reviews for: listing #69096 - Fire Island, New York House rental

Fisherman's Delight! A Beautiful Bayside Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Davis Park
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,200 - $2,200 /wk
    $8,000 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Do you love sunsets.......

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

For anyone looking for a local getaway, I highly recommend this vacation rental at Davis Park. I spent a week at this house which was quiet,comfortable,clean, with a great kitchen and conveniently close to the ferry for bringing your belongings and for trips to the mainland. A short walk to the ocean beach and near the grocery store and restaurant provide all that you could want. But my most favorite amenity was the rooftop deck to view the water and most of all the sunsets!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charm, comfort, peace and quiet

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

This charming cottage is close to the ferry, store, bar and restaurant so is very convenient but importantly on a quiet and very well maintained Walk in Davis Park. The beach is minutes walk away. The house is cozy and comfortable inside with a comprehensive kitchen. But the real value of the house is its deck which has sunny and shady areas, outdoor shower, and is less mosquito-y than other areas in Davis Park. Its unique small roof deck offers views over the harbor and bay and is the perfect place to have snacks and a glass of wine after a day on the beach. The owner is so helpful and tries to make sure guests have everything they need. Note though that this Walk and general area in Davis Park is not for "party houses" so if you want to play loud music late into the night - this cottage is not for you! But if you want to relax, grill delicious meals, watch deer walk right next to the property, wake up to the sound of birds and the bay lapping close to the cottage, you'll love the place.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best (small) rental house in Davis Park

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

I've been a guest several times at this lovely Davis Park cottage and I'm always eager to return. The owner keeps the house in immaculate condition and it's furnished, not like a typical beach house, but like a lovely, warm, charming home, with all the amenities. If you are looking for a party house, go elsewhere, but if you want the beach without sacrificing your homey, creature comforts, this is the house for you! It's cozy, it's got privacy; the decks are beautiful; it's steps from the bay or the ocean. It's a place to relax, which is what I do when I'm there. I make full use of the modern kitchen and the herb garden on the back deck. I love to go up the top deck with coffee mug in hand in the morning, and return with a glass of wine at sunset! I've rented other places in Davis Park; this is the one I return to. If you are single, or a couple, or a small family, you can't go wrong!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Davis Park at it's best

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

This was our second experience with HomeAway, and both have been wonderful. This classic, clean, comfortable, "old style" beach house with many modern amenities was absolutely perfect. The owner has gone to great lengths to make you feel like this house has been in your family for decades. The inside is full of so much character and charm you're almost in no rush to get to the beach. Outside, the wrap around deck offers several places to sit whether it's just the two of you or a group, shade or sun. The upper deck is a real treat with views of the bay, perfect for morning coffee or late afternoon appetizers. There are places for everything and everything in it's place throughout the house, and outside. With an outdoor shower, washer and dryer, dishwasher, ceiling fans, it has it all. If you're looking for a "party" house, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy, you will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

best 2bedroom house at davis park!

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

best 2 bedroom house I've stayed in at Davis park.I regret booking early this year and missed out next year I will be going back!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay last year, J. I'm sorry I was unable to accommodate you this season, you were great guests! V.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review