reviews for: listing #68653 - Holland, Michigan Cottage rental

Sun and Sea cottage/Historic Ottawa Beach
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  West Michigan Park
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $400 /nt
    $2,300 - $2,500 /wk
    $7,000 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Week at Sun and Sea

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Sun and Sea was the perfect place for our whole family to be together for a week. Colleen has thought of everything a family would need. Our grandchildren loved the swing and the decks, and, of course, walks to the general store for ice cream and candy. The adults loved time on the spacious front porch, and we all enjoyed climbing nearby Mt. Pisgah with its panoramic views from the top.

The walk to and from the beautiful private beach was pleasant and scenic, and Lake Michigan was, as always, fun for all ages. It was so good to be able to relax and share quality time as a family, a rare occasion as some family members live in Southeast Asia. We certainly hope we can enjoy Sun and Sea again sometime in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed the swing on one of the decks,the children especially
loved it from the pictures. The cottage seemed to accommodate your family
and everyday was a different adventure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sun and Sea Cottage

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Our three-generational family recently spent a memorable week at Sun and Sea Cottage on Lake Michigan. The cottage is wonderfully clean and fully equipped with every amenity we could wish for. It is spacious and its many windows and sliding glass doors capture views and breezes. We especially appreciated the large porch, three decks, and reliable Internet. The boardwalk out front led us on a short walk to the beach in one direction and to the General Store (ice cream) in the other.

The Lake Michigan beach was spectacular: acres of pure sand, lined with dunes, and affording one sunset after another.

There are hiking trails, dune climbs, and a neighboring state park or two (more beaches). Restaurants abound, although we chose to eat at home for the week. The City of Holland also affords many shops, restaurants, and attractions.

The owner is attentive and helpful, although there were no problems of consequence. In short, we are grateful for such a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful write-up on the Sun and Sea. We appreciated
having your lovely family stay with us and be so caring of our 100
year old cottage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful beach experience

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Sun and Sea Cottage! Colleen was very helpful from the get-go, and when we arrived the place exceeded our expectations. The location was fantastic: the cottage is located on a gorgeous elevated boardwalk just a few minutes walk from the beach. You feel like you're walking through the tree-tops to get there, which our toddler loved. The house itself felt spacious and well-equipped, with a few quirky touches, which suited us perfectly. Since it is up on a hill, we enjoyed constant lovely summer breezes on the decks and screened-in porch. The trees surrounding the house also helped to keep it cool, despite the summer weather. It was the ideal summer beach experience! And although there are only a few reviews online, the guest book is filled with positive experiences, including a few families who have visited every summer for 15-20 years. Since the only bad part was leaving, we hope to come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed our large 100 year old cottage and the surroundings.
The breeze is a wonderful change off the Lake compared to AC. The decks also
provide lots of outdoor space to relax if not going to the beach.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Once Again.....had a great week.

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

This is the third year we spend at the Sun and Sea Cottage, and once again we had a great week. The cottage is located between Lake Michigan and Lake Mackatowa, both within walking distance, and we take advantage of both. The cottage has plenty of room for sleeping, two baths, a well equiped kitchen, and outdoor decks are great for meals. Beaches on Lake Michigan are beautiful, and Lake Mackatowa offers jet skis, paddle bosards, and kyacks if your interested.

Love walking to the beach to watch the sunset, walking out to the pier, and there is a local general store, that we walk to almost nightly for ice cream. There are plenty of restaurants in down town Holland or around the lake. You do need to be prepared to walk as parking is not adjacent the cottage, and note there are stairs into the cottage (and to all bedrooms which are upstairs) can be a concern if you have older folks or some one that needs assistance. For our group, the only complaints are when we are arriving or leaving, and we have learned to pack lighter and lighter each year.

The owner is very approachable, but frankly problems have been very few. Love the area, and have every intention of returning next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: The cottage is a short incline up the boardwalk from the gated parking lot(no stairs). All cottage owners have carts to get the guests belongings to the cottage.

A futon and roll away are provided on the main floor for those who can't climb stairs to the 4 upper bedrooms. The back door is accessible
with just one step into the cottage and the front deck is level with the main floor.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sun and Sea Cottage

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

My husband and I and another couple had the pleasure of staying in this cottage. The owner meet us there to let us in and explain the whole cottage to us. The owner was very pleasant and a warm and welcoming greeting at the cottage. The cottage was all we had hoped it would be. It was very comfortable in all the rooms. The atmosphere was great. The whole cottage was very clean and the grounds were well maintained. There was a short walk on the boardwalk to the beach. The beach was so clean and private. The owner also suggested some wonderful places to have diner out and some wonderful shopping in town. My husband and I would highly recommend this vaction cottage to all our friends and we would rent this cottage again for our time in Michigan.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay with the family

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

We had a great time staying at Sun & See Cottage. It is close walking distance to the beach, pier, ice scream shop & much more. There is plenty of room for a couple of families to stay here together. We will definately be going back! Thanks for the great time!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review