reviews for: listing #67932 - Jaco, Costa Rica Villa rental

If Heaven had a window, this would be your view!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Punta Leona Resort
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $1,500 /nt

sort by:

UNMATCHED BEAUTY!!

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

This was my first trip to Costa Rica, however, it seemed like I had been there a million times because everything was made so easy for me. It's like having the service of hotel with the comforts of a home.

I recently returned from a four day trip to Bella Vista, which is the name of a beautiful house located in Punta Leona, Costa Rica (note: any house that has a name is a special house). After an easy trip from Los Angeles to San Jose, Costa Rica, I was greeted at the aiport by Bella Vista's concierge - Peter. He is an extremely knowledgeable and friendly ex-pat who made the scenic 45-minute drive from the airport right to the front door very enjoyable. Peter let us know that he was available to assist us with whatever we needed and not to hesitate asking as he lives next door down. I walked up the twisting front staircase, beyond the hand-carved wooden pillars and through the front doors of Bella Vista right into a slice of heaven!! The front doors open into a wide open foyer through which you can view the spectacular infiinity pool and sweeping 180 degree ocean views. I truly felt like a kid who was just given keys to the palace!! Avoiding my immediate urge to grab a bathing suite and a cold beer, I excitedly toured the entire house. Each of the five bedroom has a terrific ocean view. However, the master bedroom is straight out of a Hollywood movie. I plunked my bags down (in the Master Suite of course) and walked out onto each of the three balconies with beath-taking ocean views, admired the tiled shower/jacuzzi, and pinched myself a few times to make sure this was real....it was!!

Topping off the home's beauty are Gina and Carlos who live in the house and take careof everything you need, incuding cleaning, laundry and three, daily perfectly cooked feasts!! Let me reiterate the word FEAST!

Punta Leona is a beautiful gated community with great beaches, restaurants and a cool bar/lounge as well. While you never would have to leave Punta Leona, my adventurous side carried me out and about to Jaco for surfing and nightlife, canopy tours via amazing zip lines, and world-class deep sea fishing!!

Pack your bags and get to Bella Vista.....I cant wait to return!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Luxuriously relaxing vacation

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

Bella Vista is a truly breathtaking villa with top of the line accomodations and service. The staff makes every effort to make your stay perfect. The location alows you to easily enjoy all that Costa Rica has to offer from beaches to rainforests all right in your back yard. I can't wait to retur!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Greatest 60th Birthday Present

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

I tasked my wife with planning a family vacation for my 60th birthday. Bella Vista was it and the experience exceeded all our expectations (which were high to begin with). The age of the family members ranged from 17 to 62 with all the varied interests and temperaments that come with this range in age. Bella Vista kept everyone entertained with activities at the villa or within a short walk or prearranged day tours. Carlos and Gina prepared fabulous meals and even accommodated my peculiar dietary restrictions. They are the kindest, sweetest people and will always be in our hearts for the care they gave us during our visit. Pete, our concierge, took care of all arrangements (food, tours, advise, etc.) and was always available. The villa is spectacular…the pool, the spa, the views, the weather….the family memories and stories that we will be with us for the rest of our lives. This vacation was the greatest, most relaxing vacation I have ever had. Relaxing not because we didn’t do anything because we had activities every day but because we never had to think or worry about anything. Carlos, Gina and Pete took care of everything. Thank you to my wife for the best birthday ever.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Group of 10 - 40th Birthday party

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 5, 2014

Our stay at Bella Vista was a top notch experience, from the moment we booked everything was carefully executed. Peter and Lisa (our own concerige) made sure to make contact to assist in whatever we wanted booked for the week, from supplies, to tours, they were very hosipitable and a wealth of knowledge. They continually checked in on us to find out if we needed anything. Gina and Carlos the couple who lives on site, were a pleasure to get to know. They cooked three meals a day, each meal was delicious. Real home cooking. They were a joy to be around. The house as you can see from the pictures, is every bit as beautiful as it says it is...the view is spectacular, the pool equally amazing. Every detail is thought about, from wine glasses, towels, etc. We had 4 other couples in our group (5 couples in total) the house is very well laid out, we never felt like we were on top of each other. Gina and Carlos, though separate this house from the rest. Their graciousness, their execution, attention to detail, the cooking, cleaning etc was simply amazing. We will miss them most. A great vacation - a great memory. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bella Vista was fabulous! It was over the top!

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

There were 10 of us in the house and we were never in each other's way. The meals prepared by Carlos and Gina were delicious! We lived like the rich and famous for a few days! Peter and Lisa were very gracious and helpful. We could not have asked for more, they arranged everything we asked for. You will not be disappointed if you go to this property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unobstructed and Stunning Views

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

Bella Vista was the ultimate location to gather with friends and family. We all had a tremendous and joy-filled holiday with ample time to enjoy our guests. The villa has a perfect layout for entertaining and finding a quiet corner to curl up with a book. The views are spectacular. Admiring the sunset from the edge of the infinity pool became a daily ritual. Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Stunning Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

I have stayed in many vacation homes in the Central American area and this is by far the best. The moment you walk in and meet the cooks, you will feel at home. An amazing 3 floor layout with 5 bedrooms all offering stunning views of the ocean. My favorite part must be the meals served 3 times daily on the outdoor table.... Words can't describe how amazing the experience you will have eating in that setting. Will definitely stay again! A must stay for anyone traveling to Costa Rica.
Thanks for the hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing home in Punta Leona!

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

Apologies for a brief review, but the place really does not need much - it was outstanding.

- The home is beautiful and the view is even better.
- Carlos and Gina provide cooking/cleaning services and they are unbelievable. The food was fantastic, the home was very clean, and they were extremely hospitable folks.

The place was perfect and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Costa Rican Ocean Retreat

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

This is a wonderful home overlooking the Gulf of Nicoya with a relaxing spacious interior. Carlos and Gina, the live-in cooks/staff were very pleasant and helpful and cooked magnificent meals. The multiple balconies and glassed walls in each room blurred the line between interior and exterior space. Overall, a great place to relax and enjoy one's self!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Stay at Bella Vista in Costa Rica

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

What a place....the views are spectaular and the service (Gina and Carlos are live in chef and house keepers) took wonderful care of us and Gina cooked three meals a day for us that should have bene on Food Network!! We went fishing, took a canopy tour (zip lining), went horse back riding and I even played golf once at an awesome marroitt course 20 min fomr the house. We can't wait to go bacK. Even the two girls (9 and 10) had the time of thier lives hangin in the infinity pool and swimming in the ocean!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tropical Paradise Vacation

Review submitted: December 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

Imagine waking up to the sound of waves lapping up on the shore below your private balcony. Smell the fresh costa rican coffee wafting up from Gina's kitchen with Carlos providing the fresh fruit and bakery items to start your day. Beautiful breakfast with homemade cauliflower pancakes, fresh papaya, fresh squeezed orange juice,red beans & rice,and other treats to spice up your meal. You have just enough time to take a dip in the endless edge pool, then a jacuzzi in the un-believeable spa. Next your day awaits as you are picked up at the front door by your personal driver for a trip to "Los Suenos" and jungle zip lining. The most difficult task is deciding how and where you want to spend your days. Surf the pristine waves at your own private beach located below, or float in the pool and get some sun on the floaties provided. This was the best vacation and the accomodations were perfect. Carlos, Gina, Pete & Lisa took care of everything and made sure you were taken care of "Pura Vida" style. We can't wait to get back to our friends in Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A vacation that will take your breath away

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

Words can hardly express this truly amazing house in beautiful Punta Leona Costa Rica. As we approached the home I was speechless as I walked up the stairs and in thru the front door and could not believe that I was at this beautiful place Bella Vista! With all the excitement we could hardly wait to run thru the house and pick out are rooms! Each room was perfect, once we set our bags down I went outside and had to pinch myself as I looked up into the sky it was filled with light. Being there in the rainy season definitely has a bonus!! As we gazed into the sky lightning covered the dark night with the absolute beauty of nature. We could hardly wait to see what morning had to offer!
As we woke up to the beautiful sunshine what better place to have the most perfect cup of coffee you have ever tasted. Preprared special by Carlos and Gina, who made the most amazing breakfast. Not to mention every other breakfast lunch and dinner they made for us for the whole week. Carlos and Gina were fabulous they made sure everything was absolutely perfect and in place . We were so spoiled I didn't want to come home! They made the experience at Bella Vista unforgettable including Pete and Lisa. They made perfectly sure we knew about all the different activites and that we had a van to pick us up when ever we wanted to go to town. And when we ran out of hot sauce, which was often they would go to the store and pick up what ever we needed! I truly felt like we were royalty and had the true experience of a vacation.
Costa Rica on it's own is one of mother natures outstanding creations. You have never seen so many shades of green, so many different flowers, birds, monkeys and had such a fresh breath of complete serenity. Then to put Bella Vista in the middle of it all and it will take your breath away. We are already planning our trip to return! And can not wait to come back to visit and finish everything else we did not get to do in the 7 days we were there! No matter what your plans are for visiting Bella Visa relaxing or going on an adventure you will not be disappointed!! I can promise you that!
Pura Vida!!!!
Tovi Chrisite

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing trip, even more amazing home!!!

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

Wow, this place was stunning! Gorgeous views everywhere, a beautiful interior that opened completely to the outdoors, and a pool we never wanted to leave! We had a group of 9, and it was more than spacious...we could have brought several more along and still been quite comfortable. It was hard to leave the house for excursions, although there was much to do in the area, and we couldn't wait to get back home to our fabulous home-cooked meals!! Carlos and Gina were the perfect accompaniment to the home...cooking us three fabulous meals a day and becoming dear friends along our stay. Peter, just across the street was invaluable as concierge, helping us plan our activities and making sure we had a ride! I would recommend this place to anyone who wants the vacation of a lifetime, I know it was for me!!! I would give this home 10 stars if I could... I can't wait to go back!!!!

Leslie Pier

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enchanting Bella Vista!!!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

The alluring call of Bella Vista far and away took us to an amazing, incredible adventure high above the ocean, yet close enough to feel the ripple of each wave carressing mind, body and spirit!! As we weaved our way to the very top of our own mind blowing ridge with the most gorgeous, splendid mansion awaiting the party to a lifetime, a feeling of relief flooded our beings as our AH HA moment finally arrived.

We could have never anticipated the beauty, the majestic and heartfelt coziness that encompassed each of us as we ran to find which breathtaking quarters would be ours for 7 magical days!!! Photos could not in our lifetime be adequate to blend together the warmth and beauty awaiting us every morning we rose to view the lush forest surrounding us, the fabulous coffee and breakfast created by the Famous Gina and Carlos and the coolness of the inviting invisible pool dropping off, it seemed, into the blue Pacific!

True words spoken of Lisa and Pete, who lavished each of us in our smallest desires, who day after day picked us up and delivered us wherever we chose to go, bought our groceries and gifted us with their beautiful presence, always with a smile to lift our already smitten spirits! Our heartfelt appreciation and love will be with them forever!

Above all, and in the midst of a heavenly experience, fabulous Gina and Carlos continuously surrounded our out of body experience with their delicious Costa Rican breakfasts, lunches and dinners, their expertise of keeping our home fresh and oh so gorgeous and blessed us with their precious spirits throughout our way too brief stay! We are all charmed, every cell in our bodies enchanted and our lives made brilliantly changed by our incredible adventure to Bella Vista!

Paradise is alive and well at Bella Vista and will always be first on our list of splendor, love and beauty, quietly awaiting the sound of laughter and fun to arrive on the outrageous staircase to heaven! We shall return to renew our hearts, minds and spirits to Bella Vista! Pura Vida ~ A slice of heaven awaits!

Much Love,

Leah, Jim, Tovi & All Our Fun Loving Crew

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best vacation ever, Love Bella Vista!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Only need 3 words to describe this place fabulous, fantastic, and wonderful. As a large group of 12 adults, it was hard to find the right place, but we found it in Bella Vista in Punta leona. The staff which consisted of Carlos and Gina, was amazing. Great people and great cooks! If you can, get at least one breakfast and one dinner prepared by them. It is absolutely worth it. The house maid, is a very sweet person who makes your home away from home sparkly clean. We had a great time here, and were lucky enough to enjoy the most beautiful sunset from the best view in Costa Rica from our infinity pool. We were sad to leave Bella Vista. Can't wait to return next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing experience at Bella Vista

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

What would you like your vacation to be when going to COSTA RICA?

If you want amazing, relaxing, stress free, all is taken care of for you, then book Bella Vista because you will find Paradise. All I can say is WOW. This place (the Home, the triple gated community, the grounds, the view etc) along with Peter and Lisa, the property managers, who live about a stone throw away made this trip so wonderful. I will not forget Carlos and Gina. They are the live in couple who live downstairs and cook all 3 meals and clean the home. You never see them other than when they are making an amazing meal every time.

Peter set up all our transportation, set up the zip lining told us where to go and not to. Both he and Lisa are wonderful people and will guide you to having a sweet trip. However, I would suggest going to Jaco, about 15min drive once you get out of the 15min drive from the amazing gated community. After going to Jaco and coming home to Bella Vista, you feel so safe, so at home and so peaceful... I call the pool there, the pool in the sky, because it literally looks like it from all the photos I took. I posted them on FB and all my friends were so loving them and totally Jealous. If I could find this exact set up where ever I traveled in the world, I would do it every single time for the rest of my life... Absolutely amazing, wonderful, peaceful and all the rooms are separated from one another.

I hope to get back to Bella Vista again soon.

Mucho Gusto.

If you like to confirm this place is amazing and ask any questions, email me at carlosg@paradisefoundsd.com

FYI: Order the masseuse to come to the house. Absolutely wonderful. The pics they have on this site do not do the home justice.

PS: Would be a 6 STAR REVIEW, if there was one.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nothing Short Of Amazing

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

My husband, myself and 10 family members got the very special chance to vacation in this absolutely beautiful house and it was the time of our lives. I couldn't have asked for anything more. Highly recommended to any and all that want to have a beautiful vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bellavista, Punta Leona, CR

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

The villa is very comfortable and the views of the sea are outstanding. Watching the birds and clouds is wonderful. Carlos and Gina, housekeeper and cook, keep the place immaculate and provide tasty meals. The house is a little far for foot excursions, but Pete, the manager, and his wife Lisa, live down the street and will make all the arrangements for tours and drivers. Bring your own shampoo, but everything else is provided. A delightful and restful stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing vacation home. Definitely worth it.

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Very spacious and comforting home. The view is to die for. You can honestly spend most of your vacation just at the home and really have a great time. My family will definitely come back. We got the best service ever and the food was amazing. Breakfast, lunch and dinner all amazing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Our stay at Bella Vista house was excellent. The rooms were very nice, clean, and large, including the convenience of a microwave, fridge and cook. The managment team were extremely friendly and helpful, with special thanks to Carlos and Gina. The house had an amazing pool and lounging areas. Overall the house had an impressive design and decor. We would definitely stay again. We would highly recommend anyone to vacation at the bella vista house. My wife and I traveled with four other couples and everyone had their own room. Since I put the trip together my wife and I had the master bedroom, which was out of this world. I trully felt we were in an episode of MTV's Cribs. Our room was a resort in itself, that being said the other couples had no complaints with their rooms which were equally amazing. We got to enjoy all the splendid benefits offered at Punta Leona like: private, beach, towels, chairs, umbrellas, awesome pools and lounge areas. We rarely ate out considering Carlos is an amazing cook and everthing he put together was amazing. The rice and black beans are a must but you have to try his pork chops in curry sauce. Punta Leona is located near all the activities we wanted to do (Zip Line, Croc Man Tour, Nightlife in Jaco, Outback Jack's, ATV, Scuba diving, and white water rafting.) We had a blast with the activities during the day time, but staying at the house enjoying the amenities was equally satifying.
In terms of site seeing- we suggest visiting Manuel Antonia National Park which is about 50 minutes away. The streets and shops are very quaint and a pleasure to stroll through. It is also a great place to find gifts for friends and family back home. I highly recommend you enjoy a cold imperial either in the hot tub or the pool, both of which have the best view ever. You can not fathom how intense it was to be on the balcony holding my wife, looking at the most amazing sunset. For anyone planning on visiting Costa Rica, we recommend you stay at the bella vista house, drink a Imperial, and enjoy PURA VIDA!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Blew My Expectations Away!

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

From a selfish standpoint, I almost regret providing such a positive review because it means that more people are going to learn about this amazing place. Consequenly, I'll have to compete against more people to try to rent this villa again. :( Nonetheless, here goes... First of all, YES!, the villa and the view ARE as good as what you see in the photos above. Second, Carlos and Gina are wonderful and very helpful. I could not have asked for better on-site staff, and their meals were wonderful. Also, Pete and Lisa were also more than willing to help with our questions and many random requests from our 10-person group. Kind people all the way around!

I especially loved the proximity to the beach. Assuming you're in pretty good shape, you can take a brisk walk and get to the beach in less than 15 minutes. I can't wait to return and enjoy more excursions and relaxation at the villa and beaches.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One of the best vacations I've ever had!

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

When we arrived at Bella Vista we were pleasantly surprised that the pictures on the website were accurate. The view was breath taking. The zero edge pool that over looks the ocean was beautiful and refreshing. The home decor was stylish and fun with beautiful touches through out. Carlos and Gina were a great addition to this beautiful home. All there meals were wonderful and made from scratch costa rican style. They always politely excused themselves after every meal and quietly appeared in time wash every dish. The only thing that could
have made the view perfect was dolphins. Maybe next time.

Peter did a great job at arranging all our outings and was always there to help. The ziplinning tour was amazing and should not be skipped. The rest of our time was spent at the house or at the beach and was the most relaxed I have ever been.

We will definitely visit Bella Vista again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation home

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Bella Vista. The home was so beautiful and relaxing. The views were amazing! Carlos and Gina could not have been more hospitable, and the home cooked meals were delicious. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation at Bella Vista

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

I have just returned from 5 days at Bella Vista - and every moment was perfect.

The house itself was more beautiful than the pictures. The pool and the view from it are amazing. We spent most of our time out there relaxing, watching the ocean and the sunsets and enjoying the wildlife.

We slept 10 - 5 couples - quite comfortably - with lots of privacy and space. The food was delicious, prepared by the sweetest couple Carlos and Gina.

The local concierge arranged tours for us - ziplining and a national park tour - that included a comfortable transfer. He also gave us tips on the local beaches and tidepools. Bella Vista's surrounding area is itself worth a visit.

I highly recommend this property for its beauty, its staff and all the bells and whistles that make Bella Vista a stellar property.

Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Dream come true

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

I have been dieing to go to Costa RIca for over 5 years and this place was nothing short of fabulous. Troy & Pete helped us plan all the adventures for our stay while we were there and Carlos & Gina (the live in staff) made us home cooked Costa Rican food which was delicous (love the black bean dip) and made us feel like we were family. The house was amazing, clean, comfortable & relaxing. The views were incredible, I woke up every morning to a breathe taking sky, blue water & plush green trees. Overall the trip was amazing & I would definitely go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing vacation

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

My friends and I just had the most incredible vacation in Costa Rica and the Bella Vista had everything to do with this unforgettable experience. It's a beautiful house, surrounded by incredible scenery. You truly feel like you're removed from the world and staying in your own gorgeous resort. When I showed my pictures at work, I was almost embarrassed at how lavish this house was. Gina and Carlos are fabulous... They stuffed us full of delicious food and were so warm and friendly that I missed them when I got back to reality. They made us feel right at home. Truly an unforgettable trip in an unbelievable setting. Is house gives you a completely different experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place!!!!!!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

Great place to vacation. As soon as we got there, we were welcomed by the house keepers Carlos, Gina and the property managers. They were excellent in making our stay comfortable and provided us with anything we needed. The property was Immaculate. One of the best features is the inifinity pool. When you are coming back from a fishing trip or white water rafting expedition, nothing is more soothing than jumping into the pool and looking out to the ocean. The rooms were spacious and excellent.

The meals were to DIE for. Everything was cooked to perfection. Have Gina make the black bean dip. Out of this world.

We will definitely be back, hopefully for a longer stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Knox Review

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We went there with a group of friends to attend a destination wedding. After a overnight plane ride into San Jose, we pick up our rental car and toured the capital and then drove to Poas Volcano. Unfortuanately we go lost multiple times on our way to Puenta Leona as Costa Rica does not have a lot of signs. We arrived at dusk, tired, dirty, hungry and grouchy. We drove up to this palace, lit up and were greeted by some of our friends(who had a GPS) and Peter. We were served drinks and appetizers by Carlos and Jenna (later dinner). We toured the house, picked out our rooms and had the most delightful stay. We chose the two meal plan, breakfast and dinner. Carlos and Jenna had it ready for us at our choosing and it was really good. The pool was fabulous, warm and clean. The hot tub was only used rarely because the pool was so great. After breakfast, we usually toured or went to the beach at Jaco. After we got back the house was cleaned including daily fresh sheets.
I have to admit, this was one of the best vacations we had. Our olders kids loved it also. I would recommend this place to a group of close friends who would like to stay together and have great amenities. Jaco has some great restaurants, but we enjoyed our before dinner drinks and none of us wanted to drive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than advertised

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

It was incredible! The house was better than advertised. Just loved the open feeling of living outside and inside at the same time. The people that helped take care of our every needs were great. Pete and Lisa arrange tours for us and the tour guides were the absolute best. Carlos and Gina provided us with wonderful meals. We couldn't as for better. I'd go back in a heartbeat. I can't get much better than this. There are stairs so I would recommend this to any one needing a wheelchair.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

CHILL OUT IN COSTA RICA

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

When you want to chill out, the best place is Costa Rica. The best place in Costa Rica is Bella Vista.

The beach in the complex is just down the road--which is OK because up the hill is Bella Vista with the million dollar view--from the infinity pool with a local Imperial beer.

Pete and Lisa (managers nearby) make sure you have access to tours, the best cafes, and all Costa Rica has to offer. Be sure and ask about the vanilla tour!

Jaco is a great town to be a tourist!

I will return to Bella Vista ASAP!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PARADISE IN COSTA RICA

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

I recently returned from paradise. Bella Vista is paradise.

Bella Vista was our anchor for a fabulous vacation--touring, surfing, snorkeling, and returning each evening to a fabulous meal prepared by Gina & Carlos. The next day would start with breakfast from Gina & Carlos.

The pictures of Bella Vista do not fully capture the openness. The glass walls open up to the outdoors and so you live the Costa Rica experience during the day--with air conditioning at night in your room, if you wish.

The vacation was an adventure, with Bella Vista as the focal point.

Do not go to Costa Rica without experiencing the best!

I hope to return ASAP.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great trip with friends!

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

I have recently returned from an amazing week in Costa Rica staying at the Bella Vista house with a group of friends! The home is a bit of a ride off the main road but well worth the trip! Your bound to see some amazing local wildlife each time you come and go from the house. The second you walk in the door at Bella Vista you know your going to have a great trip. The decor is beautiful but only second to the view of the Pacific Ocean that you can see from almost every room of the house. Once inside we met Carlos and Gina who live downstairs. They are the onsite staff who helped to make this trip so satisfying. These two can cook up a storm for sure and provided us with some incredible Costa Rican meals! They also spend the rest of the day maintaining the beauty of Bella Vista. The activities in Costa Rica are fantastic and range from in house massages to white water rafting and the best sports fishing in the world! I could go on and on but to really get a feel for this amazing house I would recommend you just book a trip and see for yourself!! I promise you wont be disappointed!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded our expectations!

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

We had the pleasure of spending our spring break at Bella Vista with our four boys (ages 9, 9, 12 and 13). We have been home for over a month now and we’re all still longing for the amazing time we spent in Costa Rica. It’s hard not to fall in love with every aspect and experience of being in this lovely home. While we only had our family of six there, the home is clearly equipped for multiple couples and families to enjoy. You will adore the amazing staff, Carlos and Gina and property managers, Pete and Lisa. Nobody wanted to leave them. They are such gracious and amazing couples. You will treasure each and every meal Carlos and Gina prepare. Pete and Lisa will communicate with you before and during your stay to ensure all details and activities of your stay are well coordinated. We had the perfect blend of being active: Zip lining, ATV tours, beach time, enjoying the local community, etc. and relaxing back at Bella Vista. It was a vacation we will always treasure. We can’t wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Destination: Bella Vista

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

So sad to leave Bella Vista in a few days, but the morning light is just outlining the pool.

Tremendous accommodations, plus Carlos & Gina take care of all daily needs and meals. Rather than a full breakfast, we asked for just fruit & coffee this morning.

Peter & Lisa provide excellent travel advice, and we are off on a day long tour they arranged..

We are on a 2 meal a day plan & it is perfect.

For those of you who cruise, this is a cruise of Costa Rica!

Relaxing in this pool is as good as it gets!

Special requests are not a problem--last night we honored a wedding party with a multi-course dinner for 18 people!

A special invitation to all CAL graduates--you have to get down here--better than a link at Top Dog!


Kirk Moerman, CPA
Fresno, CA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Un lugar de ensueƱo para compartir con la familia

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Este pasado fin de semana, los cinco hermanos estuvimos hospedados en la propiedad Bella Vista en Punta Leona con motivo de una celebracion familiar. La casa es preciosa, con amplios espacios, y a pesar de que eramos muchos es lo suficientemente amplia para permitir privacidad. La vista casi de 360 grados al mar es maravillosa, la piscina infinito y el jacuzzi proveen el entretenimiento y ambiente para pasar unas vacaciones relajadas en harmonia y realmente descansar. Playa blanca es una de las playas mas bonitas que he visitado en Costa Rica. Permite tener caminatas y hacer snorkeling, Las aguas son claras y las olas no muy grandes, lo que permite nadar en ella. Este es el lugar ideal para descansar, compartir y llenarse los sentidos de belleza natural sin tener que preocuparse de nada, ya que la propiedad esta excelentemente equipada, limpia y bien cuidada.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Costa Rican Getaway!

Review submitted: March 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

The house was clean, well stocked with everything we needed for a fabulous vacation. Our concierge addressed everything we need including travel to and from San Jose and our offsite excursions. Don't pass up on fishing or canopy tours! The service provided by Gina & Carlos was excellent and the home cooked breakfests, lunches and dinners were fabulous and made it easy not to leave for all our meals! We will be coming back.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful Family Get Away

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

We had 5 perfect nights at Bella Vista with our family. There was never a problem communicating with the owner, our questions were quickly answered. The home is a 1.5 hour drive from San Jose airport, we took their offered transfers which were perfect. The home is spacious and clean. Beds are quite comfortable, and every room has a lovely view. Bathrooms were fantastic and spacious, especially the master. Carlos and Gina were expert at preparing our daily meals. They were so quiet and respectful of our privacy, just a really lovely, sweet couple. They cleaned everything daily and took excellent care of our group of 8. Pete and Lisa, the neighbors, act as concierge, and arranged for whatever we needed, even a birthday cake. We took a zip line tour that was really fantastic, other than that we just enjoyed the pool and Playa Blanca beach. We did walk to the beach daily, you need to be in pretty good condition, but it is good exercise, just a 20 minute walk. The beach is fabulous, clean, and you can snorkel right there. We did not rent a car, as we just wanted to relax. If you want to travel around, taxis can be arranged, or if you drive, the roads are now in excellent condition. The sunsets from the home are spectacular. There are beautiful birds (pelicans, macaws, pretty yellow ones, etc.) to watch during the day, and then you have the pesky raccoons at night - you must lock the doors carefully. We would absolutely return to this lovely place. If you are looking for a party atmosphere, go elsewhere, this home is all about natural beauty and relaxation. Jaco is just down the road, if you want some night life...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5-star accommodations and service at Bella Vista

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Bella Vista was a beautiful home that truly felt like paradise. Tucked into a private resort and home community, this house had the perfect mix of privacy yet was only 25 minutes from all the nightlife, restaurants and fishing the area offers.

Carlos and Gina were wonderful hosts and their cooking was excellent. Breakfasts were the perfect start whether your adventure for the day was fishing, hiking or just relaxing at the house and Playa Blanca.

I will definitely be coming back to Bella Vista on my next trip to Costa Rica!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

spectacular

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Just got back from Bella Vista.. words can not describe how wonderful a time we had. We were with 3 generations of family and everyone had a lifetime vacation. The house accommodations were ideal...we all had enough space to be comfortable and able to escape. Gina and Carlos made everyone at home but were never intrusive...you barely knew they were there. The food was authentic Costa Rican and delicious. The house was beautiful and more than we expected, the indoor/ outdoor concept made it very grand. Local creatures were an added bonus...coati, monkeys,raccoons, and iguanas.
I would recommend Bella Vista to all families, groups, or friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream vacation!

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

The house was as beautiful as the pictures! The house was located in a great area of Costa Rica. Close to some of the countries best sportfishing! Must eat at El Pelicano on Playa Herradura! Close to a remote beach that was a 15 minute walk from the house. No tours necessary of the rain forest as you are located in one! We saw monkeys and a scarlet macaw from our house! Very safe community with multiple security gates. The food was delicious. Hope to make a tradition to visit this house again in the future. I would most definitely return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2010 Xmas Holiday at Bella Vista

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

We stayed at Bella Vista for the 2010 Xmas and New Year holidays. The house amenities and its ocean views were even better than were advertised. It was a very spacious and comfortable [good beds]..Caretakers Carlos and Gina did everything to make our stay feel more like a hotel than a rental. The food was very authentic and tasty . We also enjoyed their help in preparing our daily catches from our fishing excursions. The location is very quiet and we experienced a lot of interaction with monkeys ,scarlet macaws and various other wild friends .Playa Blanca is a beautiful beach nearby and on Xmas day we almost had the beach to ourselves There is also a very secluded beach a short hike away for snorkeling and wave therapy. .The road thru Punta Leona could use a lot of repair but there was plenty of security. I recommend Bella Vista for families travelling to Costa Rica.You will experience a private relaxing stay in a beautiful natural setting with spectacular ocean views.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family vacation

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

Fabulous house. Made better by Carlos and Gina, the live in staff. Vistas of the Pacific, the Gulf of Puntarenas, and across the road, the rainforest. Many private areas to get away by yourself, or areas to congregate. This house has it all.

3 ensuite bathrooms, and adjoining bathroom for the other 2 bedrooms is perfect.

Fishing, ziplining, and surfing are only a short drive away. The beach is fabulous, and a fifteen minute walk, or 2 minute drive away.

Wildlife is abundant. From the coati's, the scarlet macaws, the anteaters, the local racoons, the iguanas, pelicans, frigate birds and so much more only steps away, or with a view from your deck chair with beer in hand.

Cuisine served by Carlos and Gina is first rate.

Definitely recommend this to a friend, and hope to return.

Perfect pickup service to and from the San Jose Airport.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bella Vista - A Dream Vacation

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2010

Bella Vista lived up to expectations and went beyond. The Villa is absolutely magnificent and the views are spectacular. From the hot tub and infinity pool to the multiple terraces and spacious interiors, the property is well maintained and comfortable. I really liked the fact that the Owner provided a local property manager / customer service representative who helped us to arrange for internet connections, spa treatments on the property and tours, and even a special dinner to celebrate my birthday. But the best part of the visit was meeting the wonderful couple (Carlos and Gina) who take care of all the cooking and cleaning. I would recommend this place to all my friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

My traveling family and I have been all over the world; from Birmingham to Bangkok to the Bahamas and most everywhere in between. However, never have our family and friends discovered what we found at the Bella Vista house in Punta Leona, Costa Rica.

30 minutes from the town of Jaco and hidden off the main road through 10 minutes of bamboo wild jungle, Bella Vista sits at the top of the hill on what feels like the edge of the world. We were welcomed into the home by Carlos and Maria and instantly felt at ease. Our onsite contacts, Peter and his lovely wife, came over and laid out a fun week of suggestions on everything from zip-lining to white water rafting, even watching the baby sea turtles in the twilight hatch and head for the sea. We felt as though we had our own concierge service to the entire countryside and every need and desire that was discussed was looked after, priced out booked and seen through.

Together we had 15 people in our group and safe to say, we all have different tastes in food. However, around 8am, 2pm and 7pm we all came to the same consensus that Maria is the best cook any of us have known. Each meal we were treated with healthy, local and organic creations of seemingly effortless Costa Rican cuisine. Carlos served as a great host, making sure everyone was happy and was there to split a coconut, point out the local neighborhood iguana as well as help 'batten down the hatches' when a gailing wind picked up at 2am!

The views from the infinity pool and infinity spa were breath-taking and there was not a bad room in the house. Each room was spacious and modern with a real up-to-date affluent feel. We have enough Facebook photos and tweets from all of our kids to last a lifetime as well as a solid week of memories with each day leading into the best night followed by the best day over and over again.

We really appreciate the opportunity to stay at Bella Vista and will come back again...perfect for entertaining clients away from home, perfect for the family that has done anything, we found what we didn't even know what we were looking for...a home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Phenomenal stay -- still raving months after!

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

I took my extended family to Troy Wood's lovely home in Costa Rica and we had the stay of our lives. The home is beautifully appointed, tasteful, comfortable, inviting, the views of the ocean are regularly breathtaking from the morning to the pinks of the sunset and night sky. We were all a little frazzled from a tough year and the atmosphere, great food and serene experience was such a healing balm, each day making us smile a little brighter and brought the family back together. The house is amply sized so there's chance to spend time with a group while others can R&R in their rooms, so we had toddlers taking naps while my daughters screamed and laughed in the pool. Pictures fail to capture just how beautiful and one of a kind this home is.
I cannot stress enough how professional and responsive the whole staff is. Troy Wood gets in touch w/ his guests immediately, the team down in Cost Rica is par excellence and we cannot rave enough about the deliciousness of the food and the ease and comfort of having each meal beautifully arranged, delicious and the dishes done and cleaned.
We've stayed in many places around the world and we would rate this as the absolute best experience. Costa Rica HAS to be experienced and this home and the stay personified the joyful esprit de corps we'd been hoping for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2 Families - Couldn't Ask for More

Review submitted: September 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

We have 2 families, 5 teenage kids and 4 adults. Despite 9 of us, the house provided plenty of room. Gina and Carlos are the best. They were exceptional and kept the house clean and the food was fantastic. The view from the pool cannot be matched in the area. We did day trips to other areas and promptly realized that we were staying in the nicest house in Punta Leona. The location is perched on a knoll which permits a steady breeze through the house. The local beach has beautiful sand and is kid friendly. The only drawback is the distance to and from the beach and there is no local transportation.

If you had a large group of 14 to 18, I would highly recommend renting both matching houses. Personally, Bella Vista probably has the superior view of the two, but despite the fact that the houses are close in proximity, one would never know it. The houses were built in a manner that supplies both with complete privacy.

Bella Vista was built with care and style. You need to see it to believe it. Fantastic vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Adventures in Costa Rica

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

5 stars is not enough. You can't imagine a better place to stay. I would begin my review by describing the on site staff, Gina and Carlos. Can you say magnificent cooks and great meals. Authentic Costa Rican meals. They eveb pan-grilled the Tuna we caught while deep sea fishing.

I dont think I have ever seen a home as nice as this. I mean, the pool is crazy, the upstairs jacuzzi is ridiculous, and the views from the balcony, astonishing. Just to be clear, the home is located 20 feet from the rainforest on a beach called playa blanco, thats white sands for those who don't know. Additionally, the resort community is called Puntos Leones. The resort has a crap load of things to do, but the home has more. Additionally, the home is nestled on a hill, away from the all hooplah at the resort, so as to allow for your personal privacy, but close enough for you to catch an afternoon filled with drinks at the local pub.
If your lookin for the Jaco nightlife, your 15 minutes away. Thats an ineexpensive cab ride for a night out. You can't beat the experience at Bella Vista.

B. B. G.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dreams really do come true in Costa Rica

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

If your looking for the run of the mill hotel room with over-priced luxuries in a commercial environment, then you need to rent a room from the Hilton Suites in San Jose. However, if what you crave is the adventure of living nestled between a rainforest and the white sand beaches of Costa Rica, then Casa Bella Vista is the place to be. On my recent trip to Costa Rica, my compadres and I found ourselves at Casa Bella Vista. There are two full service staff members who caterred to all of our needs, includding fresh breakfast, lunch and dinner. In fact, I don't believe that we ate one meal outside of the home. Some say words can't describe the view, but I believe that the pictures on this website, don't do justice. Imagine openning your door to the native monkeys running through the rainforest that is only 30 yards away, or watching the sunset over the ocean in the infinity pool, or from the second floor jacuzzi, or any of the amazing baloconies. The Marriott won't get ya this experience. Additionally, the location is great, secluded from the traditional tourist's sites, but close enough to allow you to participate in any traditional tourist attractions. Getting back and forth to Jaco or San jose is a breeze from this conveniently located home. I', pretty sure that the W Hotel won't grill up the tuna you caught during the mornings deep sea fishing tour, but Gina, the house cook, will. I would give the experience at this house a rating some where between amazing and extraordinary, but five stars couldn't begin to describe my stay.

Sidney-Aug 26, 2010

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

UNBELIEVABLY AMAZING

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

This elegant resort/home literally opens up onto the rainforest with spectacular views surrounding the entire home. Peter and Lisa, the informative property managers, make certain your visit is perfect - arranging fantastic tours, airport transportation, and providing any amenities needed. Carlos and Gina, the amazing housekeeper and cook - make your stay luxurious, and prepare the most delicious, authentic meals beyond your expectations. Rooms are beautifully decorated and maintained, with private bedrooms and bathrooms all having magnificient views of the ocean and rainforest. You can take advantage of the relaxing pool and jacuzzi several times daily, enjoy the cool breeze inside the home as the entire house has floor-to-ceiling windows that open completely, or hike into rainforests, walk to incredible beaches, tidepools, or private coves because all are within minutes of the home. Taking shuttles, arranged by Peter, was extremely convenient and stress-free, into Jaco, Manuel Antonio Rainforest, crocodile tours on the Tarcoles River, zip lines, and scuba diving. This was by far the most enjoyable vacation my family has ever experienced, and we would highly recommend Bella Vista to anyone and everyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation Home

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

Staying at Bella Vista was a huge part of our Costa Rican vacation. More than simply a place to lay your weary head at the end of the day, this home is perfectly situated between ocean and rainforest. Common views from the front of the property included capuchin monkeys, coatis and iguanas. From the back of the house was a beautiful vista of the ocean, complete with amazing sunsets every night.

Each of the 5 bedrooms have ample room for a couple to relax and enjoy thier trip and each one boasts a unique feature making it almost impossible to pick the "best room"...it may be the balcony looking out into the forest for early morning animal encounters, to doors that open up right into the 2nd floor jacuzzi, to the master suite complete with 3 balconies and a rooftop viewing area, each room is tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and ample storage space. 3 of the 5 bedrooms have private adjoining bathrooms and the other 2 share a centrally located bath.

The house has a beautiful infinity-edge pool with plenty of room for 12, a jacuzzi, bbq and plenty of towels to keep us all ready for the pool or the beach.

Adding to the experience are the fantastic staff that comes with the property. Carlos and Gina anticipated our every need and prepared three wonderful meals that fit into our busy schedule. Pete and Lisa were on hand (across the street) to set up any excursions or tours and to help us with transportation.

The beach, Playa Blanca, is just a 15-minute walk down the hill (but a very steep UPHILL to get back.) Behind the house there are many wilderness paths that take you through rainforest and tidepools.

Costa Rica itself is a must-see vacation. But Costa Rica staying at Bella Vista is a trip of a lifetime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I've found my paradise!

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Bella Vista was the greatest escape of my life! Besides the fact that the house is absolutely flawless, Carlos and Gina (house keepers/chefs) were an absolute joy to have around and their food was amazing! On days we didn't feel like adventuring, we could simply float in the infinity pool and watch nature all around us, from lizards and exotic birds to monkeys! The days we stayed at home were an absolute pleasure. The house is an intricate beautiful thy level maze of rooms, balconies and breezeways. Two levels featuring a place to get wet (pool and hot tub)! The neighborhood is fantastic for morning jogs or hikes and the beach down the road is awesome. I can't say enough about this place and plan on going back again and again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a way to relax...

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

Bella Vista is absolutely extraordinary in every way! I can’t say enough for the astonishing beauty of the location. The sunsets from the pool and Jacuzzi are breathtaking and maybe without equal. The immaculately beautiful home is fabulously comfortable - with the many doors open the home turns inside out as if you’re living on a giant veranda, enveloping you in all the sounds and smells of the verdant rain forest and the Pacific ocean. And most special of all is the wonderful care provided by Carlos and Gina (the on premises butler/caretaker and chef/maid). We had expected to eat out at least some of the time but after our fist meal we were quickly convinced there would be no better place within a hundred miles to eat and preceded to relax to max knowing we were in paradise and didn’t need to leave to find food. Be warned, even though there’s no shortage of things to see and do in and around Punta Leona/Jaco and the Central Pacific region of Costa, staying at Bella Vista may have you saying more than once… manana! We are already planning our return trip to Bella Vista!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent !

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2010

We had an amazing time once again! My friends and I came back for round two to celebrate another bachelor party. The views, the service, the views again, and the beaches what more can you ask for. Will be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2nd trip back and it wont be our last

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2010

Just got back from another amazing trip at Casa Bella Vista, this was our second time back and it was even better then the first. The house is just amazing, it is kept in tip top condition, and I can’t describe how beautiful it is. When you first walk in it just takes your breath away. We were so relaxed during our stay, since everything was taken care of, and we hardly ever ventured out from the area. This time they had caretakers that lived in the house and they were amazing, they cooked three meals a day for us, and every meal was better than the next. The views from every room are just spectacular, and the sunsets are things dreams are made of. Its located about a five minute walk from one of the most amazing beaches on the pacific side of Costa Rica. They even had someone who arranged our fishing trip and all our outdoor activities for us. I recommend this house for families, bachelor or bachelorette parties or couples just looking to get away. The only complaint I would make is that I had to leave because I really can’t wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Bachelor Party

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2010

This was my second time staying at this house. After having such a great time the first time around, I wanted to come back. The house is beautiful and the views are some of the best I've seen. Top it off with friendy people and the cooks making meals I'm upset to not be eating right now. I fully recommend this house whether you are going with a group of friends or with family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Welcome back, congrats on the big day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Favorite Vacation Location & House!!

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

This is my third time staying at Bella Vista, and it was just as beautiful, tranquil & relaxing as I remembered it. It's been a couple of years since I last visited, so they had new live-in staff: "Carlos & Gina". They provided outstanding service, tasty dishes, and were very warm, and kind people.

I've travelled to many different countries, and stayed in the finest hotels, and vacation homes around the world. I've simply not seen better!! The pictures don't do it justice...I always find myself relaxing to a point which I can't achieve on other vacations @ Bella Vista. If you're on the fence...just do it!

If you like scenery, wildlife, surfing, great food, friendly people, and some good ole' R&R - indulge in Bella Vista!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation for anyone!

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

I can't see how anyone wouldn't have a great time at Bella Vista. It's great for a family, couples, or a guys trip. I went down with a few buddies and we had quite the adventure from surfing, ziplining, fishing, and enjoying the local flavor. I was really excited when I was able to rent a surfboard for $10 a day. Carlos and Gina are the live-in cooks and cleaning crew and they took amazing care of us. The food was incredible. We had 3 home cooked meals a day with some delicious snacks in between. Pete is the consierge who lives down the street and can help you coordnate any activity you need. He's an American who fell in love with Costa Rica a few years ago and hasn't looked back sense. The accommodations are 5 star. During the day we had the house completely open with the fans and beach breese flowing through. At night each room has an indiviudal AC to cool you down while you sleep. The house is constructed with amazing detail that never goes unnoticed. Four of the five bedrooms have 180 degree ocean views. Bella Vista is at the top of a hill overlooking Playa Blanca which is one of the prettiest beaches in the area. The main town for fun is Jaco and only a short drive away. At first I wanted to be closer to the action, but I much prefer the retreat back to the privacy Bella Vista offers. I am already planning my next trip back and looking forward to spending another week in the infinity pool overlooking the ocean. Next time I will probably bring my whole family back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Unriv

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

Our stay at this residence helped make our trip to Costa Rica an incredible experience. The residence itself is absolutely stunning with incredible architectural details located throughout. However, the real show is the location and the house is ideally located to allow you to experience everything Costa Rica is known for. The house has an open air feel with tons of comfortable seating looking at over the infinity pool with expansive views of the ocean. We arrived to a fully stocked refrigerator with the cook already midway through preparation for our first meal. The meals all had a local flavor and there was more than enough food to keep everyone happy each meal. Waking up each morning with those same incredible views from essentially every bedroom in the house was something we’ll never forget. One of the best parts of the house is you can either walk right out the door for long hikes through the rain forest (which is literally just outside the front doorsteps!!!) or you can get into the car for a short drive to numerous adventure activities. We did a river rafting trip, canopy tour and visited one of the national parks, all of which were arranged for us by the property manager. Although it rained for part of the trip, no one was disappointed as we were able to sit comfortably in the covered outdoor room next to the pool and watch the unbelievable lightening show from the comfort of the house! I would highly recommend this house to anyone visiting Costa Rica. Really, I can’t say enough good things about our experience and how lucky we felt to be staying in such a magnificent home at the top of a cliff overlooking the ocean with the sounds of the rainforest surrounding us!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome place to stay when visiting Costa Rica

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed there with 4 other couples during the last week of January 2010. This property is absolutely beautiful! The house itself is a gem, full of ornate details on the wood and tile flooring. The rooms overlook outstanding views. The infinity pool has a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean and you can enjoy magnificent views as well from the hot tub on the second floor. We all had a blast during our vacation. We were picked up at the airport by a van and it took a couple of hours to get to the property. We all decided to use taxis and vans and not rent a car to simplify the traveling. We all signed up for tours through Jaco.com and had an amazing activity planned each day such as the Manuel Antonio national park, Sailing and snorkeling at Tortuga Island and gliding through the jungles (our favorite). The tour picks us up at the property and we were back by 4pm. It was nice that we diidn't have to cook and the caretakers prepared an amazing meeal each evening of traditional Costa Rican cuisine. We chose to eat out one night out of the five nights we were there. It was nice to have breakfast, lunch and dinner provided so we didn't t have to worry about meals and can just enjoy the property and hang around with our friends in the evenings. The place is immaculate and cleaned daily by the live in caretakers. They even did our laundry one afternoon since they have a washer and dryer on the premises. Everything on the property works well such as air conditioners, hot tub, showers, etc. The beds are clean and confortable. I would definitely consider staying here again if we return to Costa Rica. The country itself is beautiful and clean. The Costa Ricans are very friendly. The children are happy and well fed and the horses and animals we saw were all healthy and happy. This was one of our most memorable vacations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house, unreal view.

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 11, 2008

We spent four nights at this property, it was a beautiful house. The most unbelievable thing is the pool and the view, you could sit out there all day and night and never want to leave. The house was clean, and the service was great. It is located right near a beautiful beach that felt almost untouched. We had the chefs come in almost overnight to prepare dinner and they were fantastic. There really was nothing negative to say about the property. The owner Troy has thought of everything and if you are planning a trip to Costa Rica this is the place to stay at.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home with awesome views and service

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and my wife and I hosted four other couples at this spacious, modern and warm home. This place is even better than it looks on the website! The pool, hot tub, ocean views and relaxing accommodations are exceptional. Coming back to Bella Vista after a long day was a treat. Plus, the property managers and the staff were very helpful in designing a fun and active trip. Their #1 concern is making sure you have what you need to have a great time. We easily and heartily recommend Costa Rica and Bella Vista!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Life Experience

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

My family and I truly carved out a moment in time with our recent stay at this incredible house. Internet pictures understate the natural beauty of the house and views. Imagine eating breakfast on the patio and watching the whales frolic in the Pacific...too cool! Carlos and Gena could not have been better in there service and food preparation. Yet, you really didn't know they were there. Carlos was kind enough (and willing to learn a lttle) in grilling fish we had caught earlier that day for dinner. We formed a friendship through the experience. Peter and Lisa (consierge) made sure that we were aware of the best things available to do in Costa Rica and arranged for those things to happen. Punta Leona's beach is one of the best in the world. Everything far exceeded our expectations. Looking forward to going back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible Vacation Home!!!

Review submitted: December 2, 2009   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

This was our second visit within a year to Bellavista and as soon as we pulled up we were planning our third stay for 2010.

The location within a resort, the home itself as well as the infinity pool are just too hard to describe until you see it.

I cannot say enough about the caretakers, Gina and Carlos. The cleaning was immaculate and the food they prepared was local and excellent. They remembered us and knew what we wanted without asking.

Again our group will always stay at this property while in Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pefection at Bella Vista

Review submitted: November 18, 2009   Date of arrival: November 13, 2009

Bella Vista IS THE PERFECT VACATION LOCATION, I do not see how there could be room for improvement!

The view, the pool, the Jacuzzi, the staff, Carlos and Gina, were perfect! The food, the cleaning, the service and attention to detail was unmatchable.

Our personal Concierge, Peter "Dutch" was top notch! Of course I could not fail to mention his service.

It was quite obvious to us that we were his only clients and simply the most important thing in his life. However, he made it imperative that we never felt we were imposing.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

We'll be back!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks mate, I'm so pleased it worked out. Feel free to come back any time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bella Vista is Paradise!

Review submitted: November 16, 2009   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

Staying at Bella Vista was an amazing time. Our group of 5 loved everything about this incredible and lavish home. Our group has traveled all over the world and has stayed in many amazing rental homes. Bella Vista is by far the best! I would recommend this amazing home to anyone and everyone. Simply breathtaking from top to bottom. What a great staff, great location, tons of activities, and breathtaking views. The house staff, Gina and Carlos were so friendly and cooked amazing authentic meals. Peter was outstanding and very helpful with all of our needs. And the Wifi worked great!!

We have already planned our next trip to return. Can't wait!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Upscale Living in Costa Rica

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

This home exceeded our expectations. We did a guys trip and enjoyed how close this home was to fishing, ziplining, and surfing. The live in care takers Gina nad Carlos were very accomodating. The views and accomodations were 5 star. The home is in a neighborhood with onsite security. For the price this was an exceptional value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy girls in Punta Leona!

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

We went for a girls vacation retreat, and had the BEST vacation ever!!! The house is spectacular, the help (Gina and Carlos) delightful, and the food amazing! We would love to return for another vacation.

The house is extremely beautiful in the midst of the rain forest, close to the beach, with an amazing infinity pool, and breathtaking views.

I'm an Interior Designer by trade, and this house surpassed my expectations!

This home is perfect for a honeymoon, anniversary, family get together, or just plain fun!

I went with a group of 10 girls and would do it again in a heartbeat! We all fell madly in love with Carlos and Gina, they pampered us and made the best food imaginable!

Linda (San Francisco, CA)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Time

Review submitted: August 24, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

The house definitely exceeded all expectations. The pictures online do not do it complete justice. The pool overlooking the ocean is absolutely spectacular.

Gina and Carlo (live-ins) took great care of us during our stay. I had concerns about privacy considering they would be staying in the house with us, but their room was downstairs away from the rest of the rooms and my concerns about privacy were completely unfounded. In addition, Troy and Peter (property managers) did a great job arranging events for us prior to our arrival. All the arrangements went smoothly and the entire group had a great time.

I would definitely recommend the home to anybody who is looking for first class accommodations and a relaxing environment. It is quite a drive (about 15 minutes) to get up to and down from the property, but this was a small issue relative to all the advantages.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

my vacation

Review submitted: August 2, 2009   Date of arrival: March 29, 2009

we had the best of time enjoying that great house! It was amazing!,from the views o the ocean,sunsets,pool,jazcuzzi and rooms.We were a group of 4 adults and 5 kids. The caretakers and Peter took care of us and met our needs. The caretakers cooked home cooked meals,served,cleaned you name it. When my son got sick Peter took him to the doctor at 700am and me to the ATM. We cannot wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Doesn't get any better!

Review submitted: July 8, 2009   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

This is the most enchanting home ever! We had the trip of a lifetime, the grounds were immaculate, the rooms and views were simply stunning. Also, Carlos and Gina stole the show with their incredible meals and hospitality. Our kids were crying when we had to go! Simply put, this trip was unforgettable and we thank you very much for the opportunity to stay in your lovely home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Mike, So glad to hear all went well. Please come and visit us soon, we'd love to have you back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best house ever!

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 2, 2009

This is the most enchanting home ever! We had the trip of a lifetime, the grounds were immaculate, the rooms and views were simply stunning. Also, Carlos and Gina stole the show with their incredible meals and hospitality. Our kids were crying when we had to go! Simply put, this trip was unforgettable and we thank you very much for the opportunity to stay in your lovely home!

Mike McKay

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

This is the spot...

Review submitted: March 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Pura Vida...if you haven't made it to CR...that's their term/greeting of choice. What does it mean? Pure Life. This house/region personifies it!

Jump in the golf cart for a 10 minute scenic ride to one of a handful of restaurants. My favorite: the one where the monkeys come and eat off the railing. This is living!

The house...like something you've never seen. Hand-carved wooden pillars the size of light poles greet you at the entrance. Upon entering, Gina and Carlos are prepping a fresh Costa Rican dish, or offering a fresh platter of fruit or local, fresh-brewed coffee...straight from the coffee fields. Coffee lovers-this SMOKES Starbucks!

I could go on and on...but if you're on the fence, this is your spot:
- Good staff
- Beautiful House
- Wildlife for days
- Beatiful beaches
- Views to die for
- Good management

Will definitely return. 5 Star Vacation in all areas.

Yason

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unbelievable

Review submitted: March 12, 2009   Date of arrival: February 23, 2009

The pictures on the web site do not do it justice. You have to feel the place and when you step in the front door you realize that you are in paradise. Within the first 30 minutes of being there we were in the pool with Scarlett Macaws flying around us and whales swimming off the coast. As soon as we arrived Carlos and Gina greeted us with warm smiles( that trascends all language barriers) and fresh ceviche. The staff was there for all our needs but gave us our privacy. This house is beautiful and from the moment you arrive will feel totally relaxed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heavenly vacation

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: December 28, 2008

I was on holiday with a mix of family and friends over New Years. We had both children and adults there. The house is big enough and set up in such a way that everyone can have privacy when desired. There is so much to do for both adults and children so everyone was entertained. There is a great surf spot about 20 minutes drive from the house and lots of fun hikes right from the front door. We walked to a restaurant down the hill that has a bunch of monkeys jumping around. We sat and ate and watched them which was definitely a unique experience. The kids loved doing the zip line and we all went horse riding a few times which was a great way to see the area.
Having cocktails on the balcony at sunset was magical. The house was really well appointed and clean. All in all it was a wonderful experience. I can't wait to go back. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unreal

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: January 7, 2008

My wife and I have stayed in Bella Vista nearly 10 times now. We love it - it's luxurious and livable. We can't wait to get back soon for another family vacation - costa rica is unbelievable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 Star Plus 5 stars...

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: November 17, 2008

Upon arrival, I was greeted by the live in staff that made me feel instantly at home. Usually after traveling to a destination point it takes me 1/2 a day just to settle in. There is just something magic about this beautiful immaculate home. Within 30 minutes I was by the pool and already settled, and rested. I can reccomend this home to anyone who wants to be pampered 24/7, or use as a base for all of the local activities I enjoyed. If you are looking for a magical place to recharge your batteries, you really should experience one of the best places on earth I have ever been to, and am planning to return to. RFK Southern California USA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: March 7, 2009   Date of arrival: December 12, 2008

My wife and I recently visited this beautiful house to have our wedding, and couldn't have been happier. The house is well appointed, very spacious, but still comfortable. It offers stunning views of the ocean, and amazing sunsets. The pool seems to virtually fall into the Pacific. The live-in staff, Carlos and Gina, made our stay even more enjoyable. They were accomodating, and there for anything that we needed. Essentially, the house offers a unique experience, and would recommend it to anybody looking for a memorable get-away with family or friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Chad, I'm so glad we were able to accommodate your wedding with such short notice, all the best for the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: March 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 27, 2008

This was the perfect retreat for our vacation – far enough away from the crowds, but close enough to allow us to easily partake of the local activities including the Canopy Tour/zip lining, the beaches at Herradura, Jaco and Playa Hermosa, as well as a day at Miguel Antonio Park.

The house is well appointed, very comfortable and set-up to facilitate entertaining with views of the Bay and the spectacular Sunsets from throughout the house, as well as, on the entertainment deck/pool area. The housekeeping couple (Gina and Carlos) was friendly, attentive and available if needed; and Gina's Costa Rican meals were excellent.

Overall a wonderful country, a wonderful house and an excellent vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jon, I hope you can make it back in the near future

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great experience in paradise

Review submitted: March 5, 2009   Date of arrival: August 16, 2008

Went with a group of eight friends during the low season (Summer). The house is amazing and very group friendly. Rooms are spread out for a degree of privacy and there are lots of bathrooms. Beautifully furnished and maintained, strong A/C, great infinity pool that looks out over the Bay. Summer is rainy season and every evening, storms would roll in across the bay and we had front row seats.

There is a lot to do in and around the resort, including surfing, hiking, zipline, fishing, beaching, etc.

The house comes with housekeepers who were amazing and very friendly. They did the laundry, cooked traditional meals and gave some insiders' advice on Costa Rica.

Only complaints were that the house is about a 15 minute drive from the resort entrance making quick trips out a little time consuming. Also, I recommend (for Costa Rica in general) getting an SUV of some sort for travel, roads are rough and sometimes very steep and wet.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Nathan I’m really pleased you were the winning bidder of the charity event. It feels good to donate the house for such a good cause and I thank you for your continued support.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unbelievable Experience

Review submitted: February 25, 2009   Date of arrival: February 18, 2009

This house was incredible. The views, accommodations, staff, etc. The onsite staff, Carlos and Gina, waited on our every need and cooked incredible authentic Costa Rican meals. The second floor jacuzzi at night with views to the lights on the Nicoya Peninsula was unreal. We will definitely be returning to stay here again. One of the best vacations of our lives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Rick, it was a pleasure having you stay, hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review