reviews for: listing #68566 - New Braunfels, Texas House rental

River Bend Lake House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $400 /nt
    $1,750 - $1,860 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful family get away!

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We had wonderful stay at the River Bend Lake House! The home and yard are immaculate and very well maintained. We are a family of nine consisting of my husband and I, our 3 married children and their spouses plus one adult single son. The arrangement of the rooms were excellent for us but I could see it might be a problem for families that need adjoining rooms. The double sized bunk beds worked perfect for all the younger folks while my hubby and I had the quiet other room to ourselves. There was a ping pong table under the spacious car port that was very well used during our stay! The water in Lake Dunlap was quite a bit warmer then that up river and was quite relaxing after tubing. The only down side was there is a pretty bad fly problem and we couldn't eat outside at the only dining table so had to eat just sitting on the couches inside. Plus every time you went in or out the flies fogged into the room. But we all agreed it was definitely a great place to stay and we would recommend it!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review and truely glad you had a fun time. Owner is going to look into remedies to resolve or minimize those pesky flies!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

Owner was very friendly and accommodating, as her season had not yet begun, and my inquiry was last minute! The property was nicer that the picture-the outside was my favorite, as it was so relaxing, and the fish were biting! Plenty of room, very clean, from under the sink and the bathrooms. It was easy access to the highways, downtown New Braunfels, and Gruene. Places I visited that I suggest are: Oma Gruene's Secret Garten,(next to Gruene Hall), and the food was FAB at the River House Tea Room (Gruene). I will definately recommend to a friend, as the price is exceptional, especially when sharing with others! A great stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We had a wonderful time!

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

We had a blast! We brought our jet skis and were able to park both of them back to back on the boat lift. It worked out perfectly. We really liked the location of the house on the river. It is located where the river is nice and wide. It is also located on the side of the river that is deep and you can swim without worrying about being in shallow water with Lilly pads and snakes. Caught fish at night. The house was very clean and we appreciated the owner letting us stay in her home. We look forward to going back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We had a wonderful time!

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

We had a blast! We brought our jet skis and were able to park both of them back to back on the boat lift. It worked out perfectly. We really liked the location of the house on the river. It is located where the river is nice and wide. It is also located on the side of the river that is deep and you can swim without worrying about being in shallow water with Lilly pads and snakes. Caught fish at night. The house was very clean and we appreciated the owner letting us stay in her home. We look forward to going back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tranquil vacation

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

The stay was wonderful! I am from San Antonio and my parents are from El Paso and never knew the beauty New Braunfels has to offer. We were all comfortable the rooms were spacious and clean, very private. We got in the lake from the dock and also went to tubing on the river. This rental has all the necessities needed to fully enjoy a vacation. I highly recommend this rental and would rent it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Don't waste money!

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

The website has many lies and misleading comments on it. It states "park your boat in the boat slip" and "It has a boat slip and boat lift to keep your boat secure". Both are false. The boat slip was occupied by their boat which obviously had been in the lift for years. There also were no bits on the dock to even tie your boat to. The website is misleading in describing the living quarters as well. It states "There are no seperate bedrooms", however the two rooms they describe are totally separate. You must walk outside to travel between the rooms, which is a big hassle. The bedding was horrendous. Mattresses were very cheap and very uncomfortable. The sheets were good, but the comforters were awful. They were very thin and very coarse.  There was a tiny a/c window unit in the bedroom with the kitchen. It couldn't cool the room at all. The other room had central a/c. However, the thermostat was rigged with a plastic piece and super glue so it could not be turned below a certain temperature. There were homemade letters hanging everywhere in the rooms. They instructed the renters to do things like, take short showers and throw toilet paper in the trash because the sewer system couldn't handle it. Also, on our last morning there, my nephew and I were going to go fishing off of the dock and the rest of the family was planning on sitting at the picnic table like we had done every morning. However, we were awakened to the owner outside in the front working on his yard. We then looked in the back yard and realized he turned on the sprinkler system at 8am, which covered the yard. We could not go in the backyard without getting soaked, we could not sit on the picnic table, and we couldn't even let our dogs go pee because they would've been soaked. When we left at 10:30, the sprinklers were still on. He kept them on the entire morning, so we couldn't enjoy anything outdoors on our last day. Also, the owners have MANY rules on papers all over the cabin. They also require the renters to clean so they do not have to. Honestly, I understand that. However, when we got there, there were spider webs everywhere, there was some type of food in the couch cushions, and the microwave was disgusting inside. We had to clean the place extra good to get our deposit back even though it was in awful shape when we got there. All in all, we had fun, but not at the cabin. Do not waste your money on this place. It is too expensive for what you get.

Owners response: There are no lies on website. This rental clearly states there are two seperate rooms and list the amenities of each room. Owner directs all potential renters to another website with lots of pictures and descriptions of amenities in each room. The boat slip is available if renters let the owner know ahead of time. The owner will make that clearer on the website. The central AC is set to a comfortable 76 degrees if doors are not left open. Owner replaced the window unit in the other room. Any signs posted are to ensure a happy stay for all guests. Owner verified that sprinklers were not turned on until 10:30 and regrets this upset the guest. Had the renter addressed this at the time, owner would have compensated guest for their inconvenience. Owner is happy to address any questions or concerns regarding this rental and all suggestions are welcome. However, owner would prefer suggestions to be constructive and factual. There are more positive reviews on owner's other website which all potential renters may view.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Memorial day weekend fun

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

what a great house!! Beautiful spot on Lake Dunlap. Very Clean and adequate for our needs. we hope to rent again next year!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Bring the Boat and put her in - Great Place/Lake

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

What a great place to stay if you are looking for the perfect weekend on the lake with your boat. Nice set-up for all watersports right at your backdoor and entertaining a large group. The property was clean and well maintained, owner, Terri, provided great customer service. I would recomend this property to family/friend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Bring the Boat and put her in - Great Place/Lake

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

What a great place to stay if you are looking for the perfect weekend on the lake with your boat. Nice set-up for all watersports right at your backdoor and entertaining a large group. The property was clean and well maintained, owner, Terri, provided great customer service. I would recomend this property to family/friend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review