reviews for: listing #67845 - Cancun, Yucatan Condo rental

Villas Marlin 2 bedroom 2 1/2 bath Free Wireless Internet
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Villas Marlin
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $975 - $1,750 /wk
    $2,500 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Amazing Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 18, 2014

We booked this property for one week for our family vacation. Overall the condo was as advertised. When we arrived we were very pleased with every aspect of the condo. The bottom bedroom was huge and had 2 beds with awesome mattresses. Very comfortable. There are 2 bathrooms both with showers which was a plus for our group of 6. Upstairs is the kitchen equipped with everything you could possible need. Plus a second bedroom , half bath , living room and a flat screen tv. The balcony offered a great view of the beach with crystal blue water. The condo itself was a very short walk to the pool area and the beach itself. Which made it convenient going back and forth. It's located right in the middle of the hotel zone. Close to all clubs and restaurants in the area. Security is there 24/7 which made it safe for all. There is a little convenience store in the complex which made it nice for quick beer runs or snacks for the kids. When we arrived we stopped at Walmart and stocked up on groceries for our stay. We cooked several times in the well equipped kitchen.
Overall we were very very pleased with the whole condo. It was truly as advertised and then some. And while the Villas Marlin itself is showing it's age , Shelley's condo is very well maintained and one of the better kept ones there.
Finally the beach in front of the condo is very very clean with crystal blue turquoise water. When we return to Cancun we will most definitely return to this condo.

Owners response: We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation in our home. Those queen beds are new and we love them too! We agree our location is ideal and we are on one of the nicest beaches in Cancun.
We look forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First time in Cancun.

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

This was our first time in Cancun, and we had a great experience. The condo was as described. It was very clean and the kitchen and bathrooms had everything we needed. It was wonderful to step out to the balcony every morning to watch the sunrise and listen to the ocean. Shelly and Ledy were great to talk to and made our stay a wonderful experience. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our condo here in Cancun. My favorite time of day also is to watch the beautiful sunrises here. We look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

This was our first trip to Cancun and we had a ball! This property was situated in a perfect location for us being located within a city block or two of a very nice mall, several restaraunts we liked alot, bus stop, taxi stop, and it was away from the crazy bar scene a ways too. The condo overlooks the beach and the beach is teriffic. The main pool is the only one i used andit is great -there is a snack bar/drinks poolside and a small store in the property. There is an ATM in the mall entrance - everything you need very close.
The condo itself is a nicely done 2 story overlooking the beach -and it is well taken care of and kept in great shape. All of the appliances worked well and it has everything you need if you plan to cook yourself. l cooked many of our meals and was happy with the kitchen especially the stove which was nice.
The complex itself is a little older but overall pretty well kept. Security personnel is courteous and pays attention to details.
Bus transportation is simple and cheap and can get you to church, walmart, farm market, ferry to the island etc very efficiently. Bus stop is very close 300 meters from Villas Marlin and i cant recall ever waiting more than 3-4 mins for a bus and we rode every day.....we never missed not having a car.
Yes - I would go again in a heartbeat!

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our home. I knew from your inquiry that you were very interested in having a well equipped kitchen
and we are glad it met your needs. My husband cooks so that's why there is every thing from an electric knife to a coffee bean grinder! We too agree our location is ideal that's why we bought in that complex. We really have the best of both worlds-in the middle of the hotel zone but located in a private, gated residential complex. We are very much suited to a family vacation which is I know what you were looking for. We look forward to having you return in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! The condo was comfortable and relaxing. We loved sitting on the patio looking at the beach as we had our coffee in the mornings. We hope to come back again soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed our home. Our favorite spot as well is the balcony over looking the beautiful beach and ocean and we often have dinner out there.We took great care to furnish and equip it with everything that would make it a comfortable, relaxing spot for people to enjoy.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, good condo complex

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

We have just returned from staying at this property. I would say that it is a very good value for money since you are in the best location on the Kukulcan Blvd. The condo complex is well maintained and security guards are all over the place. The beach is right across the big pool and you have life guards there looking after you.
The condo itself is equipped with everything you will need to enjoy your stay. We had our two small children with us and they had their own children swimming pool.
We rented a car to make our life easier and there was even space within the complex to park our car. We also had the option to use the lady appointed by the owners to help us around with cleaning and cooking and she was extremely useful.
I would recommend anyone to consider this place for a good holiday in Cancun.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great location and value!

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

Overall, this condo is in a great location in Cancun. Very conveniently located not too far north into the hotel area where the clubs are but also not too far south were there are no restaurants, etc. The condo is located right behind Plaza Kukulkan and many shops (an Oxxo, Domino's pizza, etc). So you can make a quick run if you ever need to. Our family enjoyed the pools in the complex and a quick hop to the beach. The staff was very friendly and the condo is fully equipped with anything you can possibly need and then some. Linens were fresh and good quality, internet and cable tv were a great plus!

On the down side, I was charged an extra $75 for my mom to join our group. While she was within the posted capacity of the condo I was told the condo is not rented on capacity but rather on who the immediate family party is. I would have likely passed on this condo had I known this. There is nothing wrong with this rule but I felt that this could be posted on the description of the condo. The complex is also on the older side and there was a constant "sewer" smell throughout the day. I asked the maintenance crew and was told that's just the case with any condo/hotel in the area (I thought it was weird though). Based on these two items I'm giving an "average" rating.

Another point worth noting, there is no playpen/crib available. Therefore I would not find this condo to be friendly to families with young children.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy our location was found to be ideal. That is exactly why we purchased in that area of the hotel zone. Also we visit often to use the condo ourselves which is why it is so well equipped. I have to apologize about the smell that was noted. Immediately adjacent to our complex there is excavation going on for a new building which unfortunately is causing the odor that was noted. The listing shows occupancy for 6 people. The client booked the rental for 5 people, himself, his wife and 3 children. He asked for and received a discounted rate based on that information. An e-mail was then sent 4 days later on 5/19/11 asking him to confirm the names of all occupants. He did not respond. On 8/9/11 days prior to arrival he informed me that his mother was also coming. The rate was changed to reflect this additional information. Total cost including his mother was still less than the quoted rate on the web site which is why I believe he titled his review “great location and value.”

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

We spent two weeks at Shelley's condo and we had a great time. The condo was exactly what Shelley told us it would be. It was clean and well equipped. My three kids had a lot of fun in the three pools. The beach was beautiful and there was a real lifeguard to make sure that the kids were safe. The people on staff at Villas Marlin were always very polite and helpful and this even if my Spanish is not very good. The condo is situated in a safe neighbourhood and is near public transportation which made it very easy to travel around. We would recommend this condo to anyone traveling to the Cancun area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your comments Julie. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our home. Our location is ideal and because we use the condo ourselves that is why you found it so well equipped. A washer dryer and dishwasher go a long way to making a 2 week stay with kids at the beach enjoyable!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Xmas in Cancun

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

This is an excellent condo to spend a vacation in, our family of 5 was more impressed with this condo than the resort we went to afterwards. The condo is exactly as described and the owner is excellent to deal with and always quick to respond, unit was very clean and up to date with newer appliances including full size gas range, refridgerator and washer / dryer. I would certainly book this condo again should I return to the Cancun area. This unit has everything you could ever possibly need including all utensils, cookware, patio with chairs, 3 bathrooms, 3 double beds (sleeps 6) beautiful pool overlooking miles of white sand beach just steps from the front door. There is a huge mall (Kukulcan Plaza) right outside the lobby of this secure facility. Buses stop along the main street in front of the mall that will take you most anywhere in Cancun for 8.50 Pesos per person (~70 cents) We used it every day (safe). There is a Wal-Mart in town (15 min ride) where you can get lots of groceries cheap. We found it very safe staying at this condo and throughout this whole area. There are many dining options all around the area from Mexican to Steak Houses such as Outback and Ruth Chris'. Isla Mujeures ferry is only a few minutes bus ride from here and certainly worth visiting.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us Alan. We are glad you and your family enjoyed our home. I think that is what makes us different from many other condos. It is a home. We live there several months of the year and that is why it is so well equipped. I believe we are also the only condo in our complex with a dishwasher. Lety our maid works very hard to be sure all is in order when we are not there and knows what our standards are in terms of cleanliness and up keep.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great time!

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

I just came back from a wonderful week in the condo. I was there with my family and it's a perfect size for 4 people.

Transportation was really easy-- just walk two blocks to the main road where there is a bus stop and a taxi stop. Though it's certainly in the Zona Hotelera, you are spared from the craziness of huge hotels, loud clubs, and drunk tourists. However, if that's what you want, it's an easy 10 minute bus ride away. It's great to have the comfort of a fully-equipped kitchen, and also nice to have a big mall a 10 minute walk away when you want to go to a restaurant for dinner.

Take literally 10 steps out of the condo to get to the pools, and 20 steps to get to the beach. It's perfect! The condo has beach chairs,an umbrella, and even boogee boards to complete the beach day experience.

The only bummer was that the ocean view from the balcony was obstructed by the roof and machinery of the condo right below/in front of us. You can still see the ocean (a beautiful assortment of blues!) but you cannot see the beach. The other difficulty-- not to be blamed on the condo, only the location-- was the difficulty in buying food for the kitchen. Because it's in the Zona Hotelera, there are no large supermarkets around so you have to either rely on small convenience stores or go to Cancun town to do big grocery shopping.

Other than that, it is truly a wonderful condo. Classy in style, with all white walls giving off a large and open atmosphere. Everything was extremely clean. Having free wi-fi was a necessity for our family to get our work done, and the wi-fi worked perfectly.

We got to get out of the city to see some of the surrounding areas-- it is absolutely worthwhile. There are underground lagoons and rivers you can go swimming in, and many remarkable Mayan ruins to visit. Since the condo is right next to the main road, it made getting out of Cancun simple. I definitely recommend the condo for everyone-- beach bums, Cancun clubbers, nature lovers, etc etc. It works for all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you found all in order. We will pass on your remarks about the condo being extremely clean to our maid who continues to work very hard at her job not only when renters are there but for us as well when we live there. Our favorite part too is that it is just steps to the pools and the ocean. When we bought the condo we traded off some obstruction in view to get as close as possible to the beach and the water.We were happy to hear you made such good use of the kitchen and found it well equipped. I love to cook when we visit as well. Thanks again for staying with us and we are happy you and your family had a great time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A comfortable ocean breeze and a great view

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2009

Highly recommended



It was my first trip to Cancun. I spent 30 days in Shelly’s and John’s condo waking up to a comfortable ocean breeze and a great view. Lina took care of me and got me settled in. A maid cleaned up after me every Wednesday. The buses were very convenient and only about $0.75 per trip. It was easy going back and forth to Walmart for everything I needed. Kukulcan Plaza, next door, offered good food and shopping. While I was there the beach was being repaired along the whole Cancun coast. They just finished up as I was leaving so there is a brand new beach in front of the condo. I had an opportunity to view two other units. They could not compare with this newly refinished unit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

We stayed for 10 days and wished we were there for longer. The condo was very clean and was furnished to a very high standard. It was a home away from home, everything was included. The location was great, one shopping mall behind and another 10 minutes walk. Buses left the other side of the mall making life easy to get around. Shelly was great to talk to, and Lina met us at the condo at the time we said we would arrive. She settled us in and told us to ring her if we needed anything. The complex was extremely clean and tidy, pools lovely and plenty of sun loungers! The beach was fantastic, the boys (including husband!) enjoyed the waves so much we had to buy body boards!
We would recommend staying here to anyone who loves the sun and sea as it was the most perfect vacation. We would love to come back again. I had read the previous reviews and these had helped me with our decision, I'm so glad we picked to stay here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our home. We spend a great deal of time there ourselves because we love Cancun. We hope you will stay with us again. Shelly

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

10 great days in Cancun

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

We had a great time in Cancun and it helped having a nice place to go back to at the end of a busy day. It was clean and had plenty of space for the 5 of us. Air conditioning was a God send, and with teenagers on the trip having Wi-Fi was a major plus. The beach is a 1 minute walk away and is very clean the pool was also fantastic. The kitchen is fully supplied to do your own cooking if a person chooses to do so. The condo is located next to Kukulkan Plaza which came in real handy when it was time to shop for stuff to take home to family or when we decided to eat out. And the buses were also easily accessable from the condo.

This condo would be a great place to stay for Singles, Couples, and Families.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our home. We too have teens that visit and so we know Wi-Fi is a must. We are glad you found the condo clean and in order. Ledy our cleaning woman works very hard to be sure it is that way.
Thanks for choosing us. Shelly

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: July 16, 2009   Date of arrival: July 2, 2009

We found this property through this website. It was the first time for us in 10 years of going to Cancun to rent a condo. We contacted Shelly and she sounded really nice and reasonable with the info and the price. The condo is in excellent condition! everything was crystal clean and they have everything you need to have in a home! nice dishes and pretty furniture. Beutiful ocean view and access easy access to shopping centers around the area. We really enjoy staying here and we would like to go back again! We had a great experience and love this place... Thank you so much for everything :)!!!

Susan

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wow!

Review submitted: January 23, 2009   Date of arrival: December 24, 2008

My family stayed in this wonderful unit at Christmas 2008. Everything was as represented. The location was terrific, the beach awesome (loved the waves), the pools were uncrowded with plenty of lounges and umbrellas and everything worked! Having the in-unit washer and dryer was especially nice! No more having to hang towels all over the place to get them dry. The property manager, Lina met us at the entrance (even though we were later than anticipated), got us settled in and checked on us a couple of times during our visit to make sure everything was going well. Shelly was wonderful to work with by email and made sure I had all the information I needed. I would highly recommend this property to friends and family and plan to stay again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review