reviews for: listing #68369 - Lake Luzerne, New York House rental

Cozy Camp
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lake Luzerne, NY
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $210 /nt
    $800 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

Excellence!

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This is the second time my family and I have stayed at the "Cozy Camp", and I am already planning for my return visit next year.
Not only is the cabin very nicely appointed but it is open, clean and well... just plain cozy! Outdoor amenities, including dock and fire pit, are just a few steps out the back door and you couldn't ask for a more peaceful and beautiful setting right there on the river. The owners have thought of literally EVERYTHING. When my son forgot his fishing pole we found one located just off the front door and saved the day.
The location is within a 2 minute walk to a great restaurant and corner store with a 2 minute drive taking you to 2 gas stations / convenience stores and the local grocery.

As a native of the area growing up I couldn't ask for a better spot when I want to come home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful retreat

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Once again, Coleen and John provided a peaceful, quiet and relaxing retreat for my girl friends and me. Fresh flowers and wine... Coleen and John think of everything. Friendly and helpful, the owners provided suggestions and directions for our kayaking weekend. Overall, an excellent place for a weekend away from it all.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy Camp

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

Believe all the great reviews. The cabin was clean to the extreme and very thoroughly equipped. The view was fabulous and the fishing was good off the property's pier. Working with the owner was a pleasure and not complicated. The attention to little details really made the experience special. There are neighbors close by, but they are very quiet and once on the property you are not aware of them. We had a great time.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation getaway

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

Surprised my daughter for her birthday by booking this adorable cottage on the Hudson River where she grew up. From the moment we drove down the private drive and saw it we felt welcomed. The owners have done a wonderful job of making sure we lacked for nothing. The location is ideally situated between Saratoga Springs and Lake George if you're looking for exciement but we were content to sit in the Adirondack chairs and watch the boats go by. What camp wouldn't be complete without a firepit that even has the wood all cut for you. The flowers and bottle of wine were a wonderful touch as well. It's an adorable home packed with all the ammenities and a view to die for. Who could ask for more except maybe "just one more day to stay there".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy Getaway

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

My two friends and I were looking for a nature escape from NYC for Memorial Day weekend and this property was everything we were looking for and more!

Booking was a breeze. We emailed about availability and the owner responded promptly with all the information we needed. She also catered to anything we were uncomfortable with (and don't be, they're fantastic!), and she even worked with our shortened timeline.

When we arrived at the property, it was more than we could have wished for. The house is quaint, but a good size. For the three of us, we had plenty of space. Add to the house a fire pit with seating, a bbq, and a private dock on a BEAUTIFUL lake and you've got a dream vacation! The lake as surprisingly calm, compared to lakes that attract larger tourist populations, and caters to water sports of all types.

Whether you want to lounge, swim, tube, hike, or grill while having some drinks, this location is ideal. I HIGHLY recommend this property and want to emphasize what a pleasant experience it was working out the details of our stay with the owners.

TWO THUMBS UP!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Just one clarification- our camp is located on the Hudson River in the Town of Lake Luzerne. The Lake is about 1/4 mile north. It is a common error.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

Cozy Camp is the prefect name for this wonderful property.There were little treasures everywhere you looked. The camp is comfortable and the view relaxing. We are extremely happy with our 1 week stay at The Cozy Camp.Everything is pristinely clean and many amenities are provided.The owners is wonderful peoples.........

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We Agree!

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We read the reviews prior to renting this wonderful camp and we agree with all that was said! So conveniently located for the fast paced vacation and the slow paced vacation. The camp is comfortable and the view relaxing. We couldn't have asked for more. We brought our bicycles and really enjoyed exploring the nearby little towns. We took advantage of the camps many amenities. Cozy Camp is a good bet!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful Paradise

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

We recently returned from a long weekend stay at the Cozy Camp. The camp was perfect and the detail in the decorating were something out of a Country Home magazine. There were little treasures everywhere you looked. The camp overlooks the river and we enjoyed watching several boats go by over the weekend. We would probably rent one if we went again. To the right of the camp is a little "bay" which made a great place for jet ski's, water skiing, etc. The river does have a current out past the dock but if little ones stayed within that space it should be fine. The water was definitely deeper one day vs the next so would attribute to some dam maneuvering somewhere. It was VERY peaceful there. We barely heard anyone around us (except for passing boaters). The camp is well set up with everything you need. We went shopping in Saratoga only about 25 minutes away; and Lake George about 15 minutes. There is a bar/restaurant at the beginning of the driveway so if you want to walk to dinner or have a cocktail it's within walking distance. My husband took advantage of the bar while we were out shopping! There is plenty of seating outside. If tranquility is what you are looking for then this is the place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular!

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

Cozy Camp is the prefect name for this wonderful property. Cozy it is most certainly is-and also warm and welcoming. Decorated in an eclectic mix of both antiques and modern touches you feel at home immediately upon entering. It is obvious a lot of thought was put into the decorating choices that were made-from the fresh flowers to the Harvest display in Autumn. Everything is pristinely clean and many amenities are provided. The property is nicely landscaped with plenty of seating to enjoy the tranquil view of the river. At night, there is a fire pit to gather around and torches that can be lit. There is a nice restaurant right within walking distance or you can hop in your car for a quick drive to many others. Activities abound-from swimming to canoeing (provided) to badminton (provided). There are even games for the kids for rainy days. Or you may just want to take a lazy nap in the hammock overlooking the river. Whatever you choose to do, you can’t go wrong. I highly recommend the “Cozy Camp” and know you will find it just as enjoyable and memorable as we did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular!

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

Cozy Camp is the prefect name for this wonderful property. Cozy it is most certainly is-and also warm and welcoming. Decorated in an eclectic mix of both antiques and modern touches you feel at home immediately upon entering. It is obvious a lot of thought was put into the decorating choices that were made-from the fresh flowers to the Harvest display in Autumn. Everything is pristinely clean and many amenities are provided. The property is nicely landscaped with plenty of seating to enjoy the tranquil view of the river. At night, there is a fire pit to gather around and torches that can be lit. There is a nice restaurant right within walking distance or you can hop in your car for a quick drive to many others. Activities abound-from swimming to canoeing (provided) to badminton (provided). There are even games for the kids for rainy days. Or you may just want to take a lazy nap in the hammock overlooking the river. Whatever you choose to do, you can’t go wrong. I highly recommend the “Cozy Camp” and know you will find it just as enjoyable and memorable as we did.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Our family of 4 was on vacation for one week at the Cozy Camp and upon arrival felt right at home. The cottage is small, but has everything you could want and we felt very comfortable there. We had actually overpacked, not realizing how well appointed the cottage would be. Other than food and clothing, everything was supplied. We cooked many meals in, but also enjoyed some of the local restaurants. The owner had recommended Bennett's for a horseback trail ride prior to our arrival, which we all enjoyed(located 5 minutes away). Lake Luzerne was quiet and peaceful, but very convenient to the Village of Lake George, which had every restaurant and activity you could imagine-Six Flags was a fun adventure park with good coasters. It was the best of both worlds-quiet and cozy, but in close proximity to everything you would want! The cottage was impeccably clean and decorated with great care. Coleen had even left fresh flowers indoors and out for us to enjoy, with a bottle of wine for the adults and a small gift for the kids. The owner's hospitality and thoughtfulness shine through in every detail.

The river was great for fishing, but not ideal for swimming for young children. Lake Luzerne did have a public beach minutes away with a lifeguard on duty, which we found to be safer for our kids (no current at the lake, unlike the river, especially after a day of rain). But we had such a great, relaxing visit. We enjoyed relaxing on the hammock overlooking the gorgeous view, campfires with s'mores at night, badminton, volleyball and bocce in the yard. We had a blast and hope to return. Just seeing the pictures make me miss it! You won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly Recommended

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

We are extremely happy with our 1 week stay at The Cozy Camp. Dealing with Coleen and John to reserve our stay was easy and an absolute pleasure. The camp is located right on Lake Luzerne on a large enough amount of property to offer seclusion. The views are amazing. We were able to take advantage of the all the outdoor amenities the camp offers, such as a dock, canoe, fire pit, volleyball net, and grill. The inside of the camp is extremely clean. It supplies linens and all necessary kitchen appliances so all you need is to bring some food and relax! Since the camp is located close to Saratoga Springs, we were able to take a short ride and enjoy the evening in the fun town. Our stay was worth every penny and would love to return soon! We highly recommend staying at The Cozy Camp.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great get-away!

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Cozy Camp for our honeymoon...The crazy thing for us was that we had another place planned and two weeks before our wedding found out that there was some sort of an error and we no longer had reservations! The Waterhouses were great and easy to work with...and we got the contract worked out in plenty of time for the honeymoon. The camp was close to other cottages/houses but was very quiet and felt quite private. It was close enough to the mountains to go hiking, but also close enough to civilization to order a pizza or find a starbucks! We had a great time, and would definitely recommend this property!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review