chosen a better place than Three Palms. Three Palms offered plenty of room for the number of guests (12 at any one time) we chose to have at any one time and also offered privacy for several different families. Our deal with each family visiting was each family had to prepare a meal on a rotational basis. The spacious kitchen offered plenty of room to prepare and cook the meals. The large dining area table and kitchen bar seating provided seating for everyone. Of course the screened deck/porch areas and the decks on 2 levels offered other seating options for meal times, social hours or private times.

Personally I enjoyed the concrete area on the ground level. I spent a lot of time there enjoying the breeze. With the additional refrigerator on the ground level I did not have to make trips up the stairs to the kitchen for my favorite beverages.

The beach was a quick easy walk away where we enjoyed swimming and fishing. Most days on the beach you felt as if it were a private beach because the next nearest people were hundreds of yards away.

We all felt very secure in the quiet neighborhood. The neighbors on the one side were very friendly and polite and the empty lot on the other side made a good place for my dogs to explore. I did not feel uncomfortable walking my dogs around the neighborhood late at night.

Three Palms was very clean and comfortable. The local property manager, Donna, is very friendly and helpful. She provided us her cell phone and was glad to assist us with any question we might have.

Three Palms is a great place to stay in Indian Pass and I am certain you will enjoy your stay.

We were forced to cancel our trip this year (Mar 2013) the day before check-in. The owners were not contractually obligated to refund any of our rental money but they worked extremely hard to find families to rent Three Palms the last two weeks of our scheduled stay and refund us a portion of our rental money. Thank You

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind remarks! We are so sorry you folks weren't able to make it to Three Palms this year and hope you can come next year.
We will always try to accommodate unexpected changes/emergencies with our guests and do our best to work and provide a solution to those problems.
Thank You for your loyalty.

Peter B.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2012 Review and Excellent Owner Cooperation

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

We did not actually get to enjoy the excellent amenities and relaxation Three Palms offers this year (2013) due to a family medical emergency. I will explain the excellent cooperation and understanding of the owners in this matter later but first I will review our 2012 stay at Three Palms.

For my wife's birthday in March we decided to spend three weeks at the beach and during the three weeks invite several friends and relatives to rotate in and out to celebrate her birthday. For this event we could not have chosen a better place than Three Palms. Three Palms offered plenty of room for the number of guests (12 at any one time) we chose to have at any one time and also offered privacy for several different families. Our deal with each family visiting was each family had to prepare a meal on a rotational basis. The spacious kitchen offered plenty of room to prepare and cook the meals. The large dining area table and kitchen bar seating provided seating for everyone. Of course the screened deck/porch areas and the decks on 2 levels offered other seating options for meal times, social hours or private times.

Personally I enjoyed the concrete area on the ground level. I spent a lot of time there enjoying the breeze. With the additional refrigerator on the ground level I did not have to make trips up the stairs to the kitchen for my favorite beverages.

The beach was a quick easy walk away where we enjoyed swimming and fishing. Most days on the beach you felt as if it were a private beach because the next nearest people were hundreds of yards away.

We all felt very secure in the quiet neighborhood. The neighbors on the one side were very friendly and polite and the empty lot on the other side made a good place for my dogs to explore. I did not feel uncomfortable walking my dogs around the neighborhood late at night.

Three Palms was very clean and comfortable. The local property manager, Donna, is very friendly and helpful. She provided us her cell phone and was glad to assist us with any question we might have.

Three Palms is a great place to stay in Indian Pass and I am certain you will enjoy your stay.

We were forced to cancel our trip this year (Mar 2013) the day before check-in. The owners were not contractually obligated to refund any of our rental money but they worked extremely hard to find families to rent Three Palms the last two weeks of our scheduled stay and refund us a portion of our rental money. Thank You

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2012 Review and Outstanding Owner Cooperation

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

We did not actually get to enjoy the excellent amenities and relaxation Three Palms offers this year (2013) due to a family medical emergency. I will explain the excellent cooperation and understanding of the owners in this matter later but first I will review our 2012 stay at Three Palms.

For my wife's birthday in March we decided to spend three weeks at the beach and during the three weeks invite several friends and relatives to rotate in and out to celebrate her birthday. For this event we could not have chosen a better place than Three Palms. Three Palms offered plenty of room for the number of guests (12 at any one time) we chose to have at any one time and also offered privacy for several different families. Our deal with each family visiting was each family had to prepare a meal on a rotational basis. The spacious kitchen offered plenty of room to prepare and cook the meals. The large dining area table and kitchen bar seating provided seating for everyone. Of course the screened deck/porch areas and the decks on 2 levels offered other seating options for meal times, social hours or private times.

Personally I enjoyed the concrete area on the ground level. I spent a lot of time there enjoying the breeze. With the additional refrigerator on the ground level I did not have to make trips up the stairs to the kitchen for my favorite beverages.

The beach was a quick easy walk away where we enjoyed swimming and fishing. Most days on the beach you felt as if it were a private beach because the next nearest people were hundreds of yards away.

We all felt very secure in the quiet neighborhood. The neighbors on the one side were very friendly and polite and the empty lot on the other side made a good place for my dogs to explore. I did not feel uncomfortable walking my dogs around the neighborhood late at night.

Three Palms was very clean and comfortable. The local property manager, Donna, is very friendly and helpful. She provided us her cell phone and was glad to assist us with any question we might have.

Three Palms is a great place to stay in Indian Pass and I am certain you will enjoy your stay.

We were forced to cancel our trip this year (Mar 2013) the day before check-in. The owners were not contractually obligated to refund any of our rental money but they worked extremely hard to find families to rent Three Palms the last two weeks of our scheduled stay and refund us a portion of our rental money. Thank You!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break 2013

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

What can I say we have stayed in vacation homes all over Florida and this is by far the best. Lots of room, ther was 9 of us 5 adults and 4 teenagers and we had plenty of room, view from the top deck is breath taking,furnished well,kitchen is amazing has all the thinks you would need.The location to the beach is perfect and where can you go nowadays and have a fire on the beach at night and best of all for us we could bring our furry litte friend.The house and pool is well maintained and very well managed. We are planning our next stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious and comfortable

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

We went to three palms on a spur of the moment spring break trip for fishing. Although the weather was somewhat uncooperative, the house is very spacious and close to the beach. The short walk to the beach made our stay very nice. The pool although not heated was nice. The poolside furniture was quite comfortable for reading. The kitchen is well appointed. Cooking was fun. I would recommend this house to large families or multiple families.

Owners response: Susan G.
Thanks for your kind comments about your stay at Three Palms. I am so sorry I couldn’t get the weather God’s to co-operate!!!!
Three Palms Compound is a great place for a large family or multiple families. The ground floor is basically like having an additional floor of Living Space. We have an array of pool loungers and chairs in the pool area, we have a sitting area just off the pool area that provides shade, and is an excellent area to hang and drink coffee in the A.M. This area catches some of those special Gulf AM breezes that the area in known for. It also is a favorite spot for watching Sunset’s with the breezes and you are protected from burning sun. Right next to the sitting area is a table and chairs to eat or hang out on. It is right next to the gigantic charcoal grill we have that is like one of those you see in a state park. It is over three feet long and can cook all your hamburgers and shrimp or fish at one time. It is HUGE. What makes this whole pool, sitting and eating area so special is that we have a vacant lot right next to us and creates a very private peaceful area. It almost feels like you are in your own little private jungle.
Also on the ground floor away from the pool area is another special sitting/recreating area. There is a screened in fish cleaning room, with 2 stainless steel sink and cutting boards and space for storing bikes and gear. There is a sitting area with tables and chairs for watching or resting while participating in our full shuffle board court. The outdoor privacy shower is right next door. This huge area really is an added bonus to all the space Three Palms provides. The carport area has a hose to wash off sand from your feet and your pets feet. This is a very cool area during the hot summer days.
Peter B

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The most relazing week I have had in a long time!

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

My husband, dog and I had a perfect and relaxing week at this gorgeous home! I could not have imagined a more wonderful place to unwind from a stressful year. The place is beautiful, steps from a quiet beach and minutes from the best oysters in the Southeast!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Three Palms was just what the DR. ordered!

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

Such a gorgeous and relaxing getaway! The place is beautifully maintained, quiet and just steps away from an almost private beach!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful place, private beach!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

My husband and I own our own business and October was very stressful for us! We needed a quiet getaway to refuel. Three Palms was exactly what we were looking for. The place is gorgeous, just steps away from a quiet beach and 2 minutes from the freshest oysters we have ever tasted. My husband fished, we kayaked and biked and our dogs had a vacation too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wish I was there right now!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Sometimes when you book a property online, you keep your fingers crossed and hope it looks as good as the pictures. No worries here...it's actually nicer! The home is tastefully appointed, clean, and spacious. The walk to the beach was very short and the neighborhood was not crowded, to put it mildly. Many mornings on the beach we would see half a dozen people or less. Being in a beautiful pristine area, sitting on the deck staring at the Gulf, listening to the surf and the gulls, feeling the warm constant breeze, need I say more? Definitely check out the Raw Bar-outrageously good shrimp and oysters. I would recommend this property to family and friends without hesitation. The owners were incredibly accomodating to our requests and Donna the property manager was very nice. Hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

All Around Awesome

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

3 palms was perfect! We had 7 adults, 5 kids, and 2 dogs and weren't the least bit crowded. We loved that every bedroom had its own bathroom, which is a luxury you don't always find. The owners and property manager were very friendly and easy to work with. The beach wasn't the least bit crowded so it was about as close as most people will ever get to a private beach. We will be back :D

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible family getaway - great for kids

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Wow, what a great place and a great week. Three Palms was absolutely perfect for our large family. At times, we had 12 adults and 6 children visiting with plenty of room, The kids room was a huge hit with the bunk beds, large TV and access to deck. We loved it. Peter was the ultimate host, checking in several times to see if we were enjoying ourselves and even working for hours to help after we locked keys in car - "above and beyond" service across the board.

This is the perfect vacation location and home if you are looking to get away from it all and just enjoy the natural beauty of the area for a week. We scalloped nearly every day (and got plenty), fished, bought oysters and shucked them downstairs and beached or boated every day. The downstairs fish cleaning room and the pool/deck were also huge hits for the entire family.

The location allowed us to walk to beach in 30 seconds, be at one boat ramp within a mile, the scalloping boat ramp at St. Joe Bay in 10 minutes and 2 miles from the world famous Raw Bar for those times we didn't feel like cooking. The kitchen was set up fabulously for the majority of the meals we ate in. Plenty of room for lots of cooks and lots of great seating.

I loved the fact that every bedroom is a master bedroom with a private bath and deck access and that there were more endless private deck and porch areas. There were so many that we never even used some of them.

One night in particular sticks out to me when we walked down to the beach. Away from any light pollution, we were just amazed at the stars and the ability to see distant galaxies. Also the waves were fully of phosphorescence and were glowing green on the shore and in our footprints. I'll never forget this sight.

Boating in the area is excellent as are the beaches - highly recommend launching one day at St. Joe Park and running up to end of Cape. Water is deep and clear and beaches are awesome. One day we spent at the beach right at the house and we did not see a single other person for the entire 3 hours we were there. Oh and our dog absolutely loved it - she ran the beach until she would just collapse at night.

Great time and plan to return next year and every year, a new family tradition!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were so happy that these fine folks found Three Palms as fantastic as we do. This magnificent compound is a GULF VIEW first tier home with gorgeous vistas of the Gulf of Mexico throughout the spacious home. There is one small house (1 story)in front of Three Palms giving basically unobstructed views of the Gulf and even St. Vincent Wild life Island. Let's face it, most people want a Gulf Front Beach home, I know I prefer them. We feel Three Palms is an excellent alternative, especially with a in-ground pool and a huge beach that is just steps away. In the Cape San Blas/Indian Pass area in Gulf County Florida there are only a few Gulf Front Vacation homes with a pool that sleeps 14 and is Pet friendly. The very few homes that meet this criteria are priced, as you might expect, extremely expensive. These folks seem to have gotten what we try to share and promote with the Three Palms experience. We treat our guests as family and do everything possible to provide a one of kind vacation experience in a one of the most beautiful and peaceful areas in the USA. Once folks get over the fantasy of having a Gulf Front with Pool home they usually realize the tremendous benefits that Three Palms has to offer. Most of our guests are repeat clients that know what kind of experience they are going to have and appreciate all the features of Three Palms and all the area has to offer.
If you can't find or afford a Gulf Front with pool that sleeps 14 and is Pet Friendly with your very own Red Neck Concierge........please consider Three palms as a "darn close" alternative.
I love the Gulf and swim in it every chance I get......But my wife, my daughter, her friends and many people simply don't like to swim in salt water. Or are worried about Sharks (needlessly), big waves and jelly fish. The pool is the preferred option for swimming (especially for kids). Also in the summer the gulf water temperature is in the 90's and is far from refreshing, more like a hot bath while the air temperature is close to 100. In the fall and spring many people feel the Gulf water is too cold. The fenced in pool area provides protection from the wind in the spring and fall.
At Three Palms you have beautiful views of the gulf, all kinds of "nooks and crannies" to hang out and relax, privacy, loads of room, a huge beach steps away, a wonderful pool area to congregate in, a vacant lot next door and a concierge to assist and help make your stay comfortable, all at an affordable price.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

July 2012

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

7 adults, 5 children (10 and under), and 2 dogs fit very comfortably in this house. With the extra fridge in the ground floor entry, we were able to stock up once and not have to drive back to town. The porches were great for morning coffee and the one rainy day we had. The screen porches were a great place to relax with an adult beverage after the kids went to bed and listen to the frogs. The whole family loved the pool and back patio. The only problem we had was the internet went down (cable modem died) but the management team was very helpful in getting it fixed.

The beach is close, clean and not crowded; we saw dolphins a couple times too. Dogs are allowed on the beach which is one reason we chose this area.

We had a great time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks very much for submitting a review!!!! It is very important that we get feedback from our clients regarding their stay at Three Palms, so that we can continually try to improve their experience and stay there.
We found that having a 2nd refrigerator on the ground floor was a BIG plus, not only for storing food, but for clients to not have to go upstairs from the pool area for their favorite beverage. I have many times been lounging by the pool or cooking on our giant charcoal grill, and been so happy to just open the ground floor door and grab a beer.
We call Three Palms a compound because there are so may different and varied places to hang out and or congregate with a large group. We have 50 seating places between the pool area, the lounging and eating area just outside the pool area, the shuffle board area and of course, the two gorgeous surround decks that area the favorite of most of our quests. There are plenty of seating options where one can relax and even take a nap, without being disturbed, by other family members. In fact you could have a group of family members in the pool area and be on one of the decks and not even know they are there. Three Palms has many different areas which I call "nook and crannies" to have morning coffee, lunch or dinner, watch the sunset, gaze at the amazing stars or have a beverage and read a book. All of the 5+ bedrooms have a private door to the decks as well for easy access. This all in the context of absolutely gorgeous vistas of the Gulf of Mexico!!!
While it is unfortunate that your internet went down, in a way, I am glad you mentioned it because it helps illustrate how we operate our 2 vacation rentals. We pride ourselves on top of the line service for all our clients, with houses that are meticulous maintained. Our staff consists of a manager, cleaning crew, computer/cable maintenance guy and a great handyman team. We like to call our manager a "Redneck Concierge" and she will take care of all your needs.
We can't promise that there won't be a problem or that something won't break. BUT we can promise that we will immediately spring into action to resolve that problem, no matter what the issue is. This also includes medical emergencies and or pet problems.
The neighborhood and beach is very remote and quiet. This is one of the very FEW pet friendly beaches in the Country.
Please come back!!!!
Peter-Co-Owner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family time at Indian Pass

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We hosted our children and grandchildren who live in multiple states for a week of family fun. We could not have found a better place than Three Palms! The home is awesome and the property managment team could best be described as "hosts" who helped with every request. We enjoyed the beach, pool and a wonderful kitchen layout for preparing large meals.This was our third visit to Three Palms and we plan to return.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks very much folks!!!!! Three Palms is perfect for large family gatherings. It allows for intimacy and privacy, while at the same time allows for tremendous large group interactions. With the two huge surround decks and over 50 seating areas, there are tons of "nook and crannies" to share different activities. While Three Palms is not a "gulf front" it offers many of the same benefits with gorgeous vistas of the Gulf of Mexico and the benefits of having a private pool which the non-adults will particular enjoy.
Thank you very much for your kind comments about the "hosts" our manager, and her team do a great job of taking good care of our visitors. We refer to her as our "red neck concierge" who will help renters with anything.
We look forward to your next visit!!!!!
Thanks-

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Three Palms was unbelievable!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

This was our first trip to this area. It was the most perfect, unbelievable trip that we have been on! Peter and Lydia were so nice to deal with and so helpful. Donna, the property manager is the nicest person and takes care of all your needs. We can't say enough about the beautiful home and the location on such a private beach. You have so much privacy on the beach and at the home. It truly is just a few steps to the beach! We didn't want to leave and already can't wait to get back yet this year. The descriptions on the web site are 100% accurate. Thank you, Peter and Lydia
Derek and Shannon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

House for a Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

This house was perfect for our vacation! I went with a large group (14 people) for our spring break, and the house accommodated us very well. There were plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms as well as ample space for eating and food storage.

The pool provided a good hangout as a shelter from the early March wind.. it was big enough for everyone and was in the sun for almost the entire day. Also, the beach is within view of the house and just a short walk away. The views of the Gulf were beautiful and the beach was peaceful and undisturbed. Actually, we were virtually the only vacationers on the beach.. and we had bonfires almost every night! We also saw 3 dolphins swimming about 15 feet away from us!!

Aside from the house, all of the locals are very friendly. They told us about all of the 'hot spots' around Indian Pass. Most night, our group chose to go to the raw bar.. great food and awesome beer specials!

Overall, our group LOVED this destination because it housed our big group comfortably, was away from the typical 'tourist' scene, had beautiful beaches, and was surrounded by a cool, local atmosphere!

We cant wait to come back.. we're already planning our next trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring Break at the Three Palms

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We had a great spring break here. Plenty of space for the 14 people we had stay in the house. It was a very quiet stay with very friendly neighbors. At this time of the year the beach was a little cold and breezy to lay out on (but not for bonfires) but the pool area stayed warm with the fence blocking wind. We used the grill almost every night to cook the fresh seafood we got from Apalachicola at the 13 Mile. The Indian Pass Raw Bar was by far the best place to go eat near Indian Pass. Donna (property manager) was great to deal with and gave us all types of extras and the owners (Peter and Lydia) were great to rent to a bunch of college students when no one else near the area would and they were very friendly and trusting. Couldn't have had a better spring break. We are definitely planning on coming back in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Three Palms

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We had a great spring break here. Plenty of space for the 14 people we had stay in the house. It was a very quiet stay with very friendly neighbors. At this time of the year the beach was a little cold and breezy to lay out on (but not for bonfires) but the pool area stayed warm with the fence blocking wind. We used the grill almost every night to cook the fresh seafood we got from Apalachicola at the 13 Mile. The Indian Pass Raw Bar was by far the best place to go eat near Indian Pass. Donna (property manager) was great to deal with and gave us all types of extras and the owners (Peter and Lydia) were great to rent to a bunch of college students when no one else near the area would and they were very friendly and trusting. Couldn't have had a better spring break. We are definitely planning on coming back in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Three Palms

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We had a great spring break here. Plenty of space for the 14 people we had stay in the house. It was a very quiet stay with very friendly neighbors. At this time of the year the beach was a little cold and breezy to lay out on (but not for bonfires) but the pool area stayed warm with the fence blocking wind. We used the grill almost every night to cook the fresh seafood we got from Apalachicola at the 13 Mile. The Indian Pass Raw Bar was by far the best place to go eat near Indian Pass. Donna (property manager) was great to deal with and gave us all types of extras and the owners (Peter and Lydia) were great to rent to a bunch of college students when no one else near the area would and they were very friendly and trusting. Couldn't have had a better spring break. We are definitely planning on coming back in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best multi or single family rental in the area

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

We have been coming to 3 Palms almost every ear since 2006. This is a beautiful well maintained home which can fit a single family or a whole clan. The house is laid out well with the majority of bedrooms and entertainment/ kids quarters located on the 3rd floor. The Kitchen, dining and family room are on the second floor with sufficient room to have 2 extra bathrooms and the laundry. Each main bedroom has its own bathroom and shower! Noise between the levels never seems to be an issue, probably because of the good construction. Of course the walk out decks on each floor with screened in areas ad to the charm and view of the ocean. Most impressive for us is that with a larger group there are private places for everyone and yet gathering places large enough for the whole clan. Even though they permit pets, you do not see abnormal wear from those 4 legged visitors which we attribute to the upkeep and the fact that they have good tenants who take care of the house. The pool are doubles as a fenced in yard for your pets which to us is that extra bonus which makes it so much more like home. The house sits in a quiet neighborhood with wonderful neighbors. The dunes and beach are just steps away. The beach is one of the most perfect in the Florida area and is pet friendly. We saw no evidence of last year's oil spill, and in fact in the past there has been some evidence of oil like you find everywhere in the gulf, but with the clean up last year we found none, so it was actually better then before the spill. Come and enjoy the stay, jsut do not try to reserve our week because we will be back again and again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Three Palms

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Three Palms was a great location for a group to rent. Plenty of space to spread out and location was very peaceful. The home and pool are beautiful. The only downfall would be if anyone had issues with stairs. Our group of eight had a wonderful vaction and I would highly recoommend to anyone.

Several good areas to visit with a short drive, fishing on the beech, amenities are close there was plenty to see and do. We enjoyed the resturants at Port St. Joe especially Sunset Coastal Grill and Joe Mamma's Pizza.

It was great renting from them and we had great customer service.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

We had a wonderful family vacation here. With 8 adults and two children under 3, it was perfect. The pool was probably the best part of the property. The beach is just a second away, and the bay is close too. Indian Pass is tucked away, so make sure to make a big grocery trip since the stores are about 15-20 minutes away. Go to Indian Pass Raw bar the first night you are there; we went on the last night and wish we would have gone earlier because it was so good and so much fun. For the price in the gulf with a pool, this is the vacation property for big groups!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular week at Three Palms

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Hi Lydia & Peter;

Our stay at 3 Palms (July 3 -10) was nothing short of spectacular. Initially, we made plans to share the house with close family. As the date of our vacation grew closer, family members kept dropping out. We'd replace them with friends. Just days before leaving, the last of our family members dropped out. Luckily one long time friend whom I used to work with swore he, his wife and two daughters would be there, hell or high water, if at least for a few days.

The house worked out great for our party of 8, with rooms showers to spare. Most our dining was in the house, and made sure we stocked up at the Pig when possible. Unfortunately it seems each time we planned a meal at the Raw Bar, they were closed. Maybe next time.

We bought a new boat before making our trip, a decision that is not at all regrettable. The myriad of boating destinations to choose from are mind boggling. Our most memorable trip, we launched at the Saint Joe Bay Marina. From there we went out to the Western tip of Cape San Blas & had a picnic on the beach. We packed up from there and headed up the intracoastal canal. Making our Way East to Lake Wimico, we realized that would have been the perfect spot for Skiing or Tubing. Going on, we exited the Intracoastal Canal at East Bay and headed for West Pass (South side of Saint Vincent Island). The channels are tricky here, talk to some locals for sure before heading out. Our plan was to tie up at the Indian Pass boat launch and then retrieve the tow vehicle from the Saint Joe Marina.
The beach is unique. I highly recommend bringing an ATV to explore it to the fullest! Also a Kayak or two would be highly recommended, as many of the fishing grounds are fairly shallow and possibly more enjoyable at a slow pace. Several fishing charters were out and about, and we saw many species caught.

Our vacation started with a few days of rain, which allowed us to stock up on groceries and a few other things to prep the boat. Without those few days of rain, we'd have panicked to take advantage of each day, likely regretting the fact we'd not done enough shopping to stay put.

Of the four children, they've vowed to return next 4th of July Holliday, and each and every thereafter. The grown ups are inclined to agree!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A week at Three Palms

Review submitted: May 30, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

A pleasant place to relax and enjoy being away from the daily grind.

Ideal for family gatherings and a bit too large for our small group.

If you enjoy the beach with few others around, then this is for you. Some would prefer to be a little further west at the actual Cape San Blas beach.

If you are an outdoors person, great place to bring a boat including a canoe or kayak.

If you have trouble negotiating stairs, then this is not for you.

Good mexican restaurant in downtown St. Joe and good margaritas at the marina in St. Joe if you don't mind plastic cups.

Don't miss a trip to St. Joe State Park. Great place to visit and enjoy a picnic.

Great place for dogs to enjoy the fenced in back yard and the beach. Our two were loving it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter in Paradise

Review submitted: March 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

Peter & Lydia,
Thanks so much for allowing us to stay at your wonderful home. We had a great time and the tips and info from you and Donna were great. We loved the close proximity to the beach. The kids especially loved the large "kids" room with the toys, bunk beds and huge tv. It was so nice to be able to see and hear the Gulf from the house. The decks were great for sitting and reading in the January sun. We also enjoyed the occcasional breakfast out there when we weren't in a hurry to get moving. The pool out back was amazing and we liked the fact it was fenced in.
Although we didn't think to bring our fishing poles, we did eat lots of local seafood and cooked some that we bought, on the grill, that was convieniently located near the pool and patio. We really enjoyed the hiking and biking we were able to do also. Thanks, Peter for the great tips on where the best biking and resturants were.
On the trip home we were already contemplating next years vacation plans and all agreed that Port St. Joe and Indian Pass were on the list to visit. Thanks again, the Abares
the Abare family, Vermont

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Ultimate Spring Break

Review submitted: March 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

We had a great time in this house! It occupied 12 guests very comfortably and the kitchen was large enough for multiple people to cook at once. The location is great too, the Indian Pass Raw Bar is just a two minute drive down the road with it's great seafood selection and we were almost equal distance from both towns of Port St Joe and Apalachacola. The beach is very nice and just a one minute walk from the house! I would definately go back to Three Palms!
Kristen Fiorio, Wingate, NC

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review