reviews for: listing #69022 - Wild Dunes, South Carolina Condo rental

2BR Beach Front Condo Wild Dunes
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $350 /nt
    $700 - $2,477 /wk
    $2,200 - $2,200 /mth

sort by:

Nice and Clean!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this condo. It was nice and clean - nicely decorated. We were concerned about having a frying pan big enough and they had PLENTY of pots and pans in a variety of sizes. My daughter made the comment "I don't feel like I have to re-wash everything". She is a total clean freak and even she was comfortable!!
Very nice place - would stay here again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

the view was good the rest was poor

Review submitted: December 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 2, 2013

The photos did not show the bathrooms. The second bath had a small shower stall, I assumed that it would have a full sized bathtub. We've rented 2 bathroom condos on vrbo and they were very good. If we had seen the bathrooms, we would never have rented it. We invited some friends to stay there for a few days and I was appalled when I saw the bath. The couch cushions were sinking when you sat one it so we used the hard chairs to watch tv. I would tell friends to choose another rental. The view was great but that was it. Needed painting, updated and new couch.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love staying here!

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

We are just back from a wonderful vacation in your property and couldn't ask for more. The condo was clean and well stocked with everything we needed. We spent 9 days and could have stayed longer. Happy that they trimmed the palm trees in front while we were there. The owner & manager are wonderful to work with. We have stayed at your other property the last 2 years and it is great also. Already looking forward to next fall! In fact, thinking about going back in the spring! Would definitely recommend to our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Perfect! Fabulous Ocean View!

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

What a fabulous ocean-front condo - the owners thought of everything. We arrived and it was spotless; fresh and clean and bright. I loved all the spices, utensils and dishes in the kitchen; they even had extras like coffee filters and salt and pepper, which you don't often find. Two books were in the condo - one about restaurants complete with menus and the other about the area. We found these very helpful in navigating our way around the area.
The deck - lovely! It has a great view, 2 rockers and a table with chairs - perfect for morning coffee and evening drinks. In fact, we ate dinner on the deck almost every night - why go to a restaurant when you have the ocean at your door? The deck overlooks the pool and ocean - so peaceful.
Robin was extremely helpful in making our stay first class. And, while we were there the owners called to make sure everything was going well. We felt like they really cared and it made a big difference to our stay.
Wild Dunes is a first-class resort. We rented bikes and biked on the beach and around the resort. We golfed on both golf courses and ate at the nearby casual restaurant (across the street). One day after tennis we ate at the deli near the courts - all excellent.
And Charleston - so close and so much to do! Our favorite restaurant is Tristan's and there are so many great ones to choose from. You might want to check out "Open Table".com to book during the busier times of year.
All in all, a wonderful, relaxing stay - we thank Robin and will be back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quick get away

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

The pic on vbro of the ocean is not what you see now . The palm trees block 75% of the view . From the balcony . Very disappointing ! We also didn't like the beach . There was no steps leading to beach . So you had to climb down a 2-3 foot sand wall to get to the ocean . The unit was clean . And kitchen was nicely furnished . We would most likely not return to this area .

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful getaway- incredible views

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the condo. The condo lived up to the description and had everything you would need for a relaxing vacation. It was beautiful and exactly as shown in the pictures. I was afraid the pictures were going to be too good to be true but they were accurate. The condo was clean, well-appointed and the grounds were nicely kept. The pool is a great addition. It's the best of both worlds, getting to swim at the pool while hearing the ocean a few feet away. The master bed was incredibly comfortable and the view from there would make anyone not want to get out of bed in the morning. Robin was great and quick to respond to us. We booked this vacation the day before we arrived as a last minute get away and weren't sure we were going to be able to find something. Robin answered our email so quickly we had everything completed and ready to go by Friday afternoon. I really appreciate her help. Even with the condo being so wonderful, if she hadn't answered so promptly we wouldn't have been able to enjoy it. We also found the two books in the condo helpful as we had never been to IOP before. We ate at Coconut Joe's and it was good casual dining at a reasonable price. The condo's wifi was nice plus to have, along with the washer and dryer. We would highly recommend this unit to anyone. My only suggestion would be to update the chairs for the table on the balcony. Thank you for a wonderful weekend and we look forward to coming back in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful week

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful week at your lovely condo. Everything was immaculate when we arrived. The kitchen is stocked with spices and anything you could possibly need for preparing meals. The property is very quiet and great for a family vacation or just a weekend get-away. It is just a few minutes away from shopping and dining, and right on the beach. If we are in the area again we will definitely be back. Thanks again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

summer vacation

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

All in all the condo was a great place for the family. It was quiet and clean. The only issue we had was on arrival. Even though we arrived at 4pm (check-in), the cleaning crew was not done and didn't finish cleaning the condo until 5. It was a little difficult arriving with two small children and being unable to unpack and get settled in. We did enjoy our stay and are looking forward to returning to Wild Dunes.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Peaceful & Perfect!

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

This was the perfect condo for a girls’ week of shopping and relaxation! Being able to start and end our day sitting on the balcony with full views of the beach, ocean and pool was truly spectacular & serene. The condo was bright and clean and tastefully updated with plenty of room for our group. It was exactly as pictured! We particularly loved the easy access to Charleston for great shopping and dinner out. This trip was packed full with fun and a lot of great memories so much that we are already planning our return for next year. Thanks so much for the opportunity to rent your beautiful place!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fabulous Condo!

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

What a wonderful place for me and my family to escape to! We loved the views, the rocking chairs, how clean it was and that the condo was right on the beach. The owners thought of everything and the linens, etc. were wonderful. With easy access to Charleston, and all the amenities of Wild Dunes, we loved it. We hope to return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Renter

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

We would be interested in renting your unit again this fall in late September. Can you provide rate info for both the last two weekend of Sept. We saw many dogs on the property, we would very much like to bring our dogs as it is so dog friendly area. We would be willing to pay a pet deposit as long as it would be reasonably returned.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Beautiful view and location. Very spacious and comfortable although a little dated. The utensils and cooking pans, etc. were fine. We stayed a week and had no problems with anything (except the wireless internet) but tried the "fix" from the owner, and it worked fine.

Would recommend brighter bulbs over the dining table.

All in all, a wonderful experience. Will probably return again at some future time.
Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 28, 2012

Everything the property information said, was true! The place was perfect for me, a professional working inland, but wanting the ocean to provide relaxation after a hard days work!

I appreciated there were basic amenities - coffee filters, non-stick spray, salt and pepper! Those little things make a big difference. I bought laundry detergent and softener and left them there for the next guest. It seems others left things too - I like that I don't go into a sterile place!

My only wish is next time I go, the tv in the master bedroom is hooked up to the satelite system and the vcr/dvd player is upgraded in the main area. But then again...there's this beach so not much time to be spent inside!

For someone that needs a lot of social contact, I would not reccomend this location during winter months, but I loved not seeing others on the beach!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location - outdated and plain jane

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

The owners were very pleasant and easy to work with. The unit has a great location and view. The condo was spacious but the kitchen and bathrooms are quite dated and plain. A splash of color on the walls would make a huge difference. We did not find the kitchen equipted well enough with cooking untensils and cookware for a weeks' stay.

We were disappointed with the amenities within Wild Dunes Resort and would not return for this reason.

Owners response: We are so happy that you loved the view and the location - yes, it is incredible - and that you found the condo to be spacious. Wonderful!
The bathrooms have been up-dated and recently they were painted white (at suggestion of our designer) to keep everything fresh and clean. We have gotten great feedback from others on this change as it is so clean and bright.
Wild Dunes is known across the country for its 1st Class amenities. In 2012 they were voted one of the top resorts in the southeast by Conde Naste readers, although it may not have been what you were looking for at this time. We love it and are glad that you had a pleasant stay at the beach! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review of Seascape villa #415

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

The location and view was fantastic. The villa was very comfortable and relaxing. The owner was quite helpful when we had an issue with the TV.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Value with the best view!!

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

The condo was very clean (except the master bath had hair all over it the day we arrived like it had maybe been forgotten).. This was really my only complain though. The kitchen, while a little "dated" compared to many other condos in Wild Dunes was very clean, spacious and the owners are so thoughtful to include all relavent spices and sugar etc. I had actually forgotten my kids cinnamon sugar but they had the cinnamon!!. =) We picked this condo bc of the picture that showed the view of the ocean. The pictures were exactly what we found. a Very open floorplan with great views!!! We will certainly be coming back to this place (assuming they don't sell it) A realtor did contact us on our last day to see when they could "show" the property. Please call us if you sell. Thanks, Andrea

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for all the accolades! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the condo so much and that you want to return soon.
Yes, the view is spectacular and we do all we can to provide the “little touches” that will make your stay more enjoyable. We apologize for the minor cleaning issue – know that “clean” is our #1 goal for each stay. We did investigate and found that the person who cleaned prior to your stay was a “temporary replacement” who will not be cleaning again.
Again, thanks so much for all the wonderful words. We look forward to your next stay.
Warmly,
Owners

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rocking on the Balcony

Review submitted: June 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

An ideal place for 4 people. The balcony has the most spectacular view, and the most fun was sitting in the rockers and rocking with family at cocktail hour. Would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unbeatable View!

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

We just returned from a 5 day stay at Seascape 415 and found it to be wonderfully relaxing and
beautiful! The condo was clean, beautifully furnished with everything needed to cook, beach it,
and relax. We wanted a condo with an oceanfront view and this couldn't be beat. It was quiet and
yet there were enough people around to chat with and socialize. The restaurant guide was
very good and we added Huck's Lowcountry Kitchen to it.
Our only complaint was that the kitchen overhead light is broken. It was difficult to cook with no light
available.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed your time there and we hope you come and stay again in the future.
Please dont hesitate to call us during your stay if there is a light out, we will send someone to fix it right away ! Thanks for providing us with feedback and enjoy the summer !

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very nice condo with great location in Wild Dunes

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

Rented this two bedroom condo for three nights the week of Labor Day. Very clean, awesome bathrooms, quiet and comfortable. It was a very easy walk to the beach and pools (200 yards), and the market was a 1 minute walk from the building. I also liked the covered parking that was included. It was a very good value given the amenities and condition of the property. You will deal directly with the owner in renting the property, and he is very responsive and accessible. I would rent this property again if we go back to Wild Dunes.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We Plan to Come Back

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

This condo provided the best location imaginable for our week away. We spent many hours on the deck relaxing in the rockers and taking in the ocean views. The beach is definitely a walker’s beach and access to it from the condo is a snap. The restaurant notebook in the condo with menus and comments guided our choices and did not disappoint. Without a doubt, we highly recommend this property to anyone considering a vacation in the Wild Dunes area.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Best View

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

Best view we have ever had in a vacation rental. Condo clean, property well maintained. Listing was very accurate. I would recommend this property. We spent most of our time and beach and pool. Went into Charleston couple of times to see the sights. Enjoyed driving/walking around the Wild Dunes area looking at the beautiful homes and condo's.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Condo for Getaway!

Review submitted: June 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

What a perfect place for a week’s romantic getaway – or with the family – we loved every attention to detail – soft sheets and linens, rockers on the deck with an incredible view, ocean breezes – peace and the beach – what a combination!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice - Photos Don't Show All The Details - View is Spectacular

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

OK folks – here’s the truth. You would be foolish not to stay here. Clean place owned by nice people who really care. The views are really incredible and all the details are taken care of. They don’t show enough in the photos – rockers on the porch with a table and chairs, new bedspreads, etc. We couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay or nicer people to deal with. And the wireless is easy and fast! (That was a surprise!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Happy With our Stay

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

What a perfect place for a week’s romantic getaway – or with the family – we loved every attention to detail – soft sheets and linens, rockers on the deck with an incredible view, ocean breezes – peace and the beach – what a combination!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Condo!

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

What can I say? We were a bit concerned about renting site unseen from the UK, but as soon as we stepped in my friend said, “Wonderful place, I love it!” It was a most relaxing week with everything we could ask for – clean, great beds and linens, new cooker and fridge, wonderful views and very responsive owners. All we could ask for and and the most wonderful view – we shall return! (and Charleston was fab!)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not quite what we expected from reading the details

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

Excellent site and situation, on the beach with lovely views. Condo is spacious, well designed and equipped with plenty of storage. Short driving distance to local shops and restaurants. Only half an hour to Charleston with its museums and visitor attractions. Quiet with own pool and well-maintained surroundings
.
On the down side we found the soft furnishings to be shabby and worn. The sofas were dirty and threadbare on the arms. There were ill-fitting cupboard doors, one with the handle sellotaped on! The sheets in the master were too small for the bed and there was no change of sheets. The mattress itself felt old and soggy.

This condo is advertised as 5 star and 'our home' but we were very disappointed with the quality of the interior and this took the edge off our otherwise pleasurable experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful views, relaxing atmosphere

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

The condo was everything it was advertised to be. The kitchen was well stocked and everything was clean. We had a couple problems with things that needed to be fixed and the owner took care of it immediately. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would stay here again if we have the chance. I would highly recommend this to anyone that enjoys the ocean!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jonathan and Katherine McIntyre - March 13-16, 2010

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

This condo was absolutely perfect for a long weekend getaway. Wild Dunes is a family favorite and we have been vacationing there for 25 years. The condo was great for 4 adults and 2 three year olds. There was plenty of space for everyone which was key considering it was still a little too cold for the beach itself. The best part for us was the new carpet floors which kept the million little footsteps per day from being heard. The deck is great for having a cocktail and listening to the ocean. This condo will be at the top of our list as soon as we can get back to Wild Dunes. Thanks

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at 415 Seascape, it was a good value compared to other condos. The appliances could be updated but they all function. Great location, comfortable, clean and kitchen has all the utensils. We will likely stay here again if the unit is available for our next vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 25, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We truly enjoyed staying in this lovely condo for spring break. Everything was clean, comfortable and quiet. The place is huge and the view is spectacular. We loved having the kitchen "stocked" with all of the essentials. It's really a shame about the beach erosion, but no problem for us. It was no big deal for us going to the beach just up the street. We would definitely come back again!

Owners response: Thanks so much, Fran! We really try hard to keep everything in top condition. The beach is being "renourished" starting in May - so look forward to $9,000,000 worth of beach this summer!
Paula

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 17, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

We stayed in this condo April 28 through May 5,2007 and found it to be extremely well furnished and in excellent condition, just as advertised on the website. It is located right on the beach in a fabulous location. We would definitely rent this unit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 14, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

We stayed at #415 Seascape in the end of August 2006. We loved everything about our vacation. The condo was beautiful, seconds from the beach. The Wild Dunes Resort is beautiful and clean. We loved that we were only 20 minutes from Charleston and were able to spend the day at the beach and the evenings in Charleston. What a beautiful place to relax and vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 6, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

We had a wonderful vacation last week at 415 Seascape. The weather was great and the condo was perfect with plenty of room for us to spread out. The view was beautiful and we loved sitting on the balcony watching the ocean. The condo met all of our needs and was beautifully decorated. It truly is beachfront and the pool and grounds are very well kept. We really enjoyed the Aquarium, driving our rented boat around the Intercoastal Waterway and Charleston Harbor, and riding our bikes around the resort. We loved the island and the entire Charleston area and plan on returning in the future. Thanks for loaning us your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 16, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

Our stay last week at your condo at Seascape (#415)was the best! I can't tell you how many times we remarked how "homey" it felt. It is beautifully decorated and has everything a person could possibly need or want, including a gorgeous view from the bedroom, living room and deck. Our 91 year old mother was so pleased that she talked us into renting it again next year although it did not take much talking on her part as we couldn't have been happier. Congratulations on being such a caring "hostess" and even checking up on us at mid-week to make sure everything was going well. We will be back!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 23, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

This condo is wonderful. Beautifully furnished, well-equipped, great location. We really enjoyed ourselves!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 17, 2005   Date of arrival: February 17, 2005

Best vacation ever!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 17, 2005   Date of arrival: February 17, 2005

Weather was in the 80's - great condo, lots to do, lots of great extras, loved hearing the ocean right outside our door! Thanks for sharing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 12, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

This is our first stay at Wild Dunes and definately not our last at your lovely condo - wonderful accomodation! Beach, golf, biking, Charleston, The Citadel, Vineyard, Boone Plantation, Harbor tour - busy, beautiful week. Thanks for thinking of all the little things (coffee mugs, silverware, SOFT sheets, rocking chairs) that made this a truly first class, relaxing vacation! Hope to visit this or your other Seascape soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 7, 2004   Date of arrival: September 1, 2004

This was our first trip to the Wild Dunes area on the Isle of Palms so we did not know what to expect. Paula made us feel very comfortable and at home from the first time we talked to her and we were extremely happy with our choice. From the newly updated paint and carpet to the comfortable beds and wonderfully appointed kitchen this unit is a "must stay". If you are looking for space as a family to spread out this is the unit for you. We have 3 children and there was more than enough room for the fourth which will arrive in December. The rooms are enormous. By he way, The views are something to behold. We watched dolphins and shrimp boats off the deck every day. We played with our children in the ocean which was a VERY short walk away. The pool was very nice and clean. The Seascape property is very well maintained. We look forward to our next visit to 415 Seascape in 2005.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 21, 2004   Date of arrival: August 21, 2004

After many years of oceanfront vacations, your place is by far the best we've seen - clean, nicely decorated, you thought of all the extras we needed and the view is superb! This was our 4th trip to Charleston and second to Wild Dunes - we love it and hope to come back for many years to come!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review