reviews for: listing #68285 - Malibu, California Cottage rental

Ocean Sunsets
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $225 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,300 /wk
    $2,750 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Stunning views. Super clean bungalow.

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

Stunning views. Super clean bungalow.

Have no hesitation. This rental is beautiful, tranquil and only 2 minutes to the coves. Simply a lovely way to spend a weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Inspiring!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

A perfect place for a romantic week-end or a long stay to enjoy the Malibu Beaches (esp. Zuma and Matador). The equipment of this clean and new cottage is outstanding, with lots of nice amenities. The owner provides excellent service and really is interested to make your stay memorable. I definetly would recommend this place to a friend.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

absolutely beautiful! Stunning view!

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

My only issue was a slight ant infestation, which I doubt is any fault of the owners. When asked for help they were kind, prompt and very welcoming. The property is beautiful and amazingly tucked away. My other reservation in writing this review is that this place wont be available the next time I want to stay there!

But practically, everything worked as it should except I am not familiar with an all-in-one washer/dryer so I am sure I got that wrong. But fridge, sink, microwave, TV/cable, internet, A/C, etc. I would go back in a heartbeat. You need a car and if you are an athlete bring running shoes because there is great hilly terrain for some awesome hill sprints.

Owners response: Thanks so much for the review. When the heat hits, sometimes the ants run for cover despite the scheduled preventative measures :). Hope you come back when the calendars connect and the ants are not running a marathon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise By The Sea!

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

This was our second year at this beautiful property and it will not be our last. I highly recommend it for any vacation. The owners are lovely, the weather was perfect, the views stunning!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxation with a VIEW

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

Everything you need is in this studio plus more! The view from the two large picture windows is amazing. We went out to eat on one of our three days to the Sunset Restaurant next to the beach (we paid the $20 to park so we could go eat and walk on the beach without searching for a parking spot). There is plenty free parking; however, we did not want the hassle. Besides that, we did not want to leave Ocean Sunsets!!! The grocery store is about 5 minutes away…so we ate rest of our meals by the picture windows and out on the patio…you can’t find a better spot to relax and enjoy the view.
Stop alongside the road when you see the man selling strawberries and cherries…both are delicious!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful place, great people, great deal!

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

Very nice place! I was really thrilled to find that it was even better than described inside and out. Everything was setup perfectly, plenty of accessories in the kitchen and bath area, incredible ocean sunset views. What more could you ask for at the price it was at. The owners are very helpful and nice people which is great.


Only a few minor quirks. The A/C wasnt working, but it wasn't really hot out so that didn't matter too much. The other main thing that disappointed me every day was the fact that there is no way to keep the sunlight out in the morning, so you are guaranteed to get woken up very early...which really sucked when coming home plastered from a halloween party and ruined one day with 3 hours of sleep and a very bad hangover. Also, there is almost no privacy at all on the side windows next to the bed as the windowblinds are completely see-through. The tenants that rent the bottom floor can easily see you as they walk past which is annoying.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Weekend retreat

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Second time staying at property. Great hosts, amazing location and you've got everything you need to enjoy your stay.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Chris for taking the time to give us a thumbs up. We LOVE repeat visitors. This piece of paradise never gets old!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay! The location is even more beautiful than the pictures can reflect. We will come back.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! We love repeat guests....make it your home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quaint cottage, great view

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time. It was myself, my fiancee and two teenagers. The space is compact, but we had enough room for the week. The washer and dryer don't work very well at all, so if your planning to stay longer than a week, find a laundry mat or bring enough clothes. There is no direct beach access from the cottage, but an amazing view of the ocean from the patio as well as the room. The beach is about a 7 minute drive. Also, be careful when showering to wipe the bathroom floor as it gets very slippery and there is a step down from the pedestal toilet. The owners are very nice people. They live on property, but are unobtrusive. There is a pavilions grocery store about 15 min away down PCH. Our navigation told us the closet store was much further and not knowing the area, we made a 45min one-way drive to the grocery store:( Duke's of Malibu had a yummy, but expensive brunch on Sunday. It was colder than we expected it to be for the end of July, so be sure to check the weather. Overall, great time was had and the view from this cottage is breath taking, awesome view to wake up to every morning, we miss it already.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the five star review of the Ocean Sunsets Studio! A few tips:
+Follow the directions on the euro washer/dryer... small loads is a definite for it to wash and dry clothes well --no heavy items, jeans or towels :).
+There is a State Beach right across PCH from the property and the County Beach of Zuma is a little further.
+Our newest grocery store which is 5 miles away is expected to open in the FALL, along with new restaurants and shops. It is a welcomed addition, but the Pavilions on Point Dume is on the other side of Zuma Beach.
+Squeegee the shower door BEFORE exiting and leave the large bath mats on the floor!
+Read the additional check in information sheet which has all of these items and more to make your stay most enjoyable. When in doubt, give us a shout, we are always available to answer questions.
Remember, the Stars and the well-to-do have homes in Malibu to get away from it all because it is a rural peaceful area, 30 miles of beach, 10 acre minimum estates and not a big city atmosphere. Beach weather is cooler than the deserts of Arizona... Escape the heat, the smog, the crowded big city to enjoy endless ocean vistas.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

We were very happy with the cottage. This unit is a large studio with a murphy bed and a sofa bed. It comfortably sleeps 4. It is described as a one bedroom but it is one room. The unit has everything you will need. Everything was clean and worked perfectly. The washer was nice to have, read the instructions and you will not have any problems. The TV was excellent, they have every pay channel which is great, we were happy to be able to see all of our shows. There were also horseshoe pits that my son loved. The outdoor area was really nice and allowed our son to be able to hang out and get away from the close quarters with mom and dad. Gregg and Karen are great, there when you need them but not breathing down your neck. The best thing about this place is the absolutly incredible view! The photos do not do it justice it was breathtaking! We will go back for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hooray! More happy visitors to our piece of paradise! Come visit again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

April vacation

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

It was a great great moment with all the family! everybody in the family love this place, and for sure we'll come back.
Nicolas Gaelle léo and Emma from France.
un lieu incroyable, une gentillesse a toute épreuve, en toute occasion TOP... nous y retournerons...

Owners response: Je vous remercie de vos aimables paroles. Meilleurs voeux !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beauty, access, peace

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

It is rare that a rental looks even better when we arrive and actually lay eyes on it than it did in photos. This rental is a gem. Gary and Karen have furnished it so efficiently and tastefully that it seemed much bigger than it had appeared in photos. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the bathroom's cozy heat lamp/ceiling shower fan was a treat and the view was stunning both inside and outside the house. We enjoyed the hammock while grilling from the backyard "perch" above the beach. From the house, it was a few minutes drive to rock climbing on the beach, beautiful hill hikes and runs.

We will definitely return to this rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So grateful to our guests who take the time to give us a thumbs up! Your review is very important to others. It is a little too good to be true!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful tucked in the canyon seaside getaway

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

This cozy cottage was clean, beautifully furnished comfortably arranged--besides being set in a gorgeous mountainside overlooking the Pacific. Wonderful. Very reasonably priced for its many advantages.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cliff hanger

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

What a lovely place to stay. Great amenities. Incredible view! Interesting appliances! Did I mention the incredible view? Except for backing up the drive it was a perfect experience!

Owners response: Yes the panoramic, private drive to the property is beautiful. We do offer "back up" assistance to our guests who are afraid of hitting sprinklers! Love that you loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter warmth

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

This is the second year I spent a winter month here. Each time the place has been quiet, clean and soothing. The ocean view is wonderful. The owners are friendly, helpful, but not intrusive. They shared art exhibit information and we discussed migrating whales.
I would recommend this property.
Malibu has great hiking in the Santa Monica Mountains and LA is nearby.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy to have our "family" guests who return year after year. Olivia has had the best whale sightings to date!
Cheers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Sunsets

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

The listing was everything as described and more! The property was clean and well maintained for the most part. Amazing views and excellent location! The only complaint was the dryer didn't dry clothes, and so when we washed the beach towels, we had to hang them and it took two days to dry that way. Otherwise, the unit was awesome, and a minor issue of dryer was not worth a negative rating. We would definately come back and will recommend to all we know. The owner did not disturb us at all, it was quiet and peacefull, and when we saw her once, she was very friendly and great to talk to. Wonderful wonderful time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes, as an added convenience, the units have small euro style washer/dryer combination units for small, light loads. Sadly, the instructions do indicate no towels, and the drying time is lengthy for other items. Just leave the towel laundry to us! After all, it is your vacation! We also encourage our guest to let us know if there is anything they need. We do aim to please!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Place to Stay

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

This was the first time I ever used HomeAway.com, and I'm so pleased I did. My husband and I were in LA to attend a wedding in Topanga Canyon (25 minutes away) -- as well as to drive all over town seeing friends. We were never more than 40 minutes away from where we needed to be (Silverlake, Glendale, Downtown, Venice, Santa Monica), and it was a relief to drive back into Malibu every night to this lovely little home. I truly didn't feel like staying in a over-priced, underwhelming hotel room and we feel so lucky to have had the opportunity to stay here in 'Ocean Sunsets.' This space is wonderfully decorated, has all the amenities of a hotel room, is sparkling clean, and better designed with space-saving tricks than my own New York apartment. ALSO: the bed? It's ridiculously comfortable. It may be the most comfortable bed in the history of Murphy beds (it was the one thing I was worried about). You really can't beat waking up and being greeted with a view of the ocean. Additionally, working with Karen is a lovely experience - she answered every question I had over email promptly and her husband are there on site to help if needed but respect your privacy. I would highly recommend this property to everyone!

Owners response: With reviews like this, how can anyone have doubts? No trick photography here! I love New York and guests from there....:)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I've found PARADISE

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

I have found paradise. This rental was so perfect, I asked if they were looking for a permanent tenant! ;) The pictures of the view do not do it justice. The efficiency was perfect and I cant wait to come back. I am still dreaming that I was there. The bed sheets and pillows were realy comfy, too. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dreaming of a Malibu Beach getaway in December instead of a white Christmas?
See you next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

amazing cozy clean romantic place

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

we stayed here twice. it's an amazing clean place very cozy and amazing view. it has everything for a comfortable and romantic get away. full equipped kitchen great shower with heater and washer dryer. everything is perfect. I care so much about clean sheets and these are extremly clean and comfortable.the good thing about it is the owners are next door in case you need help with anything. really nice people. we enjoyed our time there is so quiet. we heard an owel and night that was spooky and fun. I highly recomment this place for couples very relaxing and romantic. we will be back

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

excellent clean and perfect location

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

HELLO.we were there nov 14 and 15/2011 and oct/2010 it's very clean. I care so much about sheets and towels to be clean and they are. it's a very cozy quiet well equipped place with ocean view. it's just perfect and beautiful and the owners are next door so they can help in case of emergency. we will go back again that's the best place for a get away from city. love it

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean sunsets is very romantic

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

I totally recommend to all those people in love who can just forget the madness at work/world to come and feel the most cherished moments of your life.

Studio is very tidy and looks classic.

This is truly a brilliant place to stay with your most loved one. My Lady was so happy and we both could feel the true love in just about every view in that romantic studio.


Kal

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: The last two visitors to Ocean Sunsets loved it so much they sent a
review! The views are truly magical.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Place to Unwind!

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

We truly enjoyed our 1st Home Away vacation and would recommend Ocean Sunsets to friends, co-workers and family. Our goal was to find a place local (within 2 hours from home) to just 'unwind'. Work, family & life had become hectic and we needed to relax for a bit.

The property exceeded our expectations...very clean, well maintained, the amenities were appropriate, it was very quiet and what we loved the most was the privacy! Watching the ocean before, during & after the rain was so beautiful and the sunset we experienced was amazing! Our goal to 'unwind' was definitely met.

Beaches were nearby and while we did visit two, due to inclement weather, we opted to just walk in the sand, not to go in the water. I imagine during better weather or warmer months, Ocean Sunsets offers the perfect proximity to beaches and other water related activities.

Owners response: Isn't great when you get something beyond your expectations? So glad you loved
the views, the quiet and privacy that this location affords to those who book here!
Thank you for taking the time to post here. Hope you can make it a frequent
getaway location!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely place

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

Stayed in Malibu for a week with 2 friends and it was great. The studio provides enough space and comfort to give you a nice homey feeling.
You do really need a car to get around.
Nice place for a nice relaxed vacation!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Having guests from all over the globe to enjoy the treasures of the Malibu coastline and surrounding areas is fantastic. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Malibu Views

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

Truly enjoyed my stay here, the photos don't do the view justice! You can stare out at the sea for hours and get lost in the amazing view from the window and the grass lawn. The owners are lovely people.

We went to the beaches most days: County Line and Zuma are close by. We used the kitchen and outdoor BBQ, watched the Lakers play on the flat screen, the linens and bed are sleep happy. You have everything you need here just pack your bag and go.

If you are looking to eat out I recommend The Sunset Restaurant, we went one night for apps and drinks. The calamari and wild mushroom flatbread had me at hello.

Owners response: I couldn't have reviewed this better myself, and we are so thankful for guests taking the time to share their experience with others.
Karen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ocean peace

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

This studio is so quiet and peaceful. Watching the sunset and awaking to views of the water was so restorative. The place is very well laid out and equipped and the owners friendly and helpful. There are great places to hike in the mountains here. Within a day's drive, I could visit museums, gardens, go biking, rollerblading and bird watching, and see grey whales migrating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love sharing our piece of paradise in Malibu, and our guests are some of the best people you could ever meet!
Thank You!
Gary and Karen

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

45th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

Awesome! It was exactly what we were looking for to celebrate our 45yr anniversary! We only live one hour south in Playa del Rey, but this provided the R&R we were looking for from the busy LA life!, Thanks for a memorable anniversary & will share with others who might be looking for the same. -

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Place

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

Great place, thank you so much for having such a beautiful place. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.
Best Wishes

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Simply put - a slice of heaven. Thank you for creating such a delightful, cozy, charming space. Can't wait to return! San Francisco, ca

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Simply put - a slice of heaven. Thank you for creating such a delightful, cozy, charming space. Can't wait to return! San Francisco, ca

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Simply put - a slice of heaven. Thank you for creating such a delightful, cozy, charming space. Can't wait to return! San Francisco, ca

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review