reviews for: listing #68141 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Seaside Cottage
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pirate's Beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $675 /nt
    $1,700 - $4,900 /wk
    $2,800 - $20,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Choice!

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

This beach house is an excellent choice for a vacation. Our three college age children had friends that filled the house. The downstairs bedroom was perfect, as the kids could be as loud as they wanted as late as they wanted while those who wanted to sleep could do so upstairs, undisturbed. The main room is large and easily accommodated all of us for meals and games. The house is clean and well kept, and very well stocked. Nancy is very thorough and easy to work with. I would definitely return to this property!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Excellent Experience; Great House; Fabulous Location

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

I strongly second the views of the earlier reviewers. One of the greatest aspects of the house is the owner. She is very tolerant of an endless list of questions and she provides you excellent information to make your experience as predictable and enjoyable as possible. She is a professional and she treats here guests as true guests. Everything with the house is as described. No surprises. A short 20-30 second walk to the beach; nice views from the large deck; really nice views from the deck of the master bedroom; and a well maintained home. The master bedroom has particularly nice bedding and the family room furniture and flat screen tv are well appreciated. The kitchen is well stocked and has a nice set-up with the living space. We have two young boys who had a blast. We enjoyed having a separate bedroom on the ground floor with a separate entrance to give our nanny some privacy but the room would also be ideal for a family given the large number of beds. The owner's willingess to allow use of her grill and country club membership also makes for an excellent experience. In short, this house is ideal for proximity to the beach and hassle free rental experience. Ideal experience. Strongly recommend this rental. I hope to return with the family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful house, fantastic vacation.

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

We had a FANTASTIC time! The house was beautiful, comfortable, well-appointed, and tastefully beachy! And we loved the location! The beach was never crowded and Galveston is so easy to get around. Nancy, you were a pleasure to work with in planning our trip and prepping us for what to bring etc. All of the instructions on the house itself were also very clear. We will definitely contact you when we decide to return to Galveston, and will recommend your properties to anyone visiting there as well. Thank you for your gracious hospitality and for sharing your beautiful property!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Family's Beach Trip to Galveston Island

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Galveston. Your home was lovely and location, location, location was awesome. I wanted to let you know that we appreciate the role your home played in creating a memorable vacation for our family. My youngest grand daughter (2) loved the ocean waves the minute she saw them and ran right into the water, giggling! She has told her dad since they have been home that she wants to go to the beach. Everyone enjoyed our vacation, even my husband, who is not a beach lover. Also, you have many can openers and wine bottle openers! In fact, your kitchen equipment is excellent. The beds were very comfortable and the living room works so well for a large group! Thank you for sharing your home with us."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seaside Cottage Pirates Beach, Galveston

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

The house was very clean and very nicely furnished. The beds were very comfortable and lots of clean towels were provided. The kitchen was very well stocked and there was even a nice collection of cooking spices left behind from previous guests for us to use. The house is about a 2 minute walk from the beach, with a small view of the ocean from the patio outside the master bedroom. We really enjoyed our stay with would recommend it to other people. One tip: the 4th bedroom (the one with the king bed and 2 twins) is not attached to the top floor but has its own door off of driveway. i am sure this is stated in the description and I just missed it but we were going to use that for our 2 small children but did not feel comfortable leaving them alone in that room at night since it had no access from the upstairs part of the house and had a door that led to the driveway.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderful beach home!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

First of all, Nancy was such a pleasure to deal with. She made the whole process so easy and enjoyable. Her house is just two homes from the beach which makes it ideal if you plan to spend a lot of time there-which we did. She provided chairs, umbrella, toys, and boogie boards all which we put to good use. The house itself is in immaculate condition and spotlessly clean. It is very comfortable-we had two families and felt that we had plenty of room. The three bedroom upstairs all had very comfortable beds and we were happy to have two bathrooms. While we didnt make use of the bedroom on the bottom floor, it was buge with a king bed, twins and a futon (and great ac!)-would have been perfect some bigger kids. We had a wonderful visit and would definately stay again. Thanks Nancy!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Light, bright beach house

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

Our family spent spring break week at this beach house. Perfect size for our family of 5 and grand parents. Clean. Owner very responsive and very organized. Really nice to have a list of what is included in the beach house and what we needed to bring. Saved lots of time and stress packing for our trip. Liked having the separate room downstairs - was great for the kids. Be aware that this is in Pirate's Beach which is about 10-15 minutes west of the seawall. Most good restaurants and a lot of activities are a 15-20 minute drive - was fine for us because we enjoyed the quiet neighborhood and private beach and didn't mind the drive when we wanted to get out.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

a truly wonderful property

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

there are many things i could say about how welcoming, clean, comfortable, and wonderfully situated this property is but most importantly it feels loved, it feels like the owner and the people that have stayed really appreciate it and it holds a very special place in their hearts.
i can certainly say it does and will for me - everything was in perfect order and communication with the owner could not have been more flawless.
a really really special place.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Lolly

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

This is a wonderful beach house. It is just 5th house away from the beach, so just less than 5 min. walk. The house is decorated tastefully, equipped with all appliances, grill, dishes, etc. Views from outside deck of the beach and ocean. There are several bedrooms, all with comfortable beds and bedding. The owner is quick to respond to emails and to give suggestions. The house was immaculate. I can not recommend it enough. A wonderful retreat to enjoy Galveston!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Seaside Cottage

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

Went for a girls weekend in September. Had a great time. The house is very spacious nad inviting.
Will definitely plan to stay again in the future.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

seaside family holiday

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Words can not fully describe how wonderful this property is. We brought together our children and grandchildren from different points in the US for a week by the sea. There was plenty of room for all and just 4 houses from the beach, walking on a quiet beach access road. The large great room was perfect for kids to play and adults to visit. The kitchen was well equipted. There were plenty of baths which were clean and in good repair. There is even a large paved area under the house for congregating, cookouts and play.The listing was all it reported to be, very clean and with all the amentities needed. The property was recommended to us by other family members who had rented it the previous year. The owner was very helpful with reservations and questions, responding clearly and quickly. The first evening we arrived, we drove into town for dinner at the Rain Forest Cafe. It was the perfect place for the kids. We ate outside where they had live music, a magic show and kids' activities. The RF mountain volcano eruption was great entertainment, too. All other meals we prepared at "our" house with plenty of room in the kitchen and around the table for all. Several large grocery stores are just a 10 minute drive into town. Some of our group enjoyed the pool at the Galveston Country Club. A guest membership comes with the rental for a small fee. Besides the beautiful deep swimming pool, the Country Club pool area has a large covered wading pool for little ones. The area also has tables for eating and a volleyball net area on the grass. Food can be ordered from the club house. Of course, we came for the ocean. We enjoyed jumping the waves, building sandcastles and sunset walks on the beach, returning to cool breazy nights star gazing on the upper deck of our home. Memories were made. Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beauitful Cottage

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

My husband and I took our 3 kids, their spouses and 2 grandchildren for 2 weeks.We spent July 4th and enjoyed fireworks on the beach. We all had plenty of room and fun. This is the 2nd time we have rented from the owner of this property, we had a great time. Owner very easy to work with and cares that you enjoy your vacation. Property is very close to the beach, easy walk. Kitchen has everything you need and more. Beds are very comfortable and house is very, very clean. The colorful rooms are very cheery and inviting. Floats and lawn chairs are all there. It rained for 4 days, we still enjoyed TV , games, eatting good seafood, and shopping the strand. You will love this Seaside Cottage.
Patty Wheeler

Patty Wheeler

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect family beachside property!

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Nancy's seaside cottage.

It was a short walk to the beach and very spacious for our extended family. We relaxed and had a wonderful time. It was perfect! It made for a memorable and special family vacation.

We had the pleasure of staying at Nancy's charming seaside cottage over the Easter break 2012. We chose to spend a few days in Galveston on the beach before our Caribbean cruise. The cottage is ideally situated on Pirates Beach; a lovely beach community about 10 minute drive from the heart of Galveston. We were glad to be away from the crowds of people jammed along the seawall.

Nancy's home is tastefully decorated in a charming seaside theme. The house has been recently renovated and is well appointed with modern appliances. It is located at the end of a quiet street and is only two driveways over from the beach.

We stayed with our extended family and there was plenty of room to accommodate our group of 9. We had 5 adults and 4 kids aged 8-17. The adults enjoyed the 3 bedrooms upstairs and the large mainfloor room was perfect for the kids to hang out after dinner. The home has a large sundeck and we made great use of it if when we were not at the beach.

Although I have travelled extensively, this was my first experience with VRBO. Nancy was a pleasure to deal with. She was very thorough and addressed any questions or concerns I had.

I would highly recommend staying at Nancy's seaside cottage. You really do feel like a welcome guest in her home. It sure beats spending time in a hotel room watching tv!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Oklahoma Spring Break

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

This house is fabulous!!! Open, bright, with beautiful views!!! I highly recommend this house to anyone coming to Galveston!!! We were so comfortable here! We didn't want to leave!!! Beds were so comfy!! TV's in every room!! downstairs is a suite all to itself that was great for my kids to watch movies and play xbox!! Thanks Nancy for sharing your home with us and making our Spring Break great!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Picture Postcard PERFECT!!!

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

"Thanks so much ~ our stay in your 'postcard-perfect cottage' was a rousing success! The weather was glorious during our visit and only started to rain as we finished our lunch in town and headed out on Tuesday about 2:00P.M.

As we collectively told Maria when she arrived (just as we finished packing and loading), while we all found so many things to appreciate about your sweet cottage, we unanimously found it amazingly CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN! We couldn't get over it ~ spotless does not sufficiently describe how wonderfully CLEAN it was! We will be hard pressed to find anything else that could ever measure up to the amazing condition/readiness we found the cottage in!

We Absolutely Loved: the great open floor-plan ~ the walls of clean windows ~ the wonderful accommodating sofas ~ the big T.V. over the fireplace (perfect for us to gather round and boo-hoo as we watched our chick-flick DVDs and toasted our BD-girl) ~ the great big coffee table ( which proved very accommodating for all of the 'carbs' we consumed and wine we drank) ~ the wonderful comfy beds ( several of us, myself included, must now replace our beds at home) ~ the number of baths ( no one ever had to wait)! You thought of everything we needed and made sure it was there! (coffee maker, coffee press, wine openers, dishes, glasses, cookie sheets, pots & pans, like-new stovetop and oven, towels, washcloths, pillows, blankets etc.)

The highest compliment we paid ~ you weren't there to hear ~ departing we all stuck our heads out the car windows and hollowed to Maria, " We'll be back!" and you can count on that!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Getaway at Seaside Cottage

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

We had the most wonderful time!!!!! Special memories were made. It was the very first time all of my family took a trip together. Nancy, your home is lovely and accommodating in every way. We all want to go back.

My son caught two red fish off the beach….both were 25-30 pounds. We took family photos with the beautiful sunset. We enjoyed the Strand. The Spot (on the Seawall) is a good place to have a hamburger. Casey's Seafood next to Guido's is also good.

My 60th birthday weekend with my family was so special. Thank you, Nancy for everything.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Girls Weekend

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

I was in charge of planning a girls weekend to Galveston and after seeing pictures online, I figured this house would work out well. It far exceeded my expectations. All of the girls loved the decorations, pillow top mattresses and rooms. They all kept commenting on how nice it was for being a beach house. We had a wonderful weekend and we will be planning a return trip in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Seaside Cottage was great for us!

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this house. It was easy access to the beach. Our 4 yr old had no trouble going back and forth. Easy to run back up to the house for things forgotten. The accomodations were so nice, very clean and plenty of room. The kitchen was also well stocked with pans and dishes. We had 8 adults and 2 children and were very comfortable. The side deck view was amazing and there were plenty of chairs on both decks to enjoy sitting out. We used most of our own beach stuff but there were lots of chairs and sand toys available. Dinner at the country club was great. Great experience - would definitly rent again - very nice to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time in Galveston

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

Our family of two young married couples, two teenagers, my husband and myself disembarked from a lovely cruise and were able to quickly locate this darling beach home as easily as was described. It was located in a nice development and was even cuter than the pictures on the website. Coming from the west/midwest, we girls loved the seaside decor in its pro;er setting. We settled in for a couple of wonderfully relaxing days in a spotlessly clean oasis that had everything our family could possibly need, from plenty of kitchen equipment to pails and shovels to play with on the beach, which was a shell's throw away. It, too, was clean and quiet and beautiful and we had a blast playing in the sand and waves like a bunch of schoolkids.

We rented cruiser bikes one day and explored the seawall, the Strand, the ferry, and lots in between. A terrific way to really see the town at our liesure and truly see the architecture and many details of this historic place. The extreme damage of a few years ago was hardly in evidence. We ate at the Saltgrass Steakhouse, and have rarely had a better steak. We also went to Benno's and tried just about everything on the menu. The food was delicious and the staff were patient instructors with us inland rookies as to the finer points of crab and clam cracking.

All in all, it was an excellent wrap-up to our vacation. The owner couldn't have been more helpful and cooperative in all contacts and working out our details. Hopefully, we can return some day!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spring Break 2011

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

Our spring break 2011 holds wonderful memories of our stay at your beach house. Every evening as we gathered around the dinner table I'd ask the grandkids what their favorite part of the day was. The answers were so varied: the oldest girls (13 and 9) loved their bedroom - the middle one upstairs, the little boys loved the beach, even the 1 year old toddled around with his shovel and cried every time we left the sand. We brought a number of board games and the table serverd as a gathering spot for some lively entertainment. We had a full moon to hunt for the "ghost crabs" or "sand crabs" at night...so nice! The seafood shop at the intersection to the neighborhood provided wonderful fresh shrimp for a couple meals. Even though we prepared most of our meals at the house we did have a good lunch at Fish Tails. Having the washer and dryer was handy. We all thank you and hope to return to your lovely, cozy beach home and would recommend a stay to our friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seaside Cottage Vacation

Review submitted: November 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

This is such a beautiful and comfortable cabin. We enjoyed our stay so much! The decor and colors in the cabin are beautiful and so cheerful perfect for a beach cabin. I also have to add that this is the cleanest cabin we have ever stayed in whoever is responsible for this is doing an excellent job. Would definitely rent from Nancy again. Anna F.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed the beach home. Hope to see you again soon :) Nancy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Beach Side Rental

Review submitted: October 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

Our stay at this beach house could not have been nicer. Every detail was taken care of from the decor to the top notch accessories. The beds were very comfortable with the finest pillows, sheets and towels. The house was clean and ready for use to move in when we got there. I loved all the windows and the deck for relaxing. This beach house is located in the beautiful small community of Pirates Beach which is private and clean. Also Pirates Beach is not too far from the main attractions in Galveston. There's a wonderful fresh seafood market very close by, Allex's, at the corner of FM 3005 and 12 Mile Rd that I recommend if you plan on doing any cooking. We are already planning to stay here next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great weekend getaway for family

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

The house was beautifully redecorated and clean! Beds and pillows were super comfy for all and the kitchen was well stocked for cooking with pots, pans, and utensils aplenty. The gracious and communicative owner even supplied some sundries in the kitchen and bath (toilet paper, paper towels, kleenex, body wash, foil, cling wrap, ziploc bags, garbage bags). We very much appreciated having these items on hand. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we booked it again as soon as we got home. Beach is a stone's throw away, close enough to send the kids to play without our hovering constantly.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for your kind note. I hope all my guests have the same experience.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Beautiful house just steps from the beach

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

This house is beautiful inside and has a great view from the master bedroom and deck. My family stayed here for spring break (2 adults + 3 young kids) and thoroughly enjoyed the easy beach access and amenities. This is not a campy run-down beach house. Expect a fully stocked kitchen, luxurious beds, tasteful decorations and a very clean, cozy home. Can't wait for our next vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review