reviews for: listing #6903 - Tampa, Florida House rental

The New Waterfront Million Dollar View
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $250 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,350 /wk
    $4,200 - $4,800 /mth

sort by:

Great place to stay in Tampa with great owners.

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

We just spent 7 days here for spring break with a family of 5+. The setting is wonderful, nestled quietly on a dead end street nestled in the mangroves. The house was awesome, with lots of space. My wife and I brought our 16 year old, his friend and our 6 and 7 year olds. The young kids loved playing out back under the tiki bar and running laps around the wrap around deck. The 16 year olds took frequent kayak rides out into the mangroves and had a blast. We had rainy weather but still found plenty to do at the house and around town - as the property has a good central location. Easy to get downtown or to the numerous beaches. House was clean and well equipped to cook numerous meals. I nice grocery store is literally 2 minutes away.

Can't say enough about Larry and Deborah's hospitality. They greeted us warmly and spent time showing us around the property. They were around when needed and even surprised us with great BBQ chicken legs one night. Very good people. He had just replaced the grill only because the previous one was a little hard to use which addresses the concern of a previous guest.

We highly recommend

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great views and location

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

Very spacious house with great amenities. I went with my wife and 2 daughters. Everyone had their own space but we could gather in the living room to watch the big screen tv. Larry was very gracious and helpful without being overbearing. The house was off the beaten path but close to everything. It took us 20 to 30 minutes to get to Busch Gardens.On our last day Larry took us out on his boat for sunset cruise. All in all this was a great find for us and we enjoyed every minute. We would definitely stay again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful quiet paradise

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Had amazing week in the 80's. Beautiful views from every vantage,nice open home and loved the on site laundry. Larry and Debbie really give you the run of the entire place and are so helpful about whatever you need! He took us outand showed us how to navigate the boat which we rented from him. How fun to take it out to Bahama Breeze for a terrific lunch and the best key lime pie in Tampa! We kayaked everyday and bird watched....definitely go high tide to the alcove on the right where many birds nest. Watched an osprey daily that perches on a pole next to the house! Read many books,went to Ft.Desoto beach- a short but worthwhile day trip,one of top ten beaches (Conde Nast) in the USA! This place was just what we needed and the owners are a bonus to have as a resource!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

Peaceful and relaxing yet close to Tampa and stores. We went to visit our daughter at college for parents weekend and she and friends enjoyed getting away from campus and relaxing here. Our niece brought her children and we all enjoyed the deck and pool. I took the kayak out for a fun paddle around the area. We did see manatees and dolphins, but it was cool hearing the fish jumping in the evening. The owners were very nice and helpful. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the gas grill wasn't working and the kitchen needed to be organized better. But I would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best customer service ever!

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Trip was actually back in summer of 2012. Would want to give it more than 5 stars as during Tropical Storm Debbie, Deborah and Larry took the best care of us ever! Even a home cooked meal and fresh baked cookies! Covered parking a BONUS! It was the first storm we had ever been in and the water just kept rising and rising higher. Tornado, high winds, water coming int he widows from such fierce storms and Larry made sure we were fine and even was willing to take us and the girls costumes for their dance competition in his canoes down the street since we could not even get out for 2 days. Larry could tell us exactly where to go to get groceries, food, shop, etc. Definitely want to stay here again if we ever make it back to Tampa. We ended the trip with a wonderful boat ride to the bay with Larry.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place to stay with wonderful owners

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

The house has beautiful and clean and smells like a fresh ocean breeze mixed with oranges. The house listing boasts a million dollar view and it certainly does have that. You can see Manatee playing from the kitchen windows right in your own back yard basically. However it is the owners of this home that make your stay here worth the price of it in gold! Mr. Larry and Ms. Deborah welcomed our family of four teenagers and two adults with open arms and made it their personal mission to make sure that we were really taken care of. My husband had surgery the Wednesday after we arrived at the Laser Spine Institute approximately five miles down the road from where we stayed. Ms. Deborah fixed dinner for all of us and they were literally the best smoked ribs that we have ever had. They prayed for us and checked in on us to make sure that we did not need anything. They told us where to go to find the best prices for things that we needed. They knew where everything was and how to get there without the hassle of the traffic! Mr. Larry even came up and taught my teenagers how to play the board games that are there. They had movies for them to watch and books to read. kayaking was the favorite past time and relaxing in the Tiki with the TV on....how spoiled were we! These are the kind of folks that everyone wishes that they could bring home with them when they leave. It was a wonderful trip and we would definately do it again and hope that someday that their family will get to come and visit us in mountains. Here, there or in the air we hope to see them again soon. Wonderful experience. Thank you so much for allowing us to stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Comfortable and Relaxing

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Rented 2 weeks the first part of May, 2013. Quiet and serene with the advantages of city amenities just down the street. Convenient to both St. Pete, Tampa and all surrounding "Bay" areas. Saw dolphins and/or manatees most days, especially while out kayaking.

Very clean and comfortable. Plenty of included amenities: pool, kayaks, canoe, etc.
Owners very accommodating. Highly recommend to couples or families.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

The Perfect Place To Stay

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

What an awesome place to stay for our weeks vacation !! Beautiful home !! Perfect location ... so peaceful .. on the water ... even some Manatee's came to visit for a few days of our stay !! Spacious accommodations .. fully equipped kitchen .. so nice to be able to make your own meals. Would most definitely highly recommend this rental, if you're planning a vacation trip to destination to Tampa !!

Cheers !!

Margarethe

:-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Excellent Weekend Stay

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

The description of this property is very accurate. It is in a beautiful and secluded location with lots of amenities. Larry, the owner, is very helpful and a pleasure to deal with.
Located close to the airport, major highways, and Raymond James Stadium. There is a Publix grocery store within a mile or so as well. I would definitely go back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Week

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

Great place, well furnished and easily accessible to downtown, restaurants, golf courses and the airport. Owners were always there if you needed them and very helpful. In town on a business trip and this was more practical than renting 2 motel rooms for 5 days. Would definitely go back next time in Tampa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great location for a Bucs game and fun in Tampa

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

My guys and I rented the house in Oct. We were pleasently surprised, house is on the water, with a small pool and great deck. The house has a wrap around porch that allows you to look out at the water. The house is so big and the kitchen and the grill (outside) allows for you to enjoy making meals both inside and out doors.

This is a great house for a get-a-way of any type. Next time I'm in Tampa, I'm sure to go back to this location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

What a wonderful place to stay.

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

We were coming to Tampa for a family wedding and needed a place for the six of us to stay. I looked into hotel rooms which for five days would have been pretty costly. So I started looking into vacation rentals to see if that would be better, and boy was it ever. Going by the pictures and cost requirements, we narrowed it down to 3 places. I then left messages with all 3 places and waited. After one day I heard back from only two, so I contacted both by phone and Larry was the first to return my call. I let him know what our plans were and he was very helpful answering all my questions. It took till the next day to hear from the other place and right away there was a huge differance in the way I was treated on the phone. It was an easy choice after that. I contacted Larry again to let him know we wanted to make our reservation and he talked me thru the process. I have never done this before so I was still leery. So I asked if one of my Niece's who live near the area could come by to check it out for us and Larry said that would be fine. After my niece called me the day of the visit and said how wonderful it looked, I contacted Larry again with the payment arrangements and booked it. When we arrived it was even nicer then the pictures. Both Larry and his wife Deborah were there to greet us. They both were very helpful in showing us everything we needed to know about the house, and pointed out some things to watch for if we wanted to see some of the area wildlife. We couldn't have had a better time. We enjoyed every bit of what the home had to offer,cooking on the grill, and we even had a chance to take the canoe out on the water for a very relaxing ride. The views from the wrap around balconies were breath taking. We have already decided the next time we come back down for a visit, this is the place for us. Thanks again to Larry and Deborah from us for making this a wonderful family vacation.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Never stay in a hotel again!

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

From the minute we pulled in the driveway and greeted by the owners Larry and Debra we felt completely welcome. The "million dollar veiws" are understated. They are priceless. Waking up in the morning looking over the mangroves watching the manatee play and the trout jumping is a great way to start your day. The house is close to everything. 15-20 mins from Busch Gardens. The use of the Kayaks seemed simple and yet for me was a highlight to be able to paddle for a minute from the back dock and be totally secluded just the mangroves and hungrey trout. This is a definate must place to stay if you are in Tampa area. Thanks Larry and Debra. The kids are already asking to visit you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Location is everything

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Location is everything and this one is almost perfect! This was our second stay and will not be our last, the home is in a quiet area surrounded by wildlife but just minutes to shopping and attractions. Larry and family are great hosts, around if you need them but otherwise leave you alone. The kayaks were a great hit and exploring the adjacent wetlands was comfortable and enjoyable. We had two visits by dolphins, saw lots of manatees, fish and birdlife including a resident Osprey right outside the window. There is also a family of racoons who provided entertainment for those of us not used to them.
The home is nicely designed and comfortably furnished. There is a nice deck with BBQ and wrap around balcony which was great for watching the 4th of July fireworks. The fridge and stove werelarge and clean. There is no dishwasher but we did not find that an inconvenience. Basically everything we expected was provided and Larry is a helpful source of information even providing us with coupons for discounts at area restaurants and movies.
There are a number of restaurants near by and no less than 4 major supermarkets, department and hardware store. Citrus Park Mall is close and the Westshore area is a short drive if shopping is your thing. We chartered a fishing boat on the bay (same cost as going to Busch Gardens) and caught dinner and had a fantastic time with Captain Mark Newton. We caught Redfish, Snook, Ladyfish and a saltwater catfish. We all enjoyed it so much we went twice. The Florida Aquarium is a nice attraction especially for families with younger children, we also enjoyed Adventure Island waterpark.
We are a family of 4 with children 11 and 13 and all enjoyed the home and area attractions. We highly recommend the home for families seeking a home-away-from-home; if you are seeking luxury and pampering a hotel might be a better choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 

360 Degree Views - Sun-Up to Sun Down

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Natural habitats abound and are visible from inside and out - Bring your binocular(s). Nurture your peace seeking soul by Basking in Balmy Breezes on the wrap around/ balcony, even during the hottest times of the day (10a - 4p). Bring insect repellent for early mornings and evenings.
I enjoyed all including the Tiki area where I watched TV, while lazing on a hammock and sipped on a delicious drink. Great for Get-Togethers for about 20 people at a time. Infrared grill on 2nd floor. The owners are readily available and fully supportive of you having the best time possible.
Access to rental includes stairs at the left of the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Tampa Rental - Tons to Do

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

Our family decided to take our first family vacation since being out of college. My brother and I brought our wives so there were six of us.

When we arrived Larry was already making sure the place was clean and ready for our arrival. We love to fish and he took us out the very first evening. He allowed us to rent his boat for the week and we caught a number of redfish and trout on our own right inside the backwater channel.

They kayaks were great during the day and we actually did see dolphins and manatees near the back of the house boat. One morning there were four manatees hanging out just off the dock for nearly 20 minutes.

While there we took a trip took a day trip to beach, played several rounds of golf and headed to downtown Tampa (Ybor & Channel-side)some evenings for the nightlife.

Larry and his wife were staying in the unit below worked to our benefit because they were always willing to help with any questions we had. They really want to make sure you have a good time while staying at their place. I would strongly recommend his place for families, particularly if you are able to rent the boat and enjoy fishing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 10 / 12

 

A great rental location

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

My 2 kids ages 12 + 14 played with the manatees and had great use of the kayaks. The home is spacious and brightly lit and deffinetely clean, not to mention the big tiki bar outside. Rooms were very spacious and felt great to waking up with the sun coming thru the huge beautiful windows.The rental had t.v.'s in every room, and a pool. My husband and I had a great time. Owners were very helpful and look forward to coming back next year .

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Views and Spacious

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

The house is located on a dead end on a channel off of the bay. It's a great place to stay if you don't want to be surrounded by other tourists and instead want to relax.

Despite the fact that the owners and their family live in the lower level of the house, we still felt like we had our own privacy. The house is made of concrete, and so there never was a time when we heard them or they heard us. You do have to go up several steps to get to the rental, so I would not recommend it for anyone who cannot do steps. There is nothing fancy about the inside of the house, but it's very spacious. We had fun every single night playing dice on the large kitchen counter. The couches were very comfy, and there were TVs in every bedroom. I would have paid a larger cleaning fee to have had the house professionally cleaned. The house itself needed some minor maintenance, nothing that would make or break a vacation.

The dock area with the tiki bar is great. We spent many late afternoons lounging out on the dock area. There are only a few houses on the channel, which made it very quiet. The owners were very nice, and they were always willing to help us with directions or advice on places to go. I would have loved to see some manatees or dolphins from the dock, but the guys who went on a boat trip with the owner did get to see wild dolphins. I think we were just in the wrong season for manatees.

The house is very close to many grocery stores, you can even walk to Publix and Walgreens. It was close to the airport, shopping, restaurants, Busch Gardens, and we had easy access to highways to take us to downtown or any of the many beaches. There were 6 of us staying in the house, and 3 more guests stayed with us for one night. The house was definitely better than staying in hotel for a week, since we all had our own bedrooms, access to two bathrooms, a small pool you don't have to share with anyone else, lots of deck space, and large common spaces to gather.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

March 20-March27

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

I guess that the way the ad was written we thought we were getting a whole house and not just the second level. It was never said we get the whole house, but just the way we interpreted the ad, so maybe that's my fault for not asking more questions. There was 22 steps to the second level, so it is not for physically handicapped people. It was fine for our group. Larry and his wife are very congenial and helpful. The house itself was fine for what we intended it. It is close to a number of eating places and grocery stores. If you're looking for a base close to the airport, Busch Gardens, and doing other sightseeing, it is fine.

Owners response: The travler did recieve the whole house as advertised 3 bedroom 2 full bath it is a concrete stilt home with waterfront views on all 3 sides,there are steps to enter the main house but the views are great, with a managers unit & laundry facility below to maintain the property pool, tiki area,lawn,trees,and most important service the guest with any needs they may have

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Perfect week

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Wow! The house is wonderful. The large windows let the sun shining in all day long. Far enough from neighbours so you wont be bothered by anyone. The view is beautiful with all the birds and wildlife. The owner is really nice and helpful, he will do everything to help you during your stay. You could stay an entire week at this house without being bored with all the things to do!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Perfect week

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Wow! The house is wonderful. The large windows let the sun shining in all day long. Far enough from neighbours so you wont be bothered by anyone. The view is beautiful with all the birds and wildlife. The owner is really nice and helpful, he will do everything to help you during your stay. You could stay an entire week at this house without being bored with all the things to do!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Book it!

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

You cannot believe the views and the time you will have! This place is close to everything, yet so far from the hustle and bustle of tourism! The owner and his family are willing to assist with all you needs. All you need to do is enjoy your time away and let them know if you have needs.

The sunsets, the view of wildlife, the watching of the tide roll in and roll out are enjoyed with your private view of the bay. The area is silent and well worth every cent you pay.

The boat ride that the owner provides is a super experience with views of the bay and bridges that are breath-taking.

Enjoy, book it, and come back again! The condo has all that you need and you may find you do not need the view of the flat screen tvs in all the rooms because the view from the full wrap-around balcony is enough to keep you engaged in all the condo has to offer.

The roominess and openness of the space is something all can enjoy because the the three bedrooms including the large upstairs room allow at least 3 couples to sleep comfortably! Enjoy, stay, and tell your friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Million Dollar View Plus

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

upon arrival owner larry wingate and family were there to greet our party. He provided us with a tour of the house and surrounding property. I was immeadiately impressed. If you are as lucky as I was to have landed the master bed room, you may not leave the house. There wasn't a bad view from anywhere in the house. The wrap around porch was especially delightful, and provided a lovely of the sun set. The kitchen was very spacious and had ample room for four big guys who thought they were all good cooks.The living room was very comfortable, and allowed for great entertainment. We had a barbecue and the house accomodated several guest comfortably. The plus was the ability to look out of your back window and see several manatees swimming by the boat dock. I have several pictures to proove it. Also seeing Dolphins swimming by was an unexpected surprise, sorry no photos. the hawk perched atop the post was another sight to behold, alothough it's fishing skills far exceeded ours, it made our photos. Traveling was very convienent, there were ample choices of resturants, buffets, clubs and super markets. Everyone in our party felt that we had made the right decision to skip the hotel experience this trip. Most thought that we should just pick a time to get away and return to the house. i took advantage of the pool and the hammock by the Tikki bar, which was newly installed. the layout and description of the property was accurate. Mr. wingate was very accomodating and provided great customer service. i would highly recommend this property to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review