reviews for: listing #68621 - Isla Mujeres, Yucatan House rental

Oceanfront Secluded Bungalow with Private Courtyard
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $110 - $125 /nt
    $770 - $775 /wk
    $3,300 - $3,750 /mth

sort by:

Awesome time at Margaritaville

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

The house is just as pictured online....what an incredible place to stay. You cannot beat it for the price. Isla Mujeres is great, and we definitely will return. Plenty of great restaurants and things to do around the island. So much more laid back than Cancun, and everyone we met was extremely friendly. After having to spend a day in Cancun due to an early flight, we appreciated Isla even more so. We rented a golf cart for our entire stay, and highly recommend it....so easy to come and go as you please. Overall, it was one of our favorite vacations. Thanks to Monica and every involved on Isla for an exceptional week!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awsome views!

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 5, 2014

The beach house was all we wanted and more. We have rented the house next door several years prior, but wanted to try out the beach house also. The communication from the owners/managers was really good. They provided everything we needed for information and the whole process went very smooth. The house is very clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed to make it a perfect vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A little slice of paradise

Review submitted: March 1, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

This was our first vacation rental and trip to Isla Mujeres, We were lucky and hit the best spot right away. Christa was a great help in getting us newbies all the right info. The house is outstanding and the views amazing. The privacy was much appreciated as was the out door shower we never used the indoor one. Made great use of the Tommy Bahama chairs and the private little beach just off to the side of the house. Breakfast on the back porch was amazing with the waves and the pelicans flying over head. Spent some time at Punta Sur, Playa Norte, and a lot of the other attractions. We rented a cart for the week which we found a lot of fun. Spent some afternoons lounging around the house, and it was as nice as any of the attractions. One restaurant we hit for a take out meal at the house was Kash Keken BBQ you will smell it on your way by the Chedraui grocery store. We did a fishing charter with Lizardo out of Brisas Grill, it was excellent at a great price. Overall we will be back staying here. Thanks Christa

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: We are thrilled that you enjoyed the privacy of the home, all of the relaxing amenities, and the beach in our back yard! The pelicans and iguanas make sitting out on the back patio a very fun experience, as much as it is relaxing. We are excited to have you come and stay again next year! Next time be sure to try the Mango Fish Tacos at Mango Cafe on your way into Centro on the east side of the Island! YUM!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great escape

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

great value ..beautifully appointed villa on ocean shore..could not find a finer place at that price
in the whole Caribbean !
the owners have thought of everything!will return next year for sure

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay Keith! Our beach home's rate per night really is fantastic considering the private, beach front location and all of the amenities provided! We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great get away

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

If you are looking for a get away this is the spot. The view and remote location is amazing. There is only one other house next door. To the north of the house is just fun rocky beach with sand for around 1/2 mile. The house is well equipped with cooking equipment. The closest store is about 3 miles away and restaurant around 4 miles so stock up with food and books and enjoy a retreat. Taxis are easy to flag down for trips to town if you don't rent a golf cart or moto. Cute place.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous vacation spot!

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We stayed at Casa Margaritaville for 2 weeks and it was just as described. Secluded but accessible to restaurants and grocery store, wonderful oceanfront views and everything we needed in the house. We enjoy walking so we opted not to rent a golf cart and it would have been a waste of money for us. It's easy to get a taxi just by walking up the road until one comes by.

Between novels (we spent most of our time reading on the oceanfront patio), we kept track of iguanas and pelicans and even saw dolphins jumping one day. We also saw tracks from a turtle laying eggs and helped a baby turtle get to the water. There were people on the beach throughout the day, tourists taking photos or locals swimming at the beach to the south. We met the owners of the house next door who were there for a few days. But most of the time, we had the area to ourselves.

For variety, we took a boat tour to Isla Contoy (nice, but highly regulated by the park service) and twice went to North Beach, renting chairs and umbrella for the day. Punta Sur was worth a visit for spectacular views from the paths and the restaurant. Too bad it's not open for dinner.

Another reviewer mentioned smelling garbage (the trash transfer station is across the street.) We sniffed it briefly one day, but otherwise never noticed it.

Things to be aware of:

- There are dogs everywhere but even when they followed us, they mostly kept to themselves.
- We usually don't want/need air conditioning but we were glad for it during the day, so it was worth the extra cost.
- We recommend asking Monica when to expect the housekeeper and gardener so you're not surprised when they show up.
- Sunrises are spectacular. Once the sun is up, there's no shade on the patio until mid-afternoon. I was glad for the portable beach umbrella I brought.

We do an annual Caribbean vacation and this is one of the best locations we've found.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderfully descriptive review! We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Margaritaville & we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Honeymoon Location!

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

I can't say enough how much my wife and I enjoyed our stay. The house itself is on the south east (carribean) side of the island which is perfect. The SE side of the island is very quiet which gave us the respite that we really wanted after the wedding. I can't really describe how wonderful it was to wake up to the sun rising over the caribbean every morning... really magical.

The island itself is really amazing as was everyone we chatted with on the island was very friendly. My wife and I quickly decided that we will need to come back very soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

My husband and I vacationed here the last week of June 2013 and it was a wonderful experience. We have been to Cancun and Cozumel many times and have always stayed in an All Inclusive resort.....this was certainly a pleasant break from our "norm"! The house itself was awesome and the location and privacy it gave us was even better! It literally sits right on the ocean and we loved the fact that we could take the Tommy Bahama chairs (which was a nice amenity) down to the beach and not see another person for hours......this was a definite perk from being away from the All Inclusive resorts! The view from both the living room and bedroom sliding glass doors was splendid. The entire time we were there, neither one of us ever felt "unsafe or uneasy" at all. Everyone we met on the island was so friendly and helpful. We rented a golf cart the majority of our stay (which I highly recommend) and had so much fun cruising the island. Margaritaville is such a gem. Thank you so much for sharing it with us for the week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Isla 2013

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

As always Isla is beautiful, friendly, and magical! This is our 2nd stay at Margaretville, we had a wonderful stay! The only problem was the day we left, we thought we heard something going on in the enclosed area outside the front door. Thankfully we weren't using the outdoor shower, or that they didn't catch my husband collecting our swim suits sans commando 5 minutes earlier! Someone was in the "storage" room and another person was out trimming the bushes in the front at 8am! I was a little put off that people were walking around inside our space when we were still there, and with no warning. This will be our last stay, I am very shy and I would have come unglued if I had been caught walking around in our locked area in the buff, or even my underware! ..........I think we had until noon........

Owners response: We sincerely apologize for the disturbance you experienced at the end of your stay. You did have until 11am for checkout and the gardener and cleaners are always instructed to wait until after 11am to enter the property. This is not a normal occurrence so there must have been miscommunication and we are very sorry for the inconvenience.
We are glad you enjoyed the entirety of your stay however and we are grateful for the 5 star rating you gave us. Our hope is that you will come stay at Margaritaville again in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

saw it, wanted to go there, got married, went there, came home, want to go back

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 21, 2013

Land in Cancun, shuttle van to ferry terminal @ Pto Juarez. Drive through hotel zone and drop off passengers at resorts along the way. At first it may seem like a bit of an inconvenience - a taxi would have been faster, but that drive makes you SO HAPPY you chose to not stay in that monstrosity that has become Cancun's over bloated coast line of mega resort after mega resort, crowding out the coastline. ($40 van for 2 -- walk straight out of airport to heard of folks trying to give you a ride and head to the row of waiting vans)

Arrive at Puerto Juarez ferry for nice ride across the bay. (i think about $13 for both one way), and taxi to our home for two weeks. After a long travel day...ahhhhh. Nice clean comfy home on the beach.
Comfortable bed, plenty of movies, amazing beach and view. We chose no AC and never missed it.

By day three, I think we forgot what day of the week it was. The clock on the thermostat was off a bit, and we never quite figured out what time it really was, nor cared. THAT was amazing. By day 6 our afternoon siesta was like a coveted spa treatment; by day 9, we were trying to figure out how we could either move here or at least stay a few months every year. And by day 12 or so, we were hoping we had already missed our flight home.
Didn't swim with the whale sharks. Didn't snorkel or zip line at Garrafon. Didn't sport fish or book big excursions. Best vacation ever.
We did become well acquainted with the fantastic and potent margaritas at Soggy Peso. Thank you Daniel, Gustavo, and Freddy -- best bartenders on Isla. Try the ribs on Sunday; they're excellent.
And Oscar's pizza place -- wow. Most amazing pies we'd had in years.

Rent a golf cart for at least a few days -- they're nice and convenient. However, taxis are reasonable and frequent. We never waited more than a few minutes to hail a cab from the house. Passing golf carts often have empty back seats. We hitched rides all over the island and met a lot of nice and fun people aong the way.

The house sits across the street from the dump and down the street from the water treatment plant. Never smelled a single stench, even with a few nights of hard rain.
Definitely walk the trails on the cliffs at Punta Sur.
Only drawback to the house is also it's major attraction -- it's very private and a bit far from the north side with the mellow beaches and tourist stuff. Very easily remedied by a golf cart.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review!
We are so glad that you had a wonderful trip.
We just want to clarify that the "dump site" you mention is actually a waste transfer station where the small island trash collecting trucks bring the garbage to be transferred onto the much larger trucks that take it on the ferry to Cancun's trash dump. The trash does not sit there very long. Also, It is definitely not "across the street", but is actually a few miles north of the house and smell is rarely ever an issue as there is always an ocean breeze from the east which blows any smell to the inland/west, away from the house.
I hope this helps :)
Thank you, we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Back again

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

Margaritaville is the very best property on Isla Mujeres bar none! This was our fourth time at the house and we can't believe how nice it is every time we stay. It truly feels like home. The quiet, the proximity to the Caribbean's crashing waves, the closeness to good eateries, attractions and groceries, it's all in one delightful little package. We've stayed in other place on the island and they were nice, but for two outdoorsy types, nothing beats the feeling of isolation and the natural surroundings of Margaritaville. It's best for two people who want privacy and quiet. Nothing else comes close to the experience. We'll be back again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

No Longer Nervous

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

I was a little nervous going to Mexico. It was our first time and didn't know quite what to expect. When we got to Margarita-ville we were so amazingly delighted. We rented a scooter for cheap. And had a ball for the rest of the week. On a scale of 1-10 it is definitely a 10. We slept in, went for breakfast, sat on the beach and read, snorkeled, went for lunch, then we sat on the beach and read, snorkeled and went for dinner. That for us was an amazing slow-down time. So great and look forward to the next possibility.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

My partner and I just returned from an awesome vacation on Isla Murjeres! We spent the last 7 days at at this wonderful home. It truly exceeded our expectations. The location is beautiful, the house is very well maintained. We loved the private courtyard in the front and spent a great deal of time there. We also loved the outdoor shower and used that one the majority of the time. Additionally, working with Christa was a great expereince. She is organized, friendly and quick to respond to all of the silly questions we had. Monica is also great - she was very helpful and very, very nice. Our only disappointment is that the house is already reserved for the same time period next year and we won't be able to stay there. Oh - bring water shoes - they were great for walking the beach in the back of the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Getaway in Isla Mujeres

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

The Margaritaville Casa is a fantastic retreat right on the ocean which is completely removed from the hustle and bustle of life. A great place to relax, explore the rocky beachfront, read a good book, get some sun, and listen to the everpresent sound of waves hitting the rocks. Bed was comfy. Sunrises were gorgeous. Drinking coffee on the back patio every morning while greeting IGGY the iguana was great. He's very cool and enjoyed the green leafy lettuce we fed him.
Nice little private courtyard in front great for sunning with an outdoor shower to cool you off. There is a rental house right next door but we didn't see anybody there the whole time. Ample kitchen with just about everything you would ever need ( No oven though ). Didn't matter. Plenty of fresh drinking water nice touch. It's about a 10-15 minute ride into town in a golf cart (we recommend). Big grocery store there with all kinds of goodies for the beach house. We ate in, and we ate out. Jax had great beef and fish tacos! Fun little island to explore. While it's probably not for everyone, we had a great time here! Thanks to Christa for everything, shes great to work with. We hope to get back someday. Recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Little slice of Heaven!

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

What a great vacation home! The house was exactly like the pictures. Exceptionally clean with everything you will need. Very private. The kitchen is well stocked, although we ate out most of the time at all the wonderful places to eat. The king bed was very comfortable. Loved laying in bed listening to the ocean. Enjoyed having the DVD player and especially the Ipod docking station to play our music. Nice ammenities were the cooler, boogie boards, hair dryer, beach towels. Lots of lounging chairs both front and back. Would have been nice to have one more Tommy Bahama chair to bring down to your private sandy beach area though. Recommend renting a golf cart. So much fun to ride around town and so many places to stop along the way to town. Our favorite place to hang out was Playa Rancheros, with great food and beautiful sunsets. Wish I was back right now!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Away From Everything

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

Which is what I want when I go to Isla. This is one of the only rentals left where you can truly get away from the world, and the crowds, and the souvenir salesmen. We were on our Anniversary, and wanted to read books and have a quiet time as a couple. I found the outside shower works better than the one indoors, but I like to shower outside anyway. A/C was a nice break at night, but totally unnecessary in the daytime with ocean breeze a constant. The ocean is on your doorstep. Do not recommend swimming, because of surf and very sharp rocks on this side of the island, but there are plenty of swimming spots within 20 minutes walking distance or 10 minutes by scooter to the north beach. Bed was typical Mexican king sized, but the pillows were great, and there were loads of books and DVD's to choose from. Very good management with immediate response to any issues. I definitely hope to stay here again.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your anniversary stay at Margaritaville!
We will be replacing the shower head. I apologize for any inconvenience.
The surf can be large, but there are also very calm times. Yes, we definitely recommend bringing water shoes with a thick sole to get you across the rocky parts on land and in the shallow parts of the water... but once you get a few yards out (as long as the surf is not too big) it is all sand, and very lovely!
We will be purchasing a pillow top for the mattress as we have been getting numerous suggestions that it is hard.
Thank you for your review, and for staying at Margaritaville! We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

welcome to paradise!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

margaritaville is a beautifully secluded slice of heaven on isla mujeres! it offers everything one will need and a little more. it's highlights are a private beach where cooling down after a long hot day exploring the island is really appreciated. some may prefer staying closer to town and the accompanying action,i.e. noise,but we preferred the peace and solitude that margaritaville offered.and the action is only a short golf cart ride away.the house supplies everything you will need.a.c. if purchased keeps the house very cool even in the hottest of temperatures.fully stocked kitchen allows you to prepare meals if you choose to.dvd player allows you to watch supplied videos even though there is no tv service available.but who cares! look out your back window to entertain yourself. the surrounding property is beautiful and teeming with all kinds of weird and wonderful creatures,that is if you are from somewhere as boring as ohio! so if you need to be in the middle of the action stay in town in an overpriced small hotel room, or venture to the quiet end of the island and enjoy some peace and solitude and go home refreshed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great getaway!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

I have stayed at resorts on Isla several times but never have felt as relaxed as we did at Casa Margaritaville. They house was clean, comfortable and in a great location! At night we saw sea turtles come onto the beach, making it all the better. There were several amenities such as beach chairs, a cooler, DVDs and books that were a nice surprise as well. We rented a golf cart for half of our week but called Plu, the cab driver, who was most helpful. We would definitely love to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ahhhhhhhhhh. Margaretville

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

We just returned from a week in Isla! Margaretville was awesome! We enjoyed the privacy and location. The house was perfect for 2 people, much bigger than anticipated. We rented a golf cart from “Gomar” for the week. (ask for a discount of $5 a day if renting for a few or more days). We loved the outside shower, nice not to have to track sand inside the house. The air conditioning worked great! We loved the personal touches left for us to use. Boogie boards, cooler, chairs, lots of water. We used the binoculars to watch turtle’s right outside the door! The beach was awesome! We played in the ocean right in the backyard! We cooked breakfast every morning it was nice to be able to have the kitchen. We had plenty of dvd’s to watch if we wanted. Read a book from the bookshelf. We had a great adventure! We are already considering a return trip. We loved La Gloria neighborhood, we ate several times at La Brusia the best fish taco’s & guacamole’ EVER! It is a little family run place, the service is awesome and the food outstanding! If you want a little Americanized food go to Jax bar and grill on the north end of Isla, the best burger anywhere! We did go to Garrafon National Reef Park. We were not impressed! Very expensive for what you can get right next door. It might be good for a large family with kids; but if you have been snorkeling before you will be very disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review Wendi! It is full of awesome tips for future renters, and we really appreciate it!
We are so glad you enjoyed the Beach House and We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great island - great time!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

Planning a vacation we happened on Margaritaville and found we couldn't let go of the idea of the private and personal vacation it represented. We were not disappointed. It only took minutes to feel at home. We did indeed wake up each morning with the sunrise over the Caribbean. It draws you out to the deck that gives a perfect view of the ocean and beachfront. Thanks to a previous guest, we did bring water shoes that were a good idea for exploring along the water. Lots of pretty shells, iguanas everywhere, and incredible frigate birds. We knew an outdoor shower sounded nice - but in reality - wow. The enclosed courtyard made showering outside amazing. The house was clean and the tile was easy to maintain. The location is separate yet close to everything you might want to do. We enjoyed Playa Lancheros. and Punta Sur as well as going to the north end. We were awakened the first night by lightning out over the ocean which we watched from bed. Cool! Nice edition to our adventure. We also took a day trip and drove to Tulum. Well worth the effort. We definitely recommend a stay at Margaritaville. Everyone we met was considerate and helpful. The only problem we had was freeing ourselves from the timeshare sales people at the airport. BEWARE. By the way, what kind of lizard are the cute little brown guys?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review Richard. We are so happy that you had such a wonderful time... and your description makes us want to cancel all of our bookings and move down there this week! haha!
We absolutely love the evening lightning displays as well.... we have sat outside for hours enjoying the warm evening weather, the sound of the waves, and the incredible light show :)
As for the little brown lizards - most likely you are talking about the "Rodecks Whiptail".
Thank you for staying at Margaritaville and for taking the time to write a review. We hope you will be able to come stay with us soon... and don't forget to refer your family and friends to our little piece of paradise!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

This is still one of the nicest, best values on Isla Mujeres. Quiet and charming, the house is the perfect getaway for those who like nature and seclusion. It's right on the water on the Caribbean side of the island and within walking distance of great restaurants and beach clubs...but it's really your very own beach club. We walked to La Gloria colony and ate at Limon Restaurant and Basto's Grill. Also an easy walk to Alamar Restaurant at the hotel Casa de los Suenos. Excellent food. We also cooked several meals at the house. It's just a short cab ride to the main tourist area. This is the third time we've stayed at Margaritaville and we'll be back again and again. We just can't get enough of it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The weather is here.... and this property is beautiful

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We stayed at the Margaritaville house for 9 nights. It was everything we had hoped it would be. Getting to the property was quick and easy. The house was clean and well equiped the views were amazing. I would suggest getting the air conditioning as it got too warm and damp in the house some days(but we come from Canada and aren't used to heat). We loved feeding the iguanas in the am on the rocks and deck. It was our first time in a private beach house (usually stay in resorts) and would recommend to any newbies at a private house that you CANNOT keep any food out on the counters, it all must go in the fridge to avoid sugar ants. We found out the hard way but as soon as all food went in the fridge they were gone. Also, in the house you cannot flush toilet paper. It is common practice on the island, but we were unaware of this at the house. These did not at all take away from our vacation, but knowing ahead of time would have helped. One suggestion to the owners would be to have a golf cart come with the house or even bicycles would be awesome!!!There is a new grocery store called Chedraui on the island, great place with great prices for food and drinks!

Cant wait to return-what an AWESOME beach house. Thank you so much for sharing it with us!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review Kenn. And thank you so much for staying at Margaritaville!
The ants can be a bother if food is left out, and the sewage system is not equipped for paper waste. We will definitely include these notes in our FAQ document that we send to our future guests. Thank you for the tip.
We have looked into purchasing a golf cart, but the insurance implications with having many different guests driving it, as well as the maintenance requirements on one, makes it much too complicated for us.
We also investigated purchasing 2 bikes for the house in the past, but with being so close to the ocean, the salt water and humidity causes so much rust on the bikes that they need to be replaced almost annually, and it is just not feasible for us.
But thank you so much for all of your comments and for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you were able to stay at the Beach House and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Private Paradise!

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

We stayed for a week at this lovely house right on the ocean. The view was beautiful and we were so relaxed it was hard not to have daily siestas! We enjoyed sunning, collecting sea shells and boogie boarding in the rolling waves near margaritaville. We enjoyed the scenic walk to the south point of the island and found the people friendly and helpful. The decor of the house is authentic and fun and we enjoyed the assortment of board games and books. My husband and I felt rested and rejuvenated after our stay. Thank you!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

n/a

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

We loved our stay and did real well just taking a taxi everywhere,was cheaper than renting a cart or car. We did meet a lot of new friends that had carts also.
The place was very clean and the response if needing anything was very prompt. We enjoyed it for 3 weeks so really explored the island. Went to the turtle farm, light house etc. We loved Mangos for breakfast, wonderful french toast made with concha bread and coconut and almonds and maple syrup also stuffed poplano peppers,everything was good!!!!!!!!!!
Anyone that loves privacy it was wonderful, we enjoyed the sun by the water in the morning and the courtyard for the afternoon, we came back very tan, weather was 80 almost every day. The rain we did have was like Florida gone by afternoon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A dream...

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The house was great!! It was spotless when we arrived, and a cleaning was set up by the PM during our stay (because it was more than a week). It is amazing to be able to watch the sun rise over the caribbean from bed!! The breeze and the waves crashing lulled us to sleep everynight! Very quiet and private. This place is the deal of the century!! Great if you want a retreat. If you enjoy exploring, like us, I recommend renting a golf cart, carts are a little expensive but well worth it! We will be back....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

If you crave privacy in a beautiful setting,

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

THIS IS IT! This is a very lovely place with everything you could possibly need. The sea breezes are fantastic, day and night! The owners worked with us to give us a few days that were open. Wish we could have stayed longer. We didn't rent a golf cart and felt a little isolated sometimes, but there were always taxis available. (We're kind of cheap when it comes to spending money!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Honeymooners

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 3, 2011

This was a wonderful bungalow. It had great privacy and yet not too far from town. It was a relaxed, fun vacation. We listened to the waves crashing on the shore every night, and sometimes sat outside to watch the view. The house was clean and full of character. The private beach was rocky and extremely beautiful with many fun shells to search for. There was good snorkeling across the island which was very enjoyable. There were also many great restaurants nearby (Mango is a restaurant that is close, great food, on the way into town, and has wireless internet). We went fishing We even saw 6000 baby turtles released on a beach just down the road! We rented a golf cart, which was perfect for us (be prepared to enjoy the view because it was a beautiful ride!) The owner was a great help in getting us information. I would definitely recommend this bungalow to my friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy and warm..

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

My girlfriend and I had never been out of the country before so this was the first such experience we've ever had. Booking, scheduling, and working with Christa was a great experience as we navigated these unfamiliar waters. Overall the property was pretty awesome. We had an amazing view of the water, an outdoor shower to rinse before coming inside, a private little patio area (that we never used), lots of friendly iguana, and no serious issue with mosquito's. The appliances were well kept.

We only had one major and minor problem. First, and most importantly, the A/C. When we first arrived the house was ~hot~ and humid. The A/C is a wall unit that blows cool air into the living room. It does not matter how long you leave the A/C on, the bedroom will NEVER COOL. That's probably why there are two fans in there. Since my girlfriend and I absolutely need to be cool while we sleep I improvised. I shifted the furniture around in the living area which was easy because they're made of cheap foam and moved the single spring mattress from the bedroom into the living room directly under the A/C's air flow. Secondly, the only minor problem we had was that it appears they never buy new sheets. The sheets on the bed are very very old, so bring your own.

Margaritaville has a lot of potential. We didn't spend much time there so we spent a ton of time commuting back and forth on the island (which was half the fun of being there in most ways) and there isn't any real beach front since it's located on the south end of the island where it's rocky.

Oh, and there's no secure place for your cart so take EVERYTHING inside with you. My dirty old shoes were stolen one night, and our sunglasses the next.

All in all we feel we made a good choice and would recommend it again, especially to more seasoned travelers. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review Ryan, and for your great 4 star rating!
We are glad that you had a fun time on the Island, and enjoyed the beach house.
I am sorry to hear that the AC didn't fully cool the bedroom for you and that you had to sleep in the living room - we are now checking into options for installing an AC unit in the bedroom.
We have numerous sets of sheets for the bed that the cleaners alternate for our guests... so you must have had an older set, I will have those replaced.
It is too bad that your shoes and sunglasses were taken... I definitely agree with your recommendation not to leave any personal items unattended in the golf cart.
Again, my apologies for these inconveniences. Thank you for staying at Margaritaville Beach House, and for taking the time to write a review for us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Margaritaville Beach house review

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

The beach house was a great place to stay for the week that I spent on Isla. The house is the perfect size for 2 people and has all of the main things you need for a comfortable stay provided for you. The view from the bedroom and living room looks right out onto the ocean and its amazing to wake up to that every morning. If you want to stay somewhere private and secluded, this house is perfect. It is a little bit of a ways from the main part of town, but if you plan to rent a moped/golf cart or dont mind a ten minute cab ride to get downtown, it isn't a big deal being a ways out because the island is so small. It is very convenient having a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom, and it was nice having the TV and DVD player in the bedroom to watch a movies at night. My experience at the beach house was a great one, and I would recommend to future travellers!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

honeymoon

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2010

Beautiful bungalow situated between everything you might want to see/do, and great privacy. Rented a golf cart and enjoyed the #%it out of ourselves. Could hear waves crashing each night, and woke to a clean well kept living space. Bottom line . . . couldn't have been better!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Second Time at Margaritaville was Even Better than the First!

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Margaritaville for the first time in December 2010 and couldn't wait to come back! When we discovered we were pregnant with our first baby, we decided Margaritaville would be the perfect place for a "babymoon". This time we booked a full 2 weeks (last time we regretted staying only 4 days)... and it was AWESOME! We loved that it was on the opposite end of the island from the Centro, where all the other tourists were, because we could enjoy the small sandy beach out behind the house in complete privacy! The owners had provided portable beach chairs and body boards this time, and we took full advantage! The water was perfect - the waves a lot smaller than in December! we spent most of our days there, cooling off!
Our recommendations: and have the Fish Tacos at the Mango Cafe (you pass it in the small district, half way to the house as you drive from centro), they are AMAZING!!! have dinner at Fayne's in centro on the Hidalgo street (the pedestrian only street) - amazing seafood! and make sure you eat at Hidalgo Cafe on Hdalgo street - they make the most delicious breakfasts, and have INCREDIBLE crepes, and the BEST blended coffee I have ever had in my life! :)
If you want a fun Island adventure, with a private and relaxing place to stay - with the most beautiful view... stay at Margaritaville on Isla Mujeres!
We are already planning our next trip there - with baby tagging along! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Week In Paradise

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Margaritaville from .07.09-.07.17.11 and had a wonderful time at the house and Isla Mujeres. The photographs and written descriptions and information is very accuarate. It is even better once you arrive. The house is very well maintained and the views are absolutely beautiful. Christa had made our arrangements for a golf cart to be delivered and picked upr for us.A cart or scooter is a must! The cart guy came and refilled the cart while we were their although we did buy gas once.The house is beautiful and all the rooms and ammenities are more than adequate. The private courtyard is great for privacy both for laying out in or going from the outside shower to back in the house. We took one shower each in the bathroom, but after the first outdoor shower we were hooked. Shampoo and other neccessities were quickly moved out their. Great for a morning shower or just rinsing off after being on the beach or sunbathing. The kitchen is well equpped and we did prepare one breakfast and one dinner and lost of guacamole and drinks. The dining and living are were decorated nicely and comfortable. The bed was fine for us. It is firm and the t.v. and dvd player are in that room as well. We picked a movie from a wide selction for one night and many books and other things to enjoy. The back deck facing the Caribbean was great to either lay out on or just sit on and enjoy the view, sunrises, and evenings. It is a short walk to a few small beach areas that are more than adequate to lay out on or take the Tommy Bahama chairs to with cup holders and a pocket for sunscreen and a larger insulated pocket for ice and drinks. We used these daily and even took them with us the day we went o Playa del Norte to enjoy the beach their. Calm and shallow water more suited for swimming although don't get me wrong we stayed plenty wet where we were.If you take the chairs a suggestion is to use the lock hanging on the hat rack and lock them on the cart so if you want to stop while out you don't have to worry about them being stolen. The smaller mini stops or stores are high especially on liquor. Their is the San Francisco Supermarket near by on Ave de Lissetta that sells liquor for half the price of the smaller stores plus fruit and other supplies. The market on the square in town is great also and has a bakery. Fresh tortillas can be bought from local tortilleria's too. We loved the seclusion from the busier areas. This is a great place to vacation and recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Margaritaville is a gem!

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 28, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Margaritaville House in Isla and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The house is a charming place that is private and convenient as it is located away from the strings of beachfront homes but is an easy 10 minutes drive to beautiful North Beach and touristy Centro.
The bathroom and kitchen are very well equipped. The kitchen has everything you may need to prepare a meal with your own groceries. The house is very clean, very well kept, spacious and user friendly. The living area is air conditioned. There were even fresh flowers in the kitchen upon our arrival!
There is a beautiful enclosed garden out front with coconut trees and larger than life aloe plants that absorb some of the heat making it a great place to relax during the day. Your back yard is the ocean crashing against beautiful dark rock formations that smooth out as they approach your private beach front patio.
We enjoyed walking out back and exploring the unique little rocky areas by the water. In the midday heat it it’s fun to look out for iguanas sunning themselves on the rocks around the house. There are also some great sandy spots on either side of the house within short walking distance.
Margaritaville is a precious little gem in Isla and staying there made our trip a special and romantic adventure that we look forward to having again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great week

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

I think the house and experience is as advertised. We had a wonderful time. We paid for ac but only used it for a few hours...there is a constant sea breeze that kept the house very pleasant in May. I wouldn't pay for the ac if/when we go back. We also packed beach accessories that turned out to be redundant as everything we brought is at the house already. The sunrises, sea breeze, sounds of waves and semi-privacy made the week very special.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Honeymooners

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

Our stay was perfect. For a private house away from all the noise you cant beat the location and comfort of Margaritaville. We had to call the property manager a few times because the TV and CD Player weren't working - but they were very quick to respond - so I still rate them as Excellent. The privacy, security and feel of the house is fantastic. The view out the back doors is a steal at that price. We'll be back!

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay!
I apologize for the problems with the TV and CD player. We have now replaced the TV, and we have upgraded the old CD player to an iPod dock.
Thank you for your review! We hope to host you again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

YOU CAN GO HOME AGAIN

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

WHEN I SIGNED UP FOR ANOTHER VISIT TO MARGARITTAVILLE I DIDN'T KNOW IF WE COULD DUPLICATE THE WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE WE HAD LAST YEAR. WELL, WE SURE DID!! THE WEATHER WAS PERFECT - THE HOUSE BEAUTIFUL. THERE IS NOTHING LIKE GOING TO BED WITH THE SURF CRASHING AND THE WARM BREEZES BLOWING THRU THE HOUSE. THERE WERE LARGE PARIOTT FISH AND OTHER LARGE FISH IN THE SURF. WE WERE MESMERIZED. THE SOUTH END IS MAGIC AND WE TAXIED FOR DINNER EACH NIGHT TO NORTH BEACH WITH IT'S WIDE BEACHES AND GREAT RESTAURANTS. THE PERFECT VACATION DESTINATION.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Margaritaville House was Paradise

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

There are not enough words to say about the Margaritaville house. This was my first time on the Island; my boyfriend had been there before. I suggested staying in a house instead of in town. Johnny was so pleased with our choice we can’t wait to go back. This will be our vacation rental for years too come. The court yard was just beautiful, along with the patio over looking the ocean. I was very relaxed for the first time on a vacation. Everything in side the house was great and made us feel at home. Waking up to the sunrise every morning was a wonderful experience, Johnny left the camera by the bedside where he could snap a picture every morning. It was so secluded and quite, and when we wanted some noise we went to town. We rented a golf cart, which was expensive but it was our transportation and we could come and go as we pleased. Johnny and I stayed for a week and wished we were there for a month. The Island has plenty to keep one busy and entertained. There was a lot we didn’t get to do, but we utilized the house more than anything, that’s how wonderful it was. It made you feel like you never had to leave. The one thing I did miss was a pool; there is a house right next door that has one. The couple that was staying there did let us use their pool just too cool off and we didn’t take advantage of their hospitality. Johnny and I will be back and can’t wait, hopefully again before the year is up if not definitely next year. Thank you Christa for a Great Vacation. You will hear from us again.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

HOW LONG WOULD IT TAKE TO GET TIRED OF THIS OCEAN VIEW?????

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

This is the second time my boyfriend and I have stayed here at Margaritaville. We enjoyed this trip even better than the first. The reason? We spent more time at and around the house. An occasional trip to the fresh market for vegetables, orange juice (fresh squeezed) and different local grocery stores for libations. We read, listened to the ocean, felt the highly intoxicating ocean breeze, and rinsed ourselves off in the outdoor shower and warmed ourselves in the afternoon in the VERY PRIVATE courtyard.

Not only is there a walking trail leading south to Punta Sur along the water, there is also a little dirt road that cuts across the island to the east. A great shortcut to Playa Lancheros and Garrafon Beach where you can rent snorkeling gear, buy food and drinks and actually view nice coral and many kinds of fish in the rocky area of the beach.

We did not need air conditioning during March, but there are plenty of ceiling fans and a floor fan to encourage the breeze if there is ever a lull. The waves will march on.

Occasionally we would hear dogs barking and playing with each other. The neighbors would be walking them. So if you are a pet owner, this is a superb spot for your four legged kids to stay also.
We would love to bring ours if we would be staying for an extended period of time.

Again, how long would it take to get tired of this ocean view and WONDERFUL ammenities?? If I could, I would stay for two to three months at a time.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Secluded Paradise

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at Margaritaville. We would have been there last year, but my nephew got married on Isla and so we stayed in El Centro with the rest of the family. We had to pinch ourselves to realize we were actually back at M'ville. What a place! The courtyard and patio about double the size of the house's living area. The kitchen is well equipped and functional. The outdoor shower is very handy for rinsing off the dust of the day following the beach. The indoor bath is roomy and nice. The hiking trail out to the south point is picturesque and fun. Several beach clubs and restaurants are within walking distance...less than two miles. We rented a golf cart the first year, but took taxis this year and saved a ton of money. Sunrise comes right in the bedroom window for a spectacular way to wake up. The crashing surf is nature's lullabye. We can't say enough good things about this property. It's private, relaxing and homey. It's a place we'll return to year after year.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Secluded Paradise

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at Margaritaville. We would have been there last year, but my nephew got married on Isla and so we stayed in El Centro with the rest of the family. We had to pinch ourselves to realize we were actually back at M'ville. What a place! The courtyard and patio about double the size of the house's living area. The kitchen is well equipped and functional. The outdoor shower is very handy for rinsing off the dust of the day following the beach. The indoor bath is roomy and nice. The hiking trail out to the south point is picturesque and fun. Several beach clubs and restaurants are within walking distance...less than two miles. We rented a golf cart the first year, but took taxis this year and saved a ton of money. Sunrise comes right in the bedroom window for a spectacular way to wake up. The crashing surf is nature's lullabye. We can't say enough good things about this property. It's private, relaxing and homey. It's a place we'll return to year after year.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Margaritaville

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

We spent two wonderful, relaxing weeks in Margaritaville and loved every minute of it. We were looking for place that afforded us the quiet that this beach house provided. We read books, watched the beautiful waves roll up on shore but the plus was watching the full moon as it rose and lit up the Caribbean. What a joyous time we had!.

We highly recommend Margaritaville to everyone that needs a relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wish we would have stayed longer! So perfect!

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

WOW! where do I start?!
My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in December... and are now wishing we had stayed longer.
This home is right on the water and the sound of the waves crashing on the shore are the only sound you hear, day and night. The view is amazing and the courtyard, rear patio, and small sandy spot just to the north of the house are perfect for suntanning all day... and the waves behind the house are fun to spash in (make sure you bring water shoes to protect your feet!). who wants to go to a crowded beach anyway?
This must be the most private and secluded house on the island... with only one neighbour, and no one across the street. it is so quiet and we felt like we were the only people on Isla! we stayed at another house close to the marina for the last part of our stay, but with the sounds of cars and dogs at night, we wished we had stayed at margaritaville the whole time instead. (and the king bed at Margaritaville was so much more comfortable, and you wake up to a view of the sun rising over the ocean!)
The house was very clean and well equipped, with everything we needed... We made breakfast and dinner at home and ate at different restaurants every night because the seafood is amazing on Isla!
We rented a golf cart for our time there... and there is a parking spot out front the house for it. we loved cruising the island and exploring all the side streets. But our favorite part was suntanning at the house in the peace and quiet, watching and listening to the waves.
Christa was very helpful and responsive, she made it easy to feel comfortable and informed about our first trip to Isla. I still can't believe we found such a great deal! We will definitely be back as soon as possible and will be staying much longer next time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wish we would have stayed longer!!! So perfect!!!

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

WOW! where do I start?!
My wife and I stayed at Margaritaville for 4 nights in December. This home is right on the water and the sound of the waves crashing on the shore are the only sound you hear, day and night. The view is amazing and the courtyard, rear patio, and small sandy spot just to the north of the house are perfect for suntanning all day... and the waves behind the house are fun to spash in (make sure you bring water shoes to protect your feet!). who wants to go to a crowded beach anyway?
This must be the most private and secluded house on the island... with only one neighbour, and no one across the street. it is so quiet and we felt like we were the only people on Isla! we stayed at another house close to the marina for the last part of our stay, but with the sounds of cars and dogs at night, we wished we had stayed at margaritaville the whole time instead. (and the king bed at Margaritaville was so much more comfortable, and you wake up to a view of the sun rising over the ocean!)
The house was very clean and well equipped, with everything we needed... We made breakfast and dinner at home and ate at different restaurants every night because the seafood is amazing on Isla!
We rented a golf cart for our time there... and there is a parking spot out front the house for it. we loved cruising the island and exploring all the side streets. But our favorite part was suntanning at the house in the peace and quiet, watching and listening to the waves.
Christa was very helpful and responsive, she made it easy to feel comfortable and informed about our first trip to Isla.
I still can't believe we found such a great deal! We will definitely be back as soon as possible and will be staying much longer next time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wish we would've stayed longer!!! Such a beautiful and quiet location for an amazing price!

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

WOW! where do I start?!
This home is right on the water and the sound of the waves crashing on the shore are the only sound you hear, day and night. The view is amazing and the courtyard, rear patio, and small sandy spot just to the north of the house are perfect for suntanning all day... and the waves behind the house are fun to spash in (make sure you bring water shoes to protect your feet!). who wants to go to a crowded beach anyway?
This must be the most private and secluded house on the island... with only one neighbour, and no one across the street. it is so quiet and we felt like we were the only people on Isla! we stayed at another house close to the marina for the last part of our stay, but with the sounds of cars and dogs at night, we wished we had stayed at margaritaville the whole time instead. (and the king bed at Margaritaville was so much more comfortable, and you wake up to a view of the sun rising over the ocean!)
The house was very clean and well equipped, with everything we needed... We made breakfast and dinner at home and ate at different restaurants every night because the seafood is amazing on Isla!
We rented a golf cart for our time there... and there is a parking spot out front the house for it. we loved cruising the island and exploring all the side streets. But our favorite part was suntanning at the house in the peace and quiet, watching and listening to the waves.
Christa was very helpful and responsive, she made it easy to feel comfortable and informed about our first trip to Isla. I still can't believe we found such a great deal! We will definitely be back as soon as possible and will be staying much longer next time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Margartaville on Isla Mujeres

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for part of our stay on Isla Mujeres on 10/23-10/31. What an excellent house!! OMG-it is such a cool house, perfectly decorated and so comfortable. It has a beautiful private courtyard in front and the house was so accomadating. Full refridgerator in the kitchen with a 4 burner stove, all kinds of dishes and everything you would need.Very comfortable places to sit and very comfortable bed. This house had it all- books to read, games to play, puzzles to work, tons of DVD's to watch but with that view who needs all that?
Very nice back area with loung chairs and so close to water, I can still hear the waves. We initially thought being across from the trash dump might be a problem- no worries, not at all- ever. Our only regret? we didnt stay here the whole time. We will definately be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Margaritaville beach house on the isla

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

We just arrived home and already we miss the Margaritaville casita, it was a very relaxing vacation with no kids to celebrate our 20 years of marriage. I highly recommend staying at Margaritaville beach house for a romantic getaway, needless to say we will be back. The view from the beach house was excellent and access to the nearby beach was minutes away from the house. The kitchen made it great to cook breakfast and Lunch, we ate out at night and took a cab home but we walked into the center each day for excersise which was quite enjoyable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The shaker of salt is right here!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

My husband and I spent 10 days at Margaritaville and we loved it. The house is quaint and clean, and the outdoor shower is a little piece of heaven! The beach just outside the house has fun waves to splash in that you can't get at Playa Norte. Getting a taxi is easy if you don't want to rent a golf cart, and the 10-15 minute walk to Playa Lancheros is so worth it! The house is equipped with a small library and games collection that came in really handy on rainy days, and since we had our own kitchen, it was great not having to go to a restaurant for breakfast and lunch every day, or pay for hotel room service. Christa was great to deal with and the on-site property manager responded to our inquiry immediately. I would definitely recommend Margaritaville for anyone wanting a quiet, romantic vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous - Honeymooners

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

My husband and I booked Margaritaville for our honeymoon August 2010, it was FABULOUS. We found the house impeccably neat and tidy. Perfect amount of space for 2. Big jugs of water there for use. House is a few miles out of the main tourist area which was perfect. We called the taxi posted on the fridge our first day and the driver was awesome. He recommended we rent a moped from Joaquin's. We cruised the island all week, went to the North Beach most days and rented chairs. The beach just outside the house has some really fun surf, we should have rented a boogie board. We brought chair down from the house and set them in the sand and enjoyed happy hour while the waves crashed at our feet. The weather was HOT so if you go in August get the AC you will need it. Everything was amazing. Christa, was extremely responsive, professional and helpful which put us as ease having never rented a house from a website before. All around excellent. The house is hands down awesome. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous - Honeymooners

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

My husband and I booked Margaritaville for our honeymoon August 2010, it was FABULOUS. We found the house impeccably neat and tidy. Perfect amount of space for 2. Big jugs of water there for use. House is a few miles out of the main tourist area which was perfect. We called the taxi posted on the fridge our first day and the driver was awesome. He recommended we rent a moped from Joaquin's. We cruised the island all week, went to the North Beach most days and rented chairs. The beach just outside the house has some really fun surf, we should have rented a boogie board. We brought chair down from the house and set them in the sand and enjoyed happy hour while the waves crashed at our feet. The weather was HOT so if you go in August get the AC you will need it. Everything was amazing. Christa, was extremely responsive, professional and helpful which put us as ease having never rented a house from a website before. All around excellent. The house is hands down awesome. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

My husband and I booked Margaritaville for our honeymoon August 2010, it was FABULOUS. We found the house impeccably neat and tidy. Perfect amount of space for 2. Big jugs of water there for use. House is a few miles out of the main tourist area which was perfect. We called the taxi posted on the fridge our first day and the driver was awesome. He recommended we rent a moped from Joaquin's. We cruised the island all week, went to the North Beach most days and rented chairs. The beach just outside the house has some really fun surf, we should have rented a boogie board. We brought chair down from the house and set them in the sand and enjoyed happy hour while the waves crashed at our feet. The weather was HOT so if you go in August get the AC you will need it. Everything was amazing. Christa, was extremely responsive, professional and helpful which put us as ease having never rented a house from a website before. All around excellent. The house is hands down awesome. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good....but

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

We absolutely loved our stay there last January; however, depending on how the wind blows, the smell from the waste transfer station which is just down the street, can be overwhelming and unbearable. We had to keep the doors closed when the smell was bad, but when it wasn't it was a great place. We wouldn't go back again because of the smell, but it's worth going once if you want an inexpensive place to stay and are willing to take a gamble.

If you're in shape, rent bikes! It's the best way to get around and the people are so friendly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: ""I am pleased to see that you were still able to give us a 4 out of 5 star rating, That is a great rating!

I do apologize that you encountered a smell. Around that time, the transfer station trucks that haul the garbage away broke down for a few weeks and that is what caused the smell. Once the trucks were fixed and they started hauling out the garbage again, the smell went away.

We have never encountered this ourselves, and none of our other guests have ever complained about any smell coming from the station because is only where small garbage trucks from around the island transfer their loads to large trucks that take the trash over to the mainland landfills.... No trash ever stays at that site, so there is rarely ever a smell.

In regards to the wind blowing the smell into the home... in early January, Isla experienced some very windy, stormy days... some of the coldest days ever. The wind always blows in from the ocean behind the home, unless it is stormy, in which case the winds would be multi-directional. So, on a normal day, if there were the slight possibility of any smell, it would not be blowing toward the house.

Again, I do apologize that you had to deal with a smell due to the breakdown of the larger garbage trucks, and the stormy, windy days. That is extremely unfortunate, and we would like to do whatever we can to make up for this inconvenience, and I truly hope that you choose to return, as that smell is definitely not a normal occurrence.

I hope that my description of this waste transfer station and the usual direction of the winds will help others to know that they should not be experiencing any smells from the waste transfer station while staying at Margaritaville Beach House. Please feel free to email us with any of your other questions or inquiries.

Thank you,
Rick & Rose,
Owners of Margaritaville Beach House""

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Can You Keep A Secret?

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2009

We stayed at Margaritville in March of 2009 and were VERY overwhelmingly surprised. Initially, by the photos, we were not sure of what the property was going to foretell. For the last three + years, we had always stayed cloes to Centro. After we walked in and viewed the Carribean from both the living and bed room's 6 foot sliding glass doors, we were indeed in heaven.

The courtyard was very impressive and so quiet and private. Go to the back of the house to enjoy the crashing waves, ocean breeze while sitting on the tiered patio. The ocean was so close that the screens most always had moisture on them -- even though you could not feel it yourself.

When dining, you either had a bar/table with stools in the kitchen or a separate dining table. This was extremely convenient. There was even some non-perishable food left from the previous tenants for us to use!! That really made us feel welcome.

Plenty of cooling breezes always kept us comfortable. No need for air conditioning in March. Although it would be available when needed.

The private outdoor shower was most pleasureable. After a long walk along the the ocean front trail from Punta Sur or a short jaunt to a sandy area where sea gulls gathered to feed and rest, you could still be a part of the natural surroundings. That is the fantastic part of the courtyard -- you can dry off naturally in the sundrenched afternoon sun.

We want to keep this a secret but.... It is so peaceful, away from the hustle and bustle yet a short distance from the Colonias or even Centro for your need for great dining, fishing, boating and people watching. Margaritaville is definitely a simple yet tranquil place to reside for a romantic getaway. We intend to come back year after year.

It is now under new ownership, so I do hope the ammenities will continue to be as friendly and accomodating as the previous owners made us feel. As soon as they are settled, I am sure this will happen. We cannot wait to come back and stay!!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Heavenly

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2009

We stayed at Margaritaville for ten days in March, 2009. It is heavenly. The house is small, but has a big kitchen with eating area, a nice sized bathroom, comfortable living room and a bedroom that overlooks the ocean through the sliding glass doors. The walled courtyard and four tiered patio overlooking the water about double the living space. Spending the morning eating breakfast and reading in the courtyard gradually lead to eating lunch and reading on the patio in the afternoon. That way you are in the shade all day. Once you enter the courtyard from the street, you're in another world. No need for air conditioning. The ocean breezes are plenty cool for sleeping. The outside shower was nice for rinsing off the dust of the day after the beach. The hiking trail along the coast to Punta Sur is beautiful. The crashing waves are nature's lullabye. One of the very best properties on Isla Mujeres. The most relaxing vacation I've ever had in thirty years of going to Mexico.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relax and forget about life

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

The best trip my wife and I have had out of 4 trips to Mexico. So laid back you will forget what day or what time it is. Perfect beach house. Watch the sunsets and sunrise from your bedroom or back patio. Fall a sleep and wake up to the ocean. The isle people are very friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to planning a trip back to Margaritaville next year. Dont pass this place up .You wont find a nicer place for the money. Trust me we checked out other places when we were there and did not regret our choice. Enjoy!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review