reviews for: listing #6845 - Keuka Lake, New York House rental

Whitby Cottage on Keuka Lake - Vacation Rental
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hammondsport
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $950 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

You'll hate to leave!

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

All the comforts of home; all the special features of a lakeside retreat. My family and my friends have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Whitby Cottage. Our appreciation to the owners, who share this gem of a property in a friendly, welcoming manner. Hope to return sometime soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family vacation!

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We have rented several homes on Keuka Lake over the years and Whitby Cottage did not disappoint. There was plenty of room inside to cook, relax, and sleep. The home was well-stocked and clean. The outdoor space is where we spent most of our time and we thoroughly enjoyed the large dock for fishing, relaxing, and docking our boat. Our kids used the provided paddle boat several times! The only suggestion I would make would be to repair the screens on the two exterior doors so that the doors could be left open without worry of bugs getting in the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback, especially on the little things that make a difference, like a screen that has come loose. We are glad our renters thoroughly enjoy what Whitby Cottage and Keuka Lake have to offer. I understand the bass fishing has been particularly good this summer!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

first, second and third time's a charm

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We love Keuka! We live at a lake in VA and trailer our boat to Keuka for our precious week's vacation 8 hours away. We've been to this amazing lake 9 times for our family vacation and have found our perfect cottage! This was our 3rd consectutive time at Whitby Cottage and have never stayed anywhere else more than once. The owners are great, as is the house and property. It's in a great location, the cottage is so comfortable, warm and welcoming and the waterfront is terrific. Even the neighbor was wonderful, stopping by to tell us about the Keuka Wine Trail (thanks, Carolyn!)
We go-carted in Penn Yan, visited Garrett Chapel on the Bluff, boated to the Switz for lunch and Lakeside for dinner, walked a gorgeous gorge, tubed, wakeboarded, fished (and ate a great fish dinner - get your temporary license, totally worth the $), wine tasted, antiqued at Wild Goose Chase on the hill, shopped for gifts and ate and had ice cream in Hammondsport. We enjoyed the stars and the fire pit and laughed and soaked up the beautiful weather and view of the bluff.
We had one small issue with the grill (first issue ever) and it was taken care of within 12 hours by our terrific caretaker! (basically overnight)
Charming, Relaxing, Beautiful, Comfortable, so many wonderful memories made at Whitby!
I gush....I have never met the owners but would love to toast them with a glass of Finger Lakes Wine! Cheers!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! What a nice compliment for Whitby Cottage. We are so pleased to share the benefits of Keuka Lake and the Cottage with others. Repeat renters are proof that we have a gem on the most beautiful of the Finger Lakes! Thanks so much for the feedback!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

wonderful place

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

What a nice time we had at Whitby Cottage!!! Owners have done a lot of great upgrades and are very nice (I met them). We made wonderful new memories. Whitby Cottage is located just north of the Waterfront Restaurant--great location. We would like to rent this place again. Wonderful porch, dock, view----no steps--a plus!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great feedback! We love to hear from the renters, and hope our future renters enjoy the Cottage as much as you!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We loved Whitby cottage! We picked it because of the location and accessibility to my husband's family, however it far exceeded our expectations and we all had a fabulous time! The cottage was in great shape, clean, comfortable and being that close to the water was a plus! We would definately come back again!

Owners response: Thanks for your feedback! The Cottage is truly a gem on the Lake.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A memorable week

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Wishing I had posted a comment shortly after we stayed at the Whitby cottage, but always better late than never. I'm prompted to do so now after my daughter's friend recently exclaimed that joining us at the Whitby cottage for a few days of our week stay was the best vacation she had ever had (and she's a fairly well traveled kid). The amenities were absolutely great! Close to so many things to do and an easy drive into Hammondsport for the morning paper. The house was clean, spacious, and had everything you could want. The dock was fabulous for fishing off of and tying our rental boat to. The front porch was a favorite spot for coffee. We've recommended Whitby cottage to friends and we will DEFINITELY return for another great week on Keuka!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are very pleased that our renters thoroughly enjoy their stay. Whitby Cottage is a home-like getaway, and is comfortable for all ages!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Last minute vacation

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

I cannot begin to describe the relaxation and enjoyment we experienced! This was a vacation that was not set in stone until the day before arrival. The owner was great and worked with me. The cottage was perfect and we needed to remind ourselves that it was a summer cottage and not a year tound home. if we have another oportunity we will keep this at the top of our list for the finger lakes region.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Whitby Cottage

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

We have stayed at the Whitby Cottage many times and have enjoyed the proximity to the wineries as well as the lovely view of the lake. Four of us travel to the cottage every autumn and enjoy the comforts of the cottage including the fireplace and the deck chairs. On a cold night the heat in the cottage is a little inadequate but it is a cottage and it is nothing that a warm fire can't solve.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We installed forced-air heat and air conditioning in 2011, so there is plenty of comfortable heat and AC when needed!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great place!

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

Have stayed at Whitby Cottage numerous times. It's been ideal for my mother as it's right off the road with no stairs - easy access. There is a definite charm to Whitby, both inside and out. The back provides a beautiful view of the lake, with everchanging views. Sitting out there with a glass of wine is heaven. The location is great - close to Hammondsport, wineries, and scenic drives. I've been a renter since "day one" so have been able to see the numerous changes/ updates the owners have made to Whitby, retaining it's charm while modernizing just a bit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Short weekend stay

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

Stayed for a weekend. Weather was iffy, but the proximity of Whitby was great for dinner and wineries. The fireplace was great, and the rooms were larger than we thought. Loved the openness of the main living area and kitchen! Would stay again in a minute!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

nice location but dirty and ill maintained

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

The cottage is in a nice location and had a beautiful new dock. There was plenty of room for our boat trailer and two cars. Unfortunately the house was extremely dirty when we arrived. The windows sills and floors along the baseboard were filthy. The glasses and cups in the cabinets were encrusted with some sort of black mold (we wound up washing all of them). Most of the windows were painted shut and the screen on the screen door was not properly attached to the door so it was useless for keeping the bugs out. The floor in the master bathroom was uneven and spongy and the door did not close completely. There was a serious ant problem in the kitchen. All of these things should have been corrected by a preseason cleaning and some repairs before any renters were allowed to stay at the cottage. These oversights were correctable by the owners and seriously detracted from our enjoyment of the lake.

Owners response: Much to our dismay we learned of this feedback 9 months after the renters departed. However, they had a valid point. Our cleaning service did not do a satisfactory job in performing a thorough spring cleaning in June 2010 prior to the renters arrival, and we have since changed our service. The deferred maintenance on the bathroom was corrected with a complete renovation of both bathrooms, completed June 2011.

Helpful votes: 9 / 14

 

Great place

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2010

I found this place to be a delight. Nice fireplace for the cool evening of the fall and a comfortable place to relax in. Also, it was close to several wineries and Hammondsport. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review