reviews for: listing #69180 - Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia House rental

Super savings for July 14-19 90.00/night
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  MountainView Shores
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $135 - $225 /nt
    $675 - $1,275 /wk
    $2,575 - $4,595 /mth

sort by:

More than we expected

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

Hello, I must say we were very impressed with Redwood Cove. The pictures that are posted don't do the place justice ,it's so much more than we expected. We really appreciated all the extras, the personal touches that make it more like a home than a rental. I being a cook , was surprised how equipped the kitchen was, even a coffee grinder... We have a busy schedule but will be recommending your place to friends as a place to stay.
We now feel like we have our own place at the lake.
Thanks so much.
Daisy and Fred

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Were so glad you had a good time. We have heard about the pictures before but we just haven't had the time to change them. We hope to have you return for a stay when your schedule permits.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Vacation Property

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Our week stay in July at Redwood Cove could not have gone any better. The house itself was very comfortable, clean and well maintained. The best part about the house itself? Everything actually worked! We've rented vacation properties in many areas of the country over the years and it isn't always necessarily so. Obviously the owners of Redwood Cove take great pride in ownership of their lakefront vacation home.

We thoroughly enjoyed all the amenities this property has to offer; the 2 decks at the house, fire pits, barbeque grill, plenty of outdoor seating, DVD & music entertainment center, deck and dock at the lake (with power/lights) and the boat house with lift - which accomodated our boat very nicely. The subdivision (Mountain View Shores) even has a private boat ramp only a couple of blocks from the house to launch your boat. If you don't have a boat, there are also several boat rental businesses on the lake near the house where you can rent everything from ski boats, fishing boats, pontoon boats, personal watercraft, kayaks and canoes to tubes and ski and fishing equipment.

Even if you don't have or rent a boat for your stay at Redwood Cove, the deck and dock are excellent for fishing and swimming in the large cove. The water is very clean and the fish are plentiful.

In our opinion, Redwood Cove is an excellent vacation spot for families with children, but also for just about anyone of any age who would like to enjoy the mountain setting and everything Smith Mountain Lake and the surrounding communities have to offer. Our 2 adult sons from Florida joined us for our week at the lake and they both had a great time and want to go back - and they are pretty hard to please! We will certainly be renting Redwood Cove again in the future. We've found our perfect waterfront setting for rest, relaxation and lots of water based activities we enjoy.

Mike & Patti

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Redwood Cove was a perfect getaway for my family. The house was beautiful and we felt at home and can't wait to get back there next year. This was our first family vacation to Smith Mountain and we plan to go back every year.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy you all enjoyed your stay at Redwood Cove. Thanks for your response.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Week of Relaxation!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Redwood Cove was the perfect place to stay for our vacation to SML. The house is located in a private cove that is quiet and beautiful and the water was clean and calm. We really enjoyed spending time on the dock during the day and in the evenings. We especially enjoyed sitting by the firepit and looking at the stars in the sky. The house itself was well-maintained and the description was accurate. We were so happy to find the children's toys, toddler swing and water accessories (rafts, life jackets, etc). We can't wait to come back next year!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, Every year we try to add something new to the property to be enjoyed by all. We look forward to having you as a returning guest.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Vacation Home

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This was our first trip to the lake. The house was great. We enjoyed the private dock, tubes for floating and even DVD's and board games for some family time. We roasted marshmallows in the fire pit right next to the dock. It was like our home away from home. Definitely recommend this vacation home!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Perfect Weekend on the Lake!

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

We just returned from our stay at Redwood Cove over Labor Day weekend and already miss our cabin on the lake! We could not have asked for more. The location, dock, amenities and weather were perfect! We can't thank you enough for providing such a beautiful house for our long weekend away. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

I'm coming back

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

Our stay was great. Highlight "Our son caught a 7 lb stripped Bass off the dock with his spiderman fishing pole".
Home had a great selection of DVD's for family viewing in the loft. 2 firepits pending the mood we enjoyed all the areas, morning coffee lakeside deck, evening wine by the lounginh on the porch, S'mores by the firepit, and relaxing on the large deck right on the water. swimming was awesome and the lights and hoist for our boat made coming and going a snap, esp after a day of skiing and tubing.
Home was clean and private, set back from the road with a cricle drive on a cul de sac. Great for the kids and area very for walks as well as scenic.

Can't say enough.

Josie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review