reviews for: listing #6861 - Lake Cumberland, Kentucky House rental

30% off July Rates:Large Lakefront home - Jamestown, Ky
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pleasant Hill
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $165 - $285 /nt
    $1,155 - $1,645 /wk

sort by:

This place is awesome!

Review submitted: July 11, 2014   Date of arrival: July 2, 2014

My favorite part about staying at the house (besides the beautiful view) was how far away we were from the busy-ness of life but also how close it was to everything if needed. My 17-year old son asked me "How did you find this place? It seems so random!" I find this to be a BIG compliment because the house is in a very quiet neighborhood - with a beautiful view of the lake. It is far away from traffic but a very convenient drive into Russell Springs (for groceries, gas) and close to Jamestown Marina\State Dock Marina (for boating/jet skiing). We had 10 people in our group and we had ample space for all - whether it was to watch movies in the livingroom, have drinks on the deck, make smores with the grill, play games at the large dining table or alone time in our rooms. The kitchen has everything you need to cook at home (if you choose) - pots, pans, skillets, dishes - even for a large crowd and the gas grill is convenient for cooking for many people. We spent every morning on the deck eating breakfast\drinking coffee and every evening on the deck eating dinner\drinking cocktails to enjoy the peacefulness of nature. The covered porch was also a nice way to get out of the sun or to enjoy quiet time away from the teenagers while still feeling like we were outside. We had 3 cars and there was plenty room for parking. Tara and John were especially helpful with the directions to the place and nearby resources - including phone numbers\websites for renting boats and jet skis. The only complaint we heard (by the teenagers) was there is no wifi - but you know what? It's sometimes nice to be completely disconnected from technology so we could be connected as a family. I highly recommend this place for quiet, peace and enjoyment with the convenience of recreation close by (20 min drive).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

We were rescued; taken in at the last minute - refugees from another property that was uninhabitable. Oh my goodness what a pleasant contrast! The place is spacious and fairly comfortable. Photos cannot possibly do the view justice. The kitchen is moderately well stocked with dishes, cooking utensils, pots, pans etc. We cooked Thanksgiving dinner there but, you need to bring your own cleaning supplies. Dish soap, laundry soap, windex, paper towels, garbage bags, etc., fortunately there's a big market close by. Sightseeing at Cumberland Falls is a reasonable trip. Just sitting on the couches, or out on one of the decks works well too. I would recommend this home to anyone just looking to get away with some friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Guys' Weekend

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

We had a great time at the lakefront cabin during our stay. Since there is virtually no private lake access on Lake Cumberland, proximity to a public boat ramp was critical. The boat ramp is very close to the cabin and provides great access to the main lake and lots of wonderful little coves nearby.

We were at the cabin during the annual Lake Cumberland Poker Run - one of the busiest weekends of the year - but we still felt that we had plenty of privacy, both in the cabin and out on the lake.

The cabin itself has great views of the lake and a 2 story deck that is great for grilling and looking out to the water. I'd certainly recommend the cabin for groups of friends and/or families. We had 13 guys and the cabin accommodated us comfortably.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Guys' Weekend

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

We had a great time at the lakefront cabin during our stay. Since there is virtually no private lake access on Lake Cumberland, proximity to a public boat ramp was critical. The boat ramp is very close to the cabin and provides great access to the main lake and lots of wonderful little coves nearby.

We were at the cabin during the annual Lake Cumberland Poker Run - one of the busiest weekends of the year - but we still felt that we had plenty of privacy, both in the cabin and out on the lake.

The cabin itself has great views of the lake and a 2 story deck that is great for grilling and looking out to the water. I'd certainly recommend the cabin for groups of friends and/or families. We had 13 guys and the cabin accommodated us comfortably.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Butterfly Haven

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

The highlight of our visit was watching the butterflies in the milkweed next to the screened porch. The view was beautiful, enhanced by the foliage behind and beside the house, which created a feeling of seclusion. Quiet street and a wonderful, safe place to walk.

Outdoor areas were crowded with broken chairs that need to be discarded, but there were 4 comfortable new bar chairs and a new gas grill. A spindle was missing on the deck which could have been dangerous for a small child.

Interior was loaded with sectionals, hide-a-beds and futons, but all needed cleaning. The 4 queen-size beds were clean and comfortable. Appliances, TV's, DVD players, and HVAC all worked well. An ugly, worn-out plastic table cloth was stuck to the dining table, but a trip to K-mart fixed that.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for the feedback! So glad that you liked the location and home enough to give 4 stars!

I am sorry about the broken patio chairs, the table cloth, and that the furniture needing cleaned. I don't want this to sound like an excuse, but wanted you to know that these issues don't sit well with us either...

We had a group of "early rising fishermen" stay in the home immediately before you. Based on the complaints from neighbors at 2am and the fact that our cleaning lady had to bring in emergency helpers in order to get the home ready for you in time, I can safely say that we had a bunch of disrespectful guys mistreat the home and surroundings. The cleaning lady had informed us that she had to toss a patio chair... sounds like we need to remove some more. :-(

In any event, sorry again that we weren't able to get everything 100%ship-shape before your stay. We have a couple days w/o guests in the home this week so I am going to visit tomorrow to inspect and resolve as many lingering issues as possible.

Thanks!
John and Tara

8/23/13 update: Upon personally inspecting the furnishings, we did in fact remove a couple more patio chairs.

Also, we just purchased leather loveseat/sofa set to replace the cloth furniture on the main floor living room.

We have also changed our rental policies to hopefully avoid this sort of abusive rental party...

Thanks again for the feedback!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful views!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

We recently stayed for a long 4th of July weekend. Plenty of room for our group of 10.(a mix of 4 families) Having a washer and dryer was especially nice.The screened porch was enjoyed by all, as were the other 2 decks. Only complaint was the rain, but of course, nobody had any control over that. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Bonus Vacation From My Boss

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

The cabin was beautiful as always. The scenery was even more so. Just as we remembered from our trip there three years ago. The sad thing this time was it stormed and was cold the whole time of our visit, so a lot of activities were in the home. What would had been nice would to have some sort of activity to involve the family in while being housebound. Something like a pool table, ping pong table, dart board, etc. Mainly all there was to do was sit and talk, watch tv, or sleep. If I had to make any recommendations, this would be the only one I would have, everything else was just great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 26, 2004   Date of arrival: July 26, 2004

I am standing on the deck looking out over this lovely scenery. Your home served all 18 of us to the "t". It was great fun and hope that we can join you next year.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2004   Date of arrival: July 23, 2004

We thoroughly enjoyed this house! Great view of the lake. Loved the warm and "coziness" of it all! We will be back!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 18, 2004   Date of arrival: July 18, 2004

Love this home! We will be back soon. We truly had a great time here! It was very peaceful.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 30, 2004   Date of arrival: June 30, 2004

Your home is so welcoming. Love the openess and, of course, the views from all sides! Appreciate the well stocked kitchen as well. We made several trips to the State Park for hiking, putt putt, and dinner. Wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 30, 2004   Date of arrival: June 30, 2004

We thoroughly enjoyed our "girl's trip" -- 4 generations of us together.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 30, 2004   Date of arrival: June 30, 2004

This home is fantastic - we loved it! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 30, 2004   Date of arrival: June 30, 2004

This home is very beautiful and relaxing to be in. This was my 1st trip to Lake Cumberland from Lexington, KY and I'll definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 30, 2004   Date of arrival: June 30, 2004

There are 5 of us plus a 9 month old - we thoroughly enjoyed our time together in your house with the fabulous view!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

Hello and welcome to our home at the lake. We hope that you enjoy the house, area and the lake as much as we do.

Please make yourselves at home, say hello to all the neighbors (they're all very friendly, great people who share the love of the area), and have a great stay!

We appreciate the opportunity to share our home with you and really appreciate feedback concerning your experience and how we can make your next stay even more comfortable.

Read the comments that were entered by our guests in our guest book at the house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review