reviews for: listing #6860 - Lake Cumberland, Kentucky House rental

20% off Aug Rates:Lakefront 4 bd home-Ping Pong-Jamestown
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Harbor Springs
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $165 - $285 /nt
    $1,155 - $1,645 /wk

sort by:

Family of 5 from Miamisburg, Ohio

Review submitted: August 7, 2014   Date of arrival: July 31, 2014

The home was very clean; there was more than necessary utensils for eating/cooking; the stove and oven worked very well. The view was magnificent and my children became very competitive at ping-pong (one child even beat their dad by the end of the weekend). The only problem we had was parking in the carport. The weather was great and we had a wonderful weekend. Would recommend this property to relatives. We toured the natural bridge, Wold Creek Dam, raced go-karts, played miniature gold, horseback riding and zipped lined. Great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Family Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Had a great time in Cumberland--the property was very near several marinas and we spent most of our time boating. The listing description was accurate, the photos accurately reflected the rental, the property was clean and everything was in working order. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals for 7 people and the grill worked well too. The lower bedroom is musty and the air conditioning does not work as well in that bedroom as it does in the rest of the house, according to my oldest son and his wife (you might want to check on that issue). No complaints from the other two sons or their spouses. My daughter left a sketch of the view on the back of the cover of the house guestbook. I hope you enjoy the sketch of the view as much as we enjoyed the actual view.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks so much for the feedback and for leaving the home in such great condition!

We saw the sketch in guest book on Tuesday and loved it!

We stayed in the home from Tuesday until Thursday. I can't say that we noticed any mustiness in the lower bedroom but we went ahead and opened the window in that room for a day just in case we were missing something. We also found that the hvac vent was mostly closed so we adjusted that as well. Our friends that slept in that room grabbed extra blankets so I'm thinking that did the trick! :-)

Hope to host your stay again in the future!
John and Tara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Fantastic Trip!

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

Very spacious, private, and relaxing home close to everything in Jamestown. We really enjoyed the home and the view from the porch. Thanks!

Owners response: Glad that you enjoyed your trip!

You are most welcome to return!

John and Tara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Georgia Group

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Overall it was fine. When we first pulled up to the property, we thought it had been abandoned. A little work on the front landscaping, adding/replacing family room furniture/layout, and replacement of the deck furniture/equip would go a long way.

We will not return to this property........sorry.

Owners response: We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied.

I am not quite sure how to respond to the concerns though...

The exterior of the home is exactly as the pictures show it - basically surrounded by trees except where there is parking or the lake view. There is really no "landscaping" - just basically true nature with a couple of bushes right near the home. There is no yard to mow, flower beds, or the like. We have received many great comments from guests regarding how much they like the "lake house in the woods feel", so perhaps this is just a personal preference concern?

The patio furniture consists of 2 wrought iron tables, 10 wrought iron barrel-style chairs, and a large stainless steel grill on the covered deck. The upper deck also has a few cushioned chairs for lounging in. Since we have never had negative comments regarding this before and the furnitures suits our needs when we stay there, I'm wondering if this is again a personal preference.

The Family Room furniture consists of a pull-out couch that is clean, solid, and comfortable. I can admit that the upholstery wouldn't match everyone's tastes, but that piece is basically there for overflow sleeping. The only other item in that room is a full-size ping pong table. Not a lot of room for any other furnishings... Again, we have received tons of positive feedback on the ping pong table so not sure about the issue here.

At the end of the day, I guess 3 stars isn't 'negative', but we did want to respond with our apologies that you didn't find the home to be everything that you had hoped for while also being sure to inform others of our point of view.

Best Regards!
John and Tara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


House 2

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

Loved the proximity to Jamestown Marina! Nice view from covered deck. Plenty of beds and the kitchen had everything we needed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback!

Hope to see you again!

John and Tara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Solid cabin with nice view and plenty of beds

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

This was our sixth time renting this cabin for our annual outing. The cabin is nothing fancy, but always clean and ready to accomodate our group of 8 with no problem. Really like the wireless internet, ping pong, and the number of beds for the price. Owners are honest and respectful of your privacy. Great place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Glad that you had another great trip!

Hope to your group for trip #7... you'll notice just a few updates next year (new leather sofa and loveseat, additional TV's, etc.).

John and Tara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Loved your home

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

My brothers , son, nephews, friend and myself have all enjoyed the week we have used your home each of the last four years. Hopefully our fishing trips will continue. We are from IL, NY, NC, and CO. The evenings spent catching up on your deck are great.

Thanks for sharing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Glad to have your group return each year... we really appreciate how well you take care of the home and belongings!

Hope to see pictures of some of your catch next year!

John and Tara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Property 52724

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

House was nice, but the grill was really really dirty. So much grease that it almost caught the deck on fire just grilling a few hamburgers. Price is a little high for amenities of the house.

Owners response: Sorry that you had trouble with the grill. We attempt to give it a thorough cleaning a couple times a summer as many guests don't do a full burn off of their droppings before or after grilling... Unfortunately this is not a task that can be done between "same day" renters.

We are always looking for ideas to improve the accommodations and amenities so we thank you much for your feedback!

Best Regards,
John and Tara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Great Weekend Spot

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

My sister's family and mine met for the Easter weekend at this lovey 4 bedroom rental. We had a great time. The setting was very peaceful, surrounded by trees with a beautiful view of the lake. The kids loved the ping pong table and air hockey. There were also fun things to do in the area. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Great Place

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

What a great place! The home was wonderful, the view was fantastic. Everything that you need is there. All the furnishings were nice, newer appliances and a washer and dryer that rounded it. The open floor plan was wonderful allowing everyone to stay engaged through eating and visiting. The back porch was very spacious and where we spent most of our time (and plenty of railing to let swimsuits and towels air dry). As much as I hate to say it, it was nice to have internet access so that I could still do a little work between sking excursions. Only negative things I could say about this property was that parking was a little rough at the beginning as some thought the drive way was a little steep but after you did it once it was not so bad. The other would be make sure that if you are coming to boat, contact Jamestown early to reserve a slip.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay near the water. The amenities where well above my expectations.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


June Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

This property was clean and well-maintained. The kitchen had large selection of utensils and cooking necessities. The view was wonderful from the balcony. We had 10 people in the home and had plenty of room. Not a lot of parking for vehicles and/or boats. Suggest that if you stay here that you minimize # of vehicles. Overall, a wonderful vacation!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Review submitted: June 15, 2005   Date of arrival: June 15, 2005

home is very spacious. well equiped for a large group. many extras we didn't expect. very quiet area with only the sounds of the boats in nearby lake. can see the water from deck. very nice for morning coffee. tastefully furnished.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review