reviews for: listing #67919 - St Louis, Missouri House rental

3 Bedroom Loft House on 40 acres w/ 6 & 3 acre lake
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $135 - $195 /nt
    $795 - $1,170 /wk
    $1,750 - $3,875 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We had a girl's weekend of five of us who are still friends from high school (we're now in our mid-forties!) It was a great place to hole up and just enjoy talking and enjoying one another!

The host was wonderful when we had a small issue and she even stopped by personally to make sure that we were okay.

The facilities were clean and very comfortable. Even sharing one bathroom with 5 women (!) we had no issues!

Thanks for a lovely time - we're talking about doing this every year!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

Had a great time in St. Louis; house was everything we expected. everything in good working order, plenty of room, property was very clean!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Leslee

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

This property was exactly as described. It was very obvious that the owners take great pride in their property as it is very well maintained. The owners were very helpful and worked with us to resolve the little minor stuff that we needed assistance with. I have already recommended this property to friends and relatives because we were pleased with our stay. The location was about 30 mins. outside of the city and easy to access (after our initial wandering). The kids enjoyed fishing and kayaking in the pond. We will definitely stay there again if we are in the area!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, we would love to have you and your family back

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best family vacation ever!!!!

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

This property and location was amazing! This was exactly what I wanted for our family. We are raising 6 adopted special needs children (20, 15, 10, 7, 4.5 and 4) and instead of constantly stimulating them with only theme parks, we wanted to expose them to a different way of life. We DID do Six Flags, zoo and Raging Rivers, but over a 10 day stay, we had plenty of time to enjoy the outdoors. The kids fished and caught (and released) many fish as the lake was well-stocked. They jumped off the dock and swam, caught a toad and numerous baby frogs, met new family members at a family reunion under an awesome pavilion, made s'mores around a fire and crashed every night tired from kid adventures!

We had a few glitches when we got there and needed help and the owners were so helpful and responsive.

We loved this spot and were fortunate to have found an affordable, beautiful location that easily accommodated our large family. You won't be disappointed! Perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Gayle. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit. We love it here and would love to have you back. I love to hear about our home getting so much use.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The Birthday

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Pros: place was neat and clean, very roomy and comfortable, the Lake was beautiful and well stocked, the kitchen was stocked well, owners responded to us promptly. They accommodated me with the other 2 bedroom home in which allowed us to have 5 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It is really nice to be able to sit out on the deck and look at the lake. Also, it was great just being able to enjoy your family and have a good time. There was plenty of room to put blowup mattresses and sit and be comfortable.

Cons: most rental properties have more than one bathroom, could use more dish towels, could use a small radio, could use a tv in each bedroom

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We have added more towels and a radio. I hope your husband had a great birthday!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun Times

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Pros: place was neat and clean, very roomy and comfortable, the Lake was beautiful and well stocked, the kitchen was stocked well, owners responded to us promptly. They accommodated me with the other 2 bedroom home in which allowed us to have 5 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It is really nice to be able to sit out on the deck and look at the lake. Also, it was great just being able to enjoy your family and have a good time. There was plenty of room to put blowup mattresses and sit and be comfortable.

Cons: most rental properties have more than one bathroom, could use more dish towels, could use a small radio, could use a tv in each bedroom

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. I agree with the need for a second bathroom, hopefully that will be in the near future. A radio is a good idea and I will pick one up. We will also have to add a couple TVS to the home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for the price

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. The kids had a blast fishing and using the boats, and the place was more than enough room for our family of 7! The owners were easy to deal with and friendly. At one point we locked ourselves out and they came and let us in. The beds were especially comfortable and we all slept well.

The only negatives were that there was old moldy coffee in the coffee pot (which I have no doubt the owners would have fixed if I'd told them about it) and there is a barn and lots of construction materials in close proximity. Also, the dishwasher, while hooked up, wasn't attached and when loaded would fall out of place, at one point hitting our toddler on the head. Again, I didn't tell the owners and they would have fixed it if they'd known.

Overall, I was pleased with the experience for the price. I'd stay there again.

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback and I wish we had known about the small issues you had. I have sent the repair guy over for the dishwasher and also talked to my cleaning lady about the coffee pot. I wish I could do something about the barn, we are couple of years away from moving it to a more remote area on the other side of the lake.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

New Year's in St. Louis

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Comfortable house; good condition; lack of internet is a drawback; shower could have worked better; lack of a kettle was somewhat problematic. Otherwise, beautiful property. Clean. Enjoyed the stay very much.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Clean, Equipped

Review submitted: December 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2012

I met my family here to celebrate Christmas. The house was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the kitchen was equipped with all of the materials we might need. Only one problem: if you don't like stairs, this wouldn't be the cabin for you, as the entire house is two flights up.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Together

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Very clean and comfortable. Having a washer and dryer was nice too. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We had a great time! The house was nicely furnished and the land was amazing.
We had 3 families with small children and the kids were able to fish and play outside! Very close to several restaurants and shopping. About 30 minutes from The Magic House! Much better than staying in a hotel!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for our family!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

We were very happy to stay at the house for our vacation. I have many children, and the property was so nice and safe for all of them to go out and run and play. It really beat trying to stay in a hotel for the amount of time we were staying.
The house is very well stocked in the kitchen with small appliances, pans, and dishes to meet our needs. The furnishings were nice and we enjoyed playing games and watching movies on the big screen tv.
It is located in a private spot, but is not far from shopping and sightseeing in St. Louis.
We hope to stay there again if we are able to make the trip next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Chery we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have back again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loft house Review

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

We rented this as a scrapbook weekend for 3 ladies. The house is delightful, and we enjoyed the deck. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are clean. We asked for 3 tables, each 4'x6' and were told these could be provided, but when we arrived, we had one card table and a 2.5'x4' table. After a phone call, another appropriate sized table was delivered, but we were still short on space. The kitchen table is very nice, but is extra tall, so is not scrapbook-usable. When you arrive, you should know that you cannot park in the garages, and the steps to the house are outside, but covered (i.e. not heated or air-conditioned.) Furthermore, there are 22 steps, so carrying things in is quite a chore. We also found that the pans in the kitchen are very old and food-caked. Bring your own toilet paper, paper towels, dish detergent, foil, plastic wrap, etc. as these are not furnished. The third bedroom has a comfortable spring and mattress, but no frame. It did not bother us, but be aware if this concerns you. We would also recommend bringing your own towels as the ones provided were damp when we arrived, and they appear dingy. The kitchen dishrags had a slight odor, and the bathroom washrags were stained. When we left, no one had come by to pick up the checks, so we called and were told to leave them on the kitchen cabinet. This made us a bit uncomfortable as the house was also left unlocked. We were there for3 full days and 2 half days. The place would be great for a family get-away (though the play set has one leg rotted through - I would not plan on using it.). We will rent again if we cannot find anyplace else, but we will bring our own tables, more supplies, and a lot less scrapbook equipment to carry up the stairs!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Memorial Day Family Reunion 2012

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We rented both homes that gave us a total of 5 BR & 2 baths plus a bonus shower in the basement. The space was great so we could all be together or to spread out. The only request would be to have an extra toilet in each house & a garbage disposal in the cottage. The pond provided hours of fun for the kids to swim and we caught no less than 20 fish. There are several bon fire spaces and room for all your outdoor games. The property sits on a dead end-so we were very comfotable with the kids exploring the land. Loved the place and Sean & Heidi (the owners) were more than accomodating- they made sure we were happy and having fun. Thanks so much for all your TLC & making sure fun was had by all.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We are so glad you had such a great time. We love it here and love to see other people enjoy the property. We are putting another toilet in the smalle house soon. Thanks for staying with us and come back soon. Sean and Heidi

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice Property

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

The loft is a nice getaway location. It is close enough to everything you do not have to travel very far, yet far enough out that you do not feel the fast pace of the city. The property has a covered deck that you can sit out on a look over the lake. We had a very nice time at the loft.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for you review.. We are so glad you enjoyed the home and property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Get Away

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

This was a great family get away. We had a party of 4 adults and 5 kids (ranging from 6 - 14). They provided us with air mattresses for the kids. The adults had a great time playing cards on the patio while the kids played on the playground, visted the horses and played with the dogs. The house is set back for privacy but minutes from a busy shopping area and really close to St. Louis. If ever in the area again, I would love to stay there again. I only wish there was more than one bathroom :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for your review and we really appreciate your feedback. I agree with the one bath issue and we hope to add another in the future. We hope you come back and stay with us again in the future.

Heidi and Sean

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

This was the perfect place to get away for the weekend. I came with 7 other friends from work and we were all comfortable in this very roomy house. The house had everything you could possibly need, it was still close to a city if we needed something yet far away enough that we felt like we were in the country. I will definitely recommend this place to everyone I know and I will for sure be back in the summer. And to make it even better, the owner, Sean, was such a nice guy, he let us be and relax yet he was still there if we needed anything. Thanks for your hospitality!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you make it back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for our needs!

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

I was traveling with a group to St. Louis for a historic reenactment event, and while we normally stay with friends, our group was just too large this time. The rental was perfect. Everyone slept comfortably, our sewers had room to bring their machines and finish projects, and we loved having the TV to watch movies on while hanging out. We will definitely be repeat visitors!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and stay with us soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing and nice place to get away

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

After spending a long day at SLU hospital it was nice to come and relax outside on the deck. Really would have been great to have ceiling fan outside. The house is nice and very well equipped. The kids enjoyed fishing my daughter even caught one. Sean had advised that they would be having fireworks on the 3rd of July but what he didn't tell us was they would be awesome. The younger adults really enjoyed them. We really enjoyed our stay and given the opportunity we will return.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Sorry we hadn't responded to you before now. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us last year and hope you make it back out to visit again. We did a lot of cleaning to the lake last year and it is even more beautiful out here than before.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great family vacation

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

Brought the whole family 6 kids 2 inlaws 1 grandchild, and had a great time. The fishing was good the bon fires were great and the house was wonderful.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks we hope you come back

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

A group of us came in from Kansas City for the weekend. The house was in a great location, only about 20 minutes from downtown St. Louis. We had 10 in our group and the owner Sean went out of his way to make sure we had a good weekend. We will be back this summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for visiting our home we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great weekend retreat

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

A group of us came to St. Louis from Kansas City for the weekend. We had such a good time. The area was nice and quiet. The owner, Sean went out of his way to make our weekend the best it could be. On the way back to KC we were planning our next trip there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review