reviews for: listing #683 - Lake Luzerne, New York House rental

Hudson River waterfront central to Saratoga and Lake George
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,250 /wk

sort by:

Loved the River!

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We had a great week with a few excursions to Lake George but mostly we relaxed, visited with family and enjoyed our morning coffee watching the river!
The house was clean and as presented, plenty of room to spread out. My elderly mother slept in the back room and had her quiet and privacy. The stairs up to the bedrooms are a little steep, but bedrooms are good size with comfy beds. We did use the AC on fan setting. One of the bedroom windows was missing a screen or we would have had all the windows open.
The kitchen had everything we needed to make meals, and we used the grill several times.
The linen service worked well for us..only wished we had more blankets, we got sheets for 6 beds but 4 blankets. It did state that in rental agreement, I just didn't see it!
The stone patio was great for sitting out and there are plenty of chairs. My mother had to be careful with her footing though because some stones are uneven.
The river was a little cold but we did swim everyday. There is no walk in access, so that might be a concern for young children.
We used the fire pit everynight, and being in a campground made us feel like we were "glamping"..got the campground feel but a house the stay in!
We loved walked along River Road. Everyone was friendly.
We had pizza from Roccos in Lake Luzerne..very good, and Tops was good for what ever else we needed.
Mike was great to send directions and helpful info..esp liked seeing a picture of them..and am so glad they choose to share there piece of heaven with us!
Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful relaxing vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Lovely

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We had absolutely no problems finding the house and it was very nice of Mike (who was very helpful for the whole process btw) to send us MapQuest directions. The information packet that was sent to us about the house prior to our visit was very helpful indeed and we did find ourselves referencing it a few times throughout our trip. Upon arriving at the house it was even nicer inside than the pictures show, it looked completely remodeled but not overly so, still had a nice "homey" feel to it. The week that we stayed it was not as hot as it had been the previous weeks so we did find ourselves using the fireplace and that was great - very romantic. We traveled with our two small dogs and they had a blast - our Pomeranian was not on a leash the whole time and she loved that - our Shiba had to be on the leash sometimes as he was a bit more of an explorer and there were lots of frogs at night and he had to learn the hard way that you should never put a frog in your mouth, wind-up with a foamy mouth! We brought the dogs lifejackets and got some rafts and tied them to the dock and floated around with them on our laps - that was very relaxing. We didn’t do much of anything other than relax the whole week so I cannot comment on any of the attractions but we did have a very relaxing and fun vacation. Lake George is not very far away and we did go a few times but mostly we just stayed in and read our books and took in the beautiful view!! We would definitely stay again - thanks Mike & Grace

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very affordable and not chintzy

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We have been renting this house for 3- 4 years now and have never been disappointed. Always clean and lots of space for all of us to sleep. Relatives come from VA every year to go to the track and this is just the best place we have stayed, close proximity to the track and Lake George. We have always been happy. Owners are very gracious and accommodating. Give it a try, very peaceful location, gorgeous views.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We take great pride in providing an extraordinary value to our guests and are happy that so many choose to return year after year. We strive to ensure that your vacation experience is wonderful, by providing all of the 'little things' that could otherwise make a vacation go off track. Board games, DVDs, CATV, Wi-Fi, long distance phone, watercraft, BBQ gas, etc are all included in the rental price so you don't have to waste precious vacation time tending to these details. The location is great, the house is immaculate, and the views are fantastic. Give us a try; you will be glad that you did! Mike & Grace, Owners.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great getaway for the whole family...

Review submitted: September 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

What a great place to relax and unwind...just watching the river pass by. We had 6 adults and 2 teenagers and there was fun for all. The house was amazing a river veiw from every room, we really enjoyed the gas fireplaces so cozy and easy to use. We made a fire every night in the fire pit and many smores were had. The house was very clean and well maintained. We would definatly stay again in fact we have already inquired about a fall getaway..the river is calling me back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

The place to unwind.

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

This was one of the best, most relaxing vacations I've ever been on. This is a beautiful location on the Hudson River about 15 miles from the hustle and bustle of Lake George(close enough, but not too close).My family went for the week with 5 grand children ranging from 8 months to 6 years old. There is a large yard for children to play in,the dock area is spacious and a great place to sit and fish or just watch boats on the river. The owners were a pleasure to deal with.They have a canoe and kayak to use and other boaters are very courteous about slowing down so as not to create a large wake by you when on the water.You're not cramped into a hotel room the size of the living room of this house.Check hotel rates for the area during the summer and you will see what a fantastic deal this is.We will definitely rent here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

one of the best memories of my life

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

We meaning about 6 adults and 3 kids stayed and there was room on the property for a trailer so there was 2 adults and 3 kids out there . We had the best time fishing and swimming .The palce was great and so were the people that rented it to us !!!! Our kids had a make shift wedding of two 3 yr. olds .The kids had a blast in lake george. Very short drive. The ice cream store across from great escape was awsome, we went there almost every night.The only down fall is the bugs at night , but just bring some bounce dryer sheets and you will be ok . Was one of the best family vacation in our lives we are planning to come back every year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review