reviews for: listing #67767 - Indian Lake, Ohio House rental

O'Brien Lake House
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Crane Town Island
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $795 - $1,300 /wk
    $2,250 - $4,800 /mth

sort by:

Great Accomodations

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

Had a fantastic time at the lake for my wifes birthday weekend (despite the bad cold weather) - the house was clean, perfect location for anyone wanting to hang out on the lake for a few days. The owners do a great job making you feel welcome - they even gave my wife a bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberries upon arrival - nice touch. We have traveled a lot and stayed in countless vacation rentals over the years - owners of the O'Brien house are just great operators and good people. We intend to rent it again for week in the summer. You won't go wrong renting this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean House, Great Location

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

The house was very clean and had plenty of room for our group. Great back patio, nice view of the lake (boat-slip came in handy), and the bike & yard games were an added bonus. The owner was also very accommodating. Will definately be staying again sometime next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

O'Brien Lake House

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

The house was perfect for our visit to the area. Plenty of space, easy to access and great views of Indian Lake. The owner was very easy to work with and even had the house decorated for the holidays. I highly recommend this house for a family vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Christmas is a special time of the year for my family. I attempt to share the spirit of the Holidays by decorating the house. My goal is to have my Guests feel like they are at home when at the Lake House during the Holidays!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place!!

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Just returned home from a great week at the lake house! The house is everything it says it is, and more! Tim is super to work with, makes sure every detail is taken care of, and a real host. We had our entire family with us many days and there is more than ample space for a large group. Everything is clean and ready for your use. Nothing is left out! Loved the large deck for our family dinners, loved the lake for fishing, nice place to park our pontoon boat, and we even enjoyed the occasional duck or goose who would wander by! I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a wonderful get-away. We couldn't have been more pleased!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Happy Summer!

A very nice review from great guests.

The Lake House is a family friendly place where lifetime memories are made!

I am fortunate to have the opportunity to share the house with others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rainy Fun!!!

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

My family and I stayed here in the summer. We stayed for a whole week and were very impressed with the vacation home. Not only was it clean and nicely furnished but it was a steal considering the other options. I have a larger family and many of my children have significant others; we were all able to stay in the O'Brien house comfortably and happily.The outside deck and patio were very nice. There were plenty of places for us to sit, eat. and even fish. Also, there were plenty of towels for everyone to use which I was really appreciative of after swimming :) I would highly recommend the O'Brien house to any visitors looking to stay in Indian Lake regardless of the season.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Family had Smiles on their faces even when Indian Lake gave them wind, rough water and cloudy skies. I appreciate their review and hope to see them next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bed Bugs and mouse droppings!!

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Bed bug infestation in the room next to the kitchen. I wish we found it on day one. Check the mattress and box spring for little black/dark red marks, and the bottom drawer of the tall dresser next to the door. Also look for body shells as they molt when they grow. These were clearly visible between the mattress and the box spring. Owner said he'd "have to get new bedding." He doesn't know what he's in for. Bed bugs are hard to get rid of and that mattress is a bio-hazard. Based on the amount and size of these bugs they've been there for months and have had plenty to eat. I question how the owner didn't know about it. We'll be informing the neighbors to let them know to inform future guests to check it out. Neighbors are excellent people.

Mattress on the hide a bed under the twin bed in the room with the washer and dryer has mouse droppings and urine stains on it. The mouse trap next to the refrigerator didn't seem to catch it yet.

Rather minor details now...
No salt in the water softener left the water with some of the worst hard water/iron/sulfur problems I've ever seen. My toes turned orange. Disgusting shower, worse than my college housing.

No dishwasher but sleeps 8?

Ran out of propane, extra tank was empty.

Bikes were not in working order. Owner said to fill up the tires at the service station down the road, failed to realize he owned a bicycle pump in his shed. Both tires leaked near the valve stems, bikes unusable.

If you want an adventure, get some bed bugs right here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Wow!
This is the first complaint in six years of operation, and hopefully the last.

As a responsible owner, I take pride in the Lake House and the opportunity to provide a memorable stay for a relaxing vacation . All mattresses and box springs have been cleaned and sealed. No bugs have been found!

I will provide upon request references, guestbook entries, and names of repeat guests who are willing to share their positive experiences at the Lake House.

I solicit recommendations from my guests on how I can make their stay more enjoyable in the future. Past recommendations that have been implemented include installing a swim ladder, providing bikes, adding a safety rail in the bath, upgrading the cable to satellite TV, providing adapters to play I-Pods on the stereo systems, purchasing additional outdoor seating, a fire ring and a gas grill.

Standard Operating Procedure - Guest's purchases of household products and cleaning supplies that run out during their stay are reimbursed by the owner.

All clients are given the opportunity to view the house before making a reservation. I encourage you to visit the Lake House. The cleanliness of the house, the vacation value of having a great home to entertain your family and friends, and a host that will bend over backwards to make your stay a wonderful experience will be sure to meet your expectations.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review