reviews for: listing #68783 - Keuka Lake, New York Cottage rental

Esperanza Dream Lakeside cottage on private road near Park
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $175 /nt
    $750 - $1,150 /wk

sort by:

Esperanza cottage on Keuka Lake

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We found the cottage cozy for 2 and it had all the basics we needed. Kitchen is small for workspace, but wasnt lacking anything. Was nice to have the outside grill which was easy to use. Television screen was a little small too, so if you plan to watch a game it might be frustrating, but hopefully that is not why you are there. Unfortunately, we were not able to spend as much time in the cottage as I would have liked in order to enjoy it to its full capacity. Weather was getting too cool to sit on the deck or down on the dock. It was quiet while we were there with very little boat activity on the lake.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Even better the second time around!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

This was our second trip to the Esperanza cottage....and it was even better the second time around. We love this place -- it's definitely a serene and peaceful getawwy we look forward to! We took our jet ski and motorcycle and enjoyed exploring Keuka Lake by land and by sea :). We really appreciate the hospitality of the Hamiltons -- they always make us feel at home. We'd definitely recommend making time for some quiet time on the hammock, a trip to Ithaca, and trying the cheese trail-- a perfect complement to the wine trail. We can't wait to come back...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you to Jennifer G. for taking the time to write such a nice review, we truly appreciate it! Also, thank you for the recommendation to your friend who has now booked with us.

We are always striving to improve our guest's experience and comfort, so that they want to make us their Keuka Lake destination.

All the best,
Matt & Robbie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Birthday Celebration

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

It was my year to pick an overdue 40th birthday location...the cottage, area and activities were beyond wonderful. Thank you Matt and Robbie for making our stay so memorable (and the special surprise). My sister, dear friend and I laughed all weekend while enjoying the cottage and its surroundings. Hope to be back to visit (I'm going to spread the word too).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming Lakefront Cottage For Two

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

I picked this place simply by chance, and I am glad because it turned out to be one of the best holidays ever. A perfect little cottage for a quiet, relaxing time away from it all. Clean, simple and thoughtfully equipped. We loved the experience of living on the lake so much that we didn't even want to leave for meals- so we cooked most of the time (there's a small but adequate kitchen). Of course, if you prefer to eat out, there are plenty of good options in the area. Also lots and lots of wineries. The house offers gorgeous views of the lake-- especially from the deck, the hammock and the bench at the top of the steps that lead down to the little beach. The water was lovely, but the beach is pebbly so watershoes are a good idea. It's great that the cottage has its own kayak and rowboat, so you don't have to go to the rental near Keuka Park. The place felt private, without seeming scary/isolated because of the nice neighbours. There is a BBQ grill, and a place to sit by an open firepit down at the beach, although we did not use these. If you happen to get bored (which is unlikely), or if it rains, the cottage has cable TV, high-speed internet and an assortment of books/ DVDs to keep you occupied. A lovely experience- i would love to go back year after year!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely cottage on a beautiful lake

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

We had a truly great vacation here! We’ve vacationed at other places in the Finger Lakes but this cottage felt was so cozy and well-appointed, we felt like we were staying at someone’s home. Everything we wanted to do was close at hand—biking, hiking, swimming, kayaking, wine-tasting—leaving lots of time for relaxing. We are already looking forward to staying here again next summer. Thanks, Robbie and Matt, for sharing your cottage with us!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely cottage on a beautiful lake

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

We had a truly great vacation here! We’ve vacationed at other places in the Finger Lakes but this cottage felt was so cozy and well-appointed, we felt like we were staying at someone’s home. Everything we wanted to do was close at hand—biking, hiking, swimming, kayaking, wine-tasting—leaving lots of time for relaxing. We are already looking forward to staying here again next summer. Thanks, Robbie and Matt, for sharing your cottage with us!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

esperanza dream lakeside cottage

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

The cottage was just perfect for our vacation. While it is a small cottage, it had plenty of room for our family of three. It was very clean and comfortable. It is obvious that the owners have put much thought and care into making this a wonderful vacation home. I would definitely recommend it to others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

50th Friendship Anniversary

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

My best friend and I grew up together on Crescent Beach, with in walking distance to the cottage, and we've maintained our friendship, for 50 years!
What a better way to celebrate our anniversary, at the perfect Hamilton Cottage!
The cottage is sparkling clean, many details for comfort, great view, and of coarse swimming in the lake! We enjoyed a great bonfire on the beach, and a row in the boat, plus the fish were jumping right in front of the dock.
We plan to make this a yearly get~a~way, we enjoyed it so much.
Many thanks Robbie and Matt for your thoughtful and detailed refuge, the cottage was very enjoyable!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

esperanza dream lakeside cottage

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

matt and robbie have opened their home to those who are seeking peace and quiet in the finger lake region ... it doesn't take long for their home to become your home ... the cottage has everything anyone could want for a pleasant stay ... the deck offers a place to wile away time with a book or in conversation ... the hammock beckons for afternoon naps ... if you can manage to pull yourself away, the finger lakes offer sights to see, a wine trail to follow, antiques to be found ... and for a treat you can try doug's meaner weiners followed by an ice cream cone from the seneca dairy ... it is hard to leave this lovely place ... but would be so easy to return ...

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks to Sallie for the thoughtful review. We truly strive to make our guests feel relaxed and at home with everything they need when visiting Keuka Lake! Matt & Robbie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oct. 19-25, 2010

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2010

Great to experience the lake and surrounding areas this time of year.

The cottage is perfect, quite a change from the "trapper's cabin" remembered from my youth spent just two doors down Esperanza from 1951-1960. Family moved out west. Forty year anniversary surprise trip from my wife. I have not been back since 1963, and she had never been further East than Montana. All my stories were validated and connections made with relatives and family friends.

Thank you so much for this, it was perfect.

Gary & Chris
Hood River, Oregon

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oct. 15-17, 2010

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

Thank you Hamiltons! We had a wonderful 39th wedding anniversary, largely in part to your thoughtful card, champagne and awesome cottage! We'll be back!

Craig & Susan
Hershey, PA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oct. 11-15, 2010

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

What a lovely week we had! The weather was beautiful and the cottage was perfect for our family.

Thanks so much Hamilton family.

Scott & Dana,
Saegertown, PA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oct. 8-11, 2010

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

We had a wonderful, relaxing extended weekend! The cottage is a great size and baby safe! We liked to relax by the water and tour Hammondsport and wineries.

Thank you very much for the apples and apple cider! Also, for letting us borrow your stroller - it was a lifesaver. The close proximity to the state park is awesome!

We look forward to returning next summer!

Thank you,
Brian, Marion, Finnigan & Laura
Ithaca, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oct. 1-3, 2010

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

Your cottage was perfect for a much needed getaway weekend. We had no schedule or agenda this weekend - just soaked in the views and the wonderful fall days. Thank you for arranging fireworks for us! A nice touch. When we are able to break away and find a babysitter we will definitely look to return to the Esperanza Dream.

Thank you,
Paul & Bridget
Elma, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

September 3-6, 2010

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We had a wonderful vacation. It was very relaxing and the cottage was great. We spent many evenings sitting by the lake reading books or just talking. The area is great and there are lots of friendly people. Both of the neighbors were friendly and the firepit at the lake was fun to use during the cold September nights. We toured many vineyards and Bully Hill and Hunt Country were the best. Not only did they have great tasting wine, but the tour of the facilities were very informative. One day we rented a boat from Basin Park Marina. I would highly encourage all visitors to use this place. Hammondsport is a nice little town that is very welcoming to tourists. The Italian Bistro and Village Tavern are delicious. We traveled to Watkins Glen to tour the gorge. The waterfalls were amazing. In the end, it was a relaxing vacation. I wish we would have more time and hopefully we can come back soon!

Mark & Sara
Shippensburg, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 27 - September 3, 2010

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

We were very sorry our week went by so quickly! We had a chance to do all we wanted, mainly relax! We have already done the wine tours and been to the museum, we wanted to just enjoy the beautiful lake. We went sailing, used the row boat, we fished, swam and Danny go to really enjoy the deck and play his guitar.

The neighbors are all terrific! We did lose power for a little over 4 hours and Ray came right over to check it out. Kind of fun eating by flashlight.

We could not have asked for better weather! Great week!

Danny & Donna
Webster, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 20-27, 2010

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

We've really enjoyed our week at Keuka Lake. The cottage provided exactly what we needed for a week of solitude and idleness. The weather was mostly cool and rainy but on two beautiful afternoons/evenings we enjoyed wine tasting and beautiful views at Glenora and Heron Hill. We would recommend both - and dinner at Glenora was lovely as well.

Thanks so much!
Catherine & Don
Calgary, AB Cananda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 4-8, 2010

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

What a wonderful place! Beautiful sunsets, great neighbors, and the lake is perfect. We had a wonderful time. Everything inside and out is perfect. I loved how you furnished/decorated. I love how easy it is to "check in/out"! You made our trip so easy and inspired us to see about getting our own 2nd home on a lake closer to us.

Roger, Darla & Greyson
San Antonio, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 18-25

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

The cottage was exactly what we wanted! Perfect for two...and so nicely done. the dock was great and accomodated our boat nicely. We had many wine tastings: Dr. Franks, Keuka Spring, Hunt Country and Ravines as well as tasting and buffet at Rooster Hill Vineyards. Ravines was our personal favorite. Made a trip to Corning Glass Museum...first trip for Sue...it's an all day affair we think, to really do it right! We only stayed a couple hours and just skimmed thru a lot of it. Discovered a lot of restaurants since Sue wasn't cooking on this vacation! We like to do at least one "dress-up" evening and the Esperanza Mansion was it...very nice and waht a view!!! Looked for evening weekday entertainment...only found Sarrasin's..not that impressed. Loved the Seneca Farms Ice Cream...too much actually! Enjoyed the Windmill Market and of course...the fishing for Gary was just what he needed. Caught a few every time he was out, which was quite often! The weather was hot and humid with some rain at some point almost every day. Thank goodness for the window air conditioner in the bedroom, made it cooler in the bedroom to sleep at night.

All in all we had a wonderful week away from home and enjoyed all you offered us in your cottage. Thank you so much...you'll be in our hearts forever.

Gary & Sue
Depew, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 10-14

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

Thank you for such a comfortable and lovely place to stay. We planned a boating vacation, and this cottage turned out to be the ideal spot from which to enjoy all that Keuka Lake had to offer!

We loved the Waterfront Restaurant and rode our bikes along the Outlet Trail.

Thanks again for a great spot on the lake!

Jamie & Betsy
Ballston Spa, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Esperanza Dream was all we dreamed and much more!

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 29, 2010

Merci beaucoup (Martine is staying here with me, she's from Paris!) to the Hamiltons for the lovely, cozy accomodations. The cottage is filled with so many thoughtful, kind touches: the grill, the hammock, the warm throws to take away the chill, the condiments, wood for the fire, real coffee mugs and coffee filters! You've thought of everything.

We had a comfortable, peaceful stay. Our only regret is that we have to leave now.

The view, the birdsong, the spectacular sunsets and the lakeside campfire will beckon us back again.

Thanks so much,
Ellyce - Hastings on Hudson, NY
Martine - Paris, France

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

June 11-13

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

Your cottage was beautiful. We enjoyed sipping wine down by the lake around the fire.

Thank you for being so accommodating as we threw together this last minute girls getaway.

Thank you,
Ashley, Brittany & Jenna

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

June 4-6, 2010

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Your cottage was the perfect place for us to cook our daily meals and rest our weary heads after 10-plus hours of riding/day! We never imagined that the Finger Lakes region offered such an abundance of scenic roads and destinations for us to explore. We are always looking for long-weekend getaways on the bike (Harley, of course)! We definitely could've used another day or two to accomplish what we thought we could do in a weekend (wrong)! We are already planning another trip...possibly this fall!!!

Thank you for providing us with a very clean, comfortable and cozy place to stay. The only thing we lacked was time. I wish we could've enjoyed the cottage & beautiful property a little more. However, we have absolutely no compaints, as we had everything we needed and more!

Hope to be back soon!
Beck & Bruce
Hinckley, OH

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Esperanza Dream Weekend

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

We are finishing up a wonderful weekend. We definitely took a gamble on the weather in Upstate NY mid-May and boy did it pay off. So much sunshine! The area is just beautiful this time of year.

Your house was the perfect addition to our annual trip to the Finger Lakes. We have set on the deck gazing at the beautiful scenery for hours - and even saw a beaver swim by! The house had everything we needed and we really enjoyed it. Hope you have a great summer with many memories made at "Esperanza Dream."

Dylan & Betsy
Boston, MA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Esperanza Dream vacation!

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We returned for another Esperanza Dream vacation - and it was well worth it. We felt a sense of homecoming to a place of comfort and relaxation.
We knew there were so many neat things to see & do in this beautiful area & our week flew by with so much more we have yet to experience. We did no "repeats" of last year except quality time with family present and past.
Discovered the Outlet Trail, "sunfish"ing on a beautiful afternoon, eating at Lakeside, Corning Glass, Rockwell Museum, hikes in the area, & a Symphonic Steel Band Concert were all enjoyable. We also love the sunsets! The whole cottage lifestyle brings back memories of our cottage on Cayuga for 15 years. Thanks for sharing yours. We hope to see you again.

Gail & Ron
Sun City Ctr., FL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a lovely getaway!

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

We had a very relaxing week at "Esperanza Dream." Beautiful views either on the deck or on the beach every day. We enjoyed great BBQ meals on the deck and relaxed reading books in the Nantucket Room. We discovered Seneca Farms sundaes, had a great crab feast at the Waterfront, drinks at Lloyds. We built camp fires, ate way too much smores, Philly finished Atlas Shrugged, we visited Weaver View Farms and had lunch on the terrace at Esperanza Mansion. We really enjoyed living with the locals for the week - duck + 1, duck + 4, squirrels, birds and woodchucks. Keuka Lake is very beautiful and we will miss it. Thank you Hamiltons for a really great lake cottage.

Damon & Philippa
Rochester, NY

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review