reviews for: listing #68380 - Fort Lauderdale, Florida House rental

Secret Garden: Exotic Private Pool, BBQ, Close to Everything
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $600 /nt
    $2,100 - $4,200 /wk
    $6,000 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Our overall impression was very positive!

Review submitted: July 29, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

The description of the house and the surroundings was very good,
the property was clean everything was in good order and clean and well-maintained,
the customer service was excellent,
I can recommend this property to a friend or a relative
We enjoyed the near city with shopping facilities, the beach and the nice restaurants nearby.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Private Paradise

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

What an amazing place to stay, it actually exceeded our already high expectations. Property and pool area were very well maintained and furnished to a very high standard. Location is excellent and owners were a pleasure to deal with. I would highly recommend Secret Garden and hope to return again in the not too distant future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice; exactly as described

Review submitted: May 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Beautiful kitchen, living room, pool area, master bedroom/bathroom and dining room. Very well equipped.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful kitchen, master bedroom and grounds.

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

The property was exactly as indicated and very clean. Beautifully landscaped and very well-equipped house. We very much appreciated the baby facilities for our daughter's one year-old.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Thanksgiving Vacation

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

House is as described. Owner is super quick to respond to emails. In fact my kids wanted to watch some channels they didn't get and after an email he ordered the extra channels and we were up in 20 minutes. Pool is great, super private, we swam every morning and evening. Great kitchen and BBQ, very economical cooking at home instead of eating out. Would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

FANTASTIC!!!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 29, 2013

We were highly sitisfied with our stay at Secret Garden.
Everything was very clean and well maintained.
The owner visited us on the second day of our stay, so we could ask some questions about the house and also about the surroundings.
There was 100% privacy at the pool and in the garden.
Also very nice was, to find things like a beach umbrella, beach chairs, children's play things for the pool and the beach, a baby chair, etc. in the house.
If there was a question or a little problem the owner was always available by E-mail and helped us immediately.
We would come back anytime!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very nice property

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

We stayed at the property for 1 week in September 2013, travelling over from England. The house was everything we hoped it would be. The standard of the decor, furniture and appliances was high. The outside area was great to either relax around the pool or go for a swim. There was a slight issue with the pool water quality during our stay, but this was very quickly sorted out by the pool company. The house in close enough to local bars, shops and eateries. The communication with the owners throughout was very pleasant. There was only 2 of us for our stay, but the house is clearly suitable for larger groups. Thanks very much for a nice holiday rental.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

very nice property, exactly as advertised

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

Very nice neighbourhood, close to beach, shoping, Las Olas boulevard. everything you need in the house
I rated in my previous review by accident as 4 stars but it is a 5 star actually

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent property

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

Excellent property, great location, very nice and quiet area close to everything

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very beatiful, modern house with open floor plan.

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

The house was clean, nice and modern, with an open floor plan. Huge masterbedroom and very nice kitchen! It lies in a quiet neighborhood with friendly neighbors :-) Short driving distance to downtown and shopping outlet (Sawgrass Mills). Too far away from the beach for walking distance. The pool is nice, but there was a lot of debris from the trees in and around the pool every morning, which we had to take away by ourselves. The water in the pool was cold, although the nights were warm. We didin't quite understand that. (We had some problems with the locks in the house.)

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

We had a great stay at Secret Garden. The house has everything you need and the standard is high. It´s a perfect location to discover Fort Lauderdale or to stay at home. With a family of five the house gives you space enough and makes you feel at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it the minute I pulled in driveway

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

We arrived at Melanie and Jonathan's home around 9:30pm and pulled into the driveway with beautiful outdoor lightning greeting us. I knew the moment I walked thru front gate that this was going to be a fabulous vacation home. I was so right! The home is beautiful and so cozy. My boys loved the pool, backyard, and surround sound when we watched movies in the evening. It truly is the perfect home. Private backyard and super friendly neighborhood. I ran every morning and people would wave and give me room with their cars, which is important to a runner. The neighbor across the street even let my boys use his basketball hoop to play basketball, which they used everyday for 3-4 hours! Beds were super comfy and kitchen a dream to cook in. The house is close to Los Ollas which we went to 3 of the 6 nights we were there. We encountered just a few minor issues with the internet and pool and my emails to Melanie and Jonathan were answered promptly and issues resolved. Ft Lauderdale beach and Los Ollas beach were fairly close to the house, roughly 25 minutes with traffic. My boys and I loved the home and would love to stay again. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

I recently had a chance to rent this home for a week. The house is really lovely. Johnathan and Melanie (the owners) really take a lot of pride keeping their house in perfect condition. All the amenities you would want to have during your stay are available. Brand new appliances (refrigerator, dishwasher, laundry machines and even a wine rack). The house is very spacious and everything in the house is easy to get to. All rooms were carefully arranged and decorated to make you feel at home. The neighborhood is very quiet and the neighbors are friendly. Every time I pass a person on the street they would wave and smile. A lovely community with children playing, people jogging, dogs walking. The streets echo with laughter and cheer.

The living conditions in the house is perfect. Everything is well kept, the beds are very comfortable and there are plenty of extras all around the house. The backyard is great. Also very quiet and peaceful with the sound of running water from the pool, great lighting during the evening that makes you feel like you are in a resort style getaway. Temperature in the house is under your control. We like it cool at night so we set it up just the way we like it. Each evening the automatic climate control kicked in and we snuggled with the comfortable blankets available throughout the home.

I recommend you stay and see for yourself. I have rented many times now from this site and I had as many bad experiences as good ones. But this house is 5 stars in my opinion. Everything that you would want is only a few blocks away and then you can return to a peaceful, quiet getaway after a day of fun in the sun.

Todd Rothman

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I'll be coming back

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Before i start with my review, i would like to thank Melanie & Jonathan for thier cooperation & quick response at any given time. Also i would suggest to all trvellers to deal with them as they will make your trip very easy & memorable at the same time. As for the house, i think the picture doesn't speak fairly about the house. It is very beautifull and clean, the kitchen was very tempting for us to cook home meal. Also the outside sitting area is magnificent which has a grill next to it & overlooks the pool with its amazing tropical plants. Again thank you for making this lovely trip

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Coming Home

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

To organize vacation and find a suitable accommodation for a family like ours ( kids 18, 16, 12 and 2 ) is an interesting task. Well, this time we got it perfectly right. We loved this house: the interior design, especially this generous and open architecture of the kitchen! Very soon it felt like "coming home" after our various trips to Fort Lauderdale ( beach, restaurants, malls...), Miami and the Keys.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

Me and my family had a great time in Florida - thanks to Melanie and her Secret Garden!

The house was clean, quiet and perfectly located. Everything that was promised on the description was there. And it looked even better than on the photographs - that's definetely not standard. ;) We really just felt comfortable from the first day on. I think that's the most important thing.

We had everything we needed in the house - like towels, soap or kitchen supplies. And even if there was a problem (e.g. the grill was a little old and the last guests left it quite dirty), Melanie solved it right away (e.g. we got a new grill the next day). She also was real quick about answering every question/request that came to my mind - before, during and after our stay.

The only thing that I can complain about is the fact that we had to leave. I would definetely come back to this house on a future vacation. And I would most certainly recommend this property to every single one of my friends - should they ever go near that area. :)

I guess the only thing left to say is:
Thank you very much for all your attention and your great service, Melanie! It was a pleasure!

Till next time ...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent boutique home

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

This beautiful well appointed home, was perfect for our family with two young kids to relax and enjoy the Florida heat. Everything was exactly as promised and beyond the photos. Continently located close to the beach and malls in a quite tranquil residential area it's the perfect location to unplug with a heated pool that you'll want to spend hours in.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Voyage Extraordinaire

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

Nous avons passé une superbe semaine et avons grandement apprecié la maison et la piscine. Tout était parfait et propre. Cela dépassait mes attentes. C'était notre première fois en Floride et nous comptons bien revenir!

English Translation:

We spent a wonderful week and have greatly appreciated the house and pool. Everything was perfect and clean. It exceeded my expectations. This was our first time in Florida and look forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream vacation

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

This was the most comfortable, beautiful house we have ever rented and we have been doing this for two decades! Luxury was everywhere and nothing was lacking. I wish I could get in touch with the person who designed this beauty to replicate it. NO joke!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful and comfortable house!

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

I stayed at the Secret Garden with my family, a party of six (with a baby). We had everything we needed! The house is excellent! Very beautiful, well equiped and comfortable. I have also to thank Melanie, for her attention and for answering promptly to anything I asked...
The only thing is that a car is needed for staying there...
In conclusion, we had a great time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A beautiful Quality house

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2010

We have stayed at a number of properties in the Ft Lauderdale area and this one tops them all. If you want the prefect high quality place to stay this should be your first choice. Everything is as shown in the photographs and when we had friends who live in the area visit they were all very impressed with the overall quality and presentation of Secret Garden. The only point worth noting is if you are a sun worshipper and prefer to spend your time around the fantastic pool the amount of time in full sun is limited by all the magnificent shrubs and trees in and around the property.
We stayed five weeks and it felt like our own home, perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Another Fabulous Vacation Rental Experience

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Our family has rented several properties from VRBO - all great experiences - and Secret Garden did not disappoint. The location was ideal (only minutes from everything), the home provided a perfectly private setting and the amenities (appliances, beach supplies, interior design, etc.) were top notch (as displayed in the pictures). We would not hesitate to recommend Secret Garden to any family or group in search of a comfortable, relaxing setting in South Florida. Thanks Melanie for your flexibility and patience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The best vacation rental

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

We loved this home and highly recommend this property and owner, the ease of doing business was great and I would have bought this house we liked it so much. The property is in a great location and short distance to anywhere. We. Loved the pool and master suite was great and the gourment kitchen was to die for. We stayed 10 nights and loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review