reviews for: listing #67996 - Santa Monica, California Condo rental

Fantastic ocean views! Unbeatable Ocean front location!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,813 - $6,283 /mth

sort by:

Lovely Condo

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

We stayed at Ocean 1 from 2nd -12th May…and what a wonderful time we had.

The accommodations was perfectly located for beach and city. Clean, modern and spacious enough for a young family.

Thanks again for a professional service. I’ve already recommended your company to several friends and hope to return again soon!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Vacation

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

This was an excellent home away from home to have for a vacation! Very beautiful view to wake up to in the morning. Wish we could stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Suite & Location

Review submitted: November 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 19, 2013

We recently returned after a 3 night stay in this great suite. The pictures are truly accurate and the location is perfect. We walked everywhere from getting groceries @ Von's on 7th & Broadway, to the Pier, 3rd street Promenade & to Venice Beach. The bbq was handy as we enjoyed a great meal for a fraction of the price @ a restaurant. All the comforts of home plus the added security of our enclosed lockable gate and patio. The managing company was good to deal with and accommodated our early check-in request, lucky for us there was no one departing the day we arrived. They were also quick in their response as they helped to resolve our internet tech problem. A great place with the comforts of home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful view, beautiful place

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

SM ocean 1 was a perfect fit for our needs!! Beautiful views from both sliding doors; 1 in living room 1 in bedroom. Very nice to wake up and see the ocean!! Nice balcony area also! California overall was more expensive than my previous vacation which is my reason for 4 instead of 5 but the property itself is very good in price comparable to the hotels in the area. If you plan on cooking, be sure to plan out the grocery/food info before going. I had to pay $12 for taxi to and from. I should have checked with globe homes before my trip they prob could have suggested someplace closer.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't beat this location

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This is a really great little condo directly across the street from Santa Monica Beach. I can't stress how great this location is. We spent every morning on the patio enjoying the wonderful view over breakfast, and spent many evenings out there as well. We spent a lot of time at the beach and could come and go from there very easily if we forgot anything, or wanted to go home for lunch part way through the day, and, of course, never had to pay for parking.

The condo itself is also lovely with a small, comfortable living room, fully equipped kitchen, and big, comfy bed. I really enjoyed the walk-in closet and the laundry facilities as well. In my experience, that's very rare. As is the service from Globe. The concierge service is excellent! Joe helped us with all of the questions we had - from renting a car and travel times to activity recommendations and getting tickets. Also, the cleaning service had forgotten to leave garbage bags, and when we called Globe, someone brought us bags within 10 minutes.

The location is also central to a lot of places to eat and shop in Santa Monica. We walked to the 3rd St Promenade, as well as the Santa Monica Pier. We rode our bikes to Venice Beach and Muscle Beach. There's a little grocery where we did all of our shopping just a block and a half away.

The next time I travel to California, I will definitely stay here again. Whether you want to just spend a few days at the beach, or are looking for a good home base from which to explore the area (which we did), this is a great property.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay!!

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

We spent 4 nights and really had a wonderful stay. The apartment is perfectly located, a few meters from the beach and only a 5-minute walk from Santa Monica's pier. It is also very well equipped so guests can have a nice stay. We strongly recommend this place and look forward to come back soon!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for that nicely detailed review!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and were on an amazing location, as well as a short walk away from the Santa Monica Pier.

We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Globe Homes and Condos Team

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Flat

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 31, 2012

Great location and great flat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Murat Bektas

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

The neighborhood and the flat were excellent and above our expectations. But the usage rules were almost insupportable. Therefore I rated good instead of excellent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Immer wieder sehr gerne/ Great location !

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

IWir haben diese kleine Wohnung für 1 Woche im August 2011 gemietet und sie ist so, wie sie auf den Bilder aussieht. Direkt am Meer mit einer kleinen Terasse- man muss nur über die Straße laufen und man steht am Strand. Es war Alles super und auch Alles vorhanden wie auf der Internetseite beschrieben. Wir haben uns dort wirklich sehr wohl gefühlt. Ein echtes Plus ist der Stellplatz für´s Auto, da in Santa Monica die Parkplätze wirklich rar sind. Zu Fuß kann man die Einkaufsmeile und das Pier 39 in 10 Minuten erreichen. Besten Dank besonders an Patrick von homeaway. Er war sofort zur Stelle um uns die Schlüssel zu übergeben und uns die Wohnung mit allen Einzelheiten zu zeigen. Danke auch an den Eigentümer. Er hat da eine süße, sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet Wohnung, mit Allem was man so braucht, in Santa Monica direkt am Meer. Wir würden jederzeit wieder diese Wohnung anmieten.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Vielen Dank! Ich nahm mir die Freiheit der Entsendung eine Übersetzung Ihre freundlichen Worte für Englisch sprechende Reisende.

ENGLISH TRANSLATION

"We have rented this small flat for 1 week in August 2011 and it is as it looks at the pictures. Facing the sea with a small terrace-you must only run across the street and you are at the beach. Everything was great and also all available as described on the website. We really felt very comfortable there. A real plus is the parking for the car, parking are really rare in Santa Monica . Within walking distance are the shopping and the [Santa Monica] Pier N. 39 in 10 minutes. Thanks especially to Patrick from HomeAway [Patrick actually works for Globe Homes and Condos, the property manager]. He was handed over to the spot immediately to us and show us the keys to the apartment with all the details. Thanks also to the owner. Because he has a sweet, tastefully furnished apartment, with everything what one needs so, in Santa Monica by the sea. We would rent the apartment at any time."

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Loved it.

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

We had a beautiful stay at this apartement. The apartement is perfect for a shorter stay to enjoy the beach and the city. We rented bickes and biked along the beach. There is some nice restaurants along Main Street. We thank all at Global Home for all help and quick respond. We vould defenetly stay here again.
Pål and Marit - Oslo Norway

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! I love riding my bike too. I do it every day, from the east end of Santa Monica to Abbot Kinney in Venice. Wouldn't change for nothing! See you next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Santa Monica Weekend

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Location: Excellent- Beach across the street. View of Santa Monica Pier from small deck. Close to upscale hotel Shutters.

Safety: Safe location, metal front door, excellent lock + porch light on all night.
Parking- Very tight in 3 car garage, you back out into traffic @ Ocean Ave. Metered parking @ street, free after 6p.m. Beach parking lot across street avail until 7.for a fee.
Traffic noise as condo is ground floor. Worse M-F with City workers mowing lawn, handling trash etc. Always people walking by unit. So if blinds are open to enjoy beach view, no real “privacy” due to pedestrians.
Noise: When windows are open. Traffic, people on street. Less when windows closed. Upstairs occupant walking on hardwood floor.

Kitchen- Only 2 pots, 1 small fry pan. place settings & utensils for 4. So if you want to "eat in" cooking may be an issue. No cookie sheets, large serving bowls, or general cookware for standard meal preparation.

Kitchen stock- When I arrived only 4 napkins, 3 coffee filters, no supplies, (i.e. baggies, foil, plastic wrap, pot holder, standard kitchen equipment)

Living Space- Bar stools are Red not the white ones in photo. Couch is very low to floor. So the elderly or people with bad backs & knees may find it difficult to sit and get up from. But very comfortable to lie upon. Bed was noisy. Creaking when you moved on it.

Bathroom- liquid hand soap available. No bar soap for shower or other toiletries.

Repair issues- They had a water leak in upstairs unit. Ceiling in living area needs paint, as does kitchen. Bathroom wall under sink had holes in drywall around pipes and where drywall meets shower stall tile. Needs caulk and fresh paint. Small microwave cooked unevenly + took forever.
Cleanliness- Unit was clean. Kitchen especially, However, I found the light switches were filthy. As were the baseboards and windows. Plus holes in drywall in bath were a real turn off. (pictures available)
Overall- Nice unit. Great Location, Easy Rental Procedure, Just unhappy with noise, lack of kitchen cookware, cleaning issues, and drywall holes. When you pay $$$+ a night & a $$ cleaning fee, you shouldn’t endure those problems.

If those issues were resolved THIS would be a great vacation unit in an excellent safe area.
Recommendation to owner: Ceiling fans. You can swag them in the living & bedroom. So windows can be closed to eliminate road noise & occupants remain cool. Your box fan doesn't cut it and is nois

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Weekend In Santa Monica

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Location: Excellent- Beach across the street. View of Santa Monica Pier from small deck. Close to upscale hotel Shutters.
Safety: Safe location, metal front door, excellent lock + porch light on all night.
Parking?- Very tight parking in 3 car garage, you back out into traffic @ Ocean Ave. Metered parking @ street, free after 6p.m. Beach parking lot across street avail until 7.for a fee.
Traffic noise as condo is ground floor. Worse M-F with City workers mowing lawn, handling trash etc. Always people walking by unit. So if blinds are open to enjoy beach view, no real “privacy” due to pedestrians.
Noise: When windows are open. Traffic, people on street. Less when windows closed. Upstairs occupant walking on hardwood floor.

Kitchen- Only 2 pots, 1 small fry pan. place settings & utensils for 4. So if you want to "eat in" cooking may be an issue. No cookie sheets, large serving bowls, or general cookware for standard meal preparation.

Kitchen stock- When I arrived only 4 napkins, 3 coffee filters, no supplies, (i.e. baggies, foil, plastic wrap, pot holder, standard kitchen equipment)

Living Space- Bar stools are Red not the white ones in photo. Couch is very low to floor. So the elderly or people with bad backs & knees may find it difficult to sit and get up from. But very comfortable to lie upon. Bed was noisy. Creaking when you moved on it.

Bathroom- liquid hand soap available. No bar soap for shower or other toiletries.

Repair issues- They had a water leak in upstairs unit. Ceiling in living area needs paint, as does kitchen. Bathroom wall under sink had holes in drywall around pipes and where drywall meets shower stall tile. Needs caulk and fresh paint. Small microwave cooked unevenly + took forever.
Cleanliness- Unit was clean. Kitchen especially, However, I found the light switches were filthy. As were the baseboards and windows. Plus holes in drywall in bath were a real turn off. (pictures available)
Overall- Nice unit. Great Location, Easy Rental Procedure, Just unhappy with noise, lack of kitchen cookware, cleaning issues, and drywall holes. When you pay $$$+ a night & a $90 cleaning fee, you shouldn’t endure those problems.

If those issues were resolved THIS would be a great vacation unit in an excellent safe area.
Recommendation to owner: Ceiling fans. You can swag them in the living & bedroom. So windows can be closed to eliminate road noise & occupants remain cool. Your box fan doesn't cut it and is noisy.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 25, 2010

The location is perfect. Right across from the beach. The bed was fabulously comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked. The apartment is newly furnished and very nice and clean. I would highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

Perfect location for enjoying the beach, riding bikes, exploring Santa Monica and Venice. Extremely comfortable bed, lots of closet space, well-equipped kitchen -- all around fresh and attractive decor. Would definitely stay again when we're in L.A.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review