reviews for: listing #69134 - Fire Island, New York House rental

33 Huron
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean Bay Park
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,000 - $5,000 /wk
    $16,000 - $20,000 /mth

sort by:

Great multi-family getaway home

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We shared this house among two families with college aged kids and it worked out great. The living area is all upstairs, along with one bedroom, but for the most part, everyone's belongings stays in the four bedrooms downstairs, which keeps things contained nicely. The house worked out perfect for us and it was so close to the beach, we could all come and go as we pleased.

Wayne was easy to deal with and even met us back in May so we could get a sneak peak at the house, since it was our first time renting in Fire Island and we were unsure of what we would need to bring with us. He met us at the ferry with his golf cart to help us when we moved in for the week. When we had an issue with the BBQ grill, he was available to remedy the problem.

I would recommend this house to others for a nice, quiet, relaxing week at Ocean Bay Park. The walk to Ocean Beach is lovely, and it only took us about twenty minutes or so. Thoroughly enjoyable week!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great multi-family getaway home

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We shared this house among two families with college aged kids and it worked out great. The living area is all upstairs, along with one bedroom, but for the most part, everyone's belongings stays in the four bedrooms downstairs, which keeps things contained nicely. The house worked out perfect for us and it was so close to the beach, we could all come and go as we pleased.

Wayne was easy to deal with and even met us back in May so we could get a sneak peak at the house, since it was our first time renting in Fire Island and we were unsure of what we would need to bring with us. He met us at the ferry with his golf cart to help us when we moved in for the week. When we had an issue with the BBQ grill, he was available to remedy the problem.

I would recommend this house to others for a nice, quiet, relaxing week at Ocean Bay Park. The walk to Ocean Beach is lovely, and it only took us about twenty minutes or so. Thoroughly enjoyable week!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another wonderful trip to Fire Island.

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

We enjoyed staying at this home again with our children (ages 5 &2). The layout is great. The second floor has the living space which is nice because you feel like you are floating in the trees. My kids colored rocks and shells we collected on the beach while we prepared meals. The ocean view deck is perfect for dining outside.

The commute back and forth from the beach to home is probably 3 minutes at most which is perfect if you need to run back for anything (comes in very handy with little kids). The beach is super private and calm. A lovely atmosphere/vibe.
We also enjoyed walking to Ocean Beach to check out the shops, restaurants, and playground. We loved Rachel's for dessert.

The owner is wonderful to work with. Wayne is super helpful and easy going. He made the stay effortless.

Fire Island is an amazing place to visit. It forces you to relax, enjoy barefoot walks and take in the ocean air.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing home for family or friends

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

Really nice house a few houses down from the beach! The home is totally equipped with anything you would need for a weekend and is located in a nice area of Fire Island.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun with a big family

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

This was a great big house by the beach - perfect for an extended family vacation. The best thing about the house is that it is 3 from the beach and you can see the ocean from the deck.

We had plenty of room for 3 generations with 5 small kids under 6, 2 grandparents and some aunts and uncles. We did bring our pack 'n plays for the babies, but otherwise the sleeping rooms are very flexible. There is one large bedroom with 4 twin beds and then 4 more bedrooms each with two twin beds. The 2 1/2 baths inside plus the outside shower made coming and going from the beach with this crowd easy.

This is not a fancy house, but it was terrific for our big crowd and it fit our budget. It comes with everything you need to enjoy your beach vacation. We came by train and ferry and only packed our clothes and some of our food for the week. The house was equipped with:
* great deck with a grill and seating for 12 - 15.
* two bikes with locks
* big wagon for getting around fire island
* lots of beach chairs and umbrellas
* some boogie boards and beach toys
* crayons/colored pencils and plenty of decks of cards in the house
* tv/wireless
* owner supplies dishwasher and kitchen soap/sponges/supplies as well as washing machine detergent and a starter supply of paper goods for the week.
* all of the appliances were new or in very good condition which made cooking and clearing up easy.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good times..,

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

We had an lovely time staying at this house. You feel like you are floating in the trees and there are beautiful views of the ocean. The beach is about a 3  minute walk away making trips back and forth easy especially if traveling with kids as we were. The house is very roomy and the two balconies are great for relaxing. The smaller balcony was the perfect place to watch the sunset in the evening while the larger one was great for meals. 
The owner was a pleasure to deal with. He was very easy to communicate with and made the entire experience enjoyable. We had a question during our stay and it was easy to get in touch with him which was reassuring. 
  Fire island is a beautiful and magical  place. The pace of living is a great break from the city. It was wondeful to hear the ocean lull us to sleep at night. Overall our family and friends had a great time and made wonderful memories. We look forward to returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation Rental

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This was a great rental property. It was very charming with exceptional views of the beach. It is located in a great location only a couple a houses away from the beach. Plenty of room for people to sleep, and only a short walk from the center on ocean bay park. I and my guests had a great memorial day weekend in this house. The owner was a very nice person and a pleasure to deal with.I would definitely rent it again!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to go with adult friends

Review submitted: December 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

This was our second year at this house and the transision in and out was perfect. The communication with the owner was great. He was right on top of any problems and fixed them in a timely fashion. My one problem from 2010 to 2011 was that there was a lot of things left in the house like food. There was hardly any room for our things. Coming into it in 2011 that area was cleaned up and there was plenty of room. From 201 to 2011, the house was much cleaner coming into it. It still is a little cob webs here and there, but overall, it was pretty clean. But please fix the windows (doors) in the dinning room. It would bring in so much more air flow. It can get very hot upstairs.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review