reviews for: listing #68415 - Chicago, Illinois Apartment rental

Mag Mile- Beautiful, Spacious Brownstone!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Gold Coast
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $305 - $460 /nt

sort by:

Disappointed!!!

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 10, 2014

Wow, This property was tattered and torn. Hardwood flooring in awful condition. Ripped lamp shade and couch cushion in living room. Torn curtain in master bed room. Kitchen cabinets chipped from daily use with no repairs for years. Water stopped flowing from shower head in first floor bath when water was used in other rooms. Clearly the pictures on the VRBO website are very , very , very old!! Most importantly when asked about an unfavorable review which pointed out all of the same issues, we were assured that all problems had been taken care of.
If you don't care about the condition of your rental then stay here. On a positive note the Gold Coast location was very convenient.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location!!

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

The property description was accurate. The bedrooms and living areas are roomy. The location is perfect for sightseeing, dining, and shopping. We walked to the grocery store, several restaurants, Navy Pier, and down Michigan Avenue to the river. The kitchen was our gathering area each evening. We would definitely recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing house

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

This house was amazing and in a perfect location. We were very pleased with everything and will return.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location location :)

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 14, 2014

We had this entire Brownstone. It was in a great location within walking distance of so much. The stairs might be a problem for some folks if they have any physical limitations. It was such fun to walk to meals, hike to the beach, walk to shopping and more.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not First Class - Buyer Beware

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

The Brownstone look stunning on the website & it stated, "One area boosts a fireplace suited for royalty. Or, grab a cup of tea and enjoy the leather sofa next to the antique arched windows opening up onto a wonderful street scene. If you are fortunate to get the master bedroom, you will be able to enjoy your own fireplace while you breakfast in bed"
The unit was not stunning when we unlocked the door & walk in. We could not believe our eyes! The couch was not leather as described in the description (no big deal) but it was in noticeably shabby condition & needed replacement cushions. The unit was not clean as it had cobwebs in the corners and dirt under furniture and the baseboards were dusty, dirty, and had cobwebs. Many electrical outlets were missing the plate covers. Both fireplaces were non-functional. The living room area fireplace had candles and a basket in it. The bedroom fireplace had an artificial plant in it and basket in it and no fireplace screen. The large closet in the master bedroom was in total disarray with no readily useable space to store our clothing. There was not chest of drawers in this bedroom to store clothing. (The website indicated, two lovely designer bedrooms.) The hardwood floors needed attention as they were very marred & in some areas there was no finish remaining on the floor. There were open bags of food [these were not sealed of chips, cereal, crackers] in the kitchen cabinets from previous guests.
When we arrived home we did contact the owners by voicemail & email numerous times. We sent the pictures by email with detailed description of our experience. We sent a detailed typed letter including photos to the owners. The company representative & reservation manager contacted us the next day after receiving the emails & photos. He stated he knew the fireplaces did not work. He said he would pass on the information to the owners and get back to us the next day. 9 days later we still had not heard from anyone so we sent another email to the owners. We got a phone message stating we would receive a refund for the cleaning fee & one nights rent. We received an email later that day stating that the owners appreciated the depth & detail we went into to inform them of the unsatisfactory cleaning & maintenance work. We received refund for one night stay & he said he misspoke about cleaning fee. We were told they have already taken maintenance action required to address the issues we informed them of.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful Stay - We'll stay here again.

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

We went to Chicago for our daughters wedding and stayed 4 nights. Our family is rather large so we needed something with a kitchen and laundry facilities. We had three adult children (ages 40,33,23), one married, and three grandchildren (19,14,11). My husband and I and my close friend stayed in the unit with two bedrooms. It has the washer/dryer. All had full baths and kitchens. We rented all three units, which provided privacy for all of us. There is a stairway joining all three units but there is a door for each unit that steps out to the stairway. The kids could come and go without disturbing us.We could not have selected a better place to stay. The location is safe and we were able to walk everywhere. I stayed at the Trump for my visit in June for Bridal Shower, but this location is far superior. Make sure you shop around for parking. The cost to park at the end of the street was high so we moved the vehicles next day a block or two down the street. If you leave and come back they charge you again!! We got 3 nights - for two cars - for $100.00 and we could come and go for no additional cost. Smooth trisection via email for all we needed to secure the units. Many restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Most of all we could walk the street at night and feel safe. 1/2 block to Lake Michigan! Tree lined street.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent location!

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

This was our first experience using VRBO.com and we were very pleased. We got all the information necessary quickly and the apartment was exactly as described. For a family of four, it was just the right amount of space. The adults had the upstairs and the kids (teenager/pre-teen) had the downstairs. Lots of restaurants to walk to and all the tourist attractions are close by. Would definitely recommend this location to others.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your first VRBO experience with us in the Brownstone! Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit!
-F.C.C. Team

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location and fun character

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

We stayed here for our recent visit to watch the UW vs Illinois football game at Soldier Field. The game was an excuse to bring our kids to explore a big city. The location right next to the beach and one block from the very fun, vibrant Rush St neighborhood was perfect for our trip. Staying in a brownstone was a very fun experience for our family. The place was very charming and well equipped. The EZ bed was easy to operate and very comfy for our kids. My only suggestion would be to add a pack n play for guests with babies, as we had to pack ours on the plane. We loved this place, found it full of character, and it added to our overall experience. We would highly recommend it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful stay at the Brownstone in Chicago. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
-F.C.C Team

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pretty Much Perfect!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

We could not have asked for a better location. Great restaurants and shopping so close by which was perfect since we didn't have a car. The house was clean and spacious and provided everything we needed. We wanted to use their EZ Bed but was disappointed to find it had a hole in it. Ended up using the air mattress which was fine. Wouldn't suggest using the sofa bed - the mattress is very thin and all you can feel are the springs.
Only other comment I have is that the bathrooms are really small - can't get more than one person in them at a time so when you have 6 women trying to get ready for shopping or dinner, it is a bit of a challenge.
Overall, we had a great time and would definately rent this unit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great accommodation in a fantastic location.

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location, spacious property

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect as promised and the home had plenty of space. My only complaint is that the dryer was out of order for our stay and the air mattress had a leak so we could not use it for our son.

Owners response: Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are overjoyed to hear you enjoyed your time in the Brownstone. We have replaced the leaking airbed with a brand new, structured, off-the-ground, EZ Bed which inflates and deflates automatically.
We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Chicago!
-First Class Chicago Team

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic week in Chicago

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

My family of five adults spent 7 great days in Chicago in mid-June. I loved everything about Chicago and the icing on the cake was the Brownstone we stayed in. Its such a wonderful feeling to walk out the front door into a beautiful tree lined street in one of the best of Chicago's neighborhoods. The Brownstone was comfortable, nice furnishings with plenty of room for all. We had one little problem with the washer/dryer that Tyler (the property manager) took care of immediately!!! Great Customer Service. When I go back to Chicago in the future this is where I will stay. You couldn't find a better place. Close to everything you could want. Believe what every one says about this place (including the owners). Its truly incredible!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We truly enjoyed hosting you in the Brownstone and hope to see you again soon!
-First Class Chicago Team

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

Cannot beat the location of this property- close to public transportation, shopping, awesome restaurants and the beach. A few disappointments- EZ bed has leak, not enough linens or blankets to properly sleep 8 people, jets do not work in the main level bathtub, light bulb out over lower level bathroom sink (makes shaving and putting on make up difficult). These things can be easily taken care of and owner has been notified.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit!
Best regards,
F.C.C Team.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great!

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

We loved everything about it....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So lovely to hear you had a great stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Safe, Quiet street. Perfect Location.

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

The four of us enjoyed our stay in the beautiful brownstone property on Cedar. The location was perfect for walking everywhere from Second City to the Art Institute. We were able to comfortably visit together but had privacy at the same time. The restaurants and nightclubs were right around the corner and we enjoyed several of them. Cedar is a very quiet residential street and sleeping was easy and we felt safe and right at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Not so First Class Chicago

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

Stayed in multiple units in this brownstone during November/December. Accommodations were nice and the units were nicely furnished. Some things were, in my opinion, not up to par. It was really drafty and cold, especially in the bedrooms. It was much warmer in the living areas, which is where my little ones had to end up sleeping because it was too cold in the bedroom.
Service: In one of the units, the TV was not working; called the service number provided in the manual (where they said that they would get back "right away"); they did not call back for days - the day we were to check out of that unit! Needless to say, service was slow, so if you have a problem, you may have trouble getting it fixed.
Appliances: The washing machine is not safe to use - we unfortunately used it and had all the clothes ruined! They all have small holes in them - I assume from something snagging in the washer or dryer. One of the other units had a hole in the microwave, so we did not feel like it was safe to use. They really need to check/update their appliances.
Kitchen:The kitchen was not well stocked with cooking utensils and pots, although there we plenty of cups and a good number of plates; this is probably fine for the majority of people who go to stay there and go out to eat anyway, but not for us.
Cleanliness: good to fair. I don't like to see dust balls in the corner and crumbs and dust on the counters, so I was not too happy with the cleaning that had been done prior to our arrival. Otherwise the main traffic areas were suitable.
For most people staying there, these accommodations are probably fine, but it was not the best for us.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. Since your stay we have given attention to the seals on the bedroom windows and done all we can to make sure they are air tight, but when dealing with a building over 100 years old this sort of thing can be difficult to eliminate completely. We also have a employee on call 24/7 to listen and take action in regards to any maintenance or home operation issues you may have. A call back the next day is in no way acceptable and I can assure you this is not the type of service you will receive when staying with us at First Class Chicago presently. All of our rentals come with a fully stocked kitchen complete with all the pot pans, dishes, cups, utensils and baking sheets one would hope to find in a home. Our appliances are all modern and are inspected and serviced on a monthly basis.
We did have a problem with the dryer in this unit snagging clothes and creating small tears in clothing. Please accept our deepest apologies for any clothing items which may have been damaged by this machine. We immediately inspected the machine, and have since remedied this issue.
We have switched to a new housekeeping service since you were out guest and have received nothing but praise from all of our recent guests about the excellent state of cleanliness their rental home's were in upon arrival. We look forward to having you as our guest during your next visit to the Windy City.
Best regards,
FCC Team

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

We stayed in your home for our 20 anniversary of our annual Girl's Weekend and we had an absolutely fantastic time staying in you home. It was so convenient to everything and the place was beautiful. The accomodations were very easy and comfortable. I have recommended this to so many people already and would definitely recommend this over a hotel stay for any family or group.
Thanks for sharing your home.
The Girl's Weekend Group

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Howell Group from Georgia

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

There were three retired couples on a road trip which started in Missouri before arriving in Chicago. From here we were heading to upper Michigan and a visit to Mackinaw Island. We had a wonderful trip, but our regret was that we had not allowed more time in Chicago. The location of this Brownstone was absolutely perfect and we found the city of Chicago just delightful. The car was parked in a parking lot just down the street for our entire visit. We either walked or called a cab, which was very reasonable. It was a mere four block from the John Hancock building where we had a delightful afternoon cocktail on the 96th floor. The restaurants were plentiful and we were fortunate to select great ones with outstanding food. Hugo's Frog Bar and Fish House had the Biggest and Tastiest crab cakes we had ever put in our mouths!!! The steaks at Morton's Steak House were so tender you could cut them with your fork! As the coordinator of this group trip, it is my desire to return to Chicago and take advantage of this delightful Brownstone again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ladies Summer Weekend in Chicago

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

The Brownstone was such a perfect location for a ladies summer weekend to celebrate our 50th birthdays. The home is so elegant and relaxed. It is located on the peacefully quiet and beautiful tree-lined Cedar Street. Every building on the block is gorgeous! Note: The parking facility on the corner is reasonably priced and close by.

The Oak Street Beach on Lake Michigan is just a short walk and the perfect place to relax and enjoy the summer weather during the day. The contrast of the beautiful water with a backdrop of the city skyscrapers is amazing. There are also chair rentals and a bistro for drinks and snacks which is super convenient (and a lot of fun)!

The restaurants and bars that are within walking distance to the Brownstone are fantastic. There's a great energy on State/Rush Street with lots of people and activity well into the late evening. I highly recommend the Lux Bar for delicious food at a great price which is only a few blocks from the Brownstone. The "Banana Caramel" gelato served in the park (Whispers Cafe?) is out of this world delicious.

All in all, the ladies enjoyed their "Brownstone" weekend tremendously. The house looked exactly like the pictures. I would note that the bedrooms are on two different levels with the kitchen on the lower level with a bedroom/bathroom and the living room is on the upper level with a bedroom/bathroom which was a little different than expected but it worked out just fine.

Whatever your mood, this place has everything you need to have a really good time! We loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Minnesota Girls' Weekend

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

We came to Chicago for a long weekend - 8 girls who have never been there before. We were celebrating some of the ladies turning 40 and thought this would be a fun trip. We were right! Walking to the Magnificent Mile or the beach was easy and not far at all. There were bars and restaurants right in our nighborhood that were fantastic - whether you wanted a nice quiet meal or a night out on the town. Not having a car was no problem since we could walk downtown and take a trolley or water taxi tour to see all the sights. The apartment was in a good location and very accommodating. The decor was nice, plenty of room and our neighbors in the upper apartments were friendly and helpful. This was a great find and I would recommend it to anyone else looking for place to stay in Chicago. No complaints at all! Thank you for a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location to experience the best of Chicago!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We rented two of the brownstone apartments for a girls weekend. It was a great alternative to a hotel because it allowed us to be together doing the down times. The apartments are spacious and comfortable, even at their maximum capacity. You could not ask for a better location. We especially enjoyed the short walk to Lakeshore drive for our morning run, and the short walk to all of the best shopping on Oak street and Michigan Ave. I would highly recommend this location to anyone...a couple going for a weekend getaway, ladies meeting to shop the city, etc.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Miss Missy

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

Excellent is the word I would use to describe the brownstone...inside and out. Not only was the house fully stocked it was all top of the line, from the bedding to the wine fridge. The location was wonderful. In the evening you could sit in the living room and watch the horse and carriages go by. I can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love, Love, Love it!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

6 ladies had a great time celebrating our 50th year. the place is beautiful, great location--blocks from rush street and great restuarants and shopping. the street is quiet with beautiful, large trees. i would highly recommend this place and we plan on returning next may. property was spotless--pictures don't do it justice- much better in real life.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for Girls Weekend

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

We rented the brownstone for a girls' weekend this past January. It was perfect. The unit was clean, nicely decorated and well maintained. The kitchen was top notch, there were nice conversation areas and the beds were extremely comfortable. We had a minor repair that needed to be taken care of when we first arrived. After calling the owners, the serviceman showed up and completed the work promptly. We are looking forward to staying at brownstone again! - Kathy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Luxie's choice

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

Nestled between the Magnificent Mile and Rush Street, this location can't be beat for amazing restaurants, piano bars and world class shopping all just steps away. Clean, comfortable and convenient in the heart of Chicago.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect location for business and/or pleasure.

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 23, 2011

The apartment was in an amazing location, half a block from Rush Street and the beach. Lots of great places to eat close by and the night life was also convenient. The place was much bigger than my business partner and I needed but with the cost of hotel suites it was a no brainer. The place was clean, nicely furnished with high ceilings. The beds were quite comfortable but the bathrooms are tiny. I'll definitely consider staying there again:). Thanks, Suzie, for a smooth transaction!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

East Cedar Street

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

The unit in the townhouse on East Cedar St. in Chicago is not only a great location, but an extremely comfortable place to stay while in the city. The unit is spacious, very well maintained and offers the comforts of home (a great kitchen, wi-fi, plenty of closet space, and comfortable living room). The neighborhood is terrific for restaurants, shopping and walking along the lake. We would highly recommend this unit to anyone visiting Chicago!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

best time ever!

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay. We did a girls weekend and had the best time ever. Great location, spotless place. We are definitely returning next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a fantastic place & location!

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 31, 2011

Thank you Mark & Ashley for our stay on E. Cedar! A block from the center of action on Rush Street and one block from Lake Shore Drive & Michigan Avenue...we could not have asked for a better location for our stay in Chicago. Your home felt exactly like that...a home! We felt comfortable from the moment we entered. We didn't want to leave and will certainly be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a fantastic place & location!

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 31, 2011

Thank you Mark & Ashley for our stay on E. Cedar! A block from the center of action on Rush Street and one block from Lake Shore Drive & Michigan Avenue...we could not have asked for a better location for our stay in Chicago. Your home felt exactly like that...a home! We felt comfortable from the moment we entered. We didn't want to leave and will certainly be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

best time ever!

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay. We did a girls weekend and had the best time ever. Great location, spotless place. We are definitely returning next year!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

East Cedar Street

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

The unit in the townhouse on East Cedar St. in Chicago is not only a great location, but an extremely comfortable place to stay while in the city. The unit is spacious, very well maintained and offers the comforts of home (a great kitchen, wi-fi, plenty of closet space, and comfortable living room). The neighborhood is terrific for restaurants, shopping and walking along the lake. We would highly recommend this unit to anyone visiting Chicago!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location for business and/or pleasure.

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 23, 2011

The apartment was in an amazing location, half a block from Rush Street and the beach. Lots of great places to eat close by and the night life was also convenient. The place was much bigger than my business partner and I needed but with the cost of hotel suites it was a no brainer. The place was clean, nicely furnished with high ceilings. The beds were quite comfortable but the bathrooms are tiny.
I'll definitely consider staying there again:). Thanks, Suzie, for a smooth transaction!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dave D

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

Very nice unit, excellent location; walking distance to the beach, mag-mile shopiing and night life.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Location for Out-of-town Visitors

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

The neighborhood in which the townhouse is located is very lively, a center of the night-life scene, with many interesting and tasty restaurants. The beach is nearby, and the shopping on the Golden Mile is the best. The unit itself was clean, well appointed, and everything worked fine. The baths are a little small but well designed, and the kitchen is great. Mattresses could be upgraded. Parking is a bit of a chore, but the attendants at the lot near the Big Bowl on the west end of the block were friendly; we paid about $25 per day. I'd have to rate the experience as excellent. Costs compare roughly with high end in-town hotel rooms, and seem reasonable given the amenities. Recommended.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

love, love, love it

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

6 ladies had a great time celebrating our 50th year. the place is beautiful, great location--blocks from rush street and great restuarants and shopping. the street is quiet with beautiful, large trees. i would highly recommend this place and we plan on returning next may.

property was spotless--pictures don't do it justice- much better in real life.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding Stay

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

Mark and Ashley,
We had an excellent experience and the location of your Cedar Street unit could not be in a better location to explore Chicago. The condominium was perfect, very clean and accuratly discribed on the web site. Susie was very helpful and pleasant in answering any and all of our questions. As first time visitors to the Chicago area, we couldn't have more pleased.

Thanks again for making the trip so enjoyable for a few Michiganders
Sincerely,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for Girls' Weekend

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

We rented the brownstone for a girls' weekend this past January. It was perfect. The unit was clean, nicely decorated and well maintained. The kitchen was top notch, there were nice conversation areas and the beds were extremely comfortable. We had a minor repair that needed to be taken care of when we first arrived. After calling the owners, the serviceman showed up and completed the work promptly. We are looking forward to staying at brownstone again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommend!

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would definitely recommend it to our friends and would love to come back. The location cannot be beat and is within a very short walk of everything. Activity is close by yet the brownstone is located on a quiet street. I stayed with two 70+ year olds who found the brownstone easy to get around in and very accessible. The decor inside was beautiful and conveys a lot of pride of ownership. You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Staff Recharge Retreat

Review submitted: November 12, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2010

I recently hosted my real estate staff to a motivational retreat for 2 days in Chicago.
It was so delightful for all of us to relax and call this terrific condo our home for 2 days.
The pictures on line were exactly the way we found the condo and had no unexpected surprises or
disappointments.
Restaurants were exceptional within a 5 minute walk and it was such a charming tree lined street.
We cannot wait to return! Thanks you for allowing us to enjoy your home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location!

Review submitted: October 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

My family and friends enjoyed renting this brownstone apt. The apt is perfectly located – an absolutely lovely place to walk to many nearby restaurants, pubs, Mag Mile, Hancock building and it's a half block to Lake Michigan with a pedestrian underpass nearby so you can get to the bike path and Oak St beach. The walk to Navy Pier was manageable with a lovely view along the Lakeshore. The living areas are roomy and the bedrooms comfortable. We had six people in our party so two slept on the living room sofa which was not as comfortable but we managed. Thanks for a good stay. If you're looking for an ideal location with a bit more of a private setting, we recommend this place. We also recommend Bistrot Zinc - a great French restaurant nearby on State Street.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

FInd a better place

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

Very uncomfortable layout...the kitchen is in the basement. And there is a rental upstairs so you can hear every footstep. Sleeping is impossible on the first level if there are people right above you. And no parking!!!!

Owners response: The kitchen is indeed on the lower garden level of this two story apartment next to the dining area as shown in the photos. We would refer you to other reviews in this section who had very good things to say about the kitchen. As advertised on the first page of our website, there are two other apartments in the same building, therefore as in any 3-flat brownstone there are other guests potentially staying in the apartments above. Although this review was submitted a year after this guest’s stay for reasons unknown, we recall intervening and although we are not in control of other’s actions, we requested that the guests above please respect the quiet enjoyment of others. Despite apparently falling short in this instance, we do our best to provide a wonderful experience when opening our home to our guests and enjoy doing so.

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Great location, excellent accommodation.

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

We found the location to be just right for us, within walking distance of the city centre and all major attractions. The accommodation was spacious and comfortable. If we return to Chicago we would choose to stay here again and recommend it to others.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

We had a amazing time in Chicago thanks to the townhouse. The location couldn't have been better. Walking to the Magnificent Mile was a breeze, and getting a taxi was no problem for longer destinations. My favorite activity was just sitting by the front picture window and watching people go by. We highly recommend this townhouse.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply the best place to stay!

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed renting this brownstone apt. It was everything as described and more. We used to live in Chicago, and upon planning our return trip, we knew we wanted to stay here in the Goldcoast area. The apt is perfectly located since it's just a few blocks from Water Tower place and the Magnificent mile shopping, but also just a short walk to Lincoln Park and Old Town. Despite being located right in the middle of the action, the home is set off on a quiet residential street. Even on a holiday weekend, we were never awakened or disturbed by local traffic or neighbors. It was an absolute joy to be able to walk to many of the nearby restaurants and bars and simply stroll back to retire to our quiet rental.

As for the unit itself, the rental is in wonderful condition, tastefully decorated and well stocked. There are no unpleasant surprises here, the pictures displaying the unit are accurate and up to date. The living areas are roomy and the bedrooms comfortable. We used the kitchen regularly and items were in tip top shape. Traveling during the spring in Chicago can bring unexpected weather, but despite some cool evenings and one unseasonably hot day, the apartment was always comfortable. As for perks, it's a half block to Lake Michigan and there's a pedestrian underpass nearby so you can get to the bike path and Oak St beach. And finally in terms of transportation, we relied on cabs when we didn't walk. You can easily catch a cab at either end of the block, and the fares are reasonable even to Museum Park (Shedd Aquarium/Field Museum/Planetarium). Parking is a bit rough, since there's only residential street parking in front of the unit, but there are local lots just a block away if you plan on having a car.

Working with Mark and Ashley on the rental was a pleasure. They are professional, courteous and prompt. Thanks folks for such a wonderful stay! If you're looking for an ideal location with a bit more of a private setting (as opposed to a cold and sterile high rise condo rental), then look no further, I would highly recommend it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for sharing Michael. Hearing that our guests enjoyed our home as much as we do is what motivates us! We'll look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you on your next visit to Chicago! M & A

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

Thanks so much for sharing your brownstone with our family. My husband & I and our four grown daughters went on a get-away to Chicago and loved our stay at your place! It was so convenient and we loved the home atmosphere. Thanks again for a wonderful trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

St. Pat's Weekend 2010

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 11, 2010

Our group of 8 (2 adults, 4 teenagers, and 2 kids under 10) stayed in the Brownstone 3/11/10 - 3/14/10. We arrived at 9:30pm and had no trouble locating the property and entering the building and apartment. The location was perfect - a quiet street just steps from Michigan Ave. We parked our cars in a lot on the corner which was super convenient ($26 a day, which while not cheap, wasn't unexpected). The condition of the apartment is excellent and we had everything we needed - dishes, cookware, linens, soap, toliet paper, etc. waiting for our arrival. There was enough space for everyone to stretch out and relax, which is a must for our family. My one recommendation for improving the unit would be to put a television in the upstairs bedroom. My poor husband, a TV junkie, really missed watching the tube befoore bed. The kitchen is wonderful and saved us plenty of money by not having to eat breakfast and lunch out. The walk to Michigan Ave is a breeze and even walking to Navy Pier was doable. The bathrooms are tight but there are two of them, which made life much easier for us all. I would definitely recommend this property to any group interested in a trip to the windy city. Thanks Mark and Ashley!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 57 E. Cedar. The apartment was eveerything we hoped it would be and more. We will definitely return on our next trip to Chicago.

Judith and Friends from Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: September 22, 2009

We rented this brownstone and had a great weekend in Chicago -- the location was perfect. We'll rent again!

Fran

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

Mark and Ashley's brownstown is very comfortable, with a great interior, and conveniently located to most of the places you would want to visit in Chicago. Also, it is the perfect size for a family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 30, 2009   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

We thoroughly enoyed our stay at this property. We were in Chicago for our son's wedding and it fit our needs quite well. It's location was perfect for us as we had easy and close-by access to downtown, Old Town, the Gold Coast and the lakefront. We'd come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

We loved this place. The location is fabulous, and it's an easy walk to the lake. Very comfortable, and equally charming! We noticed with some delight the lettuce growing in the window boxes - tasty!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 23, 2009   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

Had a wonderful stay in the Cedar St condo. My wife, her two grown daughters, and I spent 4 great nights. The condo was better than advertised. It is a perfect location to explore Chicage. Will want to stay there any time we go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 20, 2009   Date of arrival: May 20, 2009

Mark and Ashley - My 7 college girl friends and I stayed in your lovely brownstone for a long weekend. The location is great. We enjoyed the back deck and spacious kitchen. We all will have fond memories of our visit to Chicago. The location of the brownstone allowed to walk for the most part everywhere we went. I would recommend this property while visiting Chicago!! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 20, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at 57 E. Cedar. We were very comfortable and at home, and the neighborhood and location could not have been more ideal. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 2, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We truely enjoyed our stay in the Brownstone. The location was absolutely perfect!! We loved the architecture of the buliding as well as the ammenities. We will defintely stay with you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 29, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

This was a perfect accomodation for 6 college girlfriends to get together, stay comfortably in a centralized location, conveniant to all that Chicago has to offer!! Mark and Ashley were great to work with!! Would recommend this brownstone for anyone seeking a great time in Chicago.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 22, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We loved the brownstone! We went to Chicago for a girl's weekend and stayed on Cedar. It was a perfect location for shopping, restaurants, Rush & Division etc. It was perfect!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 24, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

we spent a week in chicago at this apartment, my husband and i with another couple. so nice!!! we felt like we were in two different spaces, with the two bedrooms being on the two different levels. everything was clean when we arrived. we had lots of closet space. anything and everything we needed for a week was at our fingertips. we felt very safe in this neighborhood. we had resturants near, and the transportation within blocks. we will revisit chicago in the future and hope to stay at this rental again. please make a chicago cubs game when you to chicago!!!! so much fun!!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 12, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

This Brownstone was AMAZING!
We absolutely LOVED it! We were in Chicago celebrating our anniversary with another couple who was celebrating a birthday. The furnishings and decor were absolutely beautiful and the location was in walking distance of EVERYTHING we wanted to do. There is a bedroom and bathroom on each level, so there is plenty of privacy and space. It was a perfect weekend!
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 12, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We loved staying here. The location was great. We
visit Chicago at least once a year and hope to stay
here every time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 12, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

WE RENTED ALL THREE UNITS FOR A FAMILY VACATION TO CHICAGO AND COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE HAPPY. WHAT A GREAT ALTERNATIVE TO A NICE HOTEL! THE LOCATION AND THE ACCOMMODATIONS ARE FIRST RATE. I HAVE RECOMMENDED THESE UNITS TO SEVERAL OF MY FRIENDS.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

The accommodations were fabulous! The location couldn't be better. We rented the 2BR/2/BA for a girlfriends weekend get away. PERFECT! We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go - dining, shopping, Oak Street Beach, Second City... There was even a farmer's market Saturday morning a few blocks away that was awesome. We will be back. Thanks, Mark & Ashley, for sharing!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 14, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

The brownstone was a wonderful surprise. Loved going right out the front door to great restaurants, shopping on Michigan Ave. and the beach right across the street! Beds were comfortable. Furnishings were modern.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay

Review submitted: June 30, 2008   Date of arrival: June 27, 2008

We just returned from a great weekend at this location. Very close to the beach, shopping, great restaurants, parking and public transportation. The place is extremely comfortable and the service was great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 10, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

If you like an elegant brownstone in an upscale neighborhood (Gold Coast)that is around the corner from great restaurants such as Gibson's and Tavern on Rush, this is the place for you. This is truly a step-above all other condo rentals I have encountered in downtown Chicago.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review