reviews for: listing #68570 - Manhattan, New York Apartment rental

Rainbows and Triangles Apartments
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $190 /nt

sort by:

another charming stay

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

Stayed yet again and could not have been happier. Different apartment, but same great location, great time of year to visit and we will most certainly be back again! The help at R&T was outstanding in suggesting where to go and what to do.

Thanks all!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Currently In Apartment #2

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

Okay, we checked in yesterday. Steve was amazing. It all went smoothly and when we entered our apartment, the 2 bedroom, I truly was amazed at how adorable this apartment is. I don't understand the very few bad reviews. If you did you research, it states over and over if you are looking for a 4 star hotel, don't rent. This is absolutely the way to go when coming to New York City. New York is an old city with old buildings. We really feel like New Yorker's. I love the street noise, the sound of the subway and all the activity going on in this neighborhood. It is close to everything, including my niece who we are visiting! The apartment is larger than I expected. It is very clean and the furnishings are modest and comfortable. The other reveiws were valuable in that we packed our own soap and coffe, but were pleasantly surprised at all the other amenties that were either left here buy other guests or provided by the owners. We had a good nights sleep evening with the subway running all night long! If you want luxury, don't bother. If you want clean comfortable but adorable and want the experience of living in the city....this is the place for you!!!

We will return and we haven't even checked out yet!!!!

Thanks Fernan and Steve!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

No thrills but clean and Comfortable

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

I have to say the place is not at the top end but definatelly a good value for the money, the location is amazing, great neighborhood and great restaurants around. The apartment itself could use a little update but I was a little worried after reading the previous reviews, but I found the place very clean and comfortable. The guys who run it are great and they are always there for anything you may need

Again do like I did and read all the reviews, my feeeling is some people expect a lot more for what they are willing to pay for.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 

Rip-off

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

Good news first: Fernan was friendly and helpful at arrival, the flat was located perfectly in Chelsea.
But the rest of it was a huge rip-off!!
The carpeting was plastered with stains and smeary and smelly and so was the sofa.
The shower-curtain was covered with black mold.
The electricity was from 19th century, the lights flickered cönstantly and one socket was dangerously lacking its cover.
The windows quite obviously hadn`t been cleaned since the time the electricity had been installed.
Tiny bugs were crawling around the whole flat - furniture and floor.
Trying to open the kitchen cupboard,our fingers sticked to old grease.
All windows were showing towards the street,so the flat was very loud all day and most of the night which made it additionally uncomfortable to just hang about and immpossible to sleep.
The sofa was mere bulky waste.
After all, we didn't trust to walk without shoes, sit without extra sheet or take showers barefooted and going to bed was connected to recurring aversion.
Probably the filthiest and most disgusting place in town.
Which leads to another positive aspect about the flat: it forced us to stay out long which provided us with the chance to discover a lot more of magnificent NYC than a first world flat might have.
My recommendation: DO NOT STAY THERE ,it'll spoil just everything.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very disappointed

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

OK - so I don't understand the good reviews here other than location. I will lay it out in Pros and Cons. Pros - Good location, good water pressure. Cons: VERY grimy. Apt was dirtier than a frat house. - When we arrived there were dirty towels in the bedroom, old food in the very dirty fridge, lots of dirt on the windowsills (dirt, not dust), sticky remnants on the wall behind the sink, hair everywhere in the bathroom, etc., etc., etc. - Carpet was so dirty my wife refused to walk on it without shoes. Not just stained - DIRTY, VERY, VERY, VERY dirty. - Shower full of mold. - Very uncomfortable futon and chairs. This was a great location and we made the best of it and had a good time in NYC. However, we were always uncomfortable when at the apartment. My wife spent the first hour cleaning the place. Maybe the other apartments are nicer but ours was a hole. I understand the bldg. being old. I get that. But it was so grimy it made you wonder about the bed. We were assured there were at least clean sheets. Looks like lots of parties have been there and the place hasn't been cleaned in a very long time. I hope the owners do something about this. Avoid this rental just so you don't get the unit we had. Otherwise you will spend almost every second outside where the streets are cleaner than the room.

Owners response: We are so sorry to see this review, as you can see many people have stayed in this unit and been satisfied with it. From the moment of this guest's arrival we were aware of his concerns and expressed that in fact all the sheets and towels were freshly washed and the apartment have thoroughly cleaned. This guest was offered a full refund if he was not happy with the accommodations but decided to stay for his entire visit. We also offered the guest to come and talk to us the next morning at our office but he never did. We say very clear we do not offer luxury apartments, just a good value for the money in the center of the city and in about 20 years of renting apartments as you can see this is our first bad review, and we are more than willing to refund the money to guests who decide to check out because of unsatisfactory conditions.
Our most sincere apologies
Fernan

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Christmas in Manhattan

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

Our family had a wonderful stay and we were right in the heart of the city. You can't beat the location for that price. Had all that we needed at our fingertips.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Charming Apt in Great Location

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

I feel terrible that I didn't review our stay until now! We stayed here during the burning hot last days of June 2012, (so first I have to say, we LOVED having a powerful a/c unit!) We had to change the dates of our stay after we booked, but Fernan was very accomodating and lovely to deal with.

The apartment is on the top floor, up a relatively narrow staircase, so if you have some mobility issues, this might not be the rental for you, but we didn't have any issues... even after days of endless walking around the city. Once inside, you have everything you could possibly need, from a decent sized refrigerator, generous television, plus a bed AND futon; we felt were living like kings in the big city. The only issue I found was the tap in the bath/shower got quite hot when in use, so just be sure to have a face cloth handy when you go to turn it off.

There are fantastic restaurants, delis, and stores nearby, plus you are only less than 2 blocks away from the subway to midtown/downtown.

If you're looking to get away from high hotel prices and stay outside of the typical tourist-trap zones, I highly recommend this rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

great place, great location

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

Yet another fantastic time in NYC, but seldom have we been so close to everything. Great hosts, great place, fantastic location. We are already planning next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Everything needed and more!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

I recently stayed in one of Fernan's apartments for 4 night with 3 girlfriends. Our intention with booking the apartment was finding a cheap places to stay as we did not plan on spending much time indoors. Communication with Fernan was very easy and clear, we booked a one bedroom apartment for our stay. To our delight everyone was incredibly accommodating and allowed us to keep our bags with them during store hours (that way we did not have to carry them around the city on both Monday and Friday). In addition we were able to check in at any time in the day after 2, meaning we did not have to come back for a set check in time. Once we got into our room we were pleasantly surprised! We had been given a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment that could have comfortably slept 6. All linens, towels and dishes were there and the apartment was very clean. As an added bonus to us there was also internet and basic cable tv provided. The apartment was quaintly decorated, comfortable and felt very homey that we ended up spending more time there than we anticipated. And the final great thing was the location! As 4 younger females we felt completely safe in the area, it was 3 blocks from the closest subway making it very easy to get around. We are so happy with our choice to stay here and have already begun to recommend it to all of our friends visiting the city!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great location

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

My partner and I spent five nights in the top floor apartment.

The booking process went very smoothly and communication was very good.

When we arrived the person who checked us in was surprised that there were two of us, even though I had a confirmation email saying the booking had been changed to two people.

The Stairs are very steep and made it difficult to carry our bags up two flights, but that was negotiated okay.

The apartment was reasonably well presented, but could have done with some heavier curtains to mask the street noise, especially on Saturday night. I would also have liked an iron and iroining board along with soap in the bathroom.

Apart from this, we enjoyed our stay and felt the apartment represented good value for money.

There is a wonderful Italian Restuarant on the corner of 20th Street and a 24 hour deli next door. The nearest subway is only three blocks north and we had no prolem getting around.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great place, great area!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

We had a lovely time visiting New York City this past weekend and staying at this apartment. It felt like we were real New Yorkers! There were 4 of us (in our mid 20's) staying there and there was definitely sufficient room for all of us. It would be perfect just for 2 also and I hope that me and the boyfriend can go back someday soon alone :). The neighborhood is really great. Right across the street is a pharmacy (Rite Aid) and RIGHT next door is a 24 hr. deli...really GREAT deli, my boyfriend was in heaven. Also head 2 long blocks over and walk along the High Line park, very nice! The only reason I am not giving a 5 star review is because there were a few times we had trouble opening the door to the apartment (and I have a short temper for those things). Of course we did figure out the trick to it, but not until our last day there. Other than that, this place is highly recommended! Steven was extremely helpful and they even let us leave our bags (many bags) in the store downstairs on the day of check out so we could continue to explore the city before our bus ride out. Thank you and I hope to rent from you guys again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great place, great area!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

We had a lovely time visiting New York City this past weekend and staying at this apartment. It felt like we were real New Yorkers! There were 4 of us (in our mid 20's) staying there and there was definitely sufficient room for all of us. It would be perfect just for 2 also and I hope that me and the boyfriend can go back someday soon alone :). The neighborhood is really great. Right across the street is a pharmacy (Rite Aid) and RIGHT next door is a 24 hr. deli...really GREAT deli, my boyfriend was in heaven. Also head 2 long blocks over and walk along the High Line park, very nice! The only reason I am not giving a 5 star review is because there were a few times we had trouble opening the door to the apartment (and I have a short temper for those things). Of course we did figure out the trick to it, but not until our last day there. Other than that, this place is highly recommended! Steven was extremely helpful and they even let us leave our bags (many many bags) in the store downstairs on the day of check out so we could continue to explore the city before our bus ride out. Thank you and I hope to rent from you guys again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Amazing cute little apartment

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

This was the first time I had really ever visit NYC on my own, and the Rainbows and Triangles apartment was perfect. I stayed in the apt with red kitchenette, it was perfect for one person, but I think two or three could comfortably stay there. The place was really clean and equip with everything you needed. Towels, flatwear, silverwear, linens, some cleaning supplies, a/c, basic cable and internet. The building is old, so the floors are warped, all the walls have a heavy layer of paint from years it has been maintained and cared for. It has steep-ish stairs that are narrow. It had a lot of character to it, and I really like that. It is a basic NY apt, it allowed me to feel like I was living in NY, rather than coming to visit. Rainbow and Triangles is located in (what I felt) the heart of Chelsea, I could walk everywhere I wanted to go and felt really safe, even if i was out really late at night. Which was important to me since I was traveling alone and I like to walk every where in Manhattan, there is a lot to see that I think you could miss if you take the subway everywhere. But the apartment is pretty close to the A, C, E, L 1, AND 2. Originally I was to get in really late and Fernan made accommodations for me by leaving the keys where I could find them and was down in the store during business hours if I needed anything or if after business hours I could call or email him. I was really happy to stay here and my next trip back to the big apple, I would love to stay here again.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Amazing cute little apartment

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

This was the first time I had really ever visit NYC on my own, and the Rainbows and Triangles apartment was perfect. I stayed in the apt with red kitchenette, it was perfect for one person, but I think two or three could comfortably stay there. The place was really clean and equip with everything you needed. Towels, flatwear, silverwear, linens, some cleaning supplies, a/c, basic cable and internet. The building is old, so the floors are warped, all the walls have a heavy layer of paint from years it has been maintained and cared for. It has steep-ish stairs that are narrow. It had a lot of character to it, and I really like that. It is a basic NY apt, it allowed me to feel like I was living in NY, rather than coming to visit.

Rainbow and Triangles is located in (what I felt) the heart of Chelsea, I could walk everywhere I wanted to go and felt really safe, even if i was out really late at night. Which was important to me since I was traveling alone and I like to walk every where in Manhattan, there is a lot to see that I think you could miss if you take the subway everywhere. But the apartment is pretty close to the A, C, E, L 1, AND 2.

Originally I was to get in really late and Fernan made accommodations for me by leaving the keys where I could find them and was down in the store during business hours if I needed anything or if after business hours I could call or email him. I was really happy to stay here and my next trip back to the big apple, I would love to stay here again.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hey Kara

Thanks for the review hope to see you again soon

Fernan

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfecto

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Un lugar excelente, muy confortable, espacioso y limpio. La gente que nos recibio fue muy agradable en todo momento y siempre dispuestos a ayudarnos y recomendarnos lugares para visitar.El departamento esta totalmente equipado y muy cerca de los medios de transporte.
La verdad que tuvimos una muy buena experiencia, es totalmente recomendable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Charming & Cozy

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2011

We spent 11 days and we'll be back! The place was perfect for us, the apartment was nice and comfortable, very clean and really charming and comfortable!The location was great just 5 minutes walk from the subway and within walking distance of lots of amazing attractions.The guys in the shop are a great help too.Hopping we'll be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your great reviews and hope to see you back soon.

Fernan

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

New York apartment

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 4, 2010

Amazing apartment in the middle of Manhattan. We stopped for 5 nights and this place was perfect for us, the apartment was nice and comfortable with plenty of room. The location was great just 5 minutes walk from the subway and within walking distance of lots of amazing attractions. Excellent value for money and the guys in the shop are a great help too.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

it's amazin!!!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

i jut stayed here for my bday weekend with a girlfriend of mine, and was sooooo happy with the place!! its clean, in a perfect area, and great people all around =]. i didnt wana leave, wish i could live there haha. but i plan to stay here everytime i visit now! definately will recommend to anyone as well. thank you Fernan! <3

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fabulous!!!

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend. We will definitely be coming back. It was convenient, clean and the owner's were wonderful. We will definitely stay here again. There was a 24 hour deli with grill open right downstairs!! Subways all close-by. Great shopping and great people! LOVED IT!! Thanks Fernan!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Super recomendable

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

Excelente ubicacion y relacion precio calidad, nada lujoso, pero super bien ubucado, limpio y accesible. SUPER RECOMENDABLE!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great location, clean & comfortable, Nice staff

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

Good value and greatlocation for West Side: Village, Chelsea Arts District and Broadway Theater. Not luxury, but simple,clean, comfortable, and roomy apartment. The staff is nice and knowledgable. I stayed for long weekend and would stay again. Woudl recommend to anyone who wants a good place to stay for good value in the heart of Chelsea, the Highline Park and Broadway restaurants, good coffee and bakery cafes, art, theater and nightlife. Not to mention near the main subway lines too.

Helpful votes: 15 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review