reviews for: listing #69163 - Lake Lure, North Carolina Cabin rental

Lakefront Mountain Cabin
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Riverbend
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $250 /nt
    $800 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

The perfect getaway

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

What a wonderful place this is! Beautiful cabin with everything you may need for your stay! The canoe, the deck, the view, the grill outside. Just perfect. The community is amazing. We have enjoyed tubing down the river, relaxing by the water, swimming in the swimming hole! The little beach is beautiful and well cared for. Do not forget to visit Chimney Rock. Very convenient to the grocery store as well, which was a blessing. The owners are super nice! We hope to be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Vacation Getaway!!!

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 26, 2014

We had an amazing time at this beautiful cabin. It had many great features. We loved having coffee on the deck in the morning and wine at night. We utilized the grill, the canoe and sat on the dock. We visited the nearby Chimney Rock, Ashville, and Charlotte. We took our dogs to the old swimming hole for their very first swimming experience and got so many photos and videos to cherish the memories. We look forward to visiting again next year!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love This Cabin!

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 28, 2014

This was our 4th year staying in the cabin. Absolutely love this place. So cozy and peaceful. Love sitting on the deck and looking at the lake. Our 2 dogs came along as usual and they love walking through the neighborhood. Very convenient to Ingles, Lake Lure, and Chimney Rock. Hoping to be there again nice year. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Cabin in the woods

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

This property was as great as expected. The house was spacious, well decorated, and very clean. We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening. The lake was very peaceful, and we enjoyed taking the canoe out for a stroll. It is close to Lake Lure which was a great site to visit. We have stayed at other cabins in the area, and this one was by far the best!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A beautiful log cabin!

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

The property in the subdivision of River Bend was beautiful. The cabin was amazing! Equipped with everything we need to have two families stay there and very very clean! Both lakes in the subdivision were fantastic for swimming and fishing. We took advantage of the canoe and caught some fish! This cabin was everything I expected and more! Thank you for such a great stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing inside and outside

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

This spacious log cabin on a private lake is even better in real life than in pictures online. We will be back and will tell everyone we know to come here and enjoy this amazing place! If we could stay forever we would. Quiet, beautiful and near great tourist spots. Very private and safe. First-class all the way. Thanks for a great respite in North Carolina.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved our time here

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

We loved our time here. We tried fishing tried the canoe, walked the trails, did zip lining and talked on the balcony all morning. Thank you so much for letting us stay. We enjoyed it here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A lovely cabin

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

We didn't have the weather we were hoping for.. but it didn't not deter us from striking out in a different direction each day. Enjoyed Chimney Rock and Lake Lure Boat tour and 9 holes at Lake Lure Golf. A lovely cabin with everything one would need.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent winter vacation

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

We went to Chimney Rock with our girls and they had lots of fun. The cabin is beautiful and has everything a family needs for a long stay. We would like to come back for the summer.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

We came for a winter Christmas vacation. On the first day we went to eat at a diner, then we went to a river walk trail which was pretty neat. The Second day we just enjoyed the cabin and did some fishing. We really enjoyed the cozy fireplace. On our last day we went to Moonshine Mountain and did some snow tubing. That was a lot of fun. Thank you for letting us stay in your home. It was truly a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Family get away

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We came for a pre- Christmas vacation. The fire was so cozy especially on the 26 degree Christmas Eve! Fishing was great.... on day 2, Pop caught a 20 -inch bass. The view from the porch and the nature trail/ waterfall were really enjoyable. Hoping to come back in the spring or summer to explore further. This is a great family getaway for us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect place!

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

Had a great time, this is a great location and close to everything. We will be coming back! The double doors leading to the back deck are amazing! It was 70's on Friday sleeting rain on Sunday!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mirror lake

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

It was all and more than we had hoped for. The view was beautiful. The cabin was well equipped, it was well maintained and clean. I had a reason to call the owner with a special request and she was more than accomandating which was above and beyond my request. I hope to stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love This Cabin!

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 22, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the cabin and still love, love, love it! Took our two dogs again as they love it also. It is just the perfect place to get away and relax. The cabin has always been clean, neatly decorated, and accommodating. Love grilling out there and Ingles has a great choice for cookouts. Just wish we could bring that lake view home with us! We definitely plan on returning for visit number 4.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

great home and location

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Came up on a Friday by myself and my 2 dogs. The drive was nice and only a little over 2 hours from Columbia. Had a few friends come up for the weekend. Too bad it rained for 3 days straight and we didn't really get to do much but stay at the house, but it was still a good time. The weather was nice Monday through Wednesday and I finally got to spend some time outside. I had planned to fish a lot so I wondered if there were any fish in the lake. There was a huge school of bream around the dock. I would estimate there were anywhere from 25-40 fish around the dock at any given time. I decided not to catch them because they were too entertaining. It was more fun to feed them. Also saw some bass but was never able to catch any. I never got to try out the canoe. I went to grab it and flip it over almost grabbed a snake that was halfway under it. I quickly backed away, then looked around and saw more snakes around it I didn't see at first. They were using it as shelter from the rain I suppose. Tried again the next few days and they were always around the canoe. Finally on my last day I decided to try and scare the snakes away, but it rained all day and my last chance to use the canoe had passed, which was pretty disappoining.
Of the 7 days I was there, only 3 days did it not rain. I doubt this was normal, but nevertheless, a game room downstairs with pool table/dartboard/ping pong table would have made the rainy days/nights better (at least on the days my friends were there).
The house itself is very nice and all the amenities were there. The furnishings were nice and appliances were all very good. The deck is huge, and the grill was awesome. Ingles is not far away and was surprisingly big with lots of stuff I didn't think they would have. I did have some trouble finding an ATM machine so make sure you bring cash before you get there. I grilled out pretty much every day/night but there were some nice looking restaurants right on the lake that looked really good. All in all it was a very good trip, despite the weather, and I didn't want to leave. I would definately recommend to just about anyone... especially if you love the lake or the mountains.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The idea of the game room downstairs is something that we have planned. Rain has been an issue in the Carolinas, and Georgia over the last few months. We keep all of the vegetation well trimmed around the property. Thank you for your review.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Getaway

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Great family getaway! The listing of the cabin is exactly what you get. We were pleasantly surprised at how clean the accomodations were. We had a couple of rainy days and the owners provided a book with suggestions of things to do. We all enjoyed the use of the canoe on Mirror lake behind the property. Chimney Rock is just miles away and a must do. We would definately return in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Excellent cabin, location, would definitely stay again!!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

We had our "mini-moon" of 2 nites here at the cabin. It was perfect. Great location, quiet, private, clean, had all the amentities that we needed. My only complaint is we wanted a later check out than 10am. We contacted the owner and they responded right away, tried to see if the cleaning crew could come later, but couldn't and they had another check in. Totally understandable. It has a great private dock and if we had been there long enough would have definitely used the plastic boat in the basement and taken it out! Was really great. HIGHLY recommend. And that comes from a person who worked in hotels for years. Trust me, you will get what is described and more.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

We love the NC Mountains

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the cabin and would highly recommend it. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed and more to make our stay comfortable. We loved the back porch and enjoyed our morning coffee there each day. We will certainly return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Vacation Place

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Lake Lure Cabin....it will not be the last as we plan on staying there every year. There is nothing better than your early morning choice of brew being enjoyed on the deck overlooking Mirror Lake. It is so peaceful there. I really appreciate the fact that we could take our two "girls" (dogs) with us. They just loved lying on the deck and looking at the lake. The cabin is equipped very well and the grill cooks some fantastic food! I can't say enough about how much this cabin makes a vacation so memorable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Hidden Treasure

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

What a great place to get away and rejuvenate. Very peaceful setting, clean cabin with everything you need for an extended stay. Will definitely be back!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful Lake Front Cabin

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

Before I started the long process of looking online for a vacation home for the weekend, I decided that I wanted a mountain cabin on a small lake. It should have a porch overlooking the lake for a quiet cup of coffee or tea. It also needed a canoe at the dock in front of the house for a lovely time communing with nature on the lake. I found this house near Lake Lure. It was all I had wanted and more. It is very tastefully decorated and spotless. It is warm and inviting, including a well stocked kitchen.The porch was great as was the canoe. Thanks for sharing this lovely home with us. We ate at Larkins on the Lake downstairs--great food and wonderful view of lake and mountains.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

clark, charlotte nc

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We had a great time. Awesome views, cabin was in fantastic shape. Everything except the food is provided by the owners. Great back poarch and view of the lake. Extreamly quite. Kids had a fantastic time. Caught a few fish at the lake. Thanks for having a canoe available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

Had a fantastic stay! Cabin was much more than what we had expected. The views were incredible...peaceful and serene! My only complaint was that our visit was too short! When able to getaway, we won't look anywhere else!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Another Excellent Stay

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Having been over a year since our last stay, we would have expected at least a little wear and tear on this cabin, but everything was as we remembered. There was a welcome addition of a few rocking chairs to the living room for more seating, as well as a good supply of washcloths this time!

The owners were more than accommodating of any requests and all rental information was provided in a timely and concise manner. They even worked with my in-laws to arrange a special surprise for our anniversary weekend. My mother-in-law said the owners could not have been nicer or more helpful.

The cabin was exceptionally clean and full of conveniences like hand soap, dish and laundry detergent, and trash bags.

There is a take-out place called Star 64 just outside the entrance to the neighborhood that was quite good. It's only open a few nights a week. Other than that, Larkin's is great for a nice meal and the grill underneath (Lake View) is good for lunch.

Renting this cabin is truly a no worries experience. You will not be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

We could have stayed another week

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

My husband, and teenage children had a wonderful time on our vacation. Mirror Lake, where this house is located, was quiet and fun for the kids. The house was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was very workable and we cooked several nights. There is a nature trail just down the hill from the property that leads to a large stream. The house is a short drive to Lake Lure and Chimney Rock. It took us about an hour to get to Asheville and about an hour 45 min to get to Grandfather Mountain. There was so much to do around us that sometimes we were out all day! We could have spent an entire other week just lounging around the beautiful porch. We will stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderful Escape

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

We recently spent 4 nights at this lovely home and had a wonderful time. Very relaxing, peaceful, and quiet and will definitely return (hopefully many times). The home is even nicer than the pictures and not to worry....there are washcloths now and plenty of other amenities. We can't wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

40th birthday celebration!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

We went here for my husbands 40th Birthday and stayed 3 nights. The cabin was beautiful and immaculately clean. It was well stocked with amenities. I would absolutley recommend this to anyone. I was very pleased at the display of christianity throughout the house! My family had a wonderful trip and plan to return. Thanks to the Hernadez's for helping create wonderful memories for us all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

What a great escape!

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2010

We were looking for a great place to escape from everyday life and spend some quality time together. This place was great and the cabin was perfect. The description was spot on and it exceeded all expectations. The owner had great communication prior to the visit and if there was a problem they gave several options for contact. I will definitely recommend this property to my friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

2nd honeymoon

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

You never know if the pictures you see on these rental sites are "true to life" but I can assure you they are at this location. It was just a private location with everything you could ask for. The community beach is great for family and who doesn't love being able to throw a fishing line off their own private dock! This home was inviting from the moment we entered and will now be the back drop to a very romantic get away for our 25Th wedding anniversary/second honeymoon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Awesome Vacation

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Can not begin to say enough good things about this property. Perfect vacation for my husband and I and our three boys. The house was beautiful, clean, and well-appointed. Although it rained everyday, my family thouroughly enjoyed ourselves and the nature walk in the communtity provided our on personal waterslide due to the rise in water level. We have been to the area many times, but this was truly the nicest place we have ever stayed.
We are hoping to rent again next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Lake Lure Cabin Property #298307

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

The week my family spent here was wonderful and was in by far the cleanest, most comfortable and truly represented property we have ever rented. Read the listing on this property and it is all that you read AND MORE - the photos don't do it justice. Do not be disappointed because it is not on Lake Lure proper. This little lake is as beautiful as any lake and truly just like a mirror. (Also, the canoe and related equipment is top notch!) And location, location, location! It is close to the grocery, local produce stands, Chimney Rock, and of course just a couple of miles from Lake Lure. The boat rentals on the lake were our favorite activity and so reasonably priced that we were able to do that twice. Also tops on our list was day hiking and 2 trips to Asheville. Many thanks to the owners who happily answered all of my questions before our trip. We hope to be back next year or perhaps in the fall - I can only imagine the beauty the changing colors of the leaves must provide from this lovely, private spot. (P.S. Super kitchen for cooking and GREAT GAS GRILL!)
Janet
Marietta, GA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great cabin with much to offer.

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The cabin was very spacious and well- appointed. Everything was very cleaned and well-maintained. The extra amenities were great (XBox 360, dvd player in loft upstairs, extra large grill, good selection of movies & games, canoe etc.) Everything was as pictured from the photos. We were not disappointed! The neighborhood was very quiet and offered several enjoyable activities such as a swimming hole, a nature trail, and a beach. We would definitely recommend this rental to a friend! I was glad that I had read a previous review that recommended bringing washcloths. That was a very helpful piece of advice! Some activities our family enjoyed nearby was going to Chimney Rock, dining at Larkins on the Lake and going over to Asheville (about an hour away). One day, we visited the Biltmore House and on another day, we did an awesome thing called Navitat which was a 3 hour zipline tour through the canopies of the trees (this was located about 20 miles outside of Asheville). The Lake Lure area was beautiful. We would definitely visit this area in the future and would plan on staying again in this rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Very nice cabin in Lake Lure area.

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 12, 2010

This cabin is a very new cabin with all the needed amenities. You are about 5 minutes from Lake Lure. We used the Lake Lure Cabin as a home base to explore the area. A lot of our activities were rained out, but the cabin allowed us a very relaxing place to stay.

The cabin was very clean. We had all the utensils and appliances that we needed when we stayed in to eat. I would recommend this cabin to those visiting the area.

I recommend exploring the several small towns in the area. We liked Hendersonville as much as anywhere. It has a really neat downtown and several good restaurants. The Lake Lure boat tour should also be put on your to-do list while visiting the area. However, Chimney Rock State Park was a little gimmicky. Nice view, but we felt like it was a tourist trap of some sorts.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

excellent

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

This cabin is beautifully decorated, clean,and comes with all the comforts of home. The photos listed accurately reflect the description of the cabin. The property is very well maintained. This cabin is actually located on Little Mirror Lake rather than Lake Lure. We did not see that in the description, but we may have overlooked it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Lake Lure Cabin

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

The cabin is beautiful, clean and well-appointed. The view from the back deck is spectacular. The Lake Lure area is a wonderful place to vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

WOW WOW WOW! We have rented extensively from the coast to the Mountains and this is one of the few times that the property has actually been even better than the pictures. Everything was clean and well maintained and all amenities were as promised. The setting is so serene and relaxing that you can literally feel your troubles slipping away. Peaceful does not even begin to describe the views and lack of noise. The road to the cabin is gravel, but a paved section in front makes for easy loading and unloading of the car. We really enjoyed paddling around the smaller lake in the provided canoe. The beds were very comfortable and the furnishings were of good quality, showing little wear. Satellite TV, internet, and large flat screen were all appreciated. The owner was very accommodating of our questions and requests and there were even fresh flowers on the table for us to enjoy. One complaint (if you could call it that) would be that there were no washcloths in the entire house. Plenty of towels, but you might want to bring some washcloths just in case. Thanks for a great stay! We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review