reviews for: listing #68345 - Carlsbad, California House rental

Carlsbad State Beach. Walk to Lifeguard #28
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $399 - $499 /nt
    $2,550 - $3,950 /wk
    $6,000 - $7,500 /mth

sort by:

The Perfect Birthday!!

Review submitted: December 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

We come to Carlsbad every year to be at the beach for my son's birthday. The last couple of years we have friends that have joined us since our son is getting older. This house was so much fun for the kids and us, the beach, the fire pit, the pool table, the train close by. They could get up and surf every morning if they wanted to. We walked the beach every morning and evening. The owner went above and beyond to help us to have a great vacation. The house was perfect in every way! It really should be 10 stars!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

50th Wedding anniversary

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

My family of nine convened on Carlsbad to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. Ages ranged from 75 to 2 1/2. We all found things to love about the house and the location. First, the owner could not have been more helpful. The listing was completely accurate. We walked to the beach everyday in about 5 minutes...even the toddler! There were all the beach toys you could want and a wagon to get them to the beach. The house was clean and in a quiet location. We hung out around the fire pit every night...kids loved making s'mores. We were supplied with plenty of towels and kitchen equipment. The washing machine and dryer got a workout every day! We could all fit around the dining room table with no problem. The garage with all the kid toys was a magnet for the kids. The yard is fenced, but the street is so quiet, we did not worry about the toddler. Grocery stores (especially Ralph's) are only a few minutes away. Costco about ten minutes. We only ate out once, but there are lots of restaurants in Carlsbad. We went to San Diego Zoo and Sea World, both worth the hour drive and cost. LEGOLAND is within ten minutes but we did not like it at all and it was SOOOOO expensive. But the beach is the best! The Coaster train is close as mentioned in the description. The whistle can be loud, but after a couple of days we really didn't notice it very much and it wasn't running early in morning.
All in all it was a wonderful week and we hated to see it end. Thank you to owner, Ross, for helping me over my fear of renting a house unseen. It was a great celebration. If you want family pictures taken, ask Ross about his photographer daughter. She did a lovely job with family pix on the beach!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Janice, Glad to hear you guys had a wonderful time. My daughter said you had a great family. We appreciate the nice review and hope you can all return soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

My week in Carlsbad with our family was one I will never forget. I wanted a place that would fit my family, which is 3 girls, 2 son-in-laws and 4 granddaughters. This large house had plenty of room. It was clean, beautiful, comfortable and perfect. We lived out front around the fire pit. In the afternoon after the beach we would enjoy the breeze and watch our grand babies play. The garage is full of kids toys, it was perfect. We would bbq out there at night and start a fire and end the night with roasting marshmallows! Ross the owner was always available to answer all our questions and help us with anything we needed. Treat yourself to a beautiful week and rent this home! You won't be sorry!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Cindy, thanks for the kind words and review. We try our best..! Very glad you enjoyed your time at the beach house. Please make sure you return..! Would love to have you and your family back next Summer or anytime during the year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Better than "just like home"

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 2, 2012

Our family had a wonderful time for the week. The home was spacious, clean, decorated beautifully with lots of amenities and fun things to do - AND with a terrific location across the street from the beach. We would certainly recommend this vacation home to anyone and look forward to our next visit. Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving Week 2012

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

We were in California for post-Thanksgiving family wedding and spent a very pleasant week in this house. We're foodies, and the kitchen and outdoor grill worked really well for our group of 8. COSTCO and a Ralphs are 3 minutes away so provisioning was convenient and easy. We appreciated the thoughtful equipping of the beach equipment - boogie boards, chairs and a trolley to haul it all there with. The pool table was in pretty much constant use and was a great gathering area when we weren't clustered around the fire pit. PayPal was a bit recalcitrant at returning our deposit promptly, and the owner jumped right into the fray and got it done. All in all, a very positive experience !

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Margaret,

Thank you for the kind words and great review. I know you guys came a long way from back East and I hope ypu enjoyed all that Carlsbad has to offer as well as the November weather.!! It sounds like you and your whole family had a great time...!! Hope to have you back soon..!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic for small children

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We enjoyed our time at the Carlsbad house. We stayed there for two weeks which gave us time to explore. Carlsbad, in my opinion, is a great location, close enough to all the attractions, Sea World, Old Town, etc, yet gives one a more small town feeling. We enjoyed staying nearby, there are many great restaurants, lots of shopping and great golf courses. The house was pretty close to the beach, the walk was nice, even with a 2 and 4 year old, (the wagon help)! We found toward the end we would drive to the beach at Cardiff, only because we could take our dog with us there.

The garage is full of toys for kids, and our little ones played there for hours! We also enjoyed the front yard barbecue and fire pit. The house has plenty of room, at one time we had 6 adults and 2 small children, plus a dog, and never felt crowded. We also took advantage of the Coastal which runs right behind the house, it's a great way to leave the car at home, and there is a great walking trail back there too.

My only negative comment is, they need a newer and bigger refrigerator, but Ross assured me it's on their list. I would highly recommend this house, especially if you are traveling with small children.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Spring Break 2012

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

We had a great stay on this property last spring break. The house was well kept, crystal clean, nice floorplan and very roomy. We had a great bar b q in the front yard while the kids are roasting marshmallows on the the firepit. This is a close walk to the beach, close to supermarkets like Costco and Wholefoods. It is also 5 mins drive to Legoland and about 20 mins away from San Diego.

Highly recommended and will be staying here again on out next trip in South Cal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Chris, thank you for the excellent review. I sometimes forget how close we are to the airport and Costco. It's great to hear you & family had a great time. Look forward to having you & your family return. Thanks again. Ross

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Navy Welcome Party!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

We had a delightful stay at the Carlsbad Beach house. Our son arrived home from a seven month sea deployment to the beaches of Camp Pendleton. The house was the perfect location for our family renunion! It was spacious enough to accomadate a large number of family and friends in comfort and style!! It was wonderful to have everyone together in one place and not to have to go out to resturants for meals. Our favorite part of the property was the outdoor gas firepit where we gathered for many hours listening to tales of our sons travels. The house was imaculate and provided everything we needed. The experience exceded our expectations!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Pam, thanks for the kind words. We look forward to you returning..!! Don't forget to thank you son for his service to our country.!

RC & Carlsbad Beach home..!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Amazing house, a real winner !!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 14, 2011

We were really lucky to find this "gem" in Carlsbad. We have relatives living there in carlsbad who were renovating their house, so we cooked all of our meals at the beach house , beautiful kitchen, lots of room to spread out. The out door fire pit was amazing, we were there every evening. Our daughter and family from Venice Ca were also with us, the 2 granddaughters were in heaven with the beach across the road. It is in a great location, close to everything. The accommodation was fabulous, we did not even use one of the bedrooms as we had so much space. Lots of great amenities, a HUGE beautiful master bedroom Jacuzzi which the girls loved. a really beautiful home, we will return for sure. Recommended !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beach House Review

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Hi Ross,

The beach house was everything that was advertised and more. As the families spent the day at the beach or various attractions in the area, having family time around the fire pit in the evenings was terrific. The house was clean and provided for all of our needs, whether for cooking meals, or grabbing a boggie board and beach towel. The house was located close to many area restaurants, grocery stores, and my personal favorite - the Outlet Mall. Thank you for helping use build some great memories with our children and grandchildren. I will spread the word around to my friends, and hopefully we will be able to come back again some time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks Carol for your kind words. We realize how important vacations are to families...especially when they come from great distances. We get plenty of returning guests and families. I hope you will be among the many of returning families. We are very proud of our beach home. The proximity to the beach and all other amenities is what keeps it occupied and guests coming back.

Thanks Again,

Ross

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Hi Ross,
The house was really GREAT! It was well equipped with everything you could think of, including boogie boards! We had a wonderful vacation and would not hesitate to rent the home for our next San Diego trip! Thanks for everything,

AMS WHOLESALE INC.
RV'S-TRAILERS-BOATS
1-530-672-TOYS
WWW.WHOLESALEDIRECTRV.COM
SHOWROOM
4410 BUSINESS DR.
SHINGLE SPRINGS, CA 95682

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Beach Vacation. Great for all ages and close to everything.

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Can't beat this location, being able to walk to beach & coaster station. Great for kids, grandparents or getaways for girls or guys or both. Our kids loved roasting marshmellows in the courtyard and it was great for my parents having a downstairs bedroom. Of couse out teenagers loves the plasma TV's and pooltable. This place is clean as a whistle and the owners were so accomodating. High recommend and already reserved a week for the holiday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Caroline, thank you for the good review. Hope your parents had a good time. Look forward to seeing you guys next time..!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

About the owner, Ross. I have produced a lot of events and I rarely get the opportunity to work with people who are professional, service minded, courteous, accountable and kind. Sometimes, I get two of the qualities, sometimes, three, but rarely do I get all five! Ross is a dream to work with... and I presented a challenge! I had just moved, didn't have a fax set up, didn't get the money in on time, you get it, I was a bit of a mess to deal with. But, he took it in stride, made me feel great about it. He went out of his way for me and even mailed me some valuable things that we had left behind. Truly, I received first class, brilliant customer service from beginning to end!

About The Beach House:
It is beach-close and we loved to watch the sunset, surfers and dolphins at our "favorite spot" which was just across the Coast Hwy. The home has lots of amenities that aren't present at many other rental locations: pool table, nice built-in fire pit, two sizable paved outdoor areas and a nice backyard. It was clean, had everything that we needed, including pots and pans, a dishwasher, a washer/dryer and a luxurious sun-filled bathroom with a huge jacuzzi tub. I really appreciated the fact that I didn't feel bad about sitting on the furniture or coming from the beach into the house, because the furnishings are thoroughly comfortable and absolutely appropriate for a rental beach house. It's in a quiet neighborhood, we never heard a peep out of anyone and I found the occasional Coaster train to be charming. It was lovely to gather at the large table for communal dinners and there was room enough for all of us in and around the kitchen to talk as we prepared our meals. At night, the flames softly burned in the living room fireplace and we could hear the rolling waves as we told stories and the stars danced around the night sky.

Stay here! You will be well taken care of.

Jaimsyne
jaimiblakely@sbcgloabl.net

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

Got to say, being so close to the beach was great. We loved being able to hop on to the Coaster. Kids loved loved the ride, it was a pretty train ride, if your sitting on the ocean side of the train.

Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 5 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review