reviews for: listing #692 - Kihei, Hawaii Condo rental

Great Value, Great Location, Across From World Class Beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Maui Vista Resort
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $85 - $155 /nt
    $595 - $1,085 /wk

sort by:

Very nice Condo, Great Location

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

Very nice place in a nice building. While we did not take advantage, there is much to do at the condo, including tennis and swimming (we were too busy running around the island!) Concierge arranged our Road to Hana tour, which we enjoyed. Also did the bike ride off Haleakala after sunrise. Both tours picked us up right in front of the building.
Nice shops and restaurants nearby, and the beach right across the road is excellent. Having the key in hand before we arrived was comforting, especially since we checked in late.
Main bed in bedroom was very comfy, sofa bed was a sofa bed- but my boys said it was OK. Being able to shop and cook some helped the budget, and laundry facilities inside the unit are a big plus.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable and reasonable

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay, neat & clean, comfortable, close to everything, and reasonable in cost. Owners are very nice people and responsive. This is evident in the time they have taken to supply not only basic necessities in a condo, but many extras to make your stay enjoyable; they are clearly motivated to add to your total experience by recommending local attractions and dining establishments - very much appreciated! There are too many water activities to name, but I will recommend a non-water activity: Warren & Annabelles in La Haina on Front St., a very funny "magic" show that's worth your time (see Warren himself).

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We Didn't Want To Leave

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

We stayed at Arlene and Jasper's condo and it was absolutely WONDERFUL! So clean, comfortable, and beautiful. We were so sad to leave, it truly was a home away from home! Everything was there that you needed. We enjoyed the short walk to the beach--the sunsets were magnificent. The mornings out on the lanai drinking coffee, just seeping in the sunshine and feeling the trade winds will be sorely missed. We hope to stay here again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Conveniently located, Well maintained, Smooth process for check-in/check-out

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

We were in unit 1322 in June for approximately a week, along with our kids (5 and 2 years old). The unit was perfect for our needs. It was conveniently located and well maintained. Ross & Arlene have made the process for renting their place seamless. They were very responsive/helpful over email for any questions I had prior to coming here. I would recommend this place whole-heartedly to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Our first time in Maui. We really liked the location of Arlene & Ross's condo. It is right across from the beach and everyday we were able to put in some beach time. It was nice that the condo had the backpack type beach chairs,a cooler, beach towels, and umbrella's for us to use, we took full advantage of that.

I was really happy that we chose this condo that had two a/c units. The bedroom is nice with lots of hanging space in the closet. If you need your bedroom to be completely dark at night,you need to bring an eye mask, there is a safety light outside the bedroom unit that keeps the room fairly lit up. No way to fix this, other than eyeshades. But I slept like a baby due to the a/c in the bedroom. Loved the fact that condo unit is non smoking.

Every morning we had coffee on the lanai, and then walked down to the Kihei cafe, they had wonderful breakfast, big portions, we shared one plate everyday, yes it was that good that we ate there 5 times:)

Everyday we walked to breakfast or foodland the grocery store. Like i said great location, don't really need a rental car if your not planning on leaving the area, we used our rental car 4 times out of the 9 days we were there.

Condo was well stocked with everything I could think of, we didn't use the stove but we used the fridge and the microwave. We also did one small load of laundry, it was nice that washer and dryer was located in the unit.( we still overpacked) I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, in fact this will be the first place I look when going back. The grounds were kept up very well and everything was clean.

We had a wonderful time in paradise and would recommend this place to any couple it's ideal. Can't wait to come back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unit 1322 Maui Vista Kehei Maui Hawaii

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

For the month of March 2012, my wife and I who are both retired, stayed at Unit 1322 Maui Vista in Kehei. What an enjoyable and relaxing stay. The check in at Maui Vista was very strait forward. We found the apartment to be spotless and inviting. There are two ceiling fans, one in the bedroom, and one in the living room. The owners have thoughtfully placed air conditioners in both the living room and bedroom however we did not even need to use the air conditioners as the ceiling fans were very efficient.

The owners have also thoughtfully provided all the ancillary items that most visitors would need for a beach stay such as beach chairs, umbrellas and coolers. The apartment is accessible by an elevator and there is convenient access to the parking lot. The adjoining tennis courts are modern and we often enjoyed a relaxing dip in one of the three swimming pools. The barbecue facilities are cleaned each morning and caretakers and cleaners are busy on the property each day.

We believe that Maui Vista suits visitors of all ages, it is ideally located to three primary beaches in the Kehei district and as well, shopping, both super market and
specialty shops are within easy walking and driving distances.

Over all, we found the owners to be very responsible with respect to the enjoyment and comfort of their guests while staying at Maui Vista and we would certainly look forward to returning to Maui Vista, unit 1322 for another holiday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Value, Great Location

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

We stayed at this property with our two boys, aged 11 and 12. The condo was well appointed with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. The unit was very clean and well stocked. There are two air conditions (one in the bedroom and one in the living area) for anyone who needs to escape the heat. There are ceiling fans in the same rooms to keep the air flowing. The bed was very comfortable. There is a peek a boo view of the ocean from the lanai. The beach is a two minute walk from the condo, and there were beach chairs, toys, an umbrella, etc. in the unit for our use.

One thing I would mention is the parking procedure. Upon arrival, you check in to the office and they give you a parking pass that is to be displayed on your rear view mirror. We would take the pass down when we went out so that our vehicle didn't scream out tourist to everyone. Upon coming back one night we forgot to hang the parking pass on the mirror and promptly found a citation on the vehicle. Out of our 13 night stay, we only forgot one time, and immediately had to go to the office to clear everything up. While it is our fault for forgetting to display the pass, if the office would come up with a system of licence plates being registered, that would alleviate some stress.

Dealing with the owners of this condo was seamless. Everything was explained thoroughly before our arrival. The keys came to our home with a stamped return envelope for easy mailing of keys back to the owners. The information package explained everything we needed to know about the condo rules, maps, and any activities available on the island, along with contact numbers in case of emergencies.

Overall, the condo was a relaxing, comfortable place for us to come home to each night and we would absolutely stay there again if this unit is available the next time we are in Kihei. Thanks Ross and Arlene for opening your home to us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Holiday Heaven

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

This is our second stay and we will definitely keep returning as long as possible. My husband is disabled and finds walking very limited and difficult, therefore, the nearness to the beach is fantastic for us.(Less than 10 minutes for him and under 5 for me) A modified wheelchair which will transport a handicapped person over sand to enoy the ocean is available for use from the lifeguard station. Our unit is very well and thoughtfully stocked and is kept up and clean. The owners are very friendly and approachable and open to any suggestions or concerns. The condo site is very attractive and meticulously clean, as are the pool and barbecue areas. We've found that people are very friendly both in the Vista and when we're out walking or just sitting, overlooking the ocean. Everyone is just happy to be there. We do not eat out much, but for those that enjoy restaurant eating there are many eateries, including a Denny's and a Pizza Hut only two blocks away. We treated ourselves to a visit to 'Mama's Fish House' about half an hour's drive from the Vista and although very expensive, has the best fish entrees we've ever tasted. Once each trip is a must. We also took a helicopter trip to see Haleakala from the air and it was amazingly beautiful. The beach is delightful and the waves, which are pretty exciting sometimes, are enjoyed and challenged by folks of all ages, sizes and shapes. It is busy, but not overcrowded even on weekends. There are major supermarkets close by (Foodland and Safeway) and Costco is about half an hour drive. All in all, it's a dream get-away for us and because of our limitations, we feel safe and secure. Aloha L&A

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BEAUTIFUL

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2011

My soul purpose for the trip was to give my two granddaughters that mean the world to me a great time in Maui, and this trip was not a disapointment to any of us. The Condo was very nice and the fact that it had air conditioning in both the bedroom and frontroom was a big help. The Condo had all the things we needed and all worked. I cooked most of our meals and the dishes were nice and made us feel like home and that was great. I used all the dryer sheets so I replaced just like I would at home. I was 100% pleased and will go again. Thank you again. Cheryl

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

We are back home and have a winter full of memories. The condo was clean and well stocked and included a PUR water filter which improves the drinking water quality greatly. The flat screen TV is nice for evenings when we were tired after being out and about all day. Got to Mama's fish house for lunch this trip and found it to be well worth cost as the food and service were excellent. We would recommend this unit to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!!!

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2001

I stayed at this condo at Maui Vista for 10 days in Oct, and what a great place. Everything was spic and span, so neat and clean, and very well furnished. The washer/dryer and the beach chairs came in very handy. The pictures posted and the description given were true-to-life, and beach was so close, just across the street. I would stay here in a minute, should I have the opportunity to visit Maui again.
The owners were very helpful when I was making arrangements to rent the condo. I did not rent a car, and there were restaurants nearby, and a grocery within walking distance.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable with everything you need

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

The condo was very well equipped, very clean and very comfortable. All arrangements were simple. Everything in the condo was good quality and worked well. The location in S. Kihei is very convenient and central and though we didn't use the nearby beach, we traveled up and down the coast so we were thankful to stay at a place that was close to everything. We got what we expected as per the description and more. Ross and Arlene were very helpful and told us everything we needed to know. My only negative would be that when you sat on the balcony you could hear the traffic from the road. I would definitely recommend this condo to a friend!

Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent place to stay, great location, comfortable accommodations and very helpful owner

Review submitted: December 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

We've stayed at this condo twice now and both times we've been extremely pleased. The location cannot be beat as it is right in the heart of Kihei and across the street from a very nice beach (Charley Young). The condo is very clean and cheery and we love having air conditioning in the bedroom and living room. It is nice that there are little extras left behind either by other guests or provided by the owner like garbage bags, condiments and spices, laundry detergent and lots of beach chairs, umbrellas and coolers. The lanai has a great view of the west Maui mountains and we find we sit there alot in the morning drinking coffee watching the sun rise. The condo association grounds are very well maintained, the landscaping is very nice and neat and the pools and tennis courts are in great shape. As long as we continue to vacation in Maui, we'll be repeat customers at this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review