reviews for: listing #69048 - Venice, Florida House rental

Relaxing Sandy Beach Cottage with Bikes & Kayaks
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Venice
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $65 - $130 /nt
    $450 - $995 /wk
    $1,295 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful vacations in Venice Fl

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

Arrive to the cottage on May 25 the house was exactly as described it had everything that you need and it was very clean and comfortable . The owners were very honest , friendly and very helpful regarding any questions about the property.
I would definitely recommend this rental to any of my friend and relatives.
We took the ferry to the private beach , took the dogs to brohard paw beach, woodmere dog park and dinning out in restaurant like sharky's and bonefish grill. We love this place and we will definitely rent this place again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really do provide everything you could need except for your clothes and food!!! But beyond that I think it's there for you! If it's not we'll get for you! Just pack you swimsuits and flip flops and book some time in Venice!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Venice location with private beach!

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I have been to the Venice area to scuba dive several times, and this was our best trip thanks to this lovely cottage. It's convenient to everything that Venice has to offer, and it comes with access to a beautiful private beach. The house is charming and very clean with a spacious yard. The landlords were very helpful and accommodating, and as we were leaving my boyfriend said "let's never stay anywhere else"! Thank you Dee and Jason for a wonderful vacation experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The scuba diving is great in Venice and yes, we fully agree, no-one should stay anywhere but at our house! It's a great beach, the most pristine, natural, unspoiled and unchanged by man in any way! We strive to provide the perfect vacation spot and take good care of our guests. Hope to see you all again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Winter Get Away

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 15, 2014

I arrived at the cottage in mid January and stayed for 2.5 months. The cottage was exactly as shown. Once I got to know my way around, it didn't take long to realize that the cottage is in a very convenient and quiet neighbourhood. Close to all beaches, shopping amenities, and a great dog park.

Both Dee and Jason are great people to rent from, they go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and care-free. I would definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: The house is really in an excellent location to the beach as well as to restaurants and stores! Easy access to everything and we've tried to have all you could need at the house to make it easy for you! Give me a call, send me an inquiry and grab your flip flops! Last minute stays always welcome! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent rental

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: April 29, 2014

This house is the perfect place to stay. It was very comfortable and roomy. Nice and private, especially with the fenced in back yard and screened in patio. Quiet and relaxing.
The house had anything you could possible need to stay including washer, dryer, dishwasher, wifi and many other amenities. The home was easy to find and get into with a garage door opener and or keys.

Dee, the owner was extremely helpful and responsive to any emails or requests.
Will stay again anytime. Highly recommended by my husband and I.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 17, 2013

We found the house very comfortable and well maintained. It is furnished with more than we needed. The ferry and the private sandy and long beach were a big part of the fun. We were traveling with a golden retriever and the fenced in backyard was a big plus. Walking with the dog in this safe neighbourhood and meeting with some friendly neighbours was fantastic. We also enjoyed the dog friendly beach a short drive away (Brohard Beach and Paw Park). We could not ask for more. It was a perfect 2 weeks.

Dee is a great host and always ready to help. Thanks Dee!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just as advertized

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Hi Dee,
We enjoyed staying at your cottage. With so many beaches closeby, we had no issue in vising one beach in the morning and one in the evenining. Kids had a lot of fun. The house is maintained just the way it is advertized. I would say the best deal for the price. Thx again.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great Winter Getaway

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

We rented Dee and Justin’s house in South Venice for the month of January. Our vacation was even better than anticipated. The house was very clean, comfortable and extremely well maintained. The location was great with shopping and restaurants nearby.
Dee had supplied it with everything you could want, including two bikes, two kayaks, 4 beach chairs, beach umbrella, and even beach toys for the kids. The ferry across the intracoastal waterway (runs every 30 minutes) was only a 4 minute drive away. The small ferry had a 15 passenger limit and took only a minute or two to cross to beautiful South Venice beach which stretched for miles. Unlike many other beaches, there is no charge for parking at any Venice beach. (Dee provides the ferry pass with the rental.)
The community was extremely safe and friendly. It was a great area for cycling. More serious cyclists should try the Venetian Waterway Park and Legacy Trail. This is a very popular paved 20 mile cycling/walking trail which you can check on the web. (Starts at nearby Shamrock Park.) We loved Venice and hope to return another year.
Thank you Dee and Jason for helping to make our stay so enjoyable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We really enjoy meeting our guests, many come back every year! We maintain our home really well and are very quick to respond to any issues or needs. The house is such a great area, so much to do and so relaxing, even if you just don't want to do anything at all!

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Awsome cottage

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

We totally enjoyed our stay here. This was meticulously kept and was very comfortable. The king bed was great, I slept like a good baby. It had everything you could possibly need, even though we brought alot of the same stuff. . The kayaks were great. Too hot to ride the bikes though. Lovely dishes and silverware. Was greatful for the washer and dryer.I would recommend this to anyone who wants to enjoy a worry free vacation.Thanks again for sharing this lovely cottage with us. We loved the ferry ride to our own private beach on the Gulf of Mexico.MrsR. Jamestown Ny

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Paradise in south Venice Beach

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

Originally our stay was supposed to be in July, my wife had a terrible accident and we were unable to attend, owners were very attentive to the situation and handled the cancelation and future stay very prompt, I would say family oriented type. It was a pleasure to us to feel that kind of warm welcome. We were a party of 3 adults. Needless to say we never thought to find a full house, all you need to bring is your body and enjoy, it was fantastic. The ferry deal is all fun, very knowledgable captains, you meet many people and enjoy the beach, very nice views, . We also went to the Dog Beach at the public beach, very clean, neat and worth a lot. The pier is always full with people from all over the world for the sunset view which is fantastic. The restaurant is very good ( at the Pier, Sharkys). We rode bicycles, walked around the blocks and after dinner we went several times to have delicious ice cream at the shops in downtown Venice, nice stores. Overall maybe one of the best vacations we had had in times. Thanks Dee-Jason. We left our memories in your Guess book at home. As McArthur said, We will return.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful vacation in paradise!

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at this property. It was exactly as described and very clean. Wonderful
beaches in the area and good restaurants. It was a fabulous vacation in paradise and our hosts were
exceptional. They were nearby and provided excellent customer service. We can't wait to return! Thanks for everything.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

very nice vacation

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

My spouse, our little son (2 1/2) and I had a fun and relaxing vacation in Venice, Florida.
The property is well maintained, everything is very clean and you will find everything you need for a worry free vacation.
The owners were friendly and responded quickly to our questions. The beach was private and very nice, our son enjoyed the little Ferry ride.
We also went to the Myakka River State Park to see Alligators, that was awesome.

We recommended this Cottage to our friends, who stayed there in December and also had a very nice time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

South Venice Vacation

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

We had a fun and relaxing vacation in South Venice over the holidays. The pictures and description accurately depicted the house. The house was comfortable to stay in and had everything we needed and more. The fenced in backyard was great for our dog. The owners were friendly and responded quickly to our questions. South Venice beach was a quick ferry ride away and very private. There were also several other beaches to choose from in the area. Downtown Venice was close by and had several restaurants and shops to choose from. We had a great stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: It is such a pleasure to share our little piece of paradise with others and see that they love it just as much as we do! Hope to see you again next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Grand vacation!

Review submitted: December 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2011

Nicely decorated, comfortable, clean. Large fenced in back yard - totally safe for pets and children - lots of running room. So enjoyable to pick grapefruit and oranges for breakfast, cook dinner on the gas grill and eat on the patio.

Enjoyed the beaches and especially the ferry to Venice beach. Found the best shark's teeth there. Also, went to Manasoto beach and Casperson beach, sunsets over the water are awesome - sun seems to sit on the edge of the water and then slowly sinks.

Landlord was extremely accommodating. Very accessible.

Do recommend having a vehicle as a day at Disneyworld, Myakka State Park and a evening fishing off the jetty completed our stay.

Hope to return for an encore.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We are thrilled that you enjoyed our home and everything Venice and the surrounding area has to offer as much as we do! See you next year! Dee

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review of beach cottage

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

My spouse and I (55+) spent 6 days in this wonderful beach house. It is affordable, well decorated, and very comfortable. It has plenty of room for two people to spread out in, and would also be comfortable for two couples, or a family with one or more children. The owners have provided everything you need, including a well equipped kitchen, linens, and beach gear. The location is very good as shopping, grocery stores, beaches, and wonderful restaurants are only minutes away. It is spotlessly clean, well maintained, and the owner is always reachable to answer your questions or take care of any issues that might arise. It is about 45 minutes from the Sarasota airport, so getting to/from is a breeze. We highly recommend this cottage and would definitely rent it again on our next trip to Venice.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

South venice Vacation

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in South Venice and would consider coming back. The property was accurately described and the pictures represent the property well. Dee responded quickly to our questions and was a pleasure to deal with. The property was perfect for our two dogs with the fenced back yard, and is centrally located for many activities and restaurants.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Two Thumbs Up

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

We were looking for a place close to the gulf and this fit the bill. The cottage was just like the pictures. The bed in the master bedroom was awesome. Fruit trees in the yard provided fresh fruit during our say. Enjoyed shopping in Venice as well as looking for shells and fossilized sharks teeth on the private beach. Close to Sarasota, Englewood and Punta Gorda. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

excellent vacation rental

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

upon arrival the house was more than we expected it was great with a very large fenced yard a great patio very clean and well maintianed the house itself was wonderful the bedrooms were very well decorated and very comfortable the living room was great and the kitchen was mor than we expected the breezeway was a great area to sit out of the sun the three of us that stayed would stay agian on our next visit we went to venice for a wedding and the 1st time in 38 years that our family was able to be in one place at the same time this house was close to everything and allowed us the freedom to entertian new family members as well as old ones the private beach was great the location for shopping or eating out could not have been better we would not think twice about rentig this great house agian and my moms already making plans thank you dee and jason for making a good vacation great and one to remember we brought my 100 yr old grandma up to see everyone and the very small entrance step made this so easy everything was excellent i cant say enough

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

excellent vacation loved the property

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

upon arrival we found the property beyond our expectations it was very clean and well mantianed the location could not have been better the owners were very pleasant to work with and all our needs were met we enjoyed the week we stayed very much as to value this was the best we could have hoped for in comparision to motels or hotels and we felt very much at home it allowed us the freedom to met my nieces new husbands family in a casual setting it was one of the best vacations we ever had thank you dee and jason the private beach was great. we were close to shopping but still in a nice quite area

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review