reviews for: listing #69367 - New Paltz, New York House rental

River Haven
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $375 - $500 /nt
    $2,500 - $2,800 /wk
    $9,000 - $9,500 /mth

sort by:

Peaceful and fun!

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

Laurie was such a welcoming, amazing host! It was such a pleasure having her and her fabulous animals next door. I stayed at the cottage with my kids and family friends. The children all loved feeding her chickens and petting and currying the donkey and horse. We all loved the fresh eggs for breakfast! The kitchen was well stocked with everything you needed. It was a pleasure to just sit with a good book and watch the river. My kids loved exploring the river banks and watching the birds. The location of the cottage was fantastic, close to hiking and to town. We plan to be back! Thanks so much, Laurie!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet, clean, well-supplied family getaway.

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

Our family and guests were all comfortable and happy here. Great family spaces and private spaces inside; and wonderful outdoor atmosphere. We used the home for the week of West Point graduation and were very happy with it.
Laurie Willow is easy to work with and close by.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic and in great taste. Comfortable too!

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

Impeccable and comfortable. My family stayed there and loved it. Airy, with a lovely view at the end of a country lane.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Cottage, fabulous owner!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

This cottage is so charming and unique- you will not find anything like it. Laurie Willow is a terrific owner who cares deeply about the house, all of its benefits, and making sure you have a one of a kind stay. My friends and I got to check out the beautiful horses next door and her chickens as well! We received fresh eggs in the morning from her for omelets. While at the house we created a warm fire, cooked homemade meals in her spectacular kitchen, watched the ducks in the river from the deck, and made a snowman following a storm. The house is great for any group. Just what we were looking for. Five star rating and hoping to come again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing! Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

This cute little cottage is perfect for a short weekend or extended stay! Will definitely be coming back! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our new favorite vacation home

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

I've stayed at several VRBOs over the years and rank this as a top notch VRBO experience.

This was such a nice place to vacation. My family stayed the week of Thanksgiving, when weather was cold, windy, and a little rainy. When we weren't enjoying the great outdoors, we warmed ourselves in this really cozy home and also enjoyed the company of the family farm animals next door! From the dining area are sweeping views of the yard, a winding river, and woods-- one couldn't ask for better seclusion, nature, and tranquility while drinking coffee and relaxing. One day we saw a pair of bald eagles flying close to the yard and on another day a hawk. I never knew we'd have such company in New Paltz!

The landlord was polite, professional, and helpful. She is someone who we hope to do business with again one day.

Pick this as your next vacation rental and you won't be disappointed, regardless of the time of year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home with a Great View

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

Beautiful well-maintained home with a great view of the river. We really enjoyed the mornings watching the wildlife. My 8 year old grandaughter had the best time feeding carrots to the horses next door. We ate most of our meals in and cooking was a pleasure in such a well equipped and large kitchen. If the situation arises where we need to rent a home again in the area, we would not hesitate to rent this one again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Solid, relaxing stay on Hudson

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

Very nice. Nice place and setting, with a neighborly owner to assist. Easy access to towns around there. A few minor light bulb/battery issues, but basically corrected.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall Upstate

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Every spring and fall my family goes upstate several times to do some hiking and relax in the country. We like both to return to the familiarity of the same place and to try out new ones. This time, with a baby and 4 year old we opted higher on the budget continuum and found River Haven. We were not disappointed! The house is well-situated by the river (not too close) and is newly renovated in good taste. We could easily have lounged around the house, cooked and canoed without ever getting into the car but we chose to add some hiking in adjacent Mohonk and Minnewaska. We also had the grandparents comfortably stay over for one night in their own suite. The owner, Laurie, is very nice, helpful and very close by (without being intrusive). All in all a great experience that we hope to repeat again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

October in the country

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

This is a very comfortable, clean, well appointed home, in a peaceful location in touch with nature. The home was immaculate when we arrived, the owner left the light on for us and was very accommodating with our needs and late arrival. We would definitely stay here again! The area is wonderful to visit, and centrally located to exploring the NY countryside. Everything is accurately represented, the photos don't do the place justice, you have to see it to appreciate it. The owner is an excellent communicator. Nearby, you will find many wineries, hiking trails, good restaurants, and beautiful things to see.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Memorable weekend at this beautiful home

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

We spent this past weekend at Laurie's River Haven and the entire time was truly stunning. The kids had a wonderful time exploring, visiting the river, running on the expansive lawn, and visiting with Laurie's animals. The adults enjoyed wonderful meals looking out at the beautiful view. The entire home is impeccable and stylish, decorated with a wonderful style that exudes comfort and sophistication.

The location is excellent. You are away from the hubbub of New Paltz to enjoy the peace and quiet but a short drive to all the action.

Laurie was wonderful, flexible, and caring. My son left his beloved stuffed animal there and she quickly and generously assisted with his return. Can't say enough about our wonderful weekend...cannot wait to return!

Thank you Laurie!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

review of stone cottage

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

very nice, comfortable and clean, great view. Owner very nice.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend Retreat

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Loved this charming house. It was home base for a weekend wedding. We especially loved sitting out on the deck in the morning and at night. It has a private location, the house was clean and well equipped. There was so much to do in the area, we only wish we had more time to explore.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! It is great to know that all of our care gets appreciated.
You were wonderful guests. Do come again! And stay longer!
Laurie Willow

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Breathtaking!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

River Haven is beautiful inside and out! The house is amazingly beautiful, extremely clean, up to date and very comfortable. The river view is just so beautiful and relaxing. The house comes with all the little comforts of home - plenty of clean towels, sheets, hairdryer, magazines... these little extras were just so nice to have.

The owner is lovely and welcomed us on to her property right next door to visit the beautiful horses, adorable donkey and cute chickens.

I just can't say enough wonderful things about River Haven. I hope to have the opportunity to stay again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Rental Property

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

We rented the property for two months this past winter. My husband and I can't say enough good things about the house, the property, (including Laurie's barn and animals that our two year old son loved!), the setting along the river, and the location.

10 minutes to New Paltz, but remote enough to feel like you're getting out of the City and enjoying a weekend in the country.

Laurie generously allowed our weekend guests to visit the barn and animals and was always available if we needed anything, but never intrusive! The house is beautifully decorated and very well maintained.

We highly, highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait ti go back!

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We stayed at River Haven with 2 other couples in mid-Oct and it was
exactly what we needed! The house is very secluded yet it's just minutes
away from New Paltz, the Shawangunk wine trail, and hiking. I rent
properties on homeaway.com often to escape the hustle and bustle of NYC and
this was by far the BEST rental we've ever stayed in! The house is very
well maintained with great amenities. It has a country feel, yet it's new
and modern.
If you are looking for a wknd getaway with friends or family,
this is the place for you! We built a bonfire in the firepit out back and cooked in
both nights (loved the kitchen). We enjoyed BBQ-ing and wine on the deck which looks over the Wallkill river. The beds were very comfortable and everything was super clean and tidy. The owner, Laurie was also a gem to work with! I will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This one has it all!

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

My husband rented River Haven as a surprise weekend getaway for us. He knows I am a bit on the fussy side as to where I lay my head at night, so I wasn't too worried about what he choose. I knew it would pass my test. What I didn't know was just how beyond my expectations River Haven was!! First of all, it is on a dead end street, with the Wallkill River right outside the back door! That was a fantastic bonus for our grandchildren who love to fish. Secondly, the house itself is absolutely stunning. What a well made, beautifully appointed home. It screams "welcome family" Upon entering the house, which by the way, the entrance is amazingly beautiful, the front door is just stunning, you enter the living room with a lovely stone fireplace and a unique built-in cabinet with lovely stained glass doors housing almost 100 DVD's. Up a few stairs is the warm and inviting kitchen and dining area. There is a lovely island in the kitchen facing the dining area that makes it just delightful to entertain. There is a stunning little "sun area" right in the kitchen,dining area which just adds to the warmth, and by the way, this is overlooking the river, so you can eat, relax and watch the kids fish. It just makes it a perfect place to bring your family. Upstairs there are 3 lovely bedrooms, the master is beautiful, with a very comfortable king sized bed, the en suite bathroom is perfect, complete with a jacuzzi tub and a walk in glass shower. Bright, and airy. AND...as if that weren't enough, the lovely woman who rents the house out lives next door and makes available to the kids to feed the two horses and her pet donkey. I am a homebody by nature but I'll tell you I had a bit of a time leaving River House...it's that beautiful. Oh, and for those who want a bit more action, Mohonk Preserve and Minnewaska Park are minutes away for a great hike.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean and Comfortable with a View

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

The owner was very friendly and helpful in providing information about the surrounding area. The house looks new and clean. There is a river in front of the house that adds a nice backdrop for morning coffee or book reading. I would recommend this property and hope to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great weekend

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

We had a perfect weekend in the house. We were there with my parents and they did not want to leave the place! Our 2 years old enjoyed also her stay.
We went to Minniwaska Park and were able to do a hike suitable for all of us.
Definitely recommend this house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We didn't want to leave

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

We have spend a weekend in March celebrating my B-Day with my husband, adults children, and 2 1/2 year old grandson.
The house was clean, all new kitchen and bathrooms. Very comfortable. We enjoyed cooking in the spacious kitchen that allows all of us to mingle around. Eating in the dinning room with the sun shinning in and the beautiful river view was soul opening and relaxing.
My grandson enjoyed throwing stones into the river, watching the ducks and the birds swim and fly around, feeding the horses and just walking the beautiful grounds and around the neighborhood. We all followed him too.
The house was specious enough to allow as much privacy or as much togetherness as we wished.
We enjoyed walking on the pedestrian bridge over the Hudson. Beautiful views too cold (in March).
The German restaurant was Yami!
Suggestion; There are endless good DVDs for every taste. We wished you would have had some DVDs for kids as well.
We really didn't want to leave.
Thank you Laurie.
We hope to be there again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breathtaking!!!

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

My husband, my 2 children, my dog and I had a wonderful time. Laurie was a sweatheart to deal with, and my children and I really loved visiting her horse and pony. The house itself was clean and beautifully decorated. The town of New Paltz was fun to visit and had many shops and restaurants. I would definately recommmend this property to my friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: These guests were a delight to host!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

We stayed here for three nights and it was amazing! I was getting married that weekend and so I stayed here with my fiance and family and friends. This place is immaculate, newly renovated and stocked with movies and everything you might need. Airy, beautiful, just awesome! And the owner is a complete doll! Don't miss the chance to stay here- we can't wait to go back and would love to just move in...!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

so lovely!!

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

We stayed here for three nights and it was amazing! I was getting married that weekend and so I stayed here with my fiance and family and friends. This place is immaculate, mostly newly renovated and stocked with movies and everything you might need. And the owner is a complete doll! Don't miss the chance to stay here- we can't wait to go back and would love to just move in...!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review