reviews for: listing #69388 - Aruba, Caribbean Villa rental

Marriott Aruba Surf Club and Ocean Club
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Marriott 3 resorts
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $257 - $928 /nt
    $1,800 - $7,000 /wk

sort by:

Our happy Christmas and New Years vacation!

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

We rented at the Marriott Surf Club through Robin. She is absolutely amazing and so accommodating. Being our first time renting, I was nervous but everything went so smoothly. Robin communicated through email and always answered all my questions. The condo was clean, comfortable and felt like home. We did not have any problems with getting in to our room. Our condo was ready and in the building we requested. Robin made sure that everything was set and she went out of her way to do make us feel welcome. We love Aruba. We took advantage of all the amenities on the resort, such as the lazy river, pools, and Captain's galley. My daughter is 11 yrs old and enjoyed meeting friends during our stay. We did rent a car and took advantage of the supermarket as well as going out to restaurants. Some restaurants and supermarkets can be pricey but you can't beat the ambiance of the beach and sunsets. We also did the jeep adventure that takes you to the other side of the island. It is so much fun and seeing the beauty of the other side is an experience not to be missed. We also went snorkling 2-3 times through dePalm tours.
The restaurants that top our list are Pincho's Grill, Marandi's and Flying Fishbone. For italian, Gianni's is good but they often overbook. Get there early. WE enjoyed being in Aruba for the Christmas and New Year's Eve festivities. The people of Aruba are amazingly friendly. We feel very safe walking to the Palm Beach outdoor mall and there are always water shows,music and bands going on in the evenings.
There are so many amazing things to do in Aruba but the best is the weather, relaxation, people, beaches and the sunsets. People often ask why we keep going back to Aruba but it is truly one happy island!
We look forward to returning and would absolutely go through Robin (Aruba We Go) to make lodging arrangements. I had the pleasure of meeting Robin and she truly is a kind and compassionate person. She will go out of her way to make sure your vacation is truly happy. One last thing, she really made us feel welcome by sending us a small welcome gift to our condo. I highly recommend staying at the Marriott
Surf Club and enjoying all the activities that are offered.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Club

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

This is our 9th year vacationing in Aruba. There are 2 couples that vacation together. This stay @ the Ocean Club was the best view that we have ever experienced. It is great to get up in the morning and have coffee on the balcony overlooking the ocean. This is when we make the biggest decisions of any day. . . . beach or pool? This is the first year we had oceanfront. Other years we had ocean view. I have to say there is no bad view.

The property @ the Ocean Club is well maintained. The Ocean Club staff provide excellent customer service and is very personable. The shops and cafe on the main floor are convenient and have many selections for any traveler's needs.
Some mornings we have breakfast or brunch @ the La Vista which has a full buffet and offers many choices.

In the evenings, dinner is either a short walk to the properties restaurants such as Simply Fish or Ruth Chris. Or a short taxi ride to some of our favorite restaurants such as Madam Janettes. Of course, the Stellaris Casino on property as well.

We would definitely recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyed first time visit to Aruba... very relaxing

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

Marriott Surf Club is very well maintained, the staff was exceptionally helpful, the location is perfect. Our 2BR was perfect, we had a view of the beach. Robin was was professional and prompt in making our arrangements and answering questions.

We had great dining experiences for lunch and dinner on and off the beach..... grouper sandwiches and conch fritters on the pier were the best. Restaurants we loved and would recommend: Amuse, Driftwood, Papiamento, Madame Janette. Best fish soup @Hadicurai. Music from Moomba Bay Beach Bar was nice if you were lucky enough to get your beach loungers reserved on the side nearest to them. Walked the beach every morning @ 7:00 - what a lovely experience - cool breeze! Could not ask for anything better. Some of the group visited the casino regularly- no luck but the shoppers in the group were very pleased with their finds at the nearby mall and downtown!

Wish we had rented a car to see more sights but beach lovers would have been the drivers. We could not leave the beautiful beach during the daylight hours and just wanted to de-stress. We did catch the bus and went to Eagle Beach but we were very happy that we selected Palm Beach - we love the people watching and option of many activities to choose from. We had good and bad experiences with the taxi drivers - we found the fare to be reasonable but most were not engaging and seemed annoyed when we asked questions. Only one, Coby, took the time to talk about the island and where we were being taken.

All in all, a very good trip to Aruba and would recommend it to others.
Grace/Columbia,MD

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our Aruba vacation, the Marriott Surf Club and our wonderful accomodations!! The Marriott Surf Club is beautiful and so is the location. Loved the pools, and the white sandy beach. The condos were fabulous, as was the location. Condos are large and roomy. Robin also took extra care by putting us next door to our other party. That was great. She is also happy to answer any questions about the property and Aruba and make recommendations on restaurants, etc... Communications and arrangements handled very professionally.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words! I love talking about Aruba and helping people plan an amazing vacation so it was fun to work with you. Hope to see you back next year!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded my expectations

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Best property in Aruba. My wife and I go to the Caribbean 2-3 times every year, and Aruba is still our top choice. We have gone to Aruba more than 5 times and the Marriott is the best we have seen so far. The staff was excellent, the condition of the property was incredible, the pool was one of the best, plenty of activities, and of course, lots to do nearby. We rented with VacationRentals for the first time, and would definitely do it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Those are words I treasure - EXCEEDED MY EXPECATATIONS! Wow. That is just wonderful and I am glad I was able to help in your great experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pleasantly suprised

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

We have been to Aruba many times and have stayed at the Hyatt and Radisson and we were hesitant to stay at a time share. Fortunately, the room was much better than expected and was extremely comfortable and very clean. We stayed in the lighthouse tower on the fifth floor and had a nice view of the ocean. Robin was fantastic. Really one of the nicest people I have ever worked with in planning a vacation.

Some restaurants we went to and loved were Chefs Table, Wacky Wahoo, El Gaucho, Aqua Grill. Gianna's fish was excellent, however the pasta and sauce were terrible. With that being said i am a huge italian critic as I make my own pasta and a great cook. If you can get a reservation and are a "foodie" and dont mind spending money, I highly highly recommend Two Fools and a Bull for an amazing dining experience. Probably one of the best dinners I have ever had.

Robin, I thank you so much for making our first time share experience one to remember.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: My absolute pleasure!!! I am so glad you have experienced the joys of a timeshare - the relaxing atmosphere and the space to spread out as opposed to a hotel room. You gave some excellent restaurant choices too. Thanks for that.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Relaxing Destination

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

This is our second trip to Aruba in the past 2 years and it has been outstanding both times. We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa both times, the villas are very roomy we had 5 adults and plenty of room. The Marriott has 3 very nice swimming pools along with a lazy river if you just feel like coasting around. There are 2 roomy bedrooms and a very roomy living, dinning, and full kitchen with washer and dryer. The property is located right on the ocean with miles of beach to walk. The Marriott is located on the Palm Beach shore and is a short 15 minute ride from the airport. We found that there is plenty of night life, dinning, and shopping within walking distance of the property. The Trade Winds blow constantly and even though the temp. can be 90 it feels very comfortable. If you want to venture out further from the Marriott there is more shopping, dinning and night life only a short taxi ride from the Marriott. I recommend the Marriott for families, Honeymoons, romantic getaways, or just to go and relax. I have made my getaways the past 2 years to Aruba through a very reliable, honest and easy to work with lady I found on the internet her name is Robin. I would recommend her if your planning a trip to Aruba. If our plans for next year include Aruba, I will again us Robin for my vacation planning and accommodations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Marriott Surf Club President's Week 2012

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Hi Robin:

Just wanted to send a big thank you to you! We just returned from our week in Aruba and we had a very relaxing, wonderful time. The 2 bedroom unit was great - perfect for my husband and me in the master and the 3 boys (17, 14, and 11) in the adjoining room. The beach/pool was a little crowded due to it being Winter Break, but we always found a spot to sit underneath an umbrella or palapa. The weather couldn’t have been any better - 80's during the day, 70's at night, bright sunshine and a cool breeze. The staff at the Marriott were extremely helpful and friendly. The Marriott resort area had many wonderful restaurants and with the road leading from the pool area to the mall/restaurant area just south of the resort area, we really did not need a car at all. We had a wonderful time. It was so easy to work with you...I really appreciated your quick responses, attention to detail and patience for answering my every question. We would definitely do this with you again!!

Warmest regards,
Margaret

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much Margaret. As you know, I love talking about Aruba and planning every detail with my client is part of the fun! See you again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Aruba Marriott Surf Club

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

This was one of the best vacations our family has taken. We were there in March and have decided to return again this December. We are not usually into "repeats" and this facility and island are well worth it. The property was gorgeous and very well maintained. The food was delicious. We frequented "Champions" Restaurant and bar. My son and husband enjoyed all of the big televisions to watch various sporting events. We all enjoyed the various activities offered throughtout th eday such as aqua aerobics and BINGO. Every staff member we encountered was courteous and more than willing to help us with whatever we needed/wanted. We felt "truly away" - we did go to shopping area (actually got shuttle from our lobby to end of property and it was across the street). It was nice to be away from the hustle bustle but close enough if we chose to go there. I found Robin to possess the following characteristics: trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind and cheerful. My husband and I are perfectionists and you have met and exceeded our expectations, as well as the Marriott property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Occidental Aruba All Inclusive

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2010

For our honeymoon, my husband and I stayed at
Robin's Occidental resort in Aruba and really, it was
such an amazing time there. It was all inclusive
which was perfect for beach bums like us. We just
stayed around the huts by the beach, ate buffet
everyday, and just stared at the palm trees and the
blue sky and water. Robin was very nice and gave
us an activities sheet and made sure we were doing
okay. The other people staying at the hotel were
also super nice. The drinks were very delicious and
included in the all inclusive price. I ate ice cream
and drank strawberry slushy drinks every day. It
was our best relaxing beach vacation yet.

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review