reviews for: listing #67997 - Santa Monica, California Condo rental

Great Ocean Views! Ocean Front Building! Close to Everywhere
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $7,455 - $8,946 /mth

sort by:

Great Location But Noisy!

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this unit for 10 days and really enjoyed our stay. Getting to know Santa Monica and all that is offered was eye opening. Being a Northern Cali girl I was a bit jaded in my opinion of SoCal. Since our son now resides in LA we chose this apartment (only approx. 9 miles from West Hollywood) because of it's close proximity to our son. We couldn't have been happier with our choice! There is something to do for just about anyone. Lot's of healthy living on the promenade that runs along the beach. We rented bikes for our stay. Between biking and lots of walking we felt like we got plenty of exercise. People watching was very entertaining. Santa Monica is truly the center of the Universe. A VERY diverse population that somehow coexists with little judgment. Very refreshing!

We loved being so close to the 3rd street promenade and boardwalk. Plenty of sights to see and restaurants, shopping, etc., without having to drive and park. If you do park, park at the mall near the promenade -- first 90 mins free and $1 total thereafter! Venice is a must see, at least once. Speaking of plenty to see -- we saw Harrison Ford at a restaurant in Santa Monica one night, and John Goodman on the streets a few days later. That was fun:)

As mentioned, the apartment is very noisy so don't stay here if you're looking for R&R. We happened to be there when they were setting up for the Independent Film Awards Oscars across the street in the pkg lot. I was awakened to clanging noises early on Saturday morning when they were unloading the tent materials -- the set up went on for the full week. There are plenty of late night, drunk/stoned people on the street on the weekends, and cars turning around (illegally) right in front of the apartment. The good news is there is an assisted living facility right next door so they're pretty quiet ;)

In an nutshell, I would stay here again. Loved the location, views out of the living room window of the beach, sunsets, etc, and close proximity to very busy downtown LA!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely love it and could not have found a better location!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

We have had a fantastic time here. We absolutely love it here and we could not have picked a better location. The area here just motivates us to do more sports and we have thoroughly enjoyed our activities here. We definitely plan to come to LA again probably December 2015 and we will contact you and hope that we are lucky again to get this apartment.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ABSOLUTELY AWFUL APARTMENT AND EXPERIENCE!!!!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 13, 2013

I would highly recommend staying away from this unit and company.
When we arrived, after being told that our place was ready for us to check in an hour before, the apartment was still occupied by a man who had been staying there for 3 weeks.
There were stains on the couch and carpets, crumbs on the floor by the dining room table, the sheets were still damp and the toilet was absolutely disgusting and looked like it had not been cleaned in months.
On top of that, they refuse to return our money.
We called to inform them of the situation and felt strongly that if this was the state of one of their units they had deemed clean and suitable, no doubt any other unit would be in similar condition.
I was in town for surgery the following day and the cleanliness and comfort of our lodging situation was tantamount.
Sadly it was a total fail on all fronts.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Santa Monica Condo

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

We stayed at this condo in June for our daughter's graduation from UCLA. It is perfectly located for access to the beach, main street and the promenade. The views from the living room and dining room are great. The condo was well appointed and clean. Only recommendations would be a full length mirror and perhaps some black out curtains in addition to the blinds.
We would highly recommend Globe Homes and Condos and this unit in particular.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Brent

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

excellent location, with great ocean views and breezes. the unit is clean and packed with quallity appliances and services which made our stay all the more enjoyable. We had some wifi issues which frustrated our first day there, but these were resolved soon enough.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

LOVE Santa Monica

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

Good morning!

We will be leaving Santa Monica within a few hours and I wanted to let you know that we had a great time here!

The apt was perfect - size and location location location!! Love the view and if I ever get the chance to come back . . It would be right to this suite!

The info that you sent before our arrival was spot-on. From the pick-up at the airport, we took full advantage of the 2 days of the hop-off hop-on tours. We did the hockey game on Saturday night and Price is Right on Monday ...a beach day ...the promenade ...and lots of the local restaurants.

And we will keep a watch out for the filming that will be taking place right here next week!!

Thank you so much for making this such a pleasant adventure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so grateful to you for this review. Thank you so much for all your positive feedback, and advise to other travelers on fun things to do while in town!

We very much hope you get to stay with us very soon and are once again grateful for your feedback!

Sincerely:

Globe Homes and Condos Team

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great apartment & great location in Santa Monica!

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

The apartment was beautiful. Clean and tidy and wonderfully appointed with everything you need. The neighbours are nice and the location is great. Not too close to the Pier to be noisy but close enough to walk to within 10 - 15 minutes. There are nice food markets and restaurants within a block or two's walk. The kitchen is great and the beds are very comfy. Our 7 and 3 year old slept like logs in the bedroom with the two single beds. Our concierge, Joe was a great help all through the lead up and nothing was too much trouble. I would definayely stay here again and I would certainly recommend it to friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad the rental worked out so well for you. We hope you get to come back again soon!

Sincerely:

Globe Homes and Condos Team

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

California Vacation

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

Great property located opposite the beach with very useful parking spot - also in walking distance of many eateries and the shops of downtown Santa Monica.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope you get to stay with us again in the very near future!

Sincerely:

Globe Homes and Condos Team

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, across from the beach

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

The location of the property was ideal, we didn't need the car while exploring Santa Monica. Quiet location and amenities of property were great, nice suprise to find sand toys for our 2 year old to enjoy on the beach. We would stay at here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding Santa Monica Experience

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Condo was lovely; check in and out were very easy and staff was great. Location is excellent. Would recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Really a nice suite close to Santa Monica Pier

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

I can really recommend a stay in suite 17 just in front of Santa Monica Beach. i found it to be a safe area, I brought my 16 year old daughter and her friend, and we didn't have any problems with them going out to shopping areas even in the evening. The apartment was nice and clean, the location was quiet, yet very close to the nice beach and shopping areas of Santa Monica. I will love to come back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice Stay

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights with our toddler in Suite 4. Grandparents came along for two nights. We loved the location and found the suite comfortable and perfectly appropriate for our stay.
We also were impressed by the care the owners put in: after a first night of sleeping poorly because of floodlights from the neighbor, they sent in a handyman who hung curtains for us!
Access to the beach and Main street is super easy. And it was super nice having parking right there.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seattle family visit

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

We were thrilled to find such a wonderful condo right across the beach for our stay in Santa Monica that included concierge service from Globe Homes and Condos. The concierge was able to assist us in planning a variety of tour options which included a tour of LA and Hollywood. The concierge also told me about a website where we were able to get tickets to the taping of a Nickelodeon show which my daughters were so excited about. We were also able to rent bikes and get beach chairs and towels (at no cost!) from Globe which were delivered right our condo! It was a condo rental with the amenities of a hotel, so it was perfect for our family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pepperdine Graduation

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

This was the first experience with VRBO - Global Homes. We needed a place that was nice and affordable while we came to see my son graduate from Pepperdine. We found the home to be beautiful and very affordable. My family enjoyed having the home away from home for the week and took advantage of the central location for sightseeing in the Santa Monica - Malibu - LA area. I look forward to other travels with VRBA and Global Homes. All the staff was very helpful and made the check-in and check-out go smoothly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

This was a great location and very well set up. The staff was extremely helpful-we locked our keys inside, and they went the extra yard to try and help us out (successfully ;-)

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Monica

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Great apartment with a great direct ocean view. Great service with a very responsive team. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! Hope to see you back next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location in Santa Monica

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We rented for 2 weeks in August and were very happy with the location, layout and service provided by the agent and concierge. The apartment is exactly as it appears in the website photos: comfortable but not luxurious. The bathroom is small. The best things about it were the head-on ocean views and walking distance proximity to restaurants and shopping, the beach walk and bike trails. We have rebooked for a longer stay next August in the same building.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks! We will see you soon

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Suite & Location

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

This is a fantastic apartment with great facilities!! The Suite was spotless when we arrived, really nice lady welcomed us and addressed all our issues/questions. The location is just fantastic with a great view of the beach and pier. The walk upto the downtown area is only 15mins. Our stay, which was for a total of 9 nights was great and I would not hesitate to book again. Many Many thanks from my family and I.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Santa Monica Vacation

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2009

This property was exactly what I was looking for! The pictures on the website are exactly as we found the condo. I was traveling to California for the first time with 3 other people in April and chose to stay in Santa Monica. This location is perfect. Santa Monica is beautiful and the condo is in a prime location. Most of our destinations were about 20-35 mins away (by car), which is normal for LA. The condo was in mint condition when we arrived and greeted by Christina, the property manager. She was great! Our flight arrived early and allowed us to check in earlier! She gave us a tour of the condo and told us where to go grocery shopping, where to dine, and other local information. The location is within walking distance to Venice Beach and the main strip in Santa Monica. We rented a big suv which was a little hard to park due to the narrow entrance of the lot, but we were able to switch spots with unit 4 (also renting from the same company) so it worked out perfectly! If you don't need such a big car (ie; Chevy Tahoe) then definitely get something smaller! The beach was literally seconds away from the condo door steps, and it was such a lively area! Both Christina and Carlos were great with me and excel in hospitality. Christina was available for any questions or concerns we had while staying at the condo. I would recommend this condo for friends, families, and anyone looking for a worry free vacation spot. My experience was great, and I will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Santa Monica Flat 4 by the Sea

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

WOW WOW WOW
What an appartment - this place is everything it says in its listing and I was nervous as it was my first trip to the States and my first booking something over the internet so far away. But wasnt disappointed as it was everything it said in its description and pictures. The Beach is something else though, I loved looking at it every morning eating my breakfast.
Office staff very friendly and reassuring when I spoke or emailed them. Christine was a star with all my questions. Cleaners efficient.
Excellent for accessibility to the Beach
Central for Pier, Main Street and Venice Beach and 10 min walk to 3rd Prom Shopping
Fantastic base for visiting LA very close to freeway or using Santa Monica Boulevard.
Excellent equipment microwave, cooker and fridge (which I never was able to fill even though we stayed for three weeks - its enormous!!)
Just three little things that would just give it a fourth WOW...
1) TV could do with replacing with an uptodate LCD flat screen as our Royal Wedding wasnt as sharp in contrast as it could have been ....!!
2) Two single beds (ok for little kids) but really could do with being replaced with small doubles especially for adults and they creak a lot when you turn over. The master bed was luxurious though.
3) Incoming landline - so family and friends can call in - my mobile phone bill was hefty.

It was an amazing place - we loved it and will come back some day soon if funds allow.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! We're constantly upgrading our properties and you recommendations will be considered. We definitely need a flat screen in this place and we're putting VoIP lines in all the condos. Hope to see you back soon!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great apartment - great loaction

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

The apartment was exactly as described - we were impressed! It was nice and quiet at night. Very nice gym, hot tub and sauna. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the sun in the morning. The building is clean, everyone was friendly. TV and wifi worked well. Lots of interesting restaurants nearby. The location was great - 5 minutes to the freeway, 5 minutes to Albertsons for groceries, 30 minutes drive to Disney and about 30 to 40 minutes to downtown LA, Hollywood or Santa Monica. The parking garage is very secure. We rented a car but there is lots to do and see nearby. Close to buses and metro.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2010

This is truly the best location you can get in Santa Monica. The views from the apartment are beautiful and it is so nice to be able to walk to everything easily. Renting the bikes made everything even easier! Thank you for such a great stay. We will be back next year!

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review