reviews for: listing #68333 - Michigan City, Indiana House rental

Newly Remodeled House on the beach
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,250 - $6,750 /wk

sort by:

Great beach vacation

Review submitted: August 2, 2014   Date of arrival: July 18, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There was plenty of room for all of us, including a huge basement recreation room and a large deck overlooking the lake. We were awed by the beautiful woodwork and the amazing view of the lake. There was more than enough seating, 2 laundry areas and direct access to the beach. The boardwalk two doors down provides easier access to the beach for those not wanting to hike over the small dune. We could have used a larger refrigerator and more garbage cans, as we had a large group but all went smoothly. It was perfect for our beach-loving family

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Group of 25 - 11 of them children under 10

Review submitted: July 27, 2014   Date of arrival: July 18, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There was plenty of room for all of us, including a huge basement recreation room and a large deck overlooking the lake. We were awed by the beautiful woodwork and the amazing view of the lake. There was more than enough seating, 2 laundry areas and direct access to the beach. The boardwalk two doors down provides easier access to the beach for those not wanting to hike over the small dune. We could have used a larger refrigerator and more garbage cans, as we had a large group but all went smoothly. It was perfect for our beach-loving family!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Horrible family vacation

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

We planned an entire family vacation to celebrate Mom's 80th birthday and thought we had found a perfect place on line. The photos on line do not represent the property at all. The entire house was filthy and after traveling from several states , we had no choice but to stay. Our first day was spent cleaning from top to bottom. Things basically went from bad to worse. All of the beds were beyond horrible and we even found an old plate of food in the microwave. There really was no excusing anything we found. Thankfully we completely enjoyed the beach, and Michigan City itself was a great find location wise, just definitely not this property!

Owners response: Dear Kelly,

Thank you for taking time to write about your experience, it helps us to determine the areas for the improvement. We are replacing all of the bedding for this season and working on hiring a new cleaning service.

Please accept my apology for any inconvenience at my property. To repay for the cleaning time, I offer you one free day on your next stay at my house. I just wished you didn’t wait 4 months to write this review, I would had made some changes last season.

Sincerely,

Henry B.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

One weekend in September

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

I still can’t forget the weekend in the middle of September. I was reluctant to go to a beach house in Michigan City, Indiana, especially in September. My brother invited my daughter and I to spend a weekend with his family. I packed my bags, expecting to turn back the moment I got there. What would I do there in the middle of September?
Surprisingly, I had a great time there. Not only did I enjoy the beauty of the beach and the serenity of the environment in Fall, but also the well – maintenance and coziness of the house. You can feel that the house is under constant good care. It is something about the soul of the house that made me think that must be the blend between the house and the serene environment.
The weather was perfect, it was the beginning of an Indian summer. The leaves were just starting to turn red and yellow and the water was so calming. The children were busy too, playing with the sand and collecting rocks, choosing the best-colored tree by the beach houses and playing soccer. As for me, I really enjoyed the lengthy walk along the shore thinking about my life and catching the different sounds of water waves . In the end, we had a great family dinner on the deck of the house where I could see the blue water conjured with a horizon. I will come again to this place in any season to find the serenity.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Peaceful weekend

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

We took an advantage of lower off-season rates and possibility to rent a house for two nights and spent a great weekend in the house. There is something very peaceful about the lake at this time of a year and everyone enjoyed the stay. Besides walking on the beach, the girls were happy with good deals at Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets and everyone liked bowling at Lake Shore Lane.

Henry was very helpful in getting us in at the last minute. I would recommend the house to anyone, especially if you are looking for a place that can accommodate a big group of people.

Stephanie S.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Filthy and outdated- bring your own sheets and cleaning supplies

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

My friends and I just stayed here for a weekend. We paid several thousand dollars and it was filthy. Floors were dirty, sheets were old and looked unwashed. Lightbulbs were out. No instructions were left in regards to maintenance- clearly there is no maintenance. I would not recommend this house. We feel like it was a bait and switch.

Owners response: Thank you for the review, I appreciate any feed back from my guests. This is the best way to learn what is done right and what needs to be changed. At first, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience, but I am surprised that no one contacted me at the arrival. There is no maintenance instruction in the house since I live an hour away and I am available on my quests’ request. I feel positive that any issue could have been resolved to your satisfaction. In the future, I’ll make sure to leave a contact phone in the house. Please feel free to contact me at any time Sincerely, Henry Bindas

Helpful votes: 18 / 20

 

Great vacation - we are coming back!

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

When my friends invited us to spend a week at the beach house in Michigan City we were skeptical - beach vacation an hour drive from Chicago? It did not sound right. For a change, it was a nice surprise. The house itself is newly remodeled, nicely furnished and very spacious with for a big group of people. Our group included 16 adults and 9 kids from age 4 to age 21 and all of us had fun. We spent mornings and afternoons at the beach with a lot of swimming, tanning, jet skiing, volleyball, sand castles and all kind of games. The house with air conditioners provided a perfect shelter for too sunny noon for those who don’t like sun very much (personally, I never understood them.?) Those who love outdoors went blueberry and peach picking and let me tell you – I never tasted better peaches or blueberries in my life. One disappointment with peach picking, I learned that I can’t eat more then 4 fruits. Even cooking was fun, every family took a turn to cook dinners and everyone enjoyed home made meals at the huge deck with a lake view. Can you imagine any better setting for a summer dinner? The evenings were spent at the lower level of the house with more games, pool and of course a lot of fun stories. And finally, for those who were not tired after all of this fun – Blue Chip Casino was perfect solution with just a 5 min drive.

We loved the vacation so much that we are coming back on August 12, 2011!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

A perfect get-a-way from the busy city

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Michigan City is a wonderful place to visit! House was the perfect fit for our party of 6 families! The bedrooms were cozy and the kitchen with living space were great. Back view to the Lake Michigan is charming, and one of our favorite places to hang out in the evening was the back porch with refreshing breezes. The dune beach and Lake Michigan water were amazing! If you're looking for a quiet and relaxing family vacation, this is the perfect place. Henry was great in accomodating us and answering our many questions. We hope to come back......soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Amazing Family Vacation!

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

When my friends invited us to spend a week at the beach house in Michigan City we were skeptical - beach vacation an hour drive from Chicago? It did not sound right. For a change, it was a nice surprise. The house itself is newly remodeled, nicely furnished and very spacious with a lot of space for a big group of people. Our group included 16 adults and 9 kids from age 4 to age 21 and all of us had fun. We spent mornings and afternoons at the beach with a lot of swimming, tanning, jet skiing, volleyball, sand castles and all kind of games. The house with air conditioners provided a perfect shelter for too sunny noon for those who don’t like sun very much (personally, I never understood them.?) Those who love outdoors went blueberry and peach picking and let me tell you – I never tasted better peaches or blueberries in my life. One disappointment with peach picking, I learned that I can’t eat more then 4 fruits. Even cooking was fun, every family took a turn to cook dinners and everyone enjoyed home made meals at the huge deck with a lake view. Can you imagine any better setting for a summer dinner? The evenings were spent at the lower level of the house with more games, pool and of course a lot of fun stories. And finally, for those who were not tired after all of this fun – Blue Chip Casino was perfect solution with just a 5 min drive.

We loved the vacation so much that we are coming back on August 12, 2011!

Maria.

Lisle, IL

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review