reviews for: listing #6856 - Durango, Colorado House rental

Tall Spruce House - Sleeps 2 to 22 - Walk to Hot Springs
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $450 - $970 /nt
    $2,800 - $6,800 /wk

sort by:

Perfect place for large groups

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

Wanted to express our great appreciation for the wonderful accommodations provided by Tall Spruce House during our stay December 31, 2012 - January 5, 2013. All 22 members of our immediate family - arriving from four different states - descended on a Monday and stayed through Saturday. Our large group of children had a ball sledding down the gentle slope in the snow-covered front yard. Cousins got to know one another, our children caught up on all the latest news, and we all shared fun times in this large, spacious house! It is clean and neat. We had all the necessities available to us in the various bedrooms and bathrooms. As family members took turns preparing meals for our large group, we found that we were well supplied with dishes, pots and pans, spices, appliances - everything we needed was at our fingertips.

Lisa is conscientious in providing for her guests. She has suggested interesting things to do in Durango. She met us as we arrived, told us to call her if we needed anything, and even left us some cookies and a tin of gourmet nuts along with a few instructions on the kitchen table. We would highly recommend the Tall Spruce House as a very special place for you and your family to spend quality time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Room for all

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We had a lovely week, and enjoyed the puzzles and games and the ping pong table. We also made good use of the fully-equipped kitchen. We even had a young bear lumber across the lawn, to the delight of all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for a family vacation

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We have stayed with our family at Tall Spruce House twice, most recently in April 2013. Both times we have had a great experience. The house is large enough to handle up to about 25 people (we went with extended family) and the yard is spacious and inviting. The house is nicely arranged and furnished, the kitchen large and well-equipped, and there are plenty of areas for people to spread out and for kids to play (there are 6 separate bedrooms). It is also a great location, being close to all that Durango has to offer as well as to the mountains if you want to explore further. We hope to be able to re-visit Tall Spruce house in the future and would recommend it to anyone interested in the Durango area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, cozy & comfortable, hot tub was a hit!

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

Guestbook comments: Beautiful, cozy & comfortable home away from home!
Thank you! Our group of 12 fit so comfortably in the BEAUTIFUL Tall Spruce House! The kids were delighted to have an instant sledding hill & the adults felt relaxed among the many cozy rooms. The hot tub was a hit as several of us chilled out in it before retreating to our slumber spots! Thank you for such an awesome family vacation!
From Roxanne & Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kitchen very well stocked, everything so beautiful

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

Guestbook Comments: Dear Lisa, We so enjoyed our stay at your beautiful home. The kitchen is very well stocked and everything so beautiful. We may be back in the future.
From Cindy & Berne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for our 59th Wedding Anniversary & Reunion

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Guestbook Comments: Dear Lisa, We thoroughly enjoyed your vacation home. Tall Tall Spruce House was perfect for our family reunion and the celebration of our 59th wedding anniversary. Memories remembered and new memories created by family members on the various porches and around the dining table. We also enjoyed the area: rock climbing, horseback riding, downtown Durango (train museum worth visiting), lake fishing, zip lines, alpine slide, swimming, etc.
Thanks, Lisa for your help and information.
Guests from Colorado Springs, Minnesota and Wyoming

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable and beautiful "Home base" - Fantastic!

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Guestbook Comments: Lisa, Thank you for providing us with such a comfortable and beautiful “home base” for a week packed with train rides, zip lines, alpine slides, glider rides, shopping, hiking, rafting & horseback riding! It was so nice to start the day at your kitchen table and end it in the family room with wine and laughter! We had a “Chopped” Competition (Food Network) one night, so you might notice a few new kitchen items, please enjoy!
Thanks again for a fantastic summer vacation!
Guests from Virginia, Texas & Florida

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect House with Birthday Chef & Wildlife too!

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Guestbook Comments: We wanted the perfect house to celebrate Myles’ 80th birthday and Lauren’s 21st, and we found it in Tall Spruce House. And your Professional Chef's birthday dinner, which she cooked for us on Sunday, July 8, was icing on the cake. Thank you, Lisa, for providing all the comforts of home – and more. The twelve of us, three generations, had a great time.
Guests from Missouri, Texas, Louisiana, and London!

As stated by my lovely grandmother, we had an absolutely AMAZING time! The city and activities were gorgeous as well as entertaining, and I couldn’t think of a better way to spend a 21st birthday. You have a gorgeous home and I’m glad we could stay in it. Believe me, I wish we didn’t have to return to TX!!! Also, if you’re patient enough the wildlife is quite trusting – makes for some great pictures!!!
From Lauren, just turned 21!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

70th Birthday - Mother loved it!

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Guestbook Comments: It was a wonderful house for a large family. My mother loved having all of her children and grandchildren with her for her 70th Birthday! We all had a wonderful time!
Denise and family from Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place for our family reunion

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

GUESTBOOK COMMENTS: A great place for our family reunion. Highlights for the week included the round trip to Silverton, rafting, a day at Mesa Verde, the Bar D Chuckwagon Dinner, and shopping, shopping and shopping! Thanks, Lisa, for helping us locate a wheel chair. It was really appreciated.
Elizabeth and Waldo from California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fort Lewis College Graduation

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

GUESTBOOK COMMENTS: Fort Lewis College Graduation Weekend April 26-29, 2012.
We enjoyed our stay at the Tall Spruce House – for the special occasion of our daughter graduating from Fort Lewis College! Four sisters, our Mom and Dad, and other special people in our lives were able to come and enjoy the beauty of Durango!
Thank you! Valerie and David, Denver, CO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Durango Snowdown 2012 - Fantastic Time

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

GUESTBOOK COMMENTS: Durango Snowdown 2012 Crew of 12 from Albuquerque, NM had a fantastic time with lots of laughs at the Tall Spruce House!
Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything we could possibly want or need

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

GUESTBOOK COMMENTS:
Dear Lisa,
We had a wonderful time here at the Tall Spruce House. The house is beautiful and we enjoyed all the amenities. Thank you for having the house filled with everything that we could possibly want or need.
Sincerely, Janet and family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New Years Week - "Welcomed right from the start"

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

GUESTBOOK COMMENTS: Twenty-two people enjoyed a beautiful and joyous week’s vacation here at this lovely getaway house. We felt very much at home and were welcomed right from the start. Lots of memories and new experiences were had not only at this house, but in the town as well. This house had everything that we needed and plenty of room. We hope to come back & visit Durango and stay at the Tall Spruce House once again.

Thank you! The energetic group from Laredo, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spacious house, lovely garden and magical stars

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

As a group of 17, we were thrilled with the house and accommodations. The view was spectacular – many a morning and evening were spent watching the sun hit the rocks. We all fit comfortably – definitely kept marveling at how large and spacious the house is. The garden is lovely, and the view of the stars is magical. We were all dazing, ‘cause it was so amazing.
Thank you, Michael and family from Littleton, CO

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clean and comfortable with plenty of room

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Dear Lisa,
We had a great week at Tall Spruce House, loved the fact that 20 of us, 11 adults 9 children (3 yrs. to 12 yrs.) could spend time together for our family reunion and not be tripping over each other. All the rooms, including the kitchen, were clean and comfortable. The kids played ball on the big, grassy lawn, ping pong in the garage and swimming at Trimble Hot Springs. We enjoyed a ride on the train to Silverton, exploring Mesa Verde and rafting. It was a great week!
Thank you, Bertha and family from Fullerton, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect home base for Polar Express Train

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 11, 2011

4 families – 6 kids & 8 adults – descended on Durango this weekend for a holiday getaway and to ride The Polar Express. Tall Spruce House was the perfect home base for us – plenty of room and a very welcoming environment. We had a wonderful time and will take home memories to last a lifetime. Merry Christmas and may the bells always ring for you! Michelle and family from Arvada, CO

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"I want to stay here forever"

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

Wonderful Stay, lovely home with absolutely everything we needed. Thank you for thinking of everything. Plenty of space, convenient location. We had a great time and can’t wait to return. We loved Durango – great character, wonderful microbrews – Ska Brewery & Steamworks in particular. Hiking at Spud Lake trail was awesome! All around good time. The morning we are leaving, my 3 year old says “I want to stay here forever.”
Judy and family from Webster Groves, MO

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Hospitality & Easily Accessible

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

Thank you so much for a wonderful home to stay in while we had our Family Reunion. As a 90-year old cowboy in a walker the house was easily accessible. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to spend time with our wonderful family.
Lila and Buddy, Rawlins, WY.
We had a great time here! Very comfortable home and great company.
Bella & Jordan and Franklin, San Antonio, TX.
Thank you so much for your “Tall Spruce House” for our Family Reunion. We have enjoyed our 5 days here. Beautiful scenery and many good times with 13 adults and 2 kids. We may have to come back here again.
Thanks, Richard & Marsha from Meridian, Idaho.
Such a beautiful home! We loved the wonderful area, the great hospitality and the absolutely beautiful Colroado mountains! Such a cozy place
Helen & Chris from Ocenside, CA.
Yes!!!The scenery was So Beautiful being from the high desert – sure enjoyed the Mountains and Streams. I sure was tempted to make Crab apple jelly here. Everyone was happy here.
From Pam & Roger, Rock Springs, Wyoming.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Every cooking item desired, lots of room!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2011

We’re here to take the Polar Express. I wanted to treat my children and grandchildren. We had 14 adults and 7 children and what a great time we had. Lots of room, every cooking item desired. We went sledding up at Purgatory, visited downtown and the honeybee store. Everything was wonderful. We drove from Denver area and Fort Collins. Well worth the trip.
Thank you, Connie
Thank you! From Logan
This was Awesome! Thanks a lot!, Danica

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wedding was perfect!!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

Lisa, Like the families before us, the house was great – so nice to have all of the family under one roof. The wedding was perfect!! We all hate to go home. Thanks for this opportunity for all of us to be together, Marilyn and family from Faber, VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guys caught lots of fish!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

Dear Lisa,
Had a great time! Your place is beautiful and well equipped. Guys caught lots of fish and were very happy! Hope to come back soon! Thanks so much for the use of your place.
Sincerely, Mary & John from Woodland Park, CO

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed Tall Spruce House for 90th Birthday!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2011

We enjoyed our family reunion at Tall Spruce House so much. We also celebrated the upcoming birthday of our 89 year old “Gammy” who will be 90 in Dec. 2011. Thanks for everything, Rexanne & family from Prescott, AZ

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love this Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Our week was filled with many blessings, fun times and a lifetime of sweet memories. We all love this beautiful home and the special town of Durango.
Thank you and God bless, Ann and family from Westminster, MD

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was Ideal!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Our family reunion had a great time in Durango. From the exciting whitewater rafting to the scenic train ride, everything was ideal. Thank you for letting us stay here.
Thank you, Vic from Durango, CO!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for my 80th Birthday!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Tall Spruce House was perfect for our family reunion. There were 23 of us and plenty of space for everyone. We enjoyed our evening meals out on the deck and celebrated my 80th birthday one night. My kids and grandkids put on some great talent shows. The kids had a blast whitewater rafting, alpine sliding, going to Trimble Hot Springs and many other activities. Your house was very well equipped. We used the grill for every dinner. On behalf of my entire family a big THANK YOU for trusting us to stay here, Patty & family from Moline, IL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome House!

Review submitted: February 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

We traveled to Durango with 12 adults and 2 kids (5 & 1 yr) for a 3 night ski vacation to Purgatory. Loved this house! It was perfect for our extended family. The house was well stocked with all the necessities needed for a large group. The kitchen had plenty of dishes, silverware, and glasses along with large pots/pans. Often a rental for a large group will only have 10-12 of each item making it necessary to improvise at meals.

The house is big and has plenty of room to get away to yourself if you so desire. The number of bathrooms (5) was also a huge plus so no one had to "wait in line". Lisa, the owner, was very nice and accommodating calling on our check out morning to make sure our stay was a good one and asking if we had any suggestions on improvements.

The house is located a good 35 minutes from the airport and a 20 minute drive to Wal Mart. There are many smaller grocery stores closer and an albertsons. A very nice gourmet grocery store is across the highway from the Tall Spruce house that sells a nice variety of wine and beer as well as most staples needed. It's a good place to pick up a few items but I wouldn't shop there for all your groceries as they are a bit spendy.

I would recommend this house to anyone who has a large group.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful getaway!! Fabulous accomodations!

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

What a glorious weekend in the mountains! We loved our stay at the Tall Spruce House, our time at Trimble Hot Springs, skiing and snowbiking on the slopes and exploring downtown Durango! The hospitality shown to us here at the Tall Spruce House and in the town of Durango was outstanding! Thanks so very, very much! The kitchen, the hot tub, the games, the deck, the beautifully decorated bedrooms - it was all wonderful!! We will be back!! Thank you!

The McClendon's, Hall's, Bryan's, Coggin's & Nauert's
Lubbock, TX

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

This was a great house!

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

We stayed at this house for a week with our 3 children, their spouses, and our 7 grandkids. The set-up of the house was perfect for our large group. Each couple had their own room and the grandkids shared the bunk bed room. One of the best parts of this house was the yard. It's huge! The kids played baseball and ran around without our having to worry about them wandering off the property. They also enjoyed riding their scooters down the really long driveway. The kitchen was great and had all the cooking necessities you could want. The dining table was large and the bar stools added extra seating. We used the family room a lot as well. The kids especially enjoyed the games and lincoln logs. Overall, this house was even better than the photos. It was very clean and well maintained and Lisa was so easy to work with and very helpful. Durango is a great vacation destination and we can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

The most serene, romantic Wedding Rehearsal Dinner.

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

In our lives we have been many places. The Tall Spruce House allowed us one of the most joyous memorable times ever. Our sons Wedding Rehearsal Dinner was held on June 4, 2010 in the front lawn with such beautiful surroundings. The large deck supplied ample space for all the catering, flowers and tables, and of course the many people that were there to enjoy this occasion. The house chef Margaret was amazing. If I were to decide to marry my husband again....I would relive the moments at the Tall Spruce House. It's perfect, inside and out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved our Thanksgiving week stay!

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2009

Fantastic home. Perfect for large extended family gatherings. The Family room is awsome with very nice gas fireplace, plenty of seating and nice game table. Plenty of space!! We felt right at home in the kitchen, it is very well equiped. Extra refrigerator in the garage came in handy, there was not a single thing we felt was not provided. Very nice grocery store just across the hwy very close. Tall Spruce was absolutely ideal for our Thanksgiving stay, we would love to do it again! Clearly the house was designed for large groups, but with that much space to furnish one might suspect some scimping ... NOT the case, very comfortable bedding. Everything was spotless.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

6th year & returning- Great for clients & fishing!

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2007

I want to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay at the Tall Spruce House. We have been entertaining clients with a fishing trip for a number of years. We used to stay in a hotel in Durango, but have now stayed at Tall Spruce House for the last six years. They have all commented on what a great find it has been. Besides the exceptional comfort and beauty of the house, it allows us all to enjoy each other's company more. We have breakfast together in the morning and after a full day of fishing can relax in the living room with cocktails and snacks before going to dinner. After dinner, we can relax with a movie before going to bed. One client even cooked a gourmet dinner for the group at the house. Everyone is looking forward to coming back next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This home is amazing!

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 24, 2009

We had a wonderful family reunion here following my daughter's wedding in Albuquerque, NM. There were 17-21 of us during the week from all over the U.S. This home is AMAZING - so roomy and comfortable. Lots of Frisbee and football games on the front lawn, lots of games and puzzles in the game area. We were able to cook and enjoy family meals together and take advantage of all Durango has to offer. Even our 2 dogs were in heaven! We would LOVE to come back soon. Thanks, Lisa, for being so kind and helpful!! It was a Pleasure!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Everything was here for us & so comfortable"

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

This was our first "whole family" vacation together with all 13 family members. Tall Spruce House was welcoming and accommodating the entire week. Everything was here for us. We were so comfortable! Skiers, fisher people, dog sledders, hikers, tourists, archeologists, antiquers, 4-wheelers, ice skaters, sledders & snow fort builders all had a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon stay! "Great bike trails"

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2008

Thanks for the wonderful space! This house is amazing - what a lucky find to stumble upon this place on our honeymoon. The bike trails were great - everything was perfect! We will be back (with more people to fill up the house.)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Outstanding accommodations

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Great Place!! The accommodations were outstanding. Thank you so much for a great weekend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Plenty of snow - enjoyed the powder!

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2008

What a great start to a new year. The snow followed us once again and we enjoyed the powder almost as much as we enjoyed our time in this wonderful house and appreciate everyone that makes that happen. Lots of fun, good food and smiles help to make this a very special time and place. Our families have been lucky enough to meet at this time for several years and we plan to continue that trend in this fun home. No bears, but plenty of snow! The girls and boys all have a blast, next year seems too far away! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt at home for Christmas

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2007

Christmas 2007 - This was one of the most memorable vacations for our family! There were about 12 of us and we fit comfortably and never had to fight over bathroom space. The cozy decor and furnishings really make it easy to feel at home for a week! Thanks again and your house is beautiful!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

80th Birthday - breathtaking setting & wildlife!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 27, 2007

This was the perfect setting to celebrate the matriarch of our family. Her 80th birthday was extra special because of your beautiful home. The setting is breathtaking. We all enjoyed watching the wildlife - bears, elk, wild geese, deer and beautiful birds - Wonderful!
This home was great for our family. Our time at Tall spruce House was wonderful in all ways. You have thought of absolutely everything anyone renting such a home could need or want. Every one of my family was so impressed with the home and said what a special weekend it was! Each person wants to return in the future. We all say a big "thank you" for a memorable time made possible by us staying at Tall Spruce House.
My family had a fantastic time in Durango. We hope to return for another time of memory making. It was a beautiful place to share memories as well as make memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2007

Everything was wonderful!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Chef is marvelous - and bears too!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2007

Wonderful time, company and food! The bears were an added attraction. We saw them every night except the last two. There were three at different times one evening. One even knocked the fence down but it was quickly repaired. Everyone had a great time. Thank you for the use of the house and the great view.
P.S.-Margaret Martin was a wonderful suggestion. She is a marvelous cook!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Durango family has their reunion at Tall Spruce!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2007

The home was wonderful! 19 family members fit very comfortably.
(and from one of the children)-
I loved this house!! I liked it here because there is a pool nearby.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

1st of 2 visits - "Can't wait to come back"

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2007

The vacation was wonderful, the house is really beautiful. We really enjoyed everything in and around Durango!........
An awesome vacation, Durango and your home is beautiful! Can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Location couldn't be better

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2007

While cruising the internet almost one and a half years ago, I came across the Tall Spruce House listing - When it said it would accommodate up to 20 people, I became excited and when I mentioned it to my wife she too said it would be great for a family vacation. We really enjoyed our stay and everyone had plenty of space. The amenities of the area were very memorable: The River Rafting, Ski Lift & Slide at Durango Mountain Resort, Bar D Chuckwagon, golf, biking, hiking, melodrama, Silverton & just plain enjoying the beautiful scenery. Location of the home couldn't be better. Thank you so much for making the Tall Spruce House our home for a wonderful week. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

And another 50th Anniversary!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2007

Thank you so much for a great place to have our 50th Anniversary Party with children and grandchildren. Everyone took advantage of all that was available in Durango and surrounding places. The house was perfect. The first day here when the bear came was pretty awesome. Thanks again for a perfect house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First family to rent Tall Spruce House returns!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2007

Six years ago we rented the Tall Spruce House for our youngest son's graduation from Fort Lewis College, he was in the summer graduation. My husband's family from Arizona joined us here. We were the first group to rent the house. My mother-in-law loved is so we came back for their 60th Anniversary. We have had a great time this week and hate to see it end. Thanks so much Tall Spruce House.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything a large family needs

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2007

"Tall Spruce House is Beautiful." Our family takes a week vacation every year and this week has been wonderful. The house was perfect for my family of 18 including my children and their spouses, my 8 grandchildren and 3 great-grandchildren. We saw all the sights around here, shopped and the kids loved playing games in the big front yard. We missed having one granddaughter, her husband and baby. Thank you so much for a great vacation. This house is perfect for large families.....
We really enjoyed staying here. The house is lovely. I love it here and the weather was perfect! The house had everything we needed for a family of 18! The kids enjoyed all the toys...THANK YOU! It was a wonderful vacation and hopefully we will be back soon. Thanks for everything! P.S. Thanks for the honey!!.....
What an awesome week! We loved the train ride, Mesa Verde, shopping, the Bar D Chuckwagon and everything else. The house is beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing. We had a great vacation! PS-Thanks for all the toys, the kids loved playing ball in the front yard.
(And from the children)-
Thank you for all the games, toys and videos. We saw a bear. I liked your house.....
This house was great. We loved being here. The weather was perfect. Thanks for letting us stay here. It was awesome.....
Durango has been a blast, the best part was the "Tall Spruce House." I loved the toys. Also I loved the view of the mountains!....
Durango has been a blast, the best part was the "Tall Spruce House." I loved the toys. Also I loved the view of the mountains!(10 yrs. old)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for kids - even toys!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2007

We love this place! Great for kids. You've thought of everything from toys for the kids to step stools and plastic plates. Everything was great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for family bonding

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2007

We really enjoyed the Tall Spruce House. It was perfect for all 13 of us!! It was a great place for family bonding!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2nd Stay for Church Youth Group - "Perfect"

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2007

Wow! This place is amazing. The atmosphere and vibe of Durango is so serene. I love it. This house is so perfect for our group to connect and hang out! We all wish all of y'all a big Texas hello and hope y'all have a wonderful and blessed life.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptionally well equipped home

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2007

Our family could not have had a better time, the house is lovely and exceptionally well equipped. Everything was wonderful including the weather. The kids even got to make a snow man.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best place we have every rented!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2007

We had a fabulous time. Tall Spruce House is perfect, the best place we have every rented! We will definitely be back. Thanks so much for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy house - wonderful Birthday

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2007

Thank you so much! We had a wonderful time in this cozy house. And we wouldn't have wanted to spend Spencer's birthday any other way! Thank you, thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2006

We had a wonderful time. It is a great house! Merry Christmas,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sweet house for our Business Christmas Party

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2006

We all had a wonderful work Christmas party here and nothing but good times. We all loved the beautiful surroundings and the sweet house.....
We had a really great time here with our family and friends. Thanks for the opportunity to stay in such a beautiful House.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family of 20-"couldn't have picked a better place"

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2006

For our first time in Colorado we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The house is beautiful! We all loved it, a family of 20. We hope to return......
Thank you, we had fun playing outside also we had fun searching for elk and deer. (written by 8 year old).....
I had a great time here looking for elk and other animals and thank you. (written by 10 year old)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome mountain view, deer and even bears

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2006

I can't believe how beautiful this state is and the weather is so much different than Glendale, AZ. The mountain view out the front window is awesome! Thank you for letting us enjoy your truly beautiful well equipped home. The Tall Spruce House has everything to satisfy your every need. We spotted the house from our train ride to Silverton by the signature "Tall Spruce Tree". We've seen deer and even had 3 bears visit one night in the neighbor's lawn. We enjoyed the hot springs and also took family portraits in the beautiful front lawn. Hope to visit again someday and make more memories. It ended all too soon, don't want to go the sleep tonight because it's our last night. Thanks again!.....
"Durango Rules" The Tall Spruce House is awesome. It's been wonderful staying here, everything here is perfect and I am glad to have spent a few days of my life here!!(by one of the children)......
The Spruce House is amazing! I love it. The memories we had here I will never forget. I'm glad I had the opportunity to stay here! (13 years old)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The absolute best place - great kitchen & bedrooms

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2006

What a wonderful home you have for our family gathering, celebrating the life of our father. 5 great grand children, 3 grand and 3 children with spouses, this was the absolute best place. We loved the kitchen's dining area and all bedrooms were great. We especially had a "moment" when the bears jumped the fence and came to visit. Thanks for our memories. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for our Golf Outing

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2006

Our group of 8 from Texas and Louisiana could not have found a more perfect home and location for our golf outing! The weather - cool and low humidity! - made it feel so great and the beauty of the Durango area added so much to our outing - even poor golf was offset by the Tall Spruce House! Thanks!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the Kitchen, View and Great Beds!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2006

We had a wonderful stay at your lovely home. Here in a beautiful place with great friends, what could be better! Thanks!.....
The house was perfect for our group of ten - we enjoyed the kitchen, view and the great beds! We indeed made ourselves "at home". Thank you for the surprise package of goodies......
The Tall Spruce House was a perfect location for our gang and so pleasant and roomy. Durango's location in this beautiful area is a visitor's playground. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very comfortable, well-equipped home

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2006

We all immensely enjoyed our stay at Tall Spruce House - a very comfortable, well equipped home. Climbing Engineer Mountain and Ice Lake Basin hiking was beautiful. Nana enjoyed the hummingbird and magpie who visited daily. Two-year old Emma said after, "I like this house." Dinner at Sweeney's was "delish" and Mesa Verde was a special day. We also enjoyed our drive to Ouray - what spectacular views! A wonderful time was had by all. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spacious home perfect for 4 generations, age 1-83

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2006

We all converged at Tall Spruce House for our family reunion. We range in age from 83 years to 8 months - four generations. As diverse as our ages, so were the weeks activities. We frolicked on the front lawn, took pictures of the deer and hummingbirds who came to visit, enjoyed "Thomas" the train as he steamed past, took a Harley ride to mesa Verde, fished in lakes and the Animas River, took a glider ride, visited the fish hatchery and the wildlife museum, and enjoyed the shops of Durango. This is a beautiful vacation spot and your spacious home was just right. A good time was had by all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Deer a plus & house perfect for all ages

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2006

We loved the house! It was perfect for 6 adults and 7 kids (3 months to 12 years!). The accommodations here are wonderful and the two mule deer (10 point Bucks!) were a special bonus! Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Chef & enjoyed the Hot Springs

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2006

McManus 50th Anniversary - Lisa, great house! We loved it and had a great time. Loved Durango! All 13-15 of us enjoyed something, the train to Silverton, 4-wheeling, hiking, loved Mesa Verde and Trimble Hot Springs, and gliding. Just an all around GREAT place! Thanks, Lisa and Thanks, Margaret for the wonderful meal you prepared for us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hot Springs & Kitchen great-Everything as promised

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2006

The house was delightful. Everything the website promised. Lovely surroundings. Great kitchen for all 20 of us! Trimble Hot Springs & Spa was great. We will recommend Tall spruce House to all of our friends!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Wonderful time - awesome! Thanks, Our family had a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another 50th Anniversary! Front yard a favorite

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2006

Another 50th Anniversary! All 14 of us enjoyed the train ride to Silverton and back, an adventure to Mesa Verde, downtown shopping and walking the river walk. Our most favorite times were spent in the front yard watching the kids, ages 2 to 20, run and splash and play in our own made-up splash playground. The highlight of the week was the renewal of vows for our parents - a touching tribute to a devoted, loving and fun couple. It has been a memorable experience! As the oldest grandchild said, "This has been the best family reunion we've ever had." Thanks for being a part of it!!
Thanks, Lisa for your attention to our needs!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for 4 Generations & 50th Anniversary

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2006

50th Wedding Anniversary - Our family had a delightful time in your home. We celebrated our Grandparent's 50th Wedding Anniversary. We loved Mesa Verde, rafting, fishing, shopping and time with each other. The house was perfect for all four generations of our family. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Accommodated our family very nicely

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2006

Our family had a great week. Durango is so centrally located. There is so much history in this area. Recommend the Soaring at Tall Timbers. The house accommodated our family very nicely.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

40th Anniversary/ Family Reunion - wonderful place

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

What a great place for a family reunion/ 40th Anniversary! Thank you so much for a wonderful place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Iron Horse Bike Racers' perfect house

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2006

Thank you! The house was perfect. We had everything we needed. Thank you for being so helpful and for trying to find a dentist!! We will hopefully see you again next year for the Iron Horse Bike Race! Thanks again,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring Break - Skiing and Home both Amazing

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2006

Spring Break 2006 at Tall Spruce House was amazing! Great snow and skiing - Our family time together was enhanced by the wonderful accommodations! This home is perfect for a family vacation - (a home away from home). We definitely would like to make this the beginning of a family tradition! May we be so blessed next year. Thank you so much for all of the little extras that make a vacation enjoyable (especially for Mom!)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Church Youth Group - 1st of 2 Ski Trips at Spruce

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2006

We had a beautiful experience at your home. Wonderful memories were made and this house was a big part of that. To be in the mountains that God made with friends that we love was just incredible! Thank you for sharing your blessing with us and we look forward to another chance to come back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Recommending to Friends & Family- Feels like Home

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2006

I love this house, it's super cool. I bet my stay will be great. Thank you for letting us stay here. (age 10).....This house is so cool.....(age 10).....This house is cool cause it's huge! The beds are really comfortable and cozy. Got to give you props for making it feel like home!(age 14).....We had a wonderful time here at Tall Spruce House! We will definitely recommend it to our friends and family! Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, beautiful home

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2006

You have a wonderful, beautiful home, Lisa! Thank you for sharing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Returning to Ski - Another family from Mexico!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2006

Once again we are enjoying "Tall spruce House." We all like your nice and big house. Everybody, except me, are skiing all day long. All my 9 grandchildren are becoming real champions. The scenery is so beautiful. We are privileged experiencing all of this. Thank you for letting us rent your house. We feel at home. P.S.- It was a pleasure meeting you! .....(Next part is from one of the children.)We really enjoyed your house. It is really nice meeting you. We hope next year we can come and meet your family if we come. Love, from all your friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderfully equipped & super beds

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2006

Your lovely home was just perfect for our family gathering! It was wonderfully equipped (I can't think of anything you forgot!) and extremely comfy (the beds were super!). We really enjoyed the area - Durango is truly a gateway to both a winter and summer good time. We enjoyed the skiing and your recommendations of the Trimble Hot Springs Spa and the Durango Recreation Center in town. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family from Mexico - 1st of 2 New Years

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2005

We wanted to let you know that we all enjoyed the house! We are a big family, and the house suited us perfectly. We celebrated every night and enjoyed movies and games in the living room. Thank you for sharing this house with us. We wish you a Happy New Year and we will definitely see you in December of 2006!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect arrangement for large groups!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2005

What a great place for all 18 of us to spend some time together! The arrangement of this home is perfect for a large group - thanks so much. While we were here we spent a day in Mesa Verde, a day at Vallecito Reservoir and a day in Durango. The "ladies" went on a fabulous hike on the Vallecito Trail. We gabbed about our 'wonderful" husbands..... We spent our evenings cooking huge meals. We had "Tapas night" and Italian night - we all vow to go on diets as soon as we get home!?! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was wonderful!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2005

Wonderful weather, wonderful area, wonderful home, wonderful time! Thanks!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Massage at Trimble Hot Springs

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2005

The house fit our family great, we cooked breakfast and dinner and during the day went to downtown Durango and Silverton. Went to the Diamond Circle Melodrama, great!! Had my birthday on Thursday, with our friends that live on this street here. On Saturday night went to our friends house for his birthday and dinner, again great, on the way home my niece Jenny almost hit an elk that ran out on the road, huge one, the kids all got to see him. Went to Trimble Hot Springs for a massage, 3 of us, great!! We brought our little Pomeranian dog on her first road trip, after the second day she loved it all. We will surely come back again! Thanks!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything we needed!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2005

This house is wonderful for a family reunion. Family came from Oregon, Washington, New Mexico & Michigan. There was room for everyone and everything here that we needed. A great time was had by everyone. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another 50th Wedding Anniversary!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2005

What a beautiful place to celebrate our 50th anniversary. The accommodations are wonderful. Enjoyed having a home that could comfortably house our entire family. It was a good location to do other things like going on the train ride, enjoying the Sand Dunes, and taking in Mesa Verde. We also enjoyed the hummingbirds! What a great extra treat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt like home

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2005

Had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful. We all had a great time! Thanks!!....We have in previous summers gone to various houses. To me, this one felt more like home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

50th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2005

We enjoyed staying in your beautiful home. It was a great way to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary. Everyone found something to do that was really fun, and we had a wide diversity of ages. Riding the train or just driving to Silverton, rafting, motorcycling, dirt biking, going to Mesa Verde and the Recreation Center, going to Durango Mountain Resort and just exploring Durango. The only thing that would have made it better would have been if our three working grandsons could have come. Thanks from all of us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation Headquarters & Hot Springs too!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2005

Thanks so much for sharing the Tall Spruce House experience with our family. We could not have picked a better vacation headquarters! Each day seemed better than the last -- rafting, the San Juan By-Pass, Mesa Verde, the rodeo, the Recreation Center, Silverton Railroad, and horseback riding into your beautiful mountains. We did them all! But each night we were back at the Tall Spruce House for dinner, and a plunge into the Trimble Hot Springs. The week went way too fast. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bunk Beds perfect for the grandkids

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2005

Our entire family had an amazing vacation. This trip was to celebrate our grandparents' 57th anniversary. (We've been doing this since their 50th). The house allowed our entire family to laugh and spend joyous time together. Silverton, hiking and Mesa Verde were some of the fun things we enjoyed. All 17 of us had a blast. The bunk beds were perfect for us grandkids (15, 16 & 18)!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Huge front yard for kids & games

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2005

Our family had a wonderful week - horseback riding, rafting, hiking, golfing, etc. The grandchildren (7) enjoyed the huge front yard - croquette, badminton and bocce ball. We celebrated our 50th Anniversary and this was the perfect place. The family loved the house, so much room and ideal for the entire family. We hate to leave but off we all go in different directions. Thanks for the memories!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Hot Tub & great for 50th Birthday!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2005

The week went by too quickly! But the house was perfect for our gathering celebrating my 50th. Our Durango adventure came complete with 7 days of glorious weather, river rafting over class 3 rapids, horseback riding, DSNGRR Train, Mesa Verde, trout fishing, Trimble Hot Springs, downtown shopping and the always exciting visit from your friendly neighborhood Yogi the Bear. Many thanks for all your help with the arrangements. I hope to visit again!........(Next comment is from one of the children) This went so fast! Your house is awesome! I had the greatest time here. My mom and my sister and I got the master bedroom. I loved the hot tub! We did soooo many things I can't even name them all. Thank you sooooo much! I know we all loved it. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The Best" from experienced group travellers

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2005

We have had the most glorious week - our family of 12 (ages 2 to 73) think Durango is marvelous. We've been to Mesa Verde, Silverton, Ouray, and hiked, biked, water-rafted and did some horseback riding. The boys played baseball and worked out (as did most of the girls) and we think the Recreation Center is spectacular. We even had a party for a bunch of our Denver cousins which Chef Margaret so nicely catered for us. As for your house, we think it's the best - and we're pretty experienced at this group travel. You've done everything to give us a perfect vacation home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hot Springs & Pool super ! and Great Management

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2005

The house and the management leave little to be desired. What an extreme surprise! The family membership we purchased at Trimble Hot Springs was well enjoyed by all. The pool was super! Thanks for the suggestion on the Season's Restaurant. Great adult night cuisine and outing! Hope to see you next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Room to stretch out & well furnished

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 9, 2005

Our entire family enjoyed our visit to Durango and the ski area. Staying at Tall Spruce House enabled us to stretch out and enjoy our family together. We found it to be comfortable and well furnished. It was great to have 2 laundry rooms. All 17 of us had a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Monterey, Mexico

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2005

We liked your house very much. It is cozy and comfortable. We had a wonderful time. Thank you for sharing it with us. God bless you. See you next year! (The kids wrote the next part.)We liked the house because we had loads of fun inside and outside. And also because it was very fun to be here in this beautiful house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Deer every night & loved the Massage Table!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2005

Thanks for the use of your lovely house. I enjoyed being with my family and sharing all the joys of Grandchildren. We enjoyed watching the deer! and all the snow which we don't have often in Louisiana............I had a great stay here! The house was better than in the big pictures I saw on the internet. The Tall Spruce House was very nice. Thank you for all your hard work to get the house ready for us. (age 9)...........Wow! The house is perfect to get away to! We loved our stay. You have gone to great efforts to accommodate your guests. Everyone found a place to enjoy. The kids loved the stairs and den, the men loved the living room, and the table we all loved the massage table!....... Had a wonderful time! Your home is beautiful. It has everything a family needs to feel at home away from home...........I love the house, it is great! Thank you for all your hard work. I think the bunk beds were cool! (age 9)...........We are so glad we chose Tall Spruce House as our place to stay. We'll do it again! The accommodations are wonderful. We enjoyed feeding the deer every night. Our entire family of 14 enjoyed every inch of the home. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Venezuela

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2004

Happy New Year! We are a party of 17 people from Venezuela, South America. We had a great time!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for Thanksgiving!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2004

Thanksgiving 2004 - The Tall Spruce House was a good fit for our family --all 16 of us (the two of us, our 3 children and their spouses, and our 8 grandchildren). We were all very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed our stay--bears and all! In fact, one evening the bears came about 7:30 p.m. (much earlier than other nights) and that found all 16 of our noses pressed against the front windows watching their antics. We are a family who likes to cook and we enjoyed preparing Thanksgiving dinner in your well-equipped kitchen--it seemed every need had been anticipated. Thanks to all who made our stay at the Tall Spruce House such a wonderful memory.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beyond our expectations!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2004

We just left your beautiful Tall Spruce House and we just could not possibly have enjoyed it more. It was beyond our expectations. It was so beautiful, well appointed, comfortable, warm, we just loved it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Photos don't do this home justice!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2003

The pictures on the website do not do this place justice. You have to see it in person. It is an impressive home. Very well maintained. The two elegant master suites are huge. The bathrooms are gorgeous. Tons of room for our family reunion. The location is perfect. Excellent views of the San Juan mountains. The Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge train passes by within viewing distance of the front porch. Very centralized for great fishing spots, site-seeing, and four-wheel drive trails. Thank you very much for the great memories. We will be sure to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly a piece of art !

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2003

The following comments are all from a family reunion during November, 2003... This home has everything! Our stay has been very pleasant and comfortable. I especially enjoyed the hot tub and artwork...... I appreciate the thankful and fruitful offering of your magnificent home. The house is truly a piece of art, and I honestly can say that the spacious and unique surroundings added greatly to the shared experience with my family. Once again thank you.... As we go through our days here, I keep looking for something this wonderful house doesn't have, but with no luck! What a wonderful, memorable vacation you helped create for our family.... Thank you so much for your gift from the Honey Farm. We will so enjoy it at home. All our family is so enjoying your home. It is so beautiful and we appreciate the furnishings.... This home is truly a vacation home. We could not have asked for a more relaxing time. Thank you so very much.... Your home is beautiful - very nicely appointed and very, very comfortable. We will all take very fond memories of the "Tall Spruce House" with us when we leave.... A wonderful homey place - thanks for the memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One week was not enough!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2003

Thank you very much for the use of your beautiful house. It was a truly wonderful week. A week in Durango is just enough to really get one's feel for the area going.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review