reviews for: listing #67958 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

Spectacular Ocean View Garden Suite Sleeps 6
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Mesa
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $400 /nt
    $1,800 - $2,500 /wk
    $5,400 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Just what we were looking for

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We were a large group, I think 9 or so total... and this place was perfect for us. Very spacious and conveniently located with a really pretty view.

We were in SB to attend a friend's wedding... so there were 2 very late nights spent hanging out and talking loudly with our group. We were worried about annoying the owner (who does live in the house above), but he didn't seem bothered... or he never mentioned it ;) The owner was around a lot, which did worry us at first because we had read the strange reviews... but don't believe them... he was incredibly friendly, brought us bottles of wine, and offered us more than satisfactory hospitality. And on the last day, we asked if there was a "check-out time" and he just said to take our time... which was great because it's always nice to not have to rush out after a lovely weekend!

I think this place is great for larger groups like us... young (yet respectful!). It's not super fancy, but it was comfortable and the kitchen was stocked with a lot of basics for cooking (unlike many vacation rentals that don't even give guests salt and pepper!). And there are oranges to pick fresh too... although sadly, we didn't have time.

My favorite part though... the fee included cleaning. We cleaned up a bit before we left... out of habit from staying at other rentals that will charge you if you don't clean up... but it was great to not have to take all the garbage out, etc.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we were looking for

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We were a large group, I think 9 or so total... and this place was perfect for us. Very spacious and conveniently located with a really pretty view.

We were in SB to attend a friend's wedding... so there were 2 very late nights spent hanging out and talking loudly with our group. We were worried about annoying the owner (who does live in the house above), but he didn't seem bothered... or he never mentioned it ;) The owner was around a lot, which did worry us at first because we had read the strange reviews... but don't believe them... he was incredibly friendly, brought us bottles of wine, and offered us more than satisfactory hospitality. And on the last day, we asked if there was a "check-out time" and he just said to take our time... which was great because it's always nice to not have to rush out after a lovely weekend!

I think this place is great for larger groups like us... young (yet respectful!). It's not super fancy, but it was comfortable and the kitchen was stocked with a lot of basics for cooking (unlike many vacation rentals that don't even give guests salt and pepper!). And there are oranges to pick fresh too... although sadly, we didn't have time.

My favorite part though... the fee included cleaning. We cleaned up a bit before we left... out of habit from staying at other rentals that will charge you if you don't clean up... but it was great to not have to take all the garbage out, etc.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Very Disappointing

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

This could have been a great place to stay if it weren't for a few major issues. First of all, it doesn't have two bedrooms; the second "bedroom" is a sleeping area just inside the front entrance (there are two) and it doesn't have a door separating it from the common areas. The real bedroom has a fold-out couch which would be much better located in the living room so the bedroom wouldn't need to be shared unless you needed to have someone sleep on the regular couch. Privacy is lacking throughout. Most of curtains and blinds are sheer and are easily seen through (and also make sleeping in much past sunrise difficult); construction workers and the owner (who lives upstairs) were frequently walking by during our stay. In addition to the lack of privacy, this caused considerable noise early in the morning because the walkway outside is wooden and elevated off the ground. There was also no privacy in the jacuzzi and patio because the owner spent a lot of time there and also mentioned wathing for jacuzzi usage (presuambly from his window above).

Additionally, the owner was very unpleasant to deal with. With a different owner and a few physical changes, this could be a great place to stay. As is, don't waste your time and money and don't risk the potential headaches caused by the owner.

Owners response: Chris has some issues. There were 54 emails concerning this 2 night rental from him. While his group was here, some one in his group broke one of the dining table chairs, and Chris, to this day, cannot understand why they were expected to pay the $120 for the repair of the chair. He has been on a rampage since then with threats and demands. I am not quite sure what Chris is talking about concerning the bedroom areas. His emails stated that somewhere between 6 to 10 people would be staying over, not that many showed, but they seemed to have no complaints until later.

The vacation rental does have 2 full bedrooms and 2 full baths. The 400 sq foot master, with walls of glass overlooking the ocean, has a king size bed and a queen sofa bed for those with children or those needing more sleeping space. The second beroom has a full bath and large bedroom with a Queen Sleigh bed. Both are pictured. There is a third bedroom and bath that is also available if the group needs more space.

The windows in the living room and master bedroom do indeed have sheer window coverings as the vacation rental is on the second level and this is a home with drop dead ocean views. It is not suited for those who stay up very late and want to sleep to noon. The second bedroom is suitable for daytime sleepers as it is on the uphill side of the home and is more condusive for daytime sleepers. The third bedroom once agail has large glass windows overlooking the Ocean and has verticle blings which block the view but do not make it dead dark with the morning sun. Not a home for those who need a cave for their vacation. This is Santa Barbara and those who enjoy the light, warmth and sun will have a geat time.

Chris would probable have been happier in a hotel in Las Vegas with blackout curtains.

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 

Unreasonable

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

The property generally looked as it was described and had a great view. The furniture looked somewhat worn, but appeared to be in working condition. Unfortunately, one of the guests staying with me sat in a wooden chair that collapsed underneath him the moment he sat down. Upon inspection, it appeared that the chair had been broken on a previous occasion and simply glued back together. Despite seven witnesses, including myself, who were rather shaken up by the incident, and a back injury caused by the collapsing chair, the manager's response was completely unreasonable. He ignored our explanation, assumed we were at fault, demanded we pay a pricey $150 to repair the chair (properly this time, I hope), and wrote threatening emails about how much it would cost us to take him to court. He even said we need psychiatric help for not wanting to pay for a chair that caused an injury through no fault of our own! He was completely out of line and seems to need some kind of help himself. Though the property has a great view, it was definitely not worth the hassle of dealing with someone this unreasonable!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review