reviews for: listing #69123 - Highlands, North Carolina House rental

Your Dream House Awaits You-Old Edwards Golf-Sleeps 12-14
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Old Edwards Club
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $450 - $495 /nt
    $2,800 - $3,200 /wk
    $12,500 - $12,500 /mth

sort by:

Our favorite house yet!

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

Our family has been coming together in Highlands for nearly 10 years for a week in June. This house met our every need and is in the beautiful Old Edwards Club between Cashiers and Highlands. Temporary membership was well worth doing for all of us--lovely pool , awesome golf course and clubhouse and Grill most enjoyable. The house has room for everyone to spread out, beds the MOST comfy we've ever slept in on vacation, porch-outdoor fireplace the best spot on cool evenings. Debi and ssDavid were most helpful and attentive during our stay-wonderful hosts. We have already reserved our week for 2015!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Nina-so glad you and your family had such a great time and thanks so much for reserving your week already for next summer! L

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous house, great location and beautiful views

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

We recently rented this home for a Highlands wedding we attended. The home was everything promised and more. It was the perfect accommodations for 5 couples. It was conveniently located to Highlands and Cashiers. We would definitely stay at this home again and highly recommend it to others. Thanks, Debi, for answering all of our questions and being so easy to work with!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Christy- it was such a pleasure working with you and your group! So glad you had fun at your wedding at The Old Edwards Inn at The Farm. Hope to hear from you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow!

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

What a beautiful house! We had a great weekend in the mountains and could not be happier with the house the family provided! They are an amazing family that will do anything to make sure you enjoy your trip. I will definitely be using this house in the future!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jeffrey-so glad ya'll had a fabulous time and hope you visit us again. You were a delight to work with also!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay in Highlands Cove

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay our stay in this lovely home located just a few miles out of town in a new, well-kept subdivision. The home was spacious, clean, and well-equipped. The 5 bedrooms easily accommodated our group of 10 (2 families of 5). There are 2 spacious living areas, as well as an outdoor porch with a fireplace. The kitchen was well furnished, including soap, paper towels, and trash bags. The owner was a delight to work with. There was a 2 car garage, and room to park 3 more cars easily. We would highly recommend this home, and would stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Linda-so glad ya'll enjoyed our home and your visit to Highlands. Hope to hear from you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Five Star

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

I rented the house for a management retreat with my co workers. It was all we could have hoped for and more. Beautifully appointed & decorated , private bedrooms and bathrooms for everyone's comfort in a beautiful/peaceful setting.

Debi was wonderful to deal with, quick to respond to questions during the process and all of us could not have been more pleased. So happy in fact we are already looking at our calendars for next year's retreat so we can come back.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Lisa-we hope to hear from you again soon too! Ya'll were a pleasure to deal with & so glad you loved our home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Getaway!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We had a great vacation at this home in the Old Edwards Club. It was everything that was advertised and in a very quiet section of the development. The owner is a great communicator and fantastic to work with, we would rent again and recommend to others.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks Jason-so glad you loved our home. Hope to hear from ya'll again soon! Come on back anytime.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

FANTASTIC AND WANT TO GO BACK!!!

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

The most perfect vacation ever!!! We just returned from our vacation and we are all ready to go back!! The house was PERFECT and EXACTLY as described. We had 11 people in our party and the house offered everything we needed and more including more than enough room for if you needed a break from your group. The porch is FABULOUS and is where we all spent every night hanging out in front of the fireplace. The location was great, closer to Cashiers, but only 10 minutes away from Highlands. The Old Edwards Club was great. Highly recommend doing the temporary membership. The golf course is one of the best in Highlands and the pool is heated and for the most part, we had it to ourselves. The owners are very responsive and have thought about everything to make your stay there enjoyable. There is honestly not enough room for me to accurate describe the house it was so great - clean, big, well stocked, comfortable beds, awesome porch. I would highly recommend this house and the area to anyone interested in going. As for activities, there are a ton of hiking trails, waterfalls and shopping just minutes from you. We went to Cyprus in Highlands and that was fantastic too. Cornucopia in Cashiers is great. If you are going to the area and looking to rent a house, this house is the one for you. Have a great time! We will be returning as soon as we can!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks-so glad y'all had an awesome time & that our home was perfect for your group! Hope you can stay with us again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Experience!!!

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We had a wonderful girls weekend in Highlands, NC staying in this wonderful home. Everything was perfect! The owners are great to work with and extremely prompt on anything you need. We all agreed on the trip that if we were to go back to Highlands we would definitely rent this home again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful spring break

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Let me start by saying, we have not used VRBO before. I was a little hesitate, but Debi had everything so organized and made the experience extremely uncomplicated. Debi, thank you for a great first experience. The listing is very complete and gives you all the information you need. The house is a wonderful home situated in a beautiful setting. The surroundings are nice and the golf course is outstanding. The home is well equipped and makes you feel comfortable. You will not need to bring anything except your clothes and the desire to have a wonderful renters experience. We loved the outdoor sitting area with fireplace and plenty of seating. The beds and beddings are very comfortable. The home is perfectly located between Highlands and Cashiers. It is close to hiking trails, water falls and some wonderful restaurants. I would recommend Whiteside Mountain trail, Sunset Rock and Wolfgangs. You are also relatively close to horse back riding, zip lining and rafting. I would not hesitate recommending this home and/or Debi to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Weekend

Review submitted: December 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

We recently returned from celebrating my mother-in-laws 70th Birthday and we had a great time. The house accomodated all of our needs comfortably (10 adults and 2 children). The house is so well organized and user friendly. We would certainly rent again. Thanks for the hospitality!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wedding Weekend

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

We rented the house for the bridemaids to my daughters wedding. The home was well apointed, comfortable and offered a great setting for the girls.
The Old Edwards Club is beautiful and the prefect golf course for a group get away.
My wife and I would definitely go back again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great birthday celebration

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

My husband and I recently invited several friends to the mountains for a 40th birthday get-a-way. We had such a wonderful time. The home was absolutely perfect, clean, and very well maintained. We are planning to return next year. Thanks so much to the owners for having everything we needed right there at the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Problem after problem

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

This house looked nice enough when we checked in. I suppose the pan under the leaking sink in the powder room should have been a tip off. We experienced a leak under the kitchen sink, a stopped up air conditioner drain that caused the master bedroom floor to buckle to the extent we frequently tripped on it, and a nail head incompletely seated in a stair tread that caused a foot wound. The downstairs air conditioner did not cool well, the dryer did not dry clothes well. The fact that the owner responds promptly to problems such as these does not make up for the hassle of experiencing them.

Owners response: Of course, there are 2 sides to every story. This review is based upon the renter losing his deposit because he brought his dog without permission AND his kids trashed our home. We didn't hear ANY complaints until AFTER I informed him of losing his deposit. Please see our other reviews for the REAL story and accurate condition of our home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

North Carolina Vacation Retreat

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

This home was the perfect place for a family reunion. The open space of the kitchen, dining room and living room -- with adjoining porches -- provided a great place for our family to gather. When we wanted privacy, it was great to have five bedrooms with baths. The owners did everything possible to make our stay perfect -- from initial arrangements, to checking on a repair issue that they had flagged for us before we arrived. We would strongly recommend this home for a get-away in the mountains of western North Carolina, just between the resort towns of Cashiers and Highlands and easy travelling distance to Asheville.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fabulous Home!!!

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

The photos on the website do not do this home justice - it is spectacular!! My family and I were pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness and beauty of this home. The tweens especially enjoyed the bottom level den complete with a large flat screen tv, a fold out sofa and an air hockey table. I would highly recommend staying in this home!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful weekend getaway

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

We recently rented this beautiful home for my 40th birthday weekend getaway with my girlfriends. It was absolutely wonderful! The back porch was perfect for a fire and catching up over a glass (or two) of wine. Plenty of space; comfortable accomodations (LOVE the bed sheets!); in the wonderful mountains of Highlands. Close enough to town for Spa visits and dinner at Cyprus, and great kitchen / bar area to cook in, as well. We didn't want to leave! The owner is great to work with and I absolutely rent again! Hope to come back next year and celebrate!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great birthday weekend!

Review submitted: November 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

Five couples stayed at this home to celebrate a 50th birthday. The description of the home and the beautiful furnishings lived up to the description, and our weekend here was wonderful. The bedrooms were all very comfortable, and each bedroom had a private bathroom. We prepared meals in the spacious kitchen, and really enjoyed sitting on the covered porch enjoying the outdoors while the fire kept us comfortable. Would definitely rent this house again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

Beginning with the rental process through the end of the stay, we couldn't have been happier. The owners are professional and easy to deal with. This home is laid out and appointed perfectly and makes a great getaway for couples or a large family. We had a wonderful time getting away from our hectic city lives and enjoying the serenity this first-class home provides. Looking forward to returning next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fabulous New Home in Old Edwards Golf Club!

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

This home is much bigger than it looks in the picture! We rented this home for a long weekend with another family. It is a gorgeous home with everything anyone could possibly need. The home is brand new and spotlessly clean. It is professionally decorated and has unique pieces of artwork everywhere, giving it added charm. The outdoor fireplace and deck was a fantastic place to hang out. The home is on a very private street with absolutely no traffic so it was very nice to let our children play outside without having to worry about cars racing by. There is a litttle stream next to the home and if the windows are cracked you can hear the water at night which is so peaceful. The home is huge and very well appointed. There are 2 huge master suites with fabulous bathrooms. A very private children's retreat with it's own private bath and another bed/bath on the bottom level. All rooms are spacious and bathrooms are very nice. The home is very well stocked in the kitchen and baths. The linens and bedding were new, clean and high grade. The location is great, right in between Highlands and Cashiers. We had a fantastic weekend here and hope to return very soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review