reviews for: listing #68092 - Falmouth, Massachusetts House rental

Bayside cottage in Maravista, Walk to beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Maravista
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $800 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

Great beach house

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

If you're planning on visiting Cape Cod or want a beach vacation this is the PLACE TO BE. The public beach is a minute car ride or a 15 minute walk along a beautiful bay. Or you can go sit and wade around at the bay that you can see from the house.
The home is very charming and tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean. We had an awesome vacation at this house and the description and pictures were very accurate. The backyard was great for the kids and we had a BBQ's every night out on the back patio. The location was very quiet, and conveniently located to downtown Falmouth and the beaches. I highly recommend this home and would choose to stay here again. There is no need to look any further.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Summer

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

Great vacation spot and house was perfect for us. It was clean and well-maintained. We liked the split level, good for sleeping in and the big bathroom for the kids. We ate out on the patio every night since there was a really nice gas grill.
We brought our kayaks and walked a couple of houses down the street to launch them, which was very convenient and we liked exploring the inlets running off of the bay. There is a fun downtown with lots a interesting shops and an ice cream shop we visited often. The beaches are all beautiful and there is one very close to the house we went to swim.
The house and location are super for a relaxing,be close to nature or outdoor vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the positive review we work hard to insure our renters enjoy their stay. We love to hear that our vacationers enjoy the house as much as we do!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect vacation for us

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 29, 2010

I wanted to thank you for allowing us to use your property. The home, location and weather could not have been more perfect. Your décor makes it feel like a beach house and the simplicity and no fussiness style make it relaxed and just right for vacationing. The house was clean and well-maintained. For the location and house the price was just right. Not fancy but fun and carefree. Thanks again we enjoyed walks along the bay and going to the beach plus liked the convenience of the downtown being so close. Definitely would recommend.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice area but...

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

The cottage is in a nice section of Falmouth, but the ad was a bit deceiving. If I had known up front that the second bedroom was sub-terrainian I would have passed.
All of the appliances worked, and the grill outside was nice to keep the food budget down. We also were able to get full internet access through the cable box, which was nice.
But the swingset outside was in sad condition, some parts held together with string or broken, seemed unsafe for the kids. The lease allows you to waive the cleaning fee, but all you are supplied with to clean is a broom! A vaccum, even a dust buster would have helped, there were dust bunnied under the furniture the size of tumble weeds. The lights in the house kept flickering. The couch had a funky odor to it. We brought our own sheets but the mattress covers were not cleaned, and were the waterproof-make-you-sweat-all-night variety.
There was some nasty foam rug thing on the bathroom floor that made me cringe every time I stepped on it. The vinyl floors were ripped or buckeling. There were a few fans in the house that caked with grimey dirt.

For what we paid, I expected something a little nicer, but was disappointed.
Sorry, I won't be going back.

Owners response: This renter arrived long before the check-in time specified on the lease and had moved all of their stuff in. The cottage had not been checked or cleaned. When asked she declined any cleaning services.
As you can see from the other reviews the cottage is very clean and in good condition. If there were to be a complaint we would address it as soon as possible.
Just to clarify:
The cottage has flooring throughout and only a small area rug so a vacuum is not necessary. The mattresses are all new and covered with vinyl for protection and then on top of that is a soft fabric pad. All the fans are new except for a window fan which probably had some outside dirt on it. Again she declined cleaning services. Since the foam rug did not appeal to this tenant we replaced it. We investigated the light flickering but could not reproduce it. I suspect it was a time when it was hot and the power in the town may have been overloading.
Please check out the other reviews as this one is minimally justified given their early arrival and refusal of cleaning services. We certainly want our tenants to enjoy their stay and do our best to make that possible.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Beach vacation all the way

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

we loved this vacation!The house was cute and clean and just what we expected for a beach house. It is in a great location and we had so much fun going to the beach, shopping in the quaint downtown with lots of good shops and restaurants. we grilled a lot since there is a nice grill and patio. The kids were big on the outdoor shower and had a blast catching crabs and minnows at the bay beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great summer vacation spot

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

we had a great vacation. The cottage had everything we needed for a summer vacation and was neat and clean. It was not new or very big but was very charming and comfortable. We enjoyed barbecues in the backyard, walks along the beautiful bay and the beaches. We liked the downtown too and went there for ice cream in the evening.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review