reviews for: listing #690 - Princeville, Hawaii Condo rental

The Cliffs at Princeville 7301 -- Oceanfront Unit
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $145 - $175 /nt
    $800 - $975 /wk

sort by:

As lovely as promised

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

We chose this particular unit for a long-awaited Kauai vacation for 3 reasons: the terrific price, the sweeping ocean view from the condo, and the fact that it comfortably sleeps 5 adults. I would return in a second. The lanai and kitchen (which are adjacent to one another) boast huge ocean views, from which we saw whales almost daily. The master bedroom is extremely large, and has a second lanai and an en suite bathroom. The loft bedroom easily fit two queen-sized beds. I loved many things about this unit, including the washer/dryer (awfully nice to go home without a suitcase of dirty beach clothes), the peace and quiet (it's located on the third, top floor...we never heard any noise from the units below or around us), and the large ocean-facing lanai (complete with table and chairs). We opted for a mid-week cleaning, which was only $55 and well worth the money. The condo looked pristine both when we checked in, as well as after the mid-week cleaning (new towels and linens, kitchen tidied, floor spotless). There are 2 large grills available for guest use, both of which are extremely clean and located under a roofed gazebo - which we were glad of, since it rained on several of our days at the Cliffs. The pool area is nicely divided up, so that families with children and adults without children can all fully enjoy it. Many extras are offered with this condo, including boogie boards, beach chairs and a cooler (which we used every single day). The only thing we lacked at the condo was a cookie sheet. Guidebooks left by the owners and previous guests were extremely helpful!
One side note: a huge positive to this place was the upfront price, with no hidden fees. While looking for Hawaii rentals, we found that 2- and 3-bedroom condos often list a price for 2 adults, then say something like "$30 for any guests over 2, per person, per night." That seemed a little outrageous to me, seeing as how a multiple-bedroom condo is probably going to be used by more than 2 people. With this condo, we were quoted a price, and no extra fees were added. We also felt that Mary and Joel were very responsive to our questions: they even answered the phone on the day we flew out to Hawaii, after our flight was cancelled in Chicago and we discovered that we'd be arriving at nearly midnight. We were so appreciative of their help, as Joel provided directives to meet security in order to obtain our condo key for the late-night arrival.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Most Wonderful Place for a Vacation

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Thank you for sharing this lovely condo with us! Our first time in Hawaii was incredible. Whale-watching was awesome. The condo is by far the most wonderful place I have ever stayed on vacation. The bedroom upstairs was amazingly cute and comfy. We found the board games, snorkel gear and beach chairs to be a lovely surprise in the closet. The place was so well stocked with amenities. The washer and dryer were especially welcome after a day of hiking and snorkeling. Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

We thoroughy enjoyed your slice of Kauai heaven. Your home is the best unit we've stayed in at The Cliffs, and we'll tell our friends. You had everything we needed for a wonderful beach vacation. Perfect weather, played tennis every day on the resurfaced courts and enjoyed sunsets on the bluff. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Place to Stay

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

This was our first time visiting the island of Kauai and we could not have chosen a better place to stay! You have thought of everything--if we looked for something it was always here and readily available! The view, the ambiance, and comfort of your condo is stellar! We highly recommend your condo as "the place to stay" at The Cliffs in Princeville. Thank you for sharing it with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation location!

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

If you like the north coast of Kauai, this is a great location. Wonderful condo with ocean view - watching whales frolicking from the deck this time of year! Nice, comfortable, quiet unit, spacious, attractive and well furnished. Room for 6 with no crowding!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for Sharing Your Wonderful Condo

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

I just wanted to send a note to thank you for sharing your wonderful condo with us at the Cliffs. We had an absolutely fantastic time at the Cliffs, your condo was so well equipped and convenient, it made all the difference in us having a great (vs. good) time, especially since we have a lil 2 year old.

Your suggestions on snorkel spots, restaurants etc were also immensely useful. Thank you once again and I am sure to recommend your condo to my friend and family network.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic location, great value!

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

We've stayed here four or five times and think that you can't find a better value for your money. Not only is it in a great location, but it is wonderfully equipped and the owners keep it looking nice through constant improvements. It truly is a beautiful place, and a wonderful value.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wish it Were Ours!

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2011

This was our 3rd or 4th stay in Apartment 7301 at The Cliffs. The condo is very comfortable and has a lovely view. Mary and Joel make sure to keep everything in good working order. Any time we have had a question or minor issue - they have been on top of it very quickly to make sure each stay is excellent and trouble-free. They have also been extremely easy to work with on planning our trips - very nice people - we wish them the best.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mahalo!

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

Great unit! Saw whales every day! Sunrise was beautiful. Love the views from the end unit with three sides—mountains, ocean and gardens. Enjoyed our stay very much. We hope to come back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Glad to Share Your Island Home

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

It was fantastic to visit your island retreat. Saw whales, monk seals, sea turtles. Botanical Gardens were amazing and the Blue Hawaii helicopter tour was awesome (smooth and very stable flight with great views and a knowledgeable pilot). The Cliffs is a great spot—quiet, magnificent views and a good base for touring the rest of the island.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Magical Visit

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

Thank you for another magical vacation in your island home. It has been three years since we were here last and we have been dreaming of coming back ever since. Our daughter, who is six now, especially loved the remodeled swimming pool! We enjoyed the sunrise from the front lanai and the sunset from the back lanai. We will be looking forward to visiting again as soon as we can!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Fantastic Condo!

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2010

This is a great place to stay on the North Shore. The condo is wonderful and in a great location in the Cliffs complex. This top floor end unit has high vaulted ceilings, lots of natural light, gets great breezes, and has beautiful views. The unit is furnished very nice and makes for a very comfortable stay. The Cliffs complex has a great large pool area complete with waterfalls and jacuzzis. Very tropical setting! Looking forward to returning. This condo really is a great place to stay. The owners are very nice and great to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great rental property.

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

The location and unit were wonderful. The unit has an unobstructed view of the pacific and beautiful landscaping everywhere. If you are adventurous, you can walk a path down to the water. It is very close to numerous beaches, water activities, golf, and inland excursions. When we go back to Kauai, we will definitely stay here again. I can't say enough good things about the property, amenities, and experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love hearing from our renters and sure hope that this reviewer can return soon to our little corner of paradise!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What We Had Dreamed Of!

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2009

This was the 4th week of our month-long holiday in California and Hawaii, and what a great way to end this trip. Your condo is great and impressed us as clearly the best in our month away from home. The beaches, water and sea life were what we had dreamed of... and the backdrops of tropical mountains were stunning. Thank you! --Couple from South Africa

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the View

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2009

Thank you for sharing your private paradise! What an absolutely perfect location at The Cliffs. We have never had both Mountain and Ocean Views from the kitchen and lanai! Plus the view of Bali Hai and mountains from the bedroom. It was especially nice to wake up each day to the sunrise from the living room window and watch the sunset from the bedroom lanai when we were here. It has been a lovely visit and your beautiful, comfortable home made it very special. Thanks again – I hope we can come back and rent again! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Condo!

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

Thank you for the use of your wonderful condo! It is lovely and so comfortable -- feels like home! The surroundings are beautiful -- must be as close to paradise as we can get before heaven....Each day held a new adventure and we thoroughly loved our trip to Kauai! J & C from Iowa

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Review submitted: July 29, 2009   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

We have stayed at the Cliffs in unit #7301 for several years. The view is spectacular and we especially like the corner unit. This unit is very clean and has all of the comforts of home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review