reviews for: listing #68264 - Cape Vincent, New York Cottage rental

Large waterfront 6 br. lake house on shores of lake Ontario
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,500 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Dee & Mike Duger

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Once again...here we are, just waiting to pack up! With the summer quickly approaching, we are all so anxious for our 6th consecutive year renting from the Petosa's. Our children, now almost 10 & 15 years old, are counting down the days of school left and how many days after that we head to Cape Vincent for our favorite family vacation time. We look so forward to getting away and knowing what to expect each year, as Nick & Lisa have made this a "HOME" for us year after year. We are always excited and anticipating "what will be NEW" this year! For the past 5-6 years we have found so many new things in each unit.. Bikes, Grills, Linens, furniture, outside games, dvd's and cd's and so much more. Without a doubt, this will be another year of what we call an " amazing week in heaven"~Between the sunrises and the sunsets, to the millions of stars in the sky each night...we're sure we will not want to leave to go home once again. It's always a sad ride back to Baldwinsville....But we know there is always "next year". Thank you Nick & Lisa Petosa for the ongoing friendship and love you have shared with our family each year. We are so excited to get to Pond Shore :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Family Tradition Vacation

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Our family has chosen this cottage as our "YEARLY" family vacation. We started coming here 5 years ago as my husband was hired by the owners to some work on both units. Our first visit was under construction (which we were well aware of) BUT, it still seemed like home to us. At the time, our boys were just 4 and 9 years old. Today, they are 8 and 13 and still love coming to the cottage. We book our next week before we leave each year. Infact, they have begged for 2 weeks next year! Each year we continue to find new things whether it be new landscaping, painting, appliances, dishes, pans, bakeware, decor, outside toys and bikes! Just to name a few. This year we were surprized with a beautiful garage which adds such cozyness to the entire cottage property along with the beautiful flower bouquets to greet us, not to mention the delicious dinners that were prepared and left in our refridgerator!!! Thank you again Nick and Lisa.
The cottage is very spacious, great layout and plenty of ammenities. Very neat and clean as well with plenty of space for extra quests.You would laugh if you knew what I brought our first year,(including pots, pans, and more!)
I cannot tell you what I started bringing because there was too much to list but, I can promise you the owners have made it so convenient that I am down to bringing just clothes, linens and bath items! Each year Nick and Lisa provide so many extras that we are amazed everytime year we visit. We cannot believe the amount of time and love that has been put into this beautiful cottage we call "HOME".
As we were leaving this year, Nick told me that I would have a washer and dryer next year! I always tease him about what I wish for each year and he amazes me everytime. These people are the kindest owners and most fun loving people that have made us keep coming back with out question. Needless to say, our children will grow with amazing memories.
Every year we invite new friends and family for a few days to join us. In amazement...they are stunned by the view, ammenities and the generosity of the owners. There are so many great things in the area such as a huge playground with baseball fields, dining, shopping, lounging by the shore and so much more. This has truly given our family memorable times with so many more to come, not to mention it is the most relaxing vacation for all.
Thank you again Nick and Lisa for sharing your "HOME" with us and making us feel so welcomed each year. You truly do have a beautifu

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Fantastic property and owners!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

This was our first experience with a vacation rental and we were so pleased with our experience. The owners, Nick and Lisa, went way above and beyond normal customer service to ensure that our stay was perfect. We rented both sides of the unit and had 12 people staying there, 3 of which were children, ages 4, 10 months and 7 months. We never felt crowded and had all of the amenities that we needed. The kitchens were well stocked and the furniture was comfortable. The description posted was accurate and the property was very clean. We especially enjoyed our time outside. The view is amazing and there is a fire pit to cook over and several grills, both charcoal and gas. There are also several lawn chairs and some picnic tables, all in great condition. We asked Lisa if she could provide the linens and towels for us because we were traveling from far away and for such a long time (we came from AZ and TX and our total vacation was 2 weeks) and she agreed without hesitation. We called/emailed her several times with questions about the area and for recommendations. Every time her response was quick and very helpful. We were visiting the area to celebrate my grandmothers birthday and Lisa even put together a lovely gift for her. This property was also very easy to stay at with small children. There are two high chairs, 2 "pack n' plays" and a portable play pen. All of them were in excellent (if not new) condition. The babies enjoyed playing in the play pen outside. There were also some outdoor games (ladder ball, bocce ball, etc...) that we used and a few board games available. The water was pretty rough most days we were there, but there was one morning that a few of the boys ventured out in the rowboat. We will definitely stay here again next time we are up that way. We would also highly recommend it to anyone considering a stay in Cape Vincent. thanks again, Nick and Lisa!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic property and owners!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

This was our first experience with a vacation rental and we were so pleased with our experience. The owners, Nick and Lisa, went way above and beyond normal customer service to ensure that our stay was perfect.

We rented both sides of the unit and had 12 people staying there, 3 of which were children, ages 4, 10 months and 7 months. We never felt crowded and had all of the amenities that we needed. The kitchens were well stocked and the furniture was comfortable. The description posted was accurate and the property was very clean. We especially enjoyed our time outside. The view is amazing and there is a fire pit to cook over and several grills, both charcoal and gas. There are also several lawn chairs and some picnic tables, all in great condition.

We asked Lisa if she could provide the linens and towels for us because we were traveling from far away and for such a long time (we came from AZ and TX and our total vacation was 2 weeks) and she agreed without hesitation. We called/emailed her several times with questions about the area and for recommendations. Every time her response was quick and very helpful. We were visiting the area to celebrate my grandmothers birthday and Lisa even put together a lovely gift for her.

This property was also very easy to stay at with small children. There are two high chairs, 2 "pack n' plays" and a portable play pen. All of them were in excellent (if not new) condition. The babies enjoyed playing in the play pen outside. There were also some outdoor games (ladder ball, bocce ball, etc...) that we used and a few board games available. The water was pretty rough most days we were there, but there was one morning that a few of the boys ventured out in the rowboat.

We will definitely stay here again next time we are up that way. We would also highly recommend it to anyone considering a stay in Cape Vincent. thanks again, Nick and Lisa!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Words can not describe how amazing this place is!!

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

My family and I have been many places to stay throughout the country. It is hard sometimes when you look at pictures to know if that is what to expect when you arrive but this place blew us away. Lisa and Nick have gone out of their way to add so many extras touches of home to this cottage. We did not need for anything and when we come again we will bring even less. The place was very clean. I felt like we were staying on the ocean. The views were breath taking and the sunsets over the water were priceless. Not only was the cottage clean it was spacious. I have a big family and we were never on top of each other. This vacation was by far was the most relaxing and pleasurable that we have been on in a long time. We are already planning out return next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review