reviews for: listing #68276 - Bryce Canyon, Utah House rental

Bryce Canyon Retreat WINTER SPECIAL $ 150
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $225 /nt
    $900 - $1,250 /wk
    $3,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect vacation home.

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

We visited in late June, there were 4 adults, 2 kids and 3 dogs and we had more than enough space. The house is well looked after, spacious and comfortable with amazing views from the deck and yard. The house is well stocked with extra linens and towels, the kitchen includes everything you will need, plus the pantry has a few basic supplies (spices, sugar, cereal etc.) there are maps and brochures about the area, board games, books and magazines, TV, DVD's and internet.
The house is well equipped for people bringing pets, one of the enclosed dog runs has a roof and is fully shaded, the fenced yard is secure with a large dog house.

The house is surrounded by fields with amazing views, we took walks around the neighborhood each evening and found a small park and playground just a few minutes from the house. There are fields of horses, cows, sheep and pigs which greeted us enthusiastically when we walked by.

The location is ideal, the neighborhood is pretty and peaceful, there is a grocery store in the town of Tropic just a few minutes drive, and the KOA swimming pool is within walking distance and is $3.00 per person. Bryce and Escalante are a short and scenic drive from the house. The visitors centers in Cannonville, Bryce and Escalante were all very helpful in directing us where to go and what to do.

Lastly, the owner Tom was very welcoming and helpful. He provided tons of information about the area and made sure that we had everything we needed. I would highly recommend this property, the house is wonderful, the location is beautiful and convenient and the service was top of the line. We look forward to visiting again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little piece of heaven

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

We stayed here while visiting Bryce Canyon. It was close to the park and very convenient. We had a nice stay there with our two dogs. They loved the yard and the wash in the back. It was nice and roomy and the Jacuzzi tub was awesome and hit the spot after our hike in the canyon. The house was clean and inviting. The weather was perfect.

Fantastic area to be in for visits to all the National Parks surrounding the area. Way better than a hotel room and the price is right. Thanks Tom for all your help.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Home Away From Home

Review submitted: April 24, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

I would liken this more to staying at a buddy's place than a vacation home because its got everything you need. Its close to Bryce and Kodachrome. Truth be told had we to do it again we would have spent more time at Kodachrome...its very close from the home and tons of beautiful trails. The place was clean, the kitchen everything you need, and after a long day of hiking the family and I enjoyed playing pool in the downstairs area. We are already planning for another trip! Owner was great as well...very helpful, very informative, and the home is lacking nothing you will need whatsoever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Home. Excellent Location. Excellent Owner.

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

This is a very spacious house in a great location. It is located basically the next canyon over from Bryce Canyon, so every window you look out of, there is some interesting rock features to see. There were sheep and horses in the fields in the morning and deer greeted us the first night we drove in the driveway.

Overall the house has a cabin feel, so don't expect egyptian cotton linens or mints on the pillows, but it was just the vibe we were looking for near a national park. The house itself is huge with every amenity you could think of, down to the flashlights thoughtfully hanging just where you would need them in the mud-room just before you go out the front door. There's a good size fireplace with a neat trap door to load firewood directly from the outside. The kitchen has probably 20-30 pots and pans and every kitchen accessory you would need or think of. I saw two hand mixers in the cabinet for pete's sake.

The owner couldn't be nicer and was very helpful helping us find things to do in the area. His cleaning staff even suggested an amazingly scenic route to take to our next destination. If you ever have cause to drive between bryce and moab, make sure to take the road through escelante and boulder, UT. You won't be sorry!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bryce Canyon Nature Lodge (Private Residence)

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Phenomenal home, great ownership treatment - incredible location. More than the comforts of home - a simply spectacular setting close to so much outdoors adventure. Great condition, clean, well kept, private setting. This place deserves 10 stars not just 5. Owner is incredibly responsive and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Slice Of Utah Heaven

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

Relaxing. Cozy. Warm. Easy to get to and PRIVATE! We were looking for a place to stay with our two German Shepards. This could not have been more perfect. We walked down to the river twice a day and the dogs loved it.
What no one has said in previous reviews is that you are in Bryce Canyon's backyard. The views are spectacular. And if you turn left instead of right, Kodachrome State Park is minutes away. We had tons of fun off road exploring the area in our Jeep. There is a basket of maps and information of the entire area.
Tom could not have been more gracious. We are already talking about a return trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Something for Everyone - Perfect for families

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

The pictures don't do Bryce Canyon Retreat justice. We just got home to reality, but our family created great memories of our stay there. The owner of the home could not have been more accommodating. Before our trip, he kept checking with us to make sure we didn't have any questions about the area. He made sure we had plenty of written information about the house, things to do, and places to see long before we left on our week long family vacation. On our way, there was a fire that blocked the preferred route, that we were unaware of. The home owner saved us a lot of travel time by texting us alternate directions as we were driving out to the home.

We stayed a week at Bryce Canyon Retreat and never ever ran out of things to do. We saved tons of money by eating at the house every night. There are plenty of pans, dishes, glasses, and silverware for our family of 7. Things that you never really think of, such as condiments, spices, sugar, etc were all there for our use.

The master bedroom has a king sized bed, the loft has a full or maybe queen sized futon (with a think cushion) and downstairs has two beds. Also down stairs is a full sized bar and pool table. We never used the bar, but the kids played pool for hours into the evening. There were also plenty of board games to occupy the family during down/rest times.

Outside is a fire pit that we used two evenings for Smores. The sky is unbelievably clear, and the views from the front and back of the house are spectacular. Nearby is a public swimming pool, a little park, and some very nice neighbors. The town of Cannonville could not have been any more welcoming and friendly.

Bryce Canyon is only about 20 minutes away. We went horse back riding and took advantage of a free 1/2 day tour offered by the park service. Our family isn't really into hiking or fishing, which our in abundance in the area. But, we did find ourselves doing a couple of easy hikes to see some great waterfalls.

I could go on and on, but this review had already become a book. I could not recommend Bryce Canyon Retreat highly enough. Excellent +++

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic location!

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Our Bryce Canyon Retreat was just as described - a quiet retreat with a view of some of the beautiful mountains of Southwest Utah. The home provided everything we needed for a relaxing, comfortable, and fun stay. There is something for all ages. The owner, Tom, left us a wealth of information on the area and its attractions and restaurants and directed us to other local people who could also help us plan our day-trips. Tom was also available by cell phone for any questions. Our pre-visit conversations were very helpful in determining our flights and our destinations.

The location is truly perfect. It provides easy access to Bryce Canyon, Red Canyon, Kodachrome Basin, and the Grand Staircase-Escalante (where we went to the Lower Calf Creek Falls and Willis Creek slot canyons) -- all of which were awesome in the full meaning of the word! We also visited Zion Canyon and Hoover Dam on our way back to the Las Vegas airport.

We appreciated, too, that the house was dog-friendly and had a fenced yard. Thanks, Tom, for a memorable stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great house wonderful location

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

We had an awesome vacation at this house. It is down the road from Bryce Canyon NP in a little town, so you are away from the tourist scene and in a real town. The house is big and was great for us. Three adults and 5 teenagers. We had wonderful hiking every day, great hikes are a few short distance and the house was great for relaxing after adventuring. The scenic views and majestic sky are everywhere in this part of Utah. I recommend this place to anyone who wants to see a real part of America, with few crowds and have a experience everyone will treasure (even teen-agers). It is rather remote which is part of the adventure. The owner could not have been nicer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

wonderful house and location

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We had an awesome vacation at this house. It is down the road from Bryce Canyon NP in a little town, so you are away from the tourist scene and in a real town. The house is big and was great for us. Three adults and 5 teenagers. We had wonderful hiking every day, great hikes are a few short distance and the house was great for relaxing after adventuring. The scenic views and majestic sky are everywhere in this part of Utah. I recommend this place to anyone who wants to see a real part of America, with few crowds and have a experience everyone will treasure (even teen-agers). It is rather remote which is part of the adventure. The owner could not have been nicer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

5 Star Experience - Happy renter

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2010

Our party ranged from an 8 month old to a 74 year old. This rental met all our needs. The pictures don't do this place justice. It was more impressive in person. Huge and clean accommodations. Our little ones LOVED the jetted jacuzzi tub downstairs. The home is very spacious. Enough room for everyone. The location was great. We took many day trips to Zion, Bryce Canyon and also some local hikes. It was wonderful getting up in the morning and having a cup of coffee on the back porch. It was so peaceful and the scenery was beautiful.
Plenty of activities INSIDE the house, too such as puzzles, pool table, board games, videos, etc. Also lots of maps/area information provided.
The owner was great. Very attentive and kept giving us information about things to do, restaurants, etc.
We'll definitely be back. Our family plans to come back next year.
Also very affordable. Best bang for your buck. Can't get a better deal then this. Worth every penny!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review